Minneapolis (Crystal), MN

Bassett Creek Park

3.185(based on 46 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Bassett Creek Park reviews

Filter
4 0
austinwilliamdg
Experience: 9.6 years 4 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Rough at first, gets better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

• Free 15 holes
• Elevation change
• Very nice area/scenery
• Variety of shots and angles
• Very well managed, not much rough or tall weeds

Cons:

• Signage is bad especially holes 1-5
• Holes 2-4 are overgrown and hard to find
• Tees could be a little better
• Pretty busy with walkers and other paths. Not too much of a problem

Other Thoughts:

Good overall free 15 holes. I would go with someone who has played it before since holes 1-5 are hard to find/figure out. After hole 5, the course gets better IMO. Good variety of shots, length and elevation with nice scenery. Overall, very nice course close to the cities.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Monkeypaws
Premium Member
Experience: 11.7 years 94 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

WARNING: played in light snow, 15° 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 10, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

•Good tee pads. They are plenty long enough to get a full run-up, if that is your style.
•If you like elevation change, holes 8-15 will get your blood pumping. Some excellent bomber holes, along with challenging uphill shots.
•Enough woods and trees to test your technical abilities. I have been doing a lot of field work focussing on accuracy lately, and I never enjoyed missing so many trees.
•Tee and basket signage is decent.
•Very attractive park with creek, lake, hills, trees.
•Shot variety - I only had a very light bag, but I used all my discs a lot. Partly it was because of a solid breeze, but I could have used a few more discs for certain shots.
•Apparently the closest course to down Minneapolis.

Cons:

•The woods holes, 2-4, could use better signage and teepads.
•A little help in navigation would be appreciated, especially finding hole 1, and then hole 6. Had to resort to UDisc a few times just to find where the heck I was going.
•There is the constant drone of traffic from nearby highway 100. I didn't mind it, but if you are seeking idyllic nature DG, it ain't here

Other Thoughts:

I will enjoy playing this course again when it is 70 and sunny. 15 hole courses are unusual, and I enjoyed 'em all. Almost aced 15 with a rare backhand. If there were more granularity in the scoring system, I would give it a 3.75

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
LeftyHukin
Experience: 9.7 years 14 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Just make it to hole 6 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 24, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

I am going to have to review this course a little different then the past courses I have reviewed. My first time here was such a mixed experience I wanted to get out here one more time before giving a review. It is just so rare for me to get out that way and I want to write the review before I forgot all the details of the course.

To start, I will try to put avoid letting all my negative thoughts pour over to this section. I have played at many courses that are very technical and very much enjoy them, however this was the first course I have played where I felt I can just grip and rip. The 2nd half of the course is very wide open with a lot of elevation changes. Throwing up a 75-100ft hill then throwing straight down, throwing back up it and then walking even higher to throw it all the way back down again! Nothing like standing on top of the tee pad and making the disc look small as you throw down hill and just enjoy watching the line.

The individual holes were very enjoyable and there were some very memorable ones as well. Holes that are almost just worth the trip to play! I can't remember the exact hole, but once you get to the top of the hill you have to walk into the woods and up a path to a hidden tee pad and throw out over the hill and all the way down to the bottom. This was an amazing hole to just watch the flight of the disc. Only downfall at the moment is a large temporary dirt mound that makes it a blind shot down the hill. You also get concrete pads for the most part as only a couple were dirt, which might just be a result of the top hill being under construction.

For those who enjoy technical holes, the first 7 I believe are a bit shorter and have more trees to navigate, making a lot of interesting lines and shots. Maybe a roller? or a thumber? There are more creative lines open during this section of the course. As for those that just want to throw discs as far as they can, that is whom the 2nd half of the course is geared to. Most of the final 8 holes are very open and long. I remember 2 shorter holes, one throwing straight up the hill and the last which is an easy putter toss back down. But you have a few that will test the arms of any intermediate player. Pros will still be throwing mids to fairway drivers, but the rest of us can dust off those drivers and let it loose with little chance of losing a disc since it is so open.

It appears that the top of the hill that most of the last 7 holes interact with is getting a much needed face lift, but when I was there a tee pad was completely covered with a 15ft high mound of dirt (only the post marking the tee was barely poking out from the bottom). It also hurts the view of another hole you tee off from the woods just above the hill, as you have to throw over a large dirt mount blindly to the basket at the bottom of the hill. I enjoyed the hole and see what it could be without the eye sore, but I might be biased since I was able to toss my drive within 15 feet of the basket for a crazy 2.

