Ridgedale, MO

Branson Cedars Resort - Treehouz

4.455(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Branson Cedars Resort - Treehouz reviews

Filter
6 9
Declarkus
Experience: 20.7 years 287 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Update to give credit where it's due 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 18, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice baskets; 2 sets of level, well poured concrete pads helps make the challenging length of the course more manageable for beginners; 2 pin placements on most holes; benches on almost every hole; lots of trash cans; permanent signage and arrows pointing to next holes and printed course maps in the pro shop make navigation easy; bathrooms situated in the middle of the front 9; good variety; effective long rake at water hazard

Cons:

No pin placement indicators on tee signs; tall, thick rough on a few holes; $10 to play

Other Thoughts:

I gave a pretty critical review after playing the course a few years ago. However, I was impressed at all the great work that has been done to the course which addressed most all of my original complaints. While the price to play is still a bit steep (especially when you have to pay for the whole foursome), most every activity in Ridgedale isn't cheap ($15 nature trails, $30 cave tours, etc). Everyone in my group had fun despite the length and elevation in the humidity. After scouting the area and playing a few other courses in the area, I've concluded this is the best course in the Branson/Ozark area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
homeskule87
Experience: 14.7 years 63 played 16 reviews
4.50 star(s)

I'd pay more then 5 dollars 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 1, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Innova Disccatcher baskets.
Pro shop on site.
Awesome signage on every hole.
Nice concrete tee pads.
Alternate tees for people who are leery of throwing near ponds.
Tons of trash cans.
Mowed to perfection.
Elevation changes.
Even ratio of open and wooded holes.
This is a course straight out of a magazine or video game. Shots over ponds, around ponds, big open fairways, tight technical lines, dog leg lefts and rights. They even have putting greens like in ball golf! I would pay way more then 5 bucks to play again.

Cons:

It's not in my home state! There is seriously nothing bad about this course.

Other Thoughts:

I expected this course to be fun, but not this fun. Truly the nicest course I've ever been to. If you in the area go play it! If you aren't in the area get there!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 8
asjzn6
Experience: 18.5 years 136 played 59 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pretty fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good tee signs, good baskets, navigation was easy, the wooded holes were real fun, favorite holes, hole 6, 7, 15. Price was reasonable. Great area for family vacation, cabins, pool horseshoes, soccer goals, playground, restaurant, lots for the whole family.

Cons:

Some of the bomber holes were redundant, 2, 11, 16, 18, and 19.

Other Thoughts:

I was glad to get down to this course I enjoyed myself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
BadKArma
Experience: 12.8 years 4 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

What a course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Can't say any more than what has already been stated. I used to play this course when it was a Ball Golf course. Brought back a lot of memories while I was playing. Great use of elevated pads and loved the doglegs.

Cons:

Back in the day this course was named "Oakmont", but we called it "Rockmont", and for good reason. Several of the holes, 9 in particular, are very very rocky and can chew up discs. but that's my only con.

Other Thoughts:

Love this course. And since I'm a local, I'm making this my home course. ;)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
badams
Experience: 33.8 years 73 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Treehouz 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 11, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great mixture of long holes, seemingly open but must be aware of elevation changes or water hazzards, with several shorter more technical holes mixedn in

Cons:

would like to see an ace run or two

Other Thoughts:

definitely a must play if you are in the area
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 7
Bleedblue34
Experience: 11.9 years 21 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Spectacular Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 7, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great elevation changes
Amazing design and flow
Turf greens (just cool to tee off throwing at them)
Pro Shop is packed with goods!
Great Staff
Great shot choices on almost every hole
Pay to play, if this is what a course looks and plays like for $5 per day it is a pro

Cons:

Pay to play, I think it is also a con because players new to disc golf will probably not pay to play, and will miss out on this beauty.

Not many trash cans

Other Thoughts:

I thought that I had played some really good disc golf courses in the past. I hadn't. This is the course that will be the measuring stick for all future courses I play.

