• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Torso rotation, release angles, and snap

mjdepue

Birdie Member
Background:
I've been playing disc golf for 7 years or so, the last 5 RHBH. I've plateaued around 400' on disc golf lines. Ever since Breaking 350' I've struggled consistently with release angles. Anytime I throw above 60% power, I almost always release the disc 10-30 degrees off to the right. Sometimes, when I grip-lock and release right, it's more like 45...but that's a different issue...

However, all off my longest throws, with the most snap, all occur 10-30 degrees off to the right. In open fields I've thrown well beyond 400' but always off to the right. If I focus on releasing straight I lose 50-100' of distance. Obviously throwing a controlled shot will result in loss of distance compared to a pure distance throw, but I'm getting the lines out of the disc I want, just not in the right direction...

I've tried a number of things to remedy this: starting off the tee-pad to the right, changing grips, focusing on arm extension forward and not around...but nothing actually worked.

I took some video footage of me driving (which I unfortunately can't upload until I get a hold of a Firewire800 cable) and watched it and noticed a few things. My reach-back isn't so much of a reach-back as it is me slowly swinging the disc out and around from front to back. I'm relatively flat footed throughout.