• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Montgomery, VT

Black Falls DGC

4.555(based on 31 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Black Falls DGC reviews

Filter
11 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Black Falls Gold 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 16, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Glorious natural splendor reigns supreme at Black Falls DGC. There are plenty of different types of shots to be made. A few holes lean toward open and grassy, but may still have trees bordering the fairways, elevation changes, and water hazards. The bulk of the course play the lanes through woods, also with considerable elevation ups and downs.

There are two sets of tees, and two sets of baskets. Longs are gold, shorts are silver. I played the long tees/short baskets layout (gold/silver). Long layouts are par 58, shorter is 54. It's awesome that there is plenty of versatility. The tee boxes are very well laid pavers, pnice and level. Tee signs are posted at each tee. Baskets are all in nice condition.
Nine hole loops take you back to the parking area as you "make the turn".

The first tee is downhill, fairway is grassy and has air space to work with. There are woods as you reach the lower end of the hole, so you must be careful not to drift too far from center. The baskets are both set on the fringes of the woods. 2-8 are densely populated with trees and accuracy is crucial. There are some short holes, so well place drives will give you birdie chances. I loved this portion of the front nine. Late summer gave us a great day to enjoy the lush green forrest. The gold tee on hole 3 was mossy and moist, it felt like a scene from Princess Mononoke or Fern Gully. Didn't see and gnomes but maybe they hid under a mushroom or in an old hollow log. A great, longish hole that has a bend to the right on the approach to the baskets. 4 is a drive down the hill, with the silver pin near the bottom. If you go for the gold, the drive sets up a long second shot to the top of the next ridge. It's a doozy, but I didn't play the long pins. 5 tees from near the top of that ridge, and has trees guarding the pins at the bottom. Finding the gaps can be tricky. 9 comes back to the lawn, and drives up the hill again.

The view from the gold tee on hole 10 is pretty sweet. It is back downhill, lined by trees on both sides. The short pin is left side as the tree line breaks. Got my midrange disc very close, but I missed the birdie putt. Next few holes are back and forth through woods again, less elevation, varying shot shapes and distances. Hole 18 is a nice closer. There are split fairways, with ponds on the right fork, and trees in the center. I went for it on the right side and a branch knocked my disc into the water. Luckily it was on the edge and I was able to grab it easily. Had I seen the silver basket from the tee I would have went left side, but it was a really fun shot anyway.

Cons:

Not too much for me to gripe about here. It is pay to play, a fair ask considering the upkeep. Grass was mowed, fairways were clear, good signs all around and equipment was proper.

Some of the holes don't vary too much from the silver pin to the gold. I think one pin would be enough on several of them, but it must be nice to have the choice if you're lucky enough to play there frequently. It is not quite the championship caliber layout of Smug's but a really fun track and gorgeous scenery.

Other Thoughts:

Black Falls was worth the drive for me. It rained a lot the previous day, but the course was still very playable. Very little mud, puddles or evidence of the storm left at all. I was pleasantly surprised how well it had drained.

I shot a 58 on the gold/silver, 4 over par. Got deuces on holes 8, 9 and 17. Holes 2, 4 and 18 hit me with 5's as well as a bogey 4 on hole 16. I would have loved to get in 2 or 3 more rounds, be a little more familiar with the layout and see what kind of score I could post.

I would recommend a trip if you can make it. This is a very fun course that is reasonably challenging and fair. I see that the area has a few other courses that are newer. If I get half a chance I am flying back into Burlington and trying to cruise this area again. It is unlike anything we've got around KC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
HomemadeBasket
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.7 years 64 played 39 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Wow...just...wow! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Unbelievable use of space that creates a masterpiece of disc golf course layout.
Shots are all fair. Greens are all fair.
2 sets of tees, two sets of pins, making 4 layouts for most skill levels.
Superb blend of just about every shots in the game.
Lots of water with opportunities to lay up or go for it.
Tee boxes are dirt/stones but played beautifully.
Baskets played wonderful, in great shape.
Tee signs on every hole with distance, par and maps.
Easy to navigate.
Just a gorgeous setting in the mountains of VT for a DG course.

Cons:

Seating could be a little more abundant.
Course is in a pretty remote area (but well worth the travel).
No bathrooms or port a pot.

Other Thoughts:

I think I have a new favorite course here.
Place is MINT! Absolutely MINT!
Black Falls will challenge your distance, placement, and patience.
Visually, you will be amazed at where you are playing.
Physically, you will be challenged navigating your shots at this course.
Mentally, you will toss between being peacefully at ease in the mountains and agitated at the difficulty of the course.
I can't say enough about this course, and my words will never do this gem justice. You have to see it. You need to play it.
If a friend asks you to travel to Black Falls and play your only answer should be " LET'S GO!!!"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 12
Christopherj
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Vermont heaven 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 4, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Adaptable layout
Well maintained
Doesn't hey much more beatiful than this course.