Cons:

Now for the bad..... the navigation for the course is just awful. Plain and simple awful. You exit your car in the parking lot right next to a basket, which it #1, so you have to walk along #1's fairway to get to the tee box FORE! Then throw back the way you came. Once you putt out you see the tee box 35ft away, oh so simple! Then you realize it is actually #5's tee box, wtf? I hear it is because it used to be a 12 hole course and 3 wooded holes were added, however there is not 1 sign that tells you this or points you to the woods. In fact we had skipped these holes and didn't realize there were holes in the woods until we walked back to our car after #15 and saw a basket through the trees. Well once you get through the wooded holes and back to #5 it gets a little easier you would think. Well once finishing putting out you have to walk around the lake, about 1 city block or more to # 6's tee. Again there is no sign at all to direct you. So after having to talk to walkers passing by who said they thought they saw baskets on the other side of the lake, we finally ran into #6. At least from here it became easy to navigate as all the remaining holes are easy to find. There is a small wooden post with both new and old numbers on them, so it gets very confusing which hole you are on.

This is why I wanted to go back after now knowing what to expect. I was so frustrated at the lack of directions that I didn't get into the flow until around hole # 8. I was too worried that I wouldn't find the next tee pad. I want to see if we just missed every sign or if was just as bad as I had experienced. If there were signs and we were just blind to them, then shame on us. But if that is the case, they may not be as visible or clear as designers thought.

Other Thoughts:

This course needs signs badly. It was tough to navigate and even locals didn't know where 2-4 where. But once you get to #6 it becomes easy and frustration levels decrease. Each hole individually is designed great, using the elevation to create memorable holes and shots. Baskets and tee pads were in good shape, but sign posts need to be reworked so that only one hole number is showing, not the old and new.

This course has potential to be an easy 4. It has technical holes, it has grip and rip holes, it has elevation, both up and down. It has an amazing view of the lake that the course wraps around. But it looses a lot from being difficult to navigate and not flowing well at all. I will make it back out there next year and see if there have been any major changes and update this rant. I hope I was just there in the middle of the rework that will be a gem once finished.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
JTRACY
Experience: 8.7 years 21 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 29, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a beautiful course if you appreciate nature go there in the fall. The entire course wraps around a small pond with a stream that I believe connects to medicine lake. This is my main free course when I wanted to get my drives to go further and with more control I stopped going to Plymouth Creek and started coming here.

Cons:

There are tons TONS of geese on this course and they fertilize all of the grass everyday. The overlapping is kind of an issue around hole 7-11 very close fairways.

Other Thoughts:

The course had a sign about expanding and changing to concrete pads so improvements are coming.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
moni
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Surprisingly Fun!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Long holes
- Unique challenges
- Scenery
- Fun crowds playing on the course
- Free
Overall, I was worried this 12-hole course might have been your standard lets-squeeze-a-course-in-a-tiny-park sort of thing but I was blown away with how many unique holes they included, how the course was set up and how much fun I had. It took the time that 18 holes takes because it's such a large course. Though not very well labeled if a hole was 3 or 4 par I'm sure several of the holes counted as 4 (10 especially). It was my first time at this course and you can bet they have a new regular

Cons:

- Pins are old, need to put straight in or that sucker will be bouncing out
- Hard to find the next tee as it's so spread out, but there were lots of helpful folk ready to point you in the right direction
- Parking and finding the first hole was a small nightmare but the walk around the park with my dog was no lost cause and once I was done I was excited to park far away again just for the enjoyable walk
- A little crowded in one or two spots but was worth it as other discers were happy to chat and help find a disc if you lost one
- hole 9 (I think it was that one) had a very obnoxious start point that wasn't labeled tucked in the woods, lucky again there were helpful people to point us the right way

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I'm very happy with this course but other reviews that it has even more potential are absolutely correct. But that would just be icing on this cake, as it was a blast.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Dr.feelgood
Experience: 12.7 years 30 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pretty good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 12, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Shot variety. Mix of technical holes with more open shots. Some shots (hole 11 and 14) reward big arms with a potential birdie. The second half of the course takes advantage of the hill to introduce some elevation changes.

