• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Waxahachie, TX

Brown-Singleton Park

Permanent course
3.55(based on 16 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Brown-Singleton Park reviews

Filter
4 0
Par Hunter
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 3 years 24 played 15 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Above average course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 13, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There are 3 different places to park; if the main lot is full there is more parking by holes 4 and 14. The one by 4 is Bell-vue Park. Curbside has been removed from part of the main lot, allowing parking on the grass if it hasn't rained in awhile.
Very fair balance between right and left friendly tee shots and second shots.
Pedestrians are more aware of their surroundings than at other courses I have played, so a lower danger factor.
There are plenty of places to stop and rest and decent shade for North Texas.
There are two basket placements at most of the holes and periodically they are switched, keeping the course fresh.
The 21 holes give it a unique feel.
It is a nice park; pleasant to visit not just to play.

Cons:

Expect significant water and mud on holes 3, 7, and 20 if there has been any rain in the past 2 weeks. Expect to get mud on you at some point and shoes to be soaked.
This course is hungry for your disks. A bad tee shot gives you a chance to lose your disc on over half of the holes.
Retrieving discs can be punishing and time consuming due to heavy brush, thorns, and a steep bank down to the creek in the rough.
Watch the wind on 5. It is easy to throw in the pond if it is blowing right to left. A guy told me he retrieved 400 discs from the pond with a wetsuit one time.
Wind overcomes skill on some holes if you use understable or putt at an angle. What you think will be a par can turn into a double bogey in a hurry.
If cars park in the grass they can get stuck if it has recently rained. Trucks get out but make a mess of the ground.

Other Thoughts:

Bring water. There is none available at the park.
There is a port-a-potty for restrooms at holes 1 and 4.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 327 played 252 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Brown-Singleton (redesigned to 21 holes) 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- Land is well used. There aren't a ton of trees, but they come into play, and the creek is often a factor. You only throw across water twice (once is from the edge of the creek, so no worries about the carry), but fairways and baskets often hug the creek, making accuracy crucial.
-- Map at parking lot.
-- Practice basket.
-- Direction to next tee on some (but not all) tee signs. Pay attention.
-- Two basket positions for most holes, although one looked to be damaged, and on a couple of holes, I never found the alternate position.
-- Some baskets are numbered.
-- Good mix of distances: Seven holes 400 feet or longer and four 225 or shorter.
-- Port-o-potty at parking lot.
-- Trash cans throughout.
-- Seating. Not at every hole, but there are places to catch your breath. Some of these are picnic tables not specifically for disc golf but close enough to work.
-- No. 5 is a nice water carry (about 220 feet on a 260 foot hole) with a creek behind the basket. The problem is that the pond you have to carry is popular for fishing, so frequently you will have to either skip the hole or risk hitting someone.

Cons:

-- Because of the redesign, some hole numbers are wrong, such as 19 being labeled 16 and 16 being labeled 11. The No. 12 basket says 9. Other baskets have no number, so finding your way can be a challenge. Throw in baskets that you can't see from the tee (or times when you can see a basket that is NOT the basket you are playing), and navigation is an issue. The map helps, but course flow is far from intuitive.
-- Probably because of the redesign as well, some tee signs show paths and directions to baskets that are incorrect (baskets that are left from the tee instead of right that the sign shows, for example). Also, some distances appear to be incorrect.
-- A large part of the course is in what appears to be a flood plain. Nos. 2, 3 and 7 had a lot of standing water, and the rest of the course was very muddy the day after a rain. I think this contributes to that part of the course not getting mowed very often.
-- Navigational aides intended to help are sometimes wrong. For example, after you complete No. 8 and are making you way toward No. 9, you come across a permanent sign telling you to continue that way to play No. 8. Because of the other navigational issues, it can make you question if you are playing the course correctly.