Cons:

Out of the way, or is that a pro?

Other Thoughts:

Black Falls is what disc golf is all about. You and your friends out inn nature having a great time. If you want to take it easy and enjoy the scenery, perfect. If you want to be challenged, you can get that here also.

Wear good shoes

Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 48
HumorMe
Experience: 10.2 years 21 played 12 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Several layouts (gold and silver tees plus gold and silver baskets means that each hole has 4 options for play).
- Good hole design. Most of the holes had reasonable approaches.

Cons:

- The biggest con is that the course has been kind of let go. You can see vestiges of what might have been a really nice course, and I hope someone revives it, because the potential is certainly there.
- Unfortunately, there is a lot of undergrowth making it easy to lose a disc even on the short holes.
- Signs and markings clearly used to be thorough, but have faded to where you can't read them.
- Fairways are cluttered and overgrown. There is no good footing anywhere, and a well thrown disc can still be ruined by random debris.
- When you let undergrowth grow you get - no surprise - lots of bugs. This late in the season I really did not imagine the flies would be so bad, and at other courses I played in the same long weekend, there was no problem.
- Cost. $7 is ridiculous for the state this course is in.
- Tees were mostly gravel, one brick. Most were still ok, but some had gotten slippery. I only played the gold tees, so perhaps the silver were better.
- No pro shop
- Location is quite remote.
- Awkward parking

Other Thoughts:

This course was highly over-rated, which is what lured me to it. But I think this may be because it used to be quite nice. I could certainly see vestiges of a former glory. But I drove a long way and passed up several other courses to see this highly rated course and it was a severe disappointment. I didn't see a single other sole the entire time I was there either (late afternoon on a Thursday, but still).
I respect that this course was a labor of love and at some point someone put a ton of effort into it. But when you let a course go to seed, it ruins the experience no matter how nice it might formerly have been.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by Johnny Betts
Wondering if you played the right course or are just trying to be malicious. Black Falls is looking and playing better than it ever has. Many pro and am players just spent several days playing the course after their rounds at the Green Mountain Championship and all thought the course was in excellent condition. Some even made the trip more than once! Fairways are always mowed and no one but you seems to have a problem reading the signs and finding their way.

I am a one man operation, work two jobs and still spend hours each week keeping the course up.

Sorry if you had a bad experience. I would be willing to refund your money if you send me a pm.
20 2
Discette
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.8 years 679 played 64 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Amazing Backyard Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 20, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

18 hole course set on a private property with two sets of tees and two targets on every hole. Course plays over ponds, through the woods and up and down and across grassy meadows. While not a Championship level course, Black Falls will provide plenty of challenge for most players. The compact design makes excellent use of the elevation and the natural features. I played this course as part of a disc golf road trip playing 12 states in 12 days.

I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Two Targets for Double the Fun
There were two targets on every hole. There are traditional yellow DISCatchers for the "gold" pins and the second set of targets were DISCatcher Sport targets that were spray painted silver. I was amazed how well the Sport targets were holding up as they are not designed to be left out in the elements. This was a very well designed two target course. On some of the two target courses I have played, it seems like one set of targets are the afterthought or somehow squeezed into the design. However, this course does a great job of installing two targets so that they really do provide different playing experiences. Extra target locations are thoughtfully designed. Black Falls is one of the better two target/tee courses I have played. I played one round from the Gold tees to the Gold Targets as well as an extra nine holes of mixed tees/targets.

Two Tees for Quadruple the Fun
Every single hole had two sets of tees. The Gold Tees were always longer and more challenging than the short tees. The Gold Tees to Gold targets is the most challenging layout on the property. This would be the most challenging layout on the property. That first Gold Tee is quite a challenge and I passed on that one as I would prefer to warm up before taking a blind shot over a pond. Even though I am not a high rated player, I do have years of experience and I had no problems playing from the Gold Tees. The Silver Tees are not always shorter, and try employ a different fairway to get to the pin(s). Most of the tees were natural and developed with crushed rock. Both tees on the signature Hole 18 had bricks/pavers.

