• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

New to the sport and open to feedback.

BobMcG

Hi everyone. I just posted my first post in the newbie introductions forum. Here comes number two. I just started playing about two months ago so this might seem kind of silly, but I feel I am progressing quickly in some areas and others I feel like I need work. Some of this I feel is my technique (of course) and some improper disc selection. Thanks for your input!

Sex: Male
Injuries/handicaps?: Pain in bicep tendon after FH drives. Ibuprofen works for a little while. It limits me to a handful of FH drives per round.
Immediate and long-term goals: I'd like to cover all required shots without having to switch between BH and FH, should the pain in my bicep prevent me from playing FH comfortably. Also looking for a more manageable max distance driver. I'm looking for a bag I can grow into and not have tons of different molds.
Years playing/experience: DG 2 months; 10 years of Ultimate; 6 years Raquetball
Right/left-handed/ambidextrous: Right
Throwing Style: Yes! BH, FH, or OH depending the hole. I am comfortable with them equally.
Golf Distance for putter/mid/driver: XD: 225/250'; Buzzz: 250/275'; Beast 325/375; Boss 350/400* I only throw the Boss FH with lots of or OH. It's really to much disc for me.

Let me say that for my entire bag, except the Boss, everything flies with the flight ratings that it is supposed to.

Bag:

Distance Drivers:
171 Champ Boss, (8/10) - big distance FH drives and wind driver.
175 Champ Beast (8/10) - main driver and primary OH disc
171 Champ Sidewinder (8/10) - drives where an S shape is desired.
175 Pro Wraith (8/10) - Flies just like my Beast with 20' more distance and a little more fade. I usually just pick up my Beast instead because I'm comfortable with it.