This course should be on all wish lists, it is a great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 1
cydisc
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.8 years 257 played 84 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A lot of fun on old golf course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 21, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Good tees (concrete)
- Good signs
- Astroturf greens (golf holes only, cuts down on erosion)
- Good balance of shots
- Interesting terrain
- Pro shop on site
- Double loop of 9's

Cons:

- Could use another set of tees to appeal to different skill levels.

Other Thoughts:

A fully-stocked pro shop greets you as you pull up to the course. As of this reviewer's visit, the green fee was $5 for the day. You are given a map of the course, which will come in handy on a few holes where the next tee is not apparent from the previous basket. A short walk takes you past the namesake of the course, a house that's built on a pedestal and looks like a tree house.

The course is built on a former ball golf course (fun fact: I played it as a golf course soon after it opened 20+ years ago) and plays several of the fairways to baskets that are mounted into the old greens, which are covered in artificial turf. Only about half of the holes are like this, most of the multi-shot holes, to be sure. There are several technical holes carved into the woods bordering the old course. A couple of ponds increase the penalty on several holes.

There is only one set of concrete tees, which are set at a "blue" level of difficulty. The course features a good balance of open big-drive holes and tight, finesse holes to test all aspects of the game. Being in southern Missouri, there is plenty of elevation available and the course does a good job of utilizing it in a fun way.

I always appreciate when an 18 hole course, in particular, a long course, brings you back to the parking lot mid-way through the round to restock on beverages or replacing lost discs and this course does that after 9 holes.

#18 finishes a ways from the parking lot, so there is a longish walk back to the car, but there is an unofficial 19th hole that finishes at the old #9 of the golf course (no basket).

Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Intermediate/Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 27, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a private resort, which has some seasonal homes and whatnot. Seeing how it is private and pay-to-play, there shouldn't be any chance for any interference. All other activities are well separated as well. Holes are split pretty even between open, ball golf terrain, and some pretty dense woods.
- Holes out in the open provide many opportunities to unleash the beast - very long holes with wide fairways, sloping both way down and slightly up. A good amount of par 4 holes; #6 is a long, downhill hyzer off the tee that jogs right at the bottom. #10 is a healthy 500', slight uphill, and #11 is 600' with a nasty slope all along the right side. #2 and #18 are both pretty deep downhill-sloped valleys; coming up short means a steep upshot to the green.
- Water comes into play in a few spots out here, throwing a RHFH shot on #3 goes directly over a pond, #4 also has water on the left, #6 has the pond to the left of the green, and #7's tee shot has to clear a small pond. Definitely in play on these holes, with drop zones for any shots that get wet.
- A handful of holes have many more trees to contend with, not necessarily in the woods but with obvious lines to hit. #5 has a left-sloping fairway with the basket up and on the right, the best line is a hyzer or RHFH flex shot, and #8 and #9 are uphill hyzers.
- Rest of the course is situated in very dense woods with very dense rough. Tunnel shots galore back here; accuracy is an absolute must. Pretty even mix of left and right fairways, #12 and #14 are RHFH friendly, while #13 is straight, and #15 and #17 have a hyzer finish at the end. Very different from the rest of the course.
- As mentioned before; lots of elevation changes present here. Not only the ups and downs of the fairways, but also on the sides of the holes with big rollaway punishment. #1, #11, and #16 all have big slopes on the right side that will swallow errant shots. Some sloped greens as well, on top of tree-protected greens.
- Good teepads, baskets, and laminated tee signs. Navigation can be a little tricky in spots, like getting from #7 to #8, so checking the map is a good idea.

Cons:

- Holes out in the open are really out in the open... those that play on the old ball golf course have zero trees in the fairways; only on the sides. About 1/3-1/2 of the holes fall into this category, so it is pretty significant.