- Good mix of difficulty ranging from the ace run on hole 15 to the intimidating (less so since they moved the basket) hole 14. Overall average difficulty.

-Quick to play once you know how to navigate it.

- Difficult to lose a disc, except on hole 8.

-Good chainstar baskets.

-Open field is good for driving practice when it's not being used.


Cons:

-Can be difficult to navigate your first time.

-Tees aren't marked well, and some are pointed the wrong direction. The tee pad on hole 10 is terrible.

-Holes 2, 3, and 4 can be hit or miss. Hole 2 and 3 are flooded in the spring due to the snow melt. Hole 4 can become overgrown in the summer making one of the more difficult pars on the course nearly impossible,and leading to a lost disc.

- Some holes are very luck based with no clear path (hole 2 and 5)

-Often pedestrians wander on to the fairways.

-Big spot for parties, and sporting events so parking can get scarce unexpectedly.

-Pretty busy during the summer. Usually have to wait on each hole.

-Geese s*** f****** everywhere!

Other Thoughts:

I've played this here hundreds of times and it's still one of my favorites. If you can look past the bad parts, the bones of the course are really solid. This course changes frequently, so this review is probably outdated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
rhettro
Experience: 22.8 years 37 played 17 reviews
3.00 star(s)

enjoyable, but bring a map 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 18, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Good mix of trees and open fairways.
- I always enjoy water hazards
- good length variables from hole to hole.
- Tees are asphalt, not the best, but better then dirt.

Cons:

- Very hard to navigate.
- Spent most of the time trying to find the next hole.
- Baskets have no paint, hard to see on a few holes.

Other Thoughts:

I liked this course, it could be easier to navigate and the tee signs (posts with numbers) leave a bit to be desired, but all in all they did a great job with the space that they had. They wasted almost no room, and the course does not feel congested at all. I will play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
new_sheets
Experience: 11 years 103 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Decent course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 26, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Excellent variety of holes. #1,3,4, and 10 are short and technical with clusters of trees and bushes. #2 and 11 are 500ft+ with a ton of trees and well protected greens. #5,6,7,8, and 9 are fairly open with a couple bombs and great elevation changes. #9 is really nice from an elevated tee in the woods around a giant dirt pile (I think the dirt piles add character..). #12 is a 200ft downhill ace run. It's a great course for beginners as its pretty difficult to lose track of a disc here, but still technical enough for advanced players to have some fun.

Cons:

Hard to navigate the first couple of times. I don't mind but the walk to # 3 and 5 is kind of far and not well marked. A little short but a good warmup course. Tees could use some love.

Other Thoughts:

Would like to see an increase to 18 holes. I think it would be a must play course if the additional holes were well designed. The 18 layout they use for tourneys is questionable but better than just 12. This is my home course and I think its better than any of the free smaller courses in the NW metro (Plymouth cr, sunny side, starring, rosland) for its variety and length.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
WinstonAbernathy
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I love this course. It has nice variety. I love that it has lots of good obstacles and elevation changes without being overly cluttered with trees and brush like some courses.

Cons:

I wish that they would make it into an 18 hole course. There is an area on top of the hill by the tees for 7,9, and 12 that for years is just big piles of dirt that seem to get moved around from time to time with no real rhyme or reason.

Other Thoughts:

The city of Crystal needs to get it's act together in regards to this course. It has the potential to be a great course but despite how popular it is they are doing nothing to improve it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
ajkuck
Experience: 16.7 years 55 played 31 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Could Be Worse 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 19, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

For a 12 hole course, it actually offers a variety of shots. There are some technical shots required at the beginning to avoid some trees and a couple holes with some nice elevation change, which offers a great change of pace. For the most part, the tee parts are in good shape.

Cons:

The course is often quite busy, since it is located at a park with a walking path and nestled within a residential area. It is also somewhat difficult to navigate if you have not played it before, especially the backwardness of hole 1.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, it's a decent course if you are trying to get in a quick round. I often only get out there occasionally for league a couple times every summer or play it quick on my way home from work to get a warm-up round in before I go play at Bryant.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
DonB
Experience: 12.8 years 112 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice mix for all-level players 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice mix of lengths
Nice mix of elevations
Nice mix of hole lengths

Baskets are all in very good condition

Asphalt tee pads are (mostly) maintained well. Exception would be hole #12, where large pile of dirt covers 50% of tee box.

