Glenwood, MN

Barsness Park DGC

Permanent course
2.595(based on 11 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Barsness Park DGC reviews

Filter
9 0
DiscusZach
Experience: 12 played 10 reviews
5.00 star(s)

MN's LONGEST COURSE NOT NAMED Blue Ribbon Pines

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 30, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

27 Holes
Back 18 Plays on an extinct Ski Hill (Great leg workout.)
Incredibly scenic (chefs kiss)
Beautifully crafted tee boxes (NEW 9)
Barness Park has camping, Splash Pads, baseball fields, a TOTEM POLL.

Cons:

Still in development (signage-wise)
Drastic rollaways on the New 9
Some of the turf pads could be tampered down
(^if I'm being nit-picky)

Other Thoughts:

This course expansion has to be Minnesota's best kept secret.

Out in the lands of Glenwood, MN, NINE NEW holes have been carved out in the ski hills of Barsness Park. (forgive my all-caps excitement😅, I'm just really high on this course)

Hard for me to put negatives about this course, admittedly 👉👈, as I've only played the original back 9 when visiting my brother. However! I've walked/hiked the course multiple times, and I'm left itching to return. The New 9 will have you throwing up and down drastic elevation changes. However, I believe the pars are adjusted for these challenges.

The course begins near the Chalet and guides you around the far corners of the park. Fairly open with minimal OB, the Front 9 of Barsness warms you up for a much more challenging Back 18. The Front 9 will give views of baseball fields, Lake Minnewaska, the historical museum and totem poll, soccer fields, and a nostalgic Splash Pad (good break for those long summer days ;) ).

Hole 10 is where you begin to ascend (into madness, I mean...) the slopes. The New 9 begins when you approach what would be 14's tee box. Choose to ignore the path and you're left with a round of 18 holes. Follow the path... and discover 9 new baskets, totaling 27 for the round.

I intend to return to this course not only to play a full round with friends, but also to give a more thorough review for you all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
alexaaron
Experience: 13.8 years 388 played 14 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Elevation and seclusion in a city park drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 20, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Surprisingly fun course. I didn't expect much when I arrived and finished the first 9. But starting with hole 10 the course completely changes into significant elevation changes on each of the remaining holes.

Cons:

The map currently attached only shows 9 holes, all of which are no longer accurate. I was able to figure the layout of the course pretty easily. The first 9 and relatively short and flat, playing around a park and ball fields. Hole 10 starts at the bottom of a steep hill and the remaining holes are along the side of the hills.

Other Thoughts:

I believe there are actually 20 holes now. After hole 13. There are 2 new holes which have printed paper tee signs. The new hole 14 goes down a ravine, and the new hole 15 comes back up the other side of it, then you continue on to old hole 14.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Driftyhead
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

So Good! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

-redesigned holes
-new DD baskets
-beginner and intermediate friendly
-camping onsite

Cons:

-still needs signs (being worked on)
-not super cart friendly

Other Thoughts:

This course does not deserve the rating it has anymore. With the redesign, and stewardship that the designers are taking, this is set to be a shining course in this area. It's hard to put cons for the course because the cons are being worked on right now. Definitely a great place to check out. It's a bit hard to navigate for first time players, but play once with a local and you realize it's pretty easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
jfraney43
Experience: 7.8 years 25 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Not too shabby 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Professional baskets
- Pretty good use of space
- A few elevation changes
- Good pin protection

Cons:

- No par info on tee
- No concrete tee pads
- Almost every hole is wide open

Other Thoughts:

This is a good course for what it is, namely, a few baskets placed strategically in a park. Full-blown disc golf course it is not, but it's still fun to play. Definitely a bomber course, with only a few exceptions. Nice baskets, though, and easy to navigate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Minnesota.Mike
Experience: 45.7 years 19 played
2.50 star(s)

New updates 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tee offs now marked - Baskets though not PDGA approved are
correct height and size. Mowed and kept up

Cons:

Not PDGA approved Baskets - Tee offs have wood chips

Other Thoughts:

This has been a Boy Scout Eagle Project - one to start and one to current state of course. As City adopts course more improvements will come - possible another 9 in a year or two.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
Knick
Experience: 31.3 years 89 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Thank you Glenwood 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 13, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

this is a 9 hole course now
Nice layout
Nice park
Bathrooms at the campground and by the ball feilds
lake across the street with a beach so you can take the kids swimming after....they sell snacks at the beach too
beautiful park
camp ground at the park too

Cons:

Baskets not pdga
If they used they ski hill this could be a amazing course
Missed the short holes for beginners

Other Thoughts:

I think this is a fun course and worth playing if you are in the area. I'd give it a higher rating if the had pdga baskets
I wish there was a short hole by the tree behinde 1s basket to the top of the hill by 3s teebox also a missed hole after 3 to the creek put the basket in-between the playground and the shelter
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 480 played 477 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Nice Try But... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 26, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-5 baskets
-Nicely maintained park
-Could play some safari or practice

Cons:

-No tees or signage. No idea where to throw from.
-Only 5 baskets which are awkwardly tall homemade baskets. Playing to the same baskets on multiple holes could be dangerous if more than one group was playing at once.
-Pretty open and flat
-The holes that I made up playing to the baskets were pretty simple and of an average length. There isn't a lot to work with at the current basket positions.

Other Thoughts:

-If they utitlized the whole park, got new baskets and made tees, this course could be solid and fun to play
-I don't know why people make homemade baskets. They can't be that cheap and have to take a ton of time to make. They are also almost always lower quality than any basket made by a real manufacturer.
-This course isn't worth a play unless you live in the area and want something to practice to or are a course bagger.
-All courses need some marking for a tee. It isn't hard. You don't have to have concrete pads and full color signs but you do need something.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
deadbody
Experience: 20 years 152 played 66 reviews
0.50 star(s)

don't waste you time 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are 5 baskets.

Cons:

There are only 5 baskets. They are homemade with only 1 set of chains that are super thin and way too high. No tees marked. You just throw from one basket to the next.

Other Thoughts:

Seriously unless you are a course ticker of the sick variety (and we can smell our own) just don't. It will scratch the itch if you just want to toss a mid a couple times, but nothing more, and since a huge lake is less than 500 feet away, spend the time fishing or boating or swimming or just checking out the chunky midwest farm girl action at the beach.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Craig639
Experience: 24.8 years 273 played 8 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Far from good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are five (abnormally high) homemade baskets to throw discs at. The one and only reason I gave it anything above zero is that there are actual chain baskets.

Cons:

There are five baskets to throw discs at, but no tee pads. You play holes one through five then turn around and play the first four baskets in reverse order. Again, there are no tee pads so you tee off near the previous hole I guess.
No signage except for the number on top of the baskets.
Baskets are abnormally high. See pictures

Other Thoughts:

This park has so much potential for a legitimate 9-hole course, if not 18. There are tens of acres of unused, mowed, park land and the course only occupies a tiny sliver of the land.
See the files section for the map. See where it says "Frisbee Golf"? Yeah, the course should play through there, but it's doesn't.
Travelers: do not waste their time hitting this course unless you are driving through town and have 15 minutes to spare.
I had to write a review because this is in no way, shape, or form, anything higher than 1-star.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
edricMN
Experience: 11.5 years 26 played 5 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Down and Back 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

There are other activities at the park to do like camping, playground, skate board area, softball field and shelters.
I like throwing across the stream from 3 to 4 and back on 7 to 8.
Plenty of parking available. The people playing this day were very nice and helpful.
Some trees to shot around on some holes.

Cons:

- No tee pads
- No signage.
- No elevation changes
Play down on 1-5 and come back on the same holes. This can be dangerous if many others are playing.
The baskets are homemade with some chains missing and only one set. They are also very high off the ground.

Other Thoughts:

Atleast they have a course! If they would expand this course which there is plenty of room to do and not play on the same baskets I would go back and play again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
discgolfer29
Experience: 2 played
3.50 star(s)

Glenwood disc golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 3, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

great location. some great long shots and good short shots. the shot on 3 over the creek is my favorite with the low tee makes it fun and challenging. great for RHBH and over head throws. i play every

Cons:

wish it was a full 18. hole 1 should tee off the hill to the south. tee boxes would be great you dont know were to tee from.

Other Thoughts:

I would like to thank the eagle scout that put it up. we needed a course in town. It is a must play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top