• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Thoughts from a 40 year old disc golf newb - warning excessively long

Tinkles

Birdie Member
Background
I'm 40 and I've been playing for about 8 months. I am completely obsessed. I played golf for the last 15 years and when I discovered disc golf I found a hobby that scratched all the same itches as regular golf but offered its own unique experience that I love.

I consider myself a 350' barrier thrower. The max distance I have 100% accurately measured is 360' on a football field. Its has been several months since I have been on a football field but I would guess my max is now probably closer to 380'+, maybe even some getting out to 400', but I still think my consistently thrown distance is closer to 350'.

I generally carry a lot of putters (because they are the best), a couple mids, several 7 speeds, 11 speeds, and utility discs. I stopped carrying/throwing mids for the most part because I can throw a 3 speed putters about 300' which is about where my mids go. For whatever reason I find 5 speed discs to be the least comfortable, most touchy, and nose angle sensitive.

In my journey to get here I have used a lot of info on this forum, particularly from sidewinder, slowplastic, HUB and a ton of others and I really appreciate all the work people put in to share their insights. I wanted to share some of my aha moments moving from the 300' barrier to the 350' barrier which might help others new to the sport but also open them up for critique to see if others further along than myself can offer some insight and improvement for me too.

Please keep in mind these are things that have worked for me and I'm open to any debate and know I am still learning.

Feeling the whip and overcoming the mental hurdle of strong-arming