Playable by beginners and more seasoned players (I can play alongside my Dad, who is an extreme beginner, and still enjoy the entire course together)

The holes that play up & down hill (holes 6, 7, 9, 12) are fun challenges for distance AND accuracy.

Grounds are maintained well, with the exception being the large mounds of dirt on top of hill.

Nice mix of shorter, technical holes, as well as long, tree-filled, and long open holes.

Cons:

The path from hole to hole isn't clearly defined, but easy to follow once you know it

Garbages were not emptied over the 3 day span we played it.

Other Thoughts:

The first time we played this, we were cut short by the league that started halfway through our round. Yet the next time we had the place almost completely to ourselves.

For a smaller, free course, this is one of my favorites, due to the highly variant lengths, elevation and foliage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a smaller city park in a residential neighborhood. There is a walking path by a few holes, otherwise there shouldn't be much interference with the disc golf.
- A few of the holes are set within clusters of trees, which forces line shaping off the tee. #1 long is around a wall of trees, while the short is a RHFH hyzer. #2 long is a wooded dogleg right, and the short is a straight tight shot. #3 and #4 are a little more open, with hyzer or straight routes, and a RHBH anny on #4. #11 also has lots of bigger trees, both from the long tees directly before the green. Accuracy is well rewarded on these holes.
- Other holes are much more open, but have significant elevation changes to make things interesting. #6 is a pretty steep uphill shot, #7 is a good downhill shot, #8 is longer with the basket up on the hillside, #12 is a steep downhill shot, and #9 is the big boy with a very elevated teepad shooting out of the woods.
- Some longer hole lengths here add some real challenge, #2 and #11 are both over 500' and have tough lines to the basket. A good mix of hole lengths overall, especially with a few different pads on a few holes.
- A few tricky basket placements, like #8 with a very sloped green, and #11 with a very well protected green.
- Asphalt teepads are OK, posts with the hole number is good enough in most cases. Nice baskets. Navigation can be a real problem; you have to walk past #2's tee to get to #1's from the street parking, there is a very long walk to get to hole #3; make sure you have or have studied the map.

Cons:

- Layout here is pretty jacked up. You have to either walk through or way around #1 to get to the teepad, there is a very long walk to get to #3, the holes by the hill are all kind of close to each other, and the elevated teepad on #9 means errant shots can be sprayed over many holes' fairways. #11 has a residential street directly left of the fairway, which is a bit of a distraction.

Other Thoughts:

- A pretty well-rounded course that has a good mix of semi-wooded holes, some holes with large trees to avoid like #5 and #10, and some those with good elevation changes. #9 is a lot of fun, with the big downhill shot out of the woods, and #11 is a tough 670' with plenty of trees to make things tough. Probably best suited to beginners from the short tees, and intermediate players from the long tees. Advanced players might find some fun holes, but overall won't be challenged too much.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
buzzkid
Experience: 13 years 64 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The Hill 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 15, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course has a lot to offer, good elevation change, shot placement on a couple of the holes is absolutely critical to do well. It also has you shooting onto and off of a big hill a few times and it gives you a chance to loosen up your arm for some big drives on your way to Bryant Lake.

Cons:

A little too open for my liking and which pin you are shooting too can be confusing at times. If you have never played this course, make sure you play with someone who has so you don't shoot to the wrong hole.

Other Thoughts:

All in all, this is a nice course. Maybe adding in some trees and putting up signs that show you which pin to shoot at would be helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
itzbrian17
Experience: 12.6 years 21 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-lots of open shots
-concrete tees and good baskets
-nice scenery with the lake
-throwing over a pile of dirt on hole 9
-a legit par 4 hole

Cons:

-baskets everywhere! It's hard to tell where you are throwing to because the tee is pointing towards one basket when you're suppose to go to another
-crossing paths with other discgolfers on a few holes
-opportunity for people to steal discs on hole 9 because you don't know where you're disc landed and you can't see over the pile of dirt

Other Thoughts:

I like this course but the lack of signage and the course layout makes me give this only a 3
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
ABL Frolf
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Personal favorte 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Good course to go and toss your disc as hard as you can. Good practice for long, challenging drives.
-Really open course with some difficult shots, overall pretty simple, long drives.
-Well kept course, grass frequently trimmed and maintained.
-Our personal favorite course in the metro area.