Fun vs Challenge
The course makes great use of the wonderful natural features of this property. The course takes the player over ponds and down into the woods. It winds along a couple of small creeks. There are some fun downhill shots as well as several uphill treks. Target placements take advantage of natural features to add challenge. Even with the wide variety of terrain, most holes only require players to have a controlled straight shot. The wider fairways still require a straight shot and good placement to stay out of trouble and score well. While the silver tees to silver targets are easier than the Gold targets, the course still requires some amount of skills to stay in the fairways. I am not sure this would be a good course for kids or beginners.


Vermont Beauty
The drive to get here is just as beautiful as the destination. Amazingly beautiful property with tranquil ponds, lush greenery and colorful flowers. This course has the requisite New England rock walls complete with moss and ferns. I visited in late September. with abundant sunshine and mild temperatures. The foliage was just starting to change. This course is twice as beautiful in the fall. The spring photos here really don't show the true beauty and challenge when foliage is the fullest. The garden off Hole 9/10 was overflowing with flowers and pumpkins.


Navigation
Signs on every Gold and Silver tee showing both pin placements. There were directional arrows to the next silver or gold tee throughout the course. The hand-painted tee signs included all the information for each tee and target including, distances, OB areas and mandatories. The tee signs are color coded with Silver or Gold bands across the top, so there is no doubt which tee you are playing. While these are not super glossy computer generated signs with full color graphics, the home made signs are a perfect match for such an informal backyard course.


Clean and Maintained
All the tees, signs and targets were in great condition. The property was clean and free of garbage, butts and grafitti. There were well placed stones, bricks and boards to traverse the terrain. The holes along the grassy hillside were getting a little shaggy, but that would be expected so late in the season. Please do your part when you play and keep the course clean and free of garbage and butts.

Two Nines
I love the fact that the course loops back to the parking area after Holes 9/10. It is a great opportunity to get more water, drop off a jacket or pick up another disc. It is nice when I don't have to lug all the water needed to play 18 holes in a row. While you do have the option to play either nine first, I would recommend playing 1 to 18 as designed on your first time. I really enjoy the progression of the course as designed. Besides 18 is a perfect finishing hole since there is that chance to lose plastic to the pond.


Rustic and Casual
Nothing fancy here, just good disc golf fun. This is a laid back and casual disc golf course in someone's yard. This rustic homemade disc golf course provides plenty of fun and challenge for the average player. I am not sure this is a good course for new players. It does require the ability to control a disc to stay in the fairways. This course is a diamond in the rough compared to the well polished Smuggler's Resort courses.

Tee Shop
There is a tee shop on site. It was not open on the day I visited so I can't comment on the disc selection. There is an honor box to pay when the shop is not open. I don't know if the pro shop sells any water or snacks. Stock up on those items before you come in case it is closed.


Compact Design
This is not a very big property, so you don't cover a whole lot of ground to play the entire 18 holes. The walks between holes are very minimal. Plus the course loops back to the parking area after nine holes. The compact design meant I had enough time and energy to play another 9 holes and experience some different tees and different target combinations before I had to leave.

Amenities
How amazing to have two full sets of targets and two full sets of tees. As it is a rustic course, one would naturally expect rustic amenities like natural tees There are hand painted signs on every single tee. There are thoughtful uses of steps, stones and boards as bridges to navigate the terrain. There is an on-site pro shop. There is a practice basket by the house and the very small parking area. There was an outhouse after Hole 1. However, I don't know if it was functional or not. The course could use more benches to allow time to relax and enjoy the experience.

Disc Hazards
Regardless of the layout you play, water does come into play at least once. 18 Gold pin is across the ponds but, even if you play safe on 18, the Silver pin is still close enough to the water for worry should you get unlucky. I played when all the creeks were dry, but the creeks would provide additional hazards after a rainfall. There is the possibility to lose discs in the rough. You could also lose a disc on some of the blind tee shots if you don't have a spotter, which is exactly why I declined to play Hole One from the Gold Tee.


Kids, Carts and Strollers
I would say yes to kids and yes to all-terrain golf carts. I am not sure I would want to push a stroller up some of the uphill fairways. It is not so steep, and the design is pretty compact, and the holes are not that long so a disc golfer shouldn't really need cart. By the same token, youngsters should be able to tag along and older kids with skills would be able to play along. The course plays back to the parking lot at Hole 9/10 so, there is opportunity to stop or take a break. There was an outhouse after Hole 1, but I don't know if it was operational. I don't know if the pro shop sells any water or snacks, so stock up before you come.

Bugs
I don't recall if there were any bugs or biting things. However, I always spray for ticks and mosquitoes BEFORE I play on courses near ponds or in the woods.