Other Thoughts:

- Not many cons at this course - excellent mix of wooded and open holes, big time elevation changes in spots, extreme bombers and technical lines in the woods. The turf greens are a good touch on the old golf greens, and the water adds a lot of character. Very good course for intermediate or expert players, beginners might be overwhelmed.
- Basket #19 is pending, to my understanding, but the hole is playable. Sounds like it will inevitably be installed.
- The Journey Post is on site here too!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
Chain smoker Russ
Experience: 17.2 years 3 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Chain Smokin favorite 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 3, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Awesome elevations, some wooded shots, Greens, yes real greens. Made from indoor outdoor carpet. Plush and comfortable place to practice the putts. Pro Shop on site Journey Post, great items and of course great plastic available. Water hazards, Long Elevation shots make it everything for everyone.

Cons:

It's all Good.

Other Thoughts:

#1 Wind blowing left to right. I threw a buzz straight down the fairway. The pin was about 20' into the woods on steep hill. I layed up 35' to left of pin for long putt Birdie.

#2 Left to right wind. I threw a Katana down to the right side of the fairway then threw a Buzz lay up and the putt made with a Clozer.:( Playing down hill to a elevated green over 500' away Roc's

#3 Left to right wind with a pond left of the pin about 30'. I through a Diamond Lite backhand and set it 275' then threw a pro Roc 150 parked it 20' from pin holed out with a 3.

#4 I can throw 375' on flat ground let alone down hill but the pin sits less than 20' on the far side of a pond. I layed up to the right with a Boss. I really enjoyed the throw it or BLOW it factor here.


#5 Hill side sloping right to left fairway I threw a Z Force long hyzer missed that guess wind took it far right, oh well awesome hole.

#6 Go long then hyzer or stay shorter and hyzer along the tree line toward the pin down the hill to the left. I tryed to throw over trees and missed guess again. Pond down hill from pin position.


#7 Up hill to the left over a pond early then it sits on a hill to with tree surrounding it on the right. I threw a Riot to the back side of the pin l and layed up short as always. Had a little tree love to support this activity. :(


#8 Straight ahead slight up hill. Threw a Destroyer. I know use a slower disc but I just wanted a easy. Bad choice Katana would be better.


#9 Played in a wooded portion up a hill to the left through the woods. So many elevations directions it was a real challenge.


#10 Up a hill to the left with tree along the fairway to contend with and a strong left to right wind. This was my first Bogey of the round:)


#11 I threw a RHBH roller. Sloping fairway to the right and down she went. Saved par with a hard flick through a tight gap onto the fairway. Chain smokin from there.


#12 I had a look at birdie but choked for PAr.


#13 I threw a Roc for a birdie down the gap with a little luck


#14 I threw a Boss RHFH and caught a tree.

#15 Slight up elevation to the left I threw a Riot RHBH lot's of love.


#16 I threw a big boom with the Nuke that left me 75' short and left for a easy 3!


#17 Fun shot straight through the woods uphill. I used a Diamond Lat 64.


#18 I threw a Katana for the right to left wind and was short.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
jayhawker737
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 52 played 41 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Incredibly Fun and Unique 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 8, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is one of the two most fun courses I have ever played. This is the first time I have played a course on a ball golf course. They should change more ball golf courses to disc golf! The Four States area in general does not have many courses and holes with much distance. This is something I miss from living in Kansas City. This course makes up for the rest. There are a ton of holes with great distances, even 3 par 4's! There are also some very technical holes, especially holes 8-9, 12-15 and 17. I love these as well. The designer is a god to me. The layout flows wonderfully, water is in play, but in strategic places. The use of turf greens with a basket on it is very fun. Elevation is the second best I have played on besides WaterWorks in KC, although this elevation was more fun. The map given to us at the pro-shop was very helpful and made it so I never got confused where I was going or where I would be going later in the round. The tee-signs were very helpful. They clearly displayed where you are, where the hole is and where any obstacles, including OB, is. This environment is very pretty and is in a quiet setting.

