• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Rosedale Course - Kansas City, KS

mcgrathpa21

Greetings All,

To say that I am new to Disc Golf would be quite the understatement. I am seeking advice on a possible event that I would like to schedule. Living only three blocks from the Rosedale DG Course in Kansas City, KS, I would like to schedule a first ever DG event on April 26, 2014. Though I cannot project the turnout quite yet, this would be a loosely organized event for quite a few friends; simply to get out, enjoy the weather, and have a good time.

Not knowing the formalities in trying to reserve time on the course, I am hoping that many of you may have suggestions. Keep in mind, I have only played twice in my life, so the level of talent will be very limited.

What would be a respectful way to organize a friendly, one round "tournament" for friends to come out, have fun, and not interrupt any existing events, or the relaxing atmosphere for others who will be enjoying the course that day? Let's say that I am able to get approximately 50-70 individuals to come out. Would I need to reserve the course with set tee-times? Would organizing teams of - say - four be an ideal set-up? This would not be a serious completion - more like a way to get various groups of friends to come out and have fun.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. As much as I would like to make this a reality, I know that organizing the logistics of such an event could be quite challenging. If it helps, I have played traditional golf for the past 19 years, so I certainly know course etiquette (allow faster groups to play through, no littering, family friendly, etc...). I will seek additional information for Wyandotte Co., but any advice that you are willing to share would be a great help.