Cons:

A Long Drive
Here is the proof to the saying: "If you build it, they will come." This course is quite a drive out to the country and this is some extremely beautiful country to drive through. While it is scenic and fun, it will be up to you to decide if it is worth all the extra effort required to get here to play.


Lost Discs
It is possible to lose discs in the water regardless of layout you play. If you don't have a spotter, it could be possible to lose a disc on some of the blind drives, I guess there are some rough areas where you could lose a disc, but only if you are unlucky.

Other Thoughts:

Private Course
The owner has graciously shared his private land to disc golfers. Be respectful of everything here and remember you are a guest. Please pay your fees, before tee off and be sure to pick up your trash and take it with you. Don't be "that guy" that leaves your trash and butts behind and cusses at the top his lungs. Please do not bother the people that live in the house.

Vermont is awesome
Vermont is beautiful from top to bottom. I started my 12 States in 12 days road trip in Vermont. I am so glad I took the time to spend several days here before heading to the other 11 States. Playing disc golf and driving across Vermont was one of the highlights of my 12 day disc golf adventure - actually probably in my life. One of the things I love most about disc golf is it gets me out into the woods and close to nature. Getting to experience the nature of Vermont up close and personal was amazing.

Rating
When I played Black Falls, it was the highest rated course in Vermont at DGCR. While Black Falls was absolutely wonderful, scenic, enjoyable, challenging and unique, I did not think it was the top rated course I played in Vermont. I would give Black Falls five disc rating for Vermont Beauty and that awesome New England vibe. It earns a five disc rating for great execution of dual tees and dual targets. It earns five discs as a fun course for skilled players. Black Falls just needs to offer a little more challenge, polish and variety to be considered the best course in Vermont.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
sidewinder22
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.9 years 304 played 198 reviews
4.50 star(s)

All The Way Up! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Spectacular 18 hole private course featuring dual tees and baskets playing through a beautiful Vermont forest with moderate elevation changes, boulders, rock walls, a creek and couple ponds providing a unique experience. Well defined and nicely manicured fairways that give you great diversity hole-wise turning left/right and straight.

As a traveling player I was a bit leery playing here because there is no map, however the signage is good and navigation is very easy. Two loops of nine holes back to parking lot.

Cons:

It's all the way up to the Canadian border, but totally worth it. Tiny parking lot and not much amenity wise. Hole 1 gold tee seemed a bit close for comfort to the house. Have to cross a fairway or two in navigation. Some slippery footing in the woods - I took a spill on hole 3. Not really a con, but I wish the basket on hole 10 wasn't blind from the Gold tee and there were a couple holes to unleash a drive. Potential to lose discs in the rough. Biting flies and bugs.

Other Thoughts:

The Black Falls journey starts off visually with one of the most serene backdrops driving up to the course with Jay Peak and its rivers flowing along the way in Vermont's Northeast Kingdom - I'm pretty sure I've seen it in one of those pretty motivation posters. While playing the course I felt like I was in New Zealand with all the ferns and moss covering stones, it's no wonder why Vermont is the green mountain state. I was expecting some more dramatic elevation on the course given the setting, but what elevation it has is plenty and used well.

I played the Gold layout and the course plays fair to the course manager and punishing to the shot maker that doesn't make it. I would have liked to see a few longer holes and more par 4s or even a 5 or two, but I think the course is maxed out on it's limited property as the layout feels a little squished already. The front 11 was totally awesome and diverse and then got a little repetitive switch-backing the slope on the back 8 sans hole 16 playing directly uphill slight anhyzer while hole 17 played like an "open" hole and a chance to air one out a little, and hole 18 finishing nicely with the triple ponds and pretty mountain top in the background.

Overall I had a great experience playing even despite the on/off rain conditions. I'd highly recommend to any traveling players that enjoy playing some great wooded control golf in a beautiful setting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
bhadella
Experience: 25.9 years 175 played 5 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Tremendous design, land and execution 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 18, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Tremendous design. Challenging but achievable lines utilizing the wonderful landscape. Uphills, downhills, straight fairways, left turns, right turns and even a water carry; this course has it all. None of the holes are repetitive, each one has its place on the course. Just the right amount of trees were cut providing challenge yet fairways are very fair. Bad shots are punished, good ones are rewarded. Multiple teepad and baskets add additional layers of variety to the course. The crushed gravel (and sometimes brick) teepads work well. The Gold baskets are standard Discatchers while the Silver are Discatcher Sports, both caught well. Navigation is easy, lots of directional signs and informative teesigns. Heck, they even have a outhouse on course if you need a bathroom break.

Cons:

This is nitpicky. The only teepad/basket combo without a clean line is the Gold tee to Silver basket on 12. It could use some clearing as it's a little flukey. That's it, really. Tremendous design.