Cons:

There are very few cons, which makes my life easy. First con is having to pay the $5 for the round. I had my fiance with me, but they didnt charge her though, which was great! The tee-signs, while great, were just lamentated pieces on paper taped to the posts.In fact, one tee-sign was completely missing. I wish they could invest on hard tee-signs. On the techincal holes, the ground is very rocky which eats discs alive. The last con, which I am not factoring into the rating since they are still working on it and its not a necessity, is that hole 19 is not finished yet. They have the tee-sign and the green set up, all they need is the pad and the basket.

Other Thoughts:

What a fun course. It is so unique and such a blast to play. You will have some great views, but even a greater time on the course. The design is so amazing. Like its amazing. I think I already said that. I drove 3 hours to get to the course and won't be doing that all the time, but wish I had the gas money to be able to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
KCVinnie
Experience: 13.4 years 86 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Definitely a must play if in Branson 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 30, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

If you like to be able to grip and rip this is a great course. Holes 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 16, 18, 19 (if there were a basket) have very open drives that allow you to really show off your arm. I especially liked hole 2, my 400 ft max distance arm on flat ground could get pretty much get to the pin.

The woods holes were well layed out and not super long, mostly putters or Rocs for me.

The astro turf greens were a nice change. Overall, I didn't think the greens were very difficult. I really only felt a big "Water Work" type pucker when putting on hole 5, but even there the ground was fairly rough and may have prevented a big roll away. As much elevation as the course has, I am sure some alternate pins could be placed in some tougher spots.

There were nice benches at probably half the holes that were flat and placed in a good spot to allow me to take some good video with my iPhone. Not a big plus, but I haven't had that opportunity before.

Course was well maintained and liked the use of the old ball golf fairways.

Cons:

These are fairly insignificant compared to all of the pros the course offers.

Pro shop was closed, but it is a holiday and the time of year where there are a lot of stores closed in Branson, so not a big dissapointment there, but I did wish I was able to get a disc from the Journey Post.

The shortest walk from 7 to 8 cuts right across 2. Would be a pretty good walk around 2's green if a tourney was going on.

No basket on 19.

One tee and one basket setting on each hole. There were some AM tee pads spray painted on the grass in a few spots. Would like to see shorter pads on a lot of the holes to allow my kids and older parents to be able to enjoy the course.

Other Thoughts:

On a few of the holes, 6 and 10, that I remember, there were some OB's marked on the map that really tightened up the fairway. I could see on several of the other holes great opportunities for mandos and OBs that could make this course a beast for tournament play.

I haven't played a lot of other ball golf courses that are now disc courses, but I would say this is a better layout than those used at the Glass Blown last year and I thought both of those were good courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
BigE
Experience: 22.2 years 153 played 5 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Tree Houz 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 27, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I showed up to the course at about 730am. Two minutes later another golfer pulled up and we started with a temp of 23 and strong wind from the NW. I was floored from the first hole to the last hole! The course has a lot to offer to keep you from getting board in the way of elevation fast greens and left to right sloped fairways. I loved the feeling of throwing to a AstroTurf green. It added another level of challenge that have not found in any course that I have played to date. The grass fairways are just like a regular golf course FAST. I tried a few rollers and got caught by the sloping fairway and my rollers stood up early. The wind comes into play on the fairway from all directions because of the flow of the course. I liked all of the trees on the fairway edges. They have hardly any ground cover (Thorns and small shrubs tangled together) off the fairways like other courses that are a challenge to just get to your lie. You are challenged by elevation at every turn! I enjoyed how clean and professional the course was. This is a must play!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons:

No hole 19 basket when I played but had to play it because it was on my easy score card application. I would like to see more trash cans. The tee signz need help. But a map makes up for that.

Other Thoughts:

#1 Wind blowing left to right. I threw a buzz straight down the fairway. The pin was about 20' into the woods on steep hill. I layed up from from 45'. Nothing better than a down hill hole to start off!


