• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Durham, NC

Bethesda Park - Old Layout

1.135(based on 8 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Bethesda Park - Old Layout reviews

Filter
3 1
New013
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.9 years 179 played 120 reviews
1.00 star(s)

No Mans Land 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Layout - There's a few decent holes that make you work the disc a bit down a tight fairway.

It's probably a good place to practice nailing approach shots because all of the holes are so short. If you played it enough you could learn to put some force on your disc through really tight gaps (usually around 4-6').

I worked on forehanding my putter quite a bit

#4 is a pretty good hole, you have to work the disc and deal with elevation.

Atmosphere - The park has some nice facilities. Bathroom at the beginning, a small playground. Really nice covered tennis courts and basketball courts with lights.

Equipment - Nice large concrete tee pads and new Disc Catchers. Good signs that are easy to see and show a path of where you're going; which is necessary because a few of the shots are blind. A few directional arrows showing you where to go next.

Cons:

Layout - The biggest problem layout wise is the course seems to be designed for nobody. More skilled experienced players probably won't come here because the holes are super short. Beginners will shy away because the gaps are so tight.

Some holes are relatively easy straight shots under 200' that only require a bit of accuracy and low power. They were boring.

Some holes require you to work the disc through a tight gap; They were kind of challenging. Either way it seems any skill level player only has half of a 9 hole course set up for them.

There's a few places where it's confusing on where to go next; and one random tee that seems to go to nowhere. Luckily the course is crammed in to such a small area it didn't take long to figure it out.

After #9 you're left kinda far back in to the walking trail area. It would be nice if it brought you back around closer.

Atmosphere - This course is the red headed step child of dg courses. I don't think any maintenance had been done since winter.

There was really tall underbrush on just about every fairway. Downed trees blocking fairways. Nature was encroaching up on to some pads.

I literally walked in to 50 spiderwebs on fairways here. After the third hole I got a stick and just waved it in front of me the entire way.

The place is a dead zone, usually that's a pro but this place is dying for some boots on the ground.

Equipment - A course map would be helpful up at the parking lot. There should of been more directional arrows on the course showing you the next pad location.

Other Thoughts:

This could be a solid course if somebody in the area maintained it. The problem is the course really isn't worth maintaining. More trees need to be taken out to make it more accesible to new players.

Not really worth the stop unless you're racking up courses played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
prerube
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 17 years 275 played 236 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Overgrown and forgotten 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Concrete tee pads and very nice signage. some arrows to guide you to the next basket.
Hole 4 was about as nice as it got with a subtle downhill making a nearly blind ace run.

several ace runs.

Great non disc golf related facilities. Bathroom, playground, huge tennis courts.

Cons:

grass is overgrown. I refused to play hole 2, it was that bad. It is clear maintenance is lacking, not only is it overgrown, but fallen branches litter the walkways and fairways.

Hole 3's gap is only 6 feet wide. Hole 5 says 260 feet, but It is under 100 feet. 6 took a few minutes to find. I was confused by a random tee pad after 5 pointing to nowhere.
7 is just a plinko hole with no line.
not much variety, everything is short and tight, only 1 hole is over 200 feet

Other Thoughts:

1/4 mile walk to the first basket
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Chain_Bomber
Experience: 12.2 years 15 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Very Tight and Not Kept Up 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Short, and some nice hard shots. Nice tee boxes and baskets are nice..

Cons:

Course needs some upkeep. We had to move some branches that were leaning on baskets and clean up some of the tee boxes so they weren't covered in dirt.

Other Thoughts:

I am playing this again. Fun course and just needs some upkeep. Only took like 30 minutes to get the 9 holes in. Also the walk back wasn't bad. Would love to see 9 more holes added.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
kdizzle1337
Experience: 12.8 years 14 played 3 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Great for putting practice! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tight wooded shots force you to be accurate.
Great place for low speed disc testing/break-in.

Cons:

Severe overgrowth in parts that make accuracy almost impossible.

Other Thoughts:

*LOST- ICOM walkie talkie/radio -LOST* Please PM kdizzle if found.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
vegthura
Experience: 26 years 7 played 5 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Bethesda as of Feb 2012 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 4, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good for young kids. Nice new baskets.

Cons:

Short holes, heavily wooded, most holes have like a 4 foot wide fairway. there's an extra tee box between 5/6 that will confuse you especially when the leaves green up. Hole 9 leaves you with a walk back to the parking lot.

Other Thoughts:

Good for kids. Adults, don't bother with anything more than your putter.

Great thought but they really need to clear out fairways to make this playable. I won't be going back except to teach my 7 year old.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Olorin
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 45.1 years 978 played 118 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Not yet ready for prime time 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 20, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

*Course level: it's a Green level course, so this fills a niche in the Triangle to get more people, especially kids, hooked on the game.
*Tee signs- nice hole maps and a sturdy metal frames.
*Baskets- double chain Discatchers
*Nice restrooms

Cons:

-Finishing hole: This is the worst part of the course, and it can't be fixed now (unless they add 9 more holes). The 9th hole leaves you stranded way out in the woods, past hole 5, with a very long walk back to the parking lot.
-Obstructed fairways: 4 of 9 fairways need more clearing and some more trees taken out. This is the main place where more work needs to start. A few holes could use a bit of a redesign. Keep in mind that this is a Green level course for players of a lower skill level. Hole 1 is too tight with only a 4 ft. gap. Hole 2 has no real fairway and needs more clearing. Hole 3 is too tight with a 4 ft. pinch point. Hole 5 was very confusing because there was a sign by a tee, but it led to an empty sleeve for a basket at ~140 ft. Then there was also an extra tee, with no sign, and a basket in a different location, on a ~90 ft. hole. If this was an Alt placement, why is there only one unmarked Alt hole out there? New players won't be able to figure that one out, and I'm not even sure what was going on. Hole 6 is only ~85 ft. not the length marked on the sign. On hole 7 They need to take out 2 trees; it had a funky flight path so that from the tee you can't even get a disc to the basket. Hole 9 was too tight.
-Tees: concrete but too short. They may be adequate for Green level players, especially kids, but they're only 9 ft. long x 4 ft wide.
-Rough: in the summer it could get pretty thick in places. That makes it tough for Green level players.
-Few amenities: The course is new, but there aren't many amenities. No map, no score cards, no warm up basket, no message board.