Other Thoughts:

This course is the best combination of excellent design and great land/landscape I've played (in the 100+ courses I've been lucky enough to play).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 1
edfaits
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.7 years 91 played 42 reviews
4.50 star(s)

From the Rec Player Perspective 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 18, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

• Awesome setting. Vermont's Northeast Kingdom is almost a fantasy world in any season. Expected to see hobbits and elves at any time. Though I saw a hobbit over by the covered bridge... keeping the troll at bay, no doubt.
• The owner has lovingly extracted a disc golf course out to of the land while preserving its natural beauty.
• Hand carved steps on the hilly sections, plank walkways in the swampy areas blend in to the surrounds.
• Creature comforts (outhouse, drinking water) available
• Nice water features, some just for show, some (18th hole) come in to play, though mostly avoided if you play the "REC" level silver to silver layout
• Clear and accurate handmade signage fits the rustic nature of the place
• Two Tees, Two baskets on every hole makes for 4 different layouts to challenge any skill level
• Silver to Silver layout is a nice challenge for a "REC" player... Every hole had a clear "PAR" line if you could hit it, but lose concentration or make an errant through and bogie or worse is possible with the dense woods looming. I didn't play other layouts, but I'm sure they will challenge more advanced players.
• Makes good use of elevation changes...and many throw lines have the high tree canopy to deal with for "tunneling" effects.
• Variety of holes... mostly open, pretty tight, good balance of left turning, right turning, mostly straight...
• Practice basket near parking. The "main" parking area is limited to just a few cars, but lots of places to park within a short walk to the first tee
• Course owner lives on site and has discs for sale and is a fount of disc golf wisdom. Tips on places to stay, where to eat dinner, other great courses in the area.
• The Gold baskets are bright DISCatcher Pro's

Cons:

• Some of the tee boxes a bit scruffy and smallish...
• The Silver Baskets are DISCatcher Sports though the course owner has added inner chains so they catch well.

Other Thoughts:

DGCourseReview.vom had this course as #15 in the world. Heading up to the course I was pretty skeptical. How could something this far out be just a few ticks below Maple Hill? I've played some other fabulous destination courses that don't make the course top 25: The IDGC courses in Appling, GA, Sabattus up in Maine, and The Blockhouse in Spotsylvania, VA. Would Black Falls exceed these courses?
After playing a few holes at Black Falls I felt that maybe this course was a bit over-rated... but as I played along I started really enjoying the natural beauty of the place, and appreciating the details that the course owner lovingly put in to the place.
Is this course one of the top 15 in the world? I'll let the law of large numbers determine this one, but I had a great time and it was well worth the 4 hour drive for me. Black Falls may be rustic and un-refined, but this place certainly captures the heart and soul of what disc golf is all about. There is Vavaldi's Four Seasons, then there is Earl Scruggs Foggy Mountain Breakdown. Which is a "better" piece of music? I guess it depends on the listener. With Black Falls you can almost hear the banjo solo...
My wife also enjoyed our "Northeast Kingdom" Vermont experience and enjoyed the great vistas and exploring small towns. This is so close to Canada half of the radio stations were French language stations from Quebec. Montreal is Southwest of Black Falls. We came in on the "shortcut", Rt 58, which turns into a gravel road for much of the way coming in off I-91. Spectacular scenery, and I was amazed that when it seemed like we were in the middle of nowhere I'd suddenly get 4 bars and a 3G connection on my cell phone. (NOTE: Road can be closed in snow/mud season)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 2
Babinator
Experience: 17 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Crown of Northeast Kingdom 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I recently got the opportunity to hang out in Montgomery, VT for a week with nothing to do but play this course. It was an amazing week. The first few rounds I was in awe. Every hole feels completely different. There are two courses overlaid on the same land. Silver and Gold. I played mostly silver the first few rounds with a few golds sprinkled in. My last few rounds were gold only. Not only does each hole feel different, they play differently as well. To do well here you will need a variety of shots. The course is well maintained by the very dedicated Johnny Betts. His love for the course is visible at every turn. The thought that went into the layout and balance astounded me.
If I had to pick out highlights I would have to go with gold holes 4,5 and 18. Four has a long tight stream lined approach to the base of a big steep hill which has the basket perched on it's peek. Don't overthrow of you will go down the equally steep back side of this ridge. Five plays back down the hill through a wicked tight gap. Eighteen requires a straight throw over water. Gets the blood pumping every time.