#2 Left to right wind. I threw a ESP Nuke down to the right side of the fairway then threw a ESP ZONE to lay up and missed the put:( Playing down hill to a elevated green 470 ' away was a blast!


#3 Left to right wind with a frozen pond left of the pin about 30'. I flip hyzered a Z Comet 30' and the guy I played with RHFH a driver off of the pond and parked it.


#4 I can throw 400' on flat ground let alone down hill but the pin sits less than 20' on the far side of a pond. I layed up to the right with a ESP Nuke. I really enjoyed the pucker factor.


#5 Hill side sloping right to left fairway I threw a Z Force long hyzer and landed about 45' short but in line with the basket.


#6 Big Hyzer with right to left wind also have to deal with tunnels to get by the basket. Go long then hyzer or stay shorter and hyzer along the tree line toward the pin down the hill to the left. I tryed to crush over the trees but caught the last tree. should have played short hyzer along the trees. Pond down hill from pin position.


#7 Up hill to the left over a pond early then it sits on a hill to with tree surrounding it on the right. I threw a Z Force to the back side of the pin on the downward side of the hill and layed up short because of some tree action:)


#8 Straight ahead slight up hill. Threw a Z Nuke OS for a easy hyzer but hit early. I know use a slower disc but I just wanted a easy hyzer.


#9 Played in a valley up a hill to the left through the woods. So many elevations directions it was overloading my brain.


#10 Up a hill to the left with tree along the fairway to contend with and a strong left to right wind. This was my last Boigie of the round:)


#11 I threw a RHBH roller but the strong wind from the left pushed me down the right side of the fairway instead of holding my disc up. Sloping fairway to the right and 150 feet down o a electrical box. saved par with a flick through a tight gap back onto the fairway.


#12 I had a look at birdie but this hole is "tight".


#13 I threw a buzz for a birdie down the gap with a little S.


#14 I threw a Z Force RHFH and caught a tree late leaving me a look at the basket from the left side of the fairway to the right.


#15 Slight up elevation to the left I threw a ESP Zone.


#16 I threw a big boom with the ESP Nuke that left me 50' short and left for a easy 3!


#17 Fun shot straight through the woods uphill. I used a ESP Zone. No skip on the road.


#18 I threw a Z Force for the right to left wind and was short 10 feet down hill from the green. Slight down hill with a thick treez on both sides downhill to the right.


#19 What happened to the basket? I used my a human basket to get my bird for this awesome finishing hole uphill to the Tree Houz.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
RC51ManSam
Experience: 16.1 years 30 played 6 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Must Play! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 7, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Has a variety of holes; uphill, downhill, sidehill, wide open, very tight, big hyzer and sidearm shots. Some long and short holes make this a course that should be a must play. Love how some of the baskets are where actual greens used to be that have been carpeted with outdoor carpet. Can't wait until hole 19 gets done.

Cons:

If you play when the leaves are down it can be very hard to find discs. Some of the tee boxes that have been built up have sharp drop offs just past the concrete, for example hole 2. Would love to see more water holes, only 3 as of now. The disc golf shop should be open anytime golfers are on the course. At least have someone from the main office who is able to open it up so souvenirs and discs can be purchased.

Other Thoughts:

Played this course twice on Dec. 7. Started at 10 and finished at 2 and disc golf shop was never opened. After the first round the main office said the shop would be open that afternoon but not true. Still made my mast favorite course list for play. There should be more there. The pro shop should be open and a small kitchen for sandwiches, hot dogs, burgers and drinks should be available.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
Todd roofing
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

sweet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Their is alot to b said about the pros of this course I love the big dwn hill drives alows for big drives with a turned over strong driver on a hot day u may go ob into water just for a reason to get in a cool off the course has a mix of Kansas citys rosedale park and the sub course their dwn under not many have the land or the smarts to mix wooded with open very nice choice and Barry is an awesome and very laid back manager of the place thank u for the hard work makin a sweet courses