Other Thoughts:

Course Level: Green (most suited for kids, very new players, and players rated 800.)

~Fairway variety: slightly too many left to right fairways. 2 Left/ 4 Right/ 3 Straight
~Elevation differential and variety: elevation changes are minimal with the greatest being +6 ft, but variety is OK with 3 Up/ 3 Dn/ 3 Flat
~Terrain variety: it's a woods course, so all 9 holes have a somewhat similar feel, but I like woods courses.
~Length variety: since it's a Green level course all of the holes are short, but by it's nature a course of this level will always have limited length options, so length variety is limited. 1 of 85/ 7 of 115-175/ 1 of 255
~There are other nice facilities in the park: covered tennis courts, lighted basketball courts, a walking trail, a playground, and an awesome high ropes course.

I always find it hard to give a rating number to Green level courses because by design they are shorter and not very difficult. My rating reflects my enjoyment of the course, so Green level players would probably enjoy it much more than I did. Regardless of one's playing level, though, more work needs to be done here, and there are a few glaring flaws to correct. It would be great if they could get a nice Green level course going here because it would meet a need in the Triangle disc golf scene.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<span class="underline">A note about my rating:</span> My rating is a subjective measure of my <span class="italic">enjoyment</span> of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the <span class="italic">quality</span> of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews
----------
I'm always trying to improve my reviews, so if you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a Personal Message to tell me what is wrong with it. I'll be grateful for the feedback.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
southgrooves
Experience: 16 years 38 played 6 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Unfinished 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 7, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice new park. Covered/lighted tennis and basketball courts. Walking trail. Restrooms. Playground.

Brand new Discatchers and large, flat concrete tee pads. Good signs.

Will, eventually, be a great beginner-level course. Looks like there's plenty of room for more holes as well.

Cons:

Short version: someone quit before they were done.

No trees have been removed from the course at all as far as I can tell...no large trees nor scrub trees, very minimal clearing so far. You can see where the lines are supposed to be on most holes, they were just never actually cleared. Exhibit A is #5, actually a decent little 260' S-curve through the woods, except they stopped clearing after about 200', so the last 50' or so is untouched schule. I played out and down the path when I played as that was the only line. Until the proper clearing is done several holes' best lines are actually over the walking trail.

#3, as has been mentioned already, is just a dumb hole right now. There's ~3-4' gap you must hit ~20' in front of you before the fairway opens up. One large tree is in the way and probably was supposed to be removed, but wasn't.

Lower sections hold water, and were very mucky the day I played. #7's basket was sitting essentially in one of the drainage creeks.

Other Thoughts:

This could be a great Green-level course with one good workday, some very basic DG maintenance would go along way towards the playability. Right now, it's a bit of a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
aggreen
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.1 years 264 played 19 reviews
1.00 star(s)

No real fairways and needs maintenance 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 3, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great concrete teepads, excellent signs, brand new baskets and arrows pointing to the next tees on each.
The park is brand new (garbage cans, very clean) and plenty of amenities - covered and lit basketball and tennis courses, playground and the development of a high ropes obstacle course (in development).

Cons:

The entire course plays within "islands" of the park walkways, which means many risks for non-disc golfing park patrons - #2 requires you to throw over the walkway. That said, I was the only person in the park.
On many holes the fairways VERY are tight or non-existent - especially on #3, #5 and #9. #3 has a very low ceiling - just poor design that doesn't allow much opportunity to make it close. On #9, the "fairway" is 3 feet wide and is a pure luck shot - that said, I almost aced it. Given the proximity of the baskets, numbers on them would be helpful.
Errant or tree hit drives/throws that stray off the fairway result in very difficult recovery shots, due to the congested woods.
After finishing on #9 it leaves you in the middle of the park - not near #1 nor the entrance.

Update to Review (7/2011) - there is no course maintenance, so overgrowth has now taken away the already tight fairways and makes finding discs and going to the next tee pad a little treacherous.

Other Thoughts:

Park by the bathroom and walk down the path to the right. Cross over the bridge and #1 is in front of you at the fork in the pathway.
This is a borderline "green-level" course, but tight fairways and dense trees on some holes make this a little tough for the beginner.
Due to the lit basketball courses and tennis courses, this seems like a nice, short option for night/glo golf (although need to confirm with Durham P&R if it is open at night). There are no defined OBs, but I would assume the pathways are OB.
This course has potential as a beginner/entry-level course with select tree, brush removal and general course maintenance - the Triangle needs a true "green-level" course and this is the closest thing next to Scottish Hills.

Update to Review (7/2011) - removed the references of alt tee pad and long basket for #5. With no maintenance occurring on the grounds, this course looks like it might go the way of the dodo. Very unfortunate, since clearing and general maintenance would make this a nice course to introduce players to the sport. In addition, there is much more wasted potential on the grounds, since after #9 leaves you in the middle of the course, there is another few wooded acres that are untouched and seem to have decent topography and lines for additional holes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top