Cons:

I typically like to play in sneakers. My time playing this course was in peek Spring with lots of rain. Boots were required to stay dry during the off fairway trouble I often got myself into. I would add that I played the course in pouring rain and still had a blast. It's that amazing a course.

Other Thoughts:

This course and the area of Vermont it's in are beautiful. I didn't get tired of the course even after playing it almost exclusively for a week straight. The fairways are laid out such that if you can shape the shot, you can make the shot. Every hole is very playable. Most are challenging. Like.Michelangelo with marble, Johnny has carved this course out of the Northeast Kingdom. He found the course that was "in" the land. I don't know what perfect is so I leave my rating at a 4.5.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 2
wpifarmer
Experience: 11.2 years 65 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Run towards the border! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Excellent layout. The holes use the terrain really well to create an excellent variety of holes.
- Challenging to all skill levels with two tees and two baskets on every hole.
- Convenient and classic outhouse.
- Discs available for purchase on site
- Well defined and maintained fairways.
- Not crowded
- Beautiful location in northern VT
- Super clean
- The owner is a super guy that is totally passionate about disc golf, and his course.
- Tasty wild berries all over the course in the right season (mid-late summer)

Cons:

- Getting in the rough on some of the holes can be ROUGH. It is supposed to be rough, but watch out for wild blackberries that will cut you up.

Other Thoughts:

This course really is worth the run towards the Canadian border! Such a beautiful spot and a wonderful course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 2
davistd0
Experience: 15.2 years 85 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Get here to play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 15, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Variety: Each hole feels quite different from all the rest without any tacky additions to attempt to create unique holes. This is achieved through tremendous use of elevation, excellently shaped fairways, and difficult but fair basket locations.

Signature Holes: This course has multiple! #4 plays downhill toward the base of a ridge, across a stream, and then to the top of the ridge. #5 is a shorter but exciting tunnel shot ace run back down the ridge. #10 is 500+ downhill into a field with the basket at the far end. #18 shoots over multiple ponds that are easily accessible to retrieve splash downs.

Options: 2 sets of tees + 2 sets of baskets = 4 layouts.

Scenery: Northern VT, in the mountains, enough said.

Tee pads: I prefer cement tees, but I can't dock Black Falls because their crushed stone tees are very level, dry, and more than large enough. Honestly, cement tees would detract from the pristine beauty and natural feel of the course.

Baskets: In great shape. They catch discs. None are broken or missing.

Upkeep: Clean fairways, grass mowed, signage present and accurate. No issues with navigation. I get up to Black Falls only once each year and notice course improvements every time.

Owner: Johnny Betts took time off from work to play doubles with a big group of us in the area for GMC. Such a great experience, we made the trip from Smuggs twice that week rather than seeking some casual rounds elsewhere.

Cons:

Location: Not very close to anything. I understand that many people would find this a PRO since the course is never crowded.

I will add more here if I can ever think of any.

Other Thoughts:

This course has an unpolished feel to it, which is different than most of the destination courses in New England. But it works! A very relaxed setting, quiet and beautiful. The respect for the course is obvious because I did not see a single piece of trash or empty can/bottle.

Super fun course to play, and it challenges your game both mentally and physically.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 11
Forehand-Hucker
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Two tees and pins per hole

Great diversity in hole lengths, elevation and tree density.
Challenge for pro's and easy for beginners.

Very well taken care of. Always mowed and tees are kept flat and solid.

Outhouse, and water available on course.

Good tee signs for easy navigation.



Cons:

Parking can get tight if it is crowded. This is usually not an issue as you are more than likely to have the course to yourself

Other Thoughts:

A true destination course especially paired with sister course "Cherry Hill" next door. You could play here for a week and not get tired of the golf.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
Wescott
Experience: 56 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 13, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great mix of holes with a good balance of long and short as well as fh/bh-friendly shots.
2 Tees & 2 Pins for every hole, course difficulty ranges from easier/beginner (Silver>Silver) to very challenging (Gold>Gold) so you can show up with a group of beginners or pro's and have a great time.
Always well maintained.
Discs and more available for sale at the shop.
Good signage to help navigate around the course.

Cons:

Tee pads are crushed stone which is fine, but a couple could be a tad bigger.

Other Thoughts:

Beautiful location, camping is available.
Not a con, but be aware that the course plays near/over the house/garden. Watch your language.
I really love the balance of this course with tight & technical to go with a few bomb shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
JimBailey175
Experience: 11.8 years 43 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Make the trip... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Two sets of tees and baskets makes 4 unique ways to play, challenging beginners and pros alike. The hole diversity is also outstanding with a good balance of forehand and backhand friendly lines, tight wooded alleys, open fields, orchards, streams and ponds. Lots of well-utilized elevation adds to the challenge and enjoyment of many holes. Good signage and easy navigation make it very friendly for first timers.
Gravel / natural tee pads are in good condition. Discatchers at every hole.