Cons:

The only thing I see and wouldnt call a con really is itd b cool to c some big up hill play that is the only thing tjat keeps me from a 5 rating dwn hillers r awesome but u will b truly changled to try to do the same playin huge up hill elevation

Other Thoughts:

Any one who has played this and loves the wood holes needs to get out to Joe's dgc in Ozark its on review here it to me is the best course sw mo has to offer golfers

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
birdman101
Experience: 14.6 years 59 played 24 reviews
4.50 star(s)

treehouz 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 3, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is one of the best tracts of land I have had the opportunity to play on.

This course will challenge even the best of players due to its length, elevation, and pin placements.

This courses offers a few risk reward shots a couple dealing with water, others dealing with other OB

Concrete tees are ample size and are in great shape since they are virtually brand new.

Tee signs are in decent shape and give all the info you need for the hole. (see cons for more info)

This course is "private" mostly just pay to play, so chuckers, and large unruly groups shouldn't be an issue.

There has been a recent addition of second pin placements on multiple holes (2,7,10,11,15,17), and a second tee pad for 2 holes (2 and 4). And 19 is now a permanent hole with a tee pad and 2 pin placements.

Cons:

The tee signs are currently just lamenated paper stapled to a wooden post, these may get messed up due to weather, and im not sure what the plan is with those.

There are only a couple trashcans, but since it is pay to play trash shouldn't be much of an issue.

There are a few long walks between holes, but they could be a lot worse.

Some of the tees are sort of elevated and could use some more gravel or dirt piled around them in my opinion. I like to start off the tee pad and step on which is not possible on several of the tees. Really noticed this this past weekend 4/6/13.

Other Thoughts:

Parking is right off the highway, and the main office is right there, to get a map and pay.

Hole 1 is just a short walk done the gravel road, past the tree house.

Hole 1 plays fairly flat with the pin just off to the right into the wood line.
Hole 2 plays across a valley to an astroturf green from the old ball golf course.
Hole 3 is fairly flat, with a pond just to the left of the basket, which provides a risk reward shot.
Hole 4 plays downhill with water in front and to the left of the basket.
Hole 5 plays slightly uphill, on a hill sloping right to left the entire way.
Hole 6 is a long downhill shot playing down an old fairway back near the pond from hole 4.
Hole 7 plays over a pond and then up and over a hill.
you then have to walk around the green for hole 2 to get to 8.
Hole 8 plays in the woods, straight ahead.
Hole 9 plays uphill, and thru the woods
To get to hole 10 you walk past 1's tee and down that road a little ways.
Hole 10 plays flat and straight ahead with some OB right, and some mature trees near the basket.
Hole 11 plays 600+' straight ahead with some OB right and left to punish really errant throws.
Hole 12 puts you in the woods and requires a RHFH or a turnover shot
Hole 13 plays straight ahead through the woods.
Hole 14 plays down an old road with the basket sitting off to the right
Hole 15 plays up and to the left natural RHBH shot
Hole 16 plays flat and requires a little bit of a turnover to get there.
Hole 17 plays in the woods again and is a straight shot
Hole 18 plays long and across a valley to the green.
Hole 19 plays left to right across a valley to a green lower than the tee.

While the turf greens are cool you do get some weird skips and rolls on them
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 13
drknorris93
Experience: 26 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 31, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great tee pads and baskets, lots of elevation and a great mix of tight wooded and open shots. Wonderful course to play for both left and right hand players.

Cons:

No alt. tees or pin positions. No practice basket
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
flick
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Awesome course!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lots of elevation changes, open fairways, tight wooded shots, risk and rewards, and pretty much all the things that you would look for in a pro level course. The place is very well taken care of being on a private resort so maintenance will be great here.Great exercise with all all the hills and beautiful land and scenery.

Cons:

The woods have not been cleaned out on the left and right sides of the wooded fairways yet, so kick outs from hitting trees can be hard to find.