Cons:

-On a hill in the main area of the course, there is massive piles of dirt that is not in the way but is annoying to walk around for hole 9.
-Only 12 holes, we say there could easily be 6 more holes across the bridge from the last hole. Just saying.**
-No map, but its not that hard to find your way to the next tee box and catcher.

Other Thoughts:

-Holes 2, 3, and 4, are difficult drives through trees. Holes 4 is also over a small hill. Difficult but easily maneuverable.
-Hole 9 is in the woods on a hill shooting down a hill that is fun but easy to hook it far in either direction.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
jcovlin
Experience: 4 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Challenging on all levels of experience and pretty fun in the process.

Cons:

Goose Poop on the main area of the course. If you're not paying attention it is pretty easy to get lost.

Other Thoughts:

Two of the holes have two different tee boxes, just keep that in mind if you are wanting a challenge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Deadbishop
Experience: 27.9 years 6 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The long walk 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Some great technical holes here. #2, #9, #11 are favorites. Good variety of holes too. Hard to lose a disc at this course.

Cons:

Goose poop! Everywhere! Things could be marked a bit better here to make navigating the park easier.

Other Thoughts:

Course layout can be a bit confusing to anyone who hasn't played here much. Would be awesome if the city would put a course map near Hole #1. Also, for as much room as this park has, they could easily expand it to an 18 hole course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
megamerican
Experience: 26.8 years 34 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun and fast 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 9, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Bassett Creek Park is a fun, relatively easy 12 hole course located just off highway 100 in the West Metro which can provide a fun, quick round.

*Good asphalt tees on every hole, quite a few have alternate tees which allow beginners to enjoy some of the longer, tougher holes

*Hole 2 and Hole 11 are the best holes on the course, both are not just longer but have quite a bit of risk/reward built into them from the back tees. Hole 2 is a great place to try a RHBH roller and hope it goes through the trees. Hole 11 is very long which gives you multiple routes to attack the two large trees roughly 275 feet ahead of you.

*Hole 9's tee is into the woods on top of the hill which is a fun throw from, especially when the asphalt tee is nice and dry.

*There are multiple leagues and tournaments played here during the year which have many temporary holes which make good use of the lake and other real estate the park has to offer.

*The large hill is well used and creates a good variety of uphill and downhill shots, ending with a nice ace run at hole 12.

*Gotta Go Gotta Throw is a great disc golf shop and close by.

Cons:

Not too many cons to speak of. It is just a little lackluster without the temporary holes for the various tournaments and leagues which play there. There was talk of some of those holes becoming permanent but I have no idea what the issues are which may hinder that becoming true.

Other Thoughts:

This is a solid course to play if you are nearby. I'd definitely recommend playing during one of the leagues or tournaments as a lot of value is added to the course and my rating would go from a 3.0 to a 4.0 if those holes were made permanent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
sheepweevil
Experience: 15.9 years 31 played 22 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Confusing Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 18, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Decent beginner course in a nicely maintained suburban park. The course plays around a small lake, but stays far enough away from it that it doesn't come into play very much.

There is a decent attempt at a signature hole with #9, which starts with a tiny opening in the trees to a wide open downhill shot. Hole #2 is also notable, and is probably the most difficult due to the large numbers of trees in the way.

Cons:

On top of the hill by the last few holes is a pile of sand/dirt which really detracts from the aesthetics.

The course is very difficult to navigate, and there is a long walk between #2 and #3. We parked in the wrong place and had to walk all the way around the lake to start.

There are few to no benches and trash cans.

There are some longer holes, but if you can drive over 300' it will be easy.

Other Thoughts:

This is worth a trip to try out holes 2 and 9, but will be boring for advanced players. I won't go out of my way to play this course again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
HeavyCritters
Experience: 24.8 years 712 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

One of My Favorites 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Varying degrees of difficulty throughout the course.
- Nice mix of long and short holes.
- Good use of obstacles (trees/water/etc)
- Cement tee pads

Cons:

- Although I agree there should be signage after hole #2 to direct you to tee #3, it's not that big of deal to find it.
- Navigating holes #5 - #12 can be a bit confusing for newbs.
- Needs 6 more holes.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course. Once you get the hang of the layout, it's a blast to play. It may be my favorite course in the Cities.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top