Cons:

The only gripe I've ever had in a dozen visits is that the rough can be rough! Leave the fairway at your own peril, particularly in the spring. It helps a lot to use a spotter, particularly in the overgrown spring months.

Other Thoughts:

Owners are super-friendly and Jonny's shop has a good selection to top off your bag or take home a BF-stamped disc as a memento (they just fly better).

There's always a defined fairway so no "throw and hope" shots. At the same time even the field holes are bounded with treelines and OB so you have to hit your line to stay safe.

While some quality courses lack a "signature hole" this one has at least 4! Holes 1 (especially from "tournament golds"), 4, 10, and 18 are particularly beautiful, challenging, and unique. There are no gimmes or filler holes here.

This is a great destination course. Bundle it with nearby Cherry Hill, Brewster Ridge, Wrightsville Beach, or Center Chains and have yourself an unbeatable golf road trip. Its fun any time but the autumn is gorgeous at the Falls.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 7
Riords
Experience: 24 played 5 reviews
5.00 star(s)

A Hidden Gem in Vermont 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 30, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

A disc golf experience to remember for a lifetime. This is a hidden gem. On private property, with an awesome, super friendly owner. Played gold tees. Perfect distance to tees, with just tight enough fairways to challenge. great signage. Can see most baskets from tees. Innova baskets, on all 18, which I love. Throw over water on 1 and 18. Best time I might have had playing disc golf, ever. 20 years.

Cons:

none. zero.

Other Thoughts:

If you can play this course in the fall season, it is a heavenly experience....the colors and views are out of this world.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 6
ndr09286
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

NEK gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Incredibly challenging, beautiful, well-marked, not crowded, and run by a very nice family.

Other Thoughts:

Living only 30 minutes away, I did not want to review this course because I wanted it to stay a secret as long as possible. But the family who runs this course is too nice and the course is too beautiful to sit on my hands any longer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
rclements
Experience: 11.8 years 13 played 6 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Challenging & diverse 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Very balanced for RHBH & forehand players
- Excellent balance of wooded holes & open holes
- 4 different ways to play
- Extremely well thought out
- Very specific signs @ tee-boxes
- Several long tee-boxes
- Jonny will sell you discs at a reasonable price in the garage (Innova & Discraft)
- Hole 10 is a dream
- New outhouse in the middle of the course
- Silver to silver is great for beginners
- $5 gets you in all day

Cons:

- Easy to lose a disc if you have wild throws
- Wild throws on 17 & 18 could end up in the pond
- Very limited parking

Other Thoughts:

This course is challenging, but incredibly fun to play. Since I've played there this year, Jonny has switched up some of the tee locations (#4) which makes things pretty interesting. Totally worth your $5 and long drive. Bring a beer and a lunch and play all day!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
Mfoleybrews
Experience: 14.2 years 39 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Way up There! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 27, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a true destination course.
Variety is the key, you had better bring your entire arsenal because you will need it.
Johnny is most hospitable, we were lucky enough to play Gold to gold and silver to silver with him.
I have spent the better part of my life vacationing in VT but I have not spent much time in the Northeast Kingdom, the ride up is long, beautiful and well worth the trip. This is a true destination course that is not to be missed. The option to camp cheap includes round fees.

Cons:

UH...............gimme a mintue to think this one over.

Other Thoughts:

I read about this course in an article ranking it as top in North America. We drove 6 hours just to see if that was accurate information. I wouldn't change a thing, the woods seem like something out of a fairy tale, the course maintenance is unmatched. We played gold to gold in the morning, then took a break went fishing and grabbed lunch, came back and played silver to silver. We even got Johnny to join us next door at Cherry Hill for the front nine. The day worked out to be 45 of the best holes that I have had the pleasure to play...........


