• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Strength/Hypertrophy Training and Disc Golf Performance

SaROCaM

Double Eagle Member
From another thread:

Slightly off topic, but a few years ago I started lifting and got into crosssfit. Im in amazing shape and have gotten a lot stronger and faster. For disc golf, my distance has gone down about 100' but my rating has gone up maybe 30 points. This is just something I find interesting. I also have another disc golf friend that has gotten into power lifting the past few years and he has bulked up immensely and his distance has also gone down and his rating has gone up.

This is something of interest to me as well. A little personal background: I used to compete/participate in various running events, from 400m to half marathon, but mostly the 5k distance. I weighed ~135 lbs for most of this.

Eventually I got into the iron game and started lifting as my primary physical activity. Training was mostly for strength with a focus on powerlifting, but of course some hypertrophy, and some strongman-type of training with implements such as farmers handles, kegs, etc.

I now weigh ~200lbs, with pants waist size going from a loose 30 to a tight 32 inches, so a good deal of muscle gain.

Can this kind of change can affect disc golf performance, especially if in a shorter time period? Powerlifters talk about how weight loss/gain can change leverages and result in making adjustments in technique. With throwing a disc being an exercise in leverage/technique/timing is it the case that a change in strength and body composition can throw off the timing that the body is accustomed to during the throw? Is there simply an adjustment period needed to re-learn technique?