Other Thoughts:

All in all, this place has it all. If I was going to spend some time in the Branson area I would definitely get a cabin through this Resort and play as much DG as possible in between the shows!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
23 3
DiSCRoCKeR
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.8 years 204 played 43 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Definite Must Play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 2, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I first reviewed this course after playing a tournament here after the course was first installed. At the time, I was blown away by it and gave this course a 5 disc rating. Since then I have spent a lot of time studying course design and I have even designed a couple of courses myself, so now I look at disc golf courses with a new set of eyes.

This is a wonderful course set amongst a beautiful Ozark mountain resort just outside of Branson, MO on an old 9-hole ball golf course. The Branson Cedars Resort continues to grow and add to their ammenities and activites which include a pro shop, cafe, playgrounds, r/c tracks, bike paths, paintball, scooter rentals, and so much more. Even with out the disc golf, the resort seems like a really cool place to stay, especially with all of the unique cabins and treehouses!

The course itself has pretty much everything you could ask for on a disc golf course. Every time I have played here the course is well manicured and clean and just gorgeous. There are a lot of elevation changes throughout the course and you will get a good hike in with your round. The wooded holes are a little rugged in spots, but that's to be expected in the Ozarks. Be careful of the rocky surfaces as there are chances to roll an ankle or slip on loose rocks. A few of the holes play on some of the old golf course fairways and utilize some of the turf greens as well; you're going to want to stay mindful of disc skips when approaching these greens. There are four water hazards, one of which provides a risk/reward option by trying to carry over a fountain pond with an OB cart path running all the way down the right side of the fairway. The wooded holes are more on the shorter, technical side and the open holes are pretty open but make up for it with the longer hole lengths, OB paths, and elevation changes. There is a fair balance to the uphill and downhill holes, as well as the openness and woods. There are also multiple pin placements and a few alternate tee pads; the new pro tee for hole 2 makes an already awesome hole even funner and more challenging. All of the holes have excellent signage, cement tees, and large next tee arrows beneath the Discatcher Pro baskets. The course does a really good job of utilizing fast greens whenever possible. There are trash cans through out the course and restrooms near the pool by hole 7. There are benches at every hole as well. The front 9 wraps back up to the start of the course and puts you at a close walk to the cafe, pro shop, and office where there are more restrooms.

Cons:

Hole 1's tee pad has moved since the last time I was here and it is now shorter and a little less interesting for a starting hole. And speaking of tee pads, these pads are a little bit small for a lot of these hole lengths, but at least they're clean and flush with the ground. There are alternate tee pads on some holes, but they don't really offer anything new or different to the holes.

The alternate pin placements don't change the holes anymore than just changing the distance. Of all of the times I have played here, I don't think I have seen any of the baskets change location.

There isn't too much of a demand for shot shaping on this course aside from some of the wooded holes. Water, elevation, and OB cart paths add to the challenge, but a good portion of these holes are pretty straight. I throw RHBH and found that, aside from hole 14, I threw mostly backhand flex and straight shots. Hole 14 turns right just enough for me to switch to forehand.

Hole 12. I have never liked this hole because it feels a little too poke 'n hope for my taste and it is only 1 of 3 holes with a left to right finish.

The course is $10 to play. I don't really know how to feel about that cost, but I will still continue to pay to play this course because it is really fun and in a unique setting.

Other Thoughts:

I really love this course, but I had to dial the rating back down from a 5 because I feel that the course is lacking a few things to elevate it to that level. At one point there were rumblings of adding another 18 holes. I tried inquiring about the course upgrades or expansions, but the lady working at the time would only tell me they just work with the PDGA and that a disc golf course just kinda happened there by a fluke. Regardless, this is my favorite course in the Branson area and one of my favorite courses overall to play. I would encourage anyone staying in or passing through the Branson area to make the trip to Treehouz or reserve a cabin there and just take it all in for a few days or so.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top