I'm still trying to come up with at least one CON and can't! Keep up the dedication to the sport Johnny you certainly have a gem way up there. Many thanks for your hospitality hope to see you in July!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
duckychucky
Experience: 22.2 years 19 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Pure DG Fun! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 6, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-SCENERY is possibly the best part of this course (even though the golf is also great). The holes that play along the creek reminded me off a forest that would have been fun to play in as a kid. A dark glen under giant pines with ferns on the banks of a magical creek (that happened to have disc golf baskets too). As much fun as I was having golfing, just walking this beautiful forest was worth the $5.
-FUN GOLF is the best way I can explain it. Of course Black Falls has all the obvious features you hear all the time "great mix of wooded and open", "favors righties and lefties equally", "great use of elevation and water", all the aspects that make for a top notch course. I think what made it really fun was the perfect density of trees on the edge of the wooded fairways. The narrower fairways were so rewarding when the shot was executed properly, however the shots that drifted off the fairway made for really exciting aproach shots, with enough trees that you were punished but enough open pockets to
tempt risky up shots to the pin. To me that is fun golf.
-CHARACTER. It was more than the just following a designers checklist that went into this course. The property has a great mix of different sections of different species trees and the designer placed many holes within these tree pockets so that many of the walks from basket to next hole was a transition into a different type of forest, giving a different flavor to each hole, like turning the page to a new chapter in a book. The huge downhill bomb on hole 10, the dark wooded tunnel on hole 5 and the ball golf like ponds on hole 18 show the great variety of this course.
-TEE PADS. I loved the crushed stone pads. Cement pads would look out of place on the side of this mountain. Johnny keeps the pads flat and smooth and they just feel and look more natural. If Johnny puts in cement pads I'll knock down this rating!
-LAYOUT was easy to follow. I played it after the slight redesign to a couple holes on the back 9 that previously had less obvious flow. Although we played with Johnny the owner i dont think we would have needed a map.
-DOUBLE TEES/DOUBLE BASKETS is the perfect way to fit four layouts on this property. Silver to Silver=Red, Silver to Gold=White, Gold to Silver=Blue. Gold to Gold=Gold (duh). We played only one one round and really wanted to play a 2nd round to try a different layout but forced ourselves to play Cherry Hill (the sister course up the road) instead.
-CHERRY HILL up the road is on Johnny's sisters land and makes this into a 36 fairway/54 basket/72 tee/108 "hole" disc golf destination.
-PRO SHOP with a good selection.
-CAMPING available.

Cons:

None of these cons are real bad but just enough to keep the course from being a 5 (perfect in every way)...
-TEE SIGNS. They work, but a beauty of a course deserves nicer looking signs. Rustic burned wood signs would be perfect.
-WHITE & BLUE TOO CLOSE IN LENGTH. The silver-to-gold and gold-to-silver layouts are only 90 feet different. The gold tees add challenge other than sheer length so the blue layout is harder than white but it seems like some different basket placements could make the blue play even longer and harder than white.
-HOUSE AND CARS. The course would feel even more like a magical forest if Johnnys house wasnt right on top of it. One of his cars was parked near hole 9 and my wife joked about having to call Progressive Insurance if she gripped locked her drive. It doesnt take away from the golf and it certainly is a beautiful house but just took a little away from that middle-of-nowhere feeling. (This was one of the things that i liked better about Cherry Hill, all the holes were away from the house.)

Other Thoughts:

-THE PICS ON THIS SITE ARE OLD. Some of the holes are a little different now and the course is landscaped nicer now than pics show.
-ONE DAY WAS NOT ENOUGH. I would have loved to play a hard layout here and the easy tees at Cherry Hill one day and then easy at BF and hard at CH the next.
-To me BF was a mix of beauty and pure fun, while CH was a mix of beauty and pure challenge.
- I have always wanted to buy property in Montgomery for the epic snow and skiing at Jay, now I NEED to get a cabin there so I can play these courses more!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 6
Hfactor
Experience: 18 years 38 played 11 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Rival to Flip City 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Two pads and two baskets for every hole (silver / gold). Is the only course I have ever played that rivals Flip City. I played Idle Wild and it didnt even come close (dog poop everywhere at Idle wild, airplanes flying over your head.... how is that rated #2?). The owner (Johnny I believe his name was) came and played a few holes with us.

It has been over a year since I played it so I can't give a detailed review. It is incredible though.

Cons:

none

Other Thoughts:

In my opinion this is the only course I have ever played that rivals Flip City. Kensington is #2 ? IdleWild? No way! This course is the second best course in the world. We played when it was pouring rain out and still managed to have a great time even though we were drenched. There are two tees and two baskets for each hole making for a variety of 72 different shots! I lived in the NEK of Vermont for the summer and was lucky enough to make quite a few discing friends. I played at four different private courses (not listed on this site) that were all fantastic and easily A rated courses. This course was about 1.5 hours from where I was living and it was well worth the drive. I guess the owners sister has another course not to far from this one. I plan on going back to vermont in the fall to play on my friends courses, this course and his sisters course. If you are in Vermont you HAVE to play this course!

And all you butthurt bitches can downvote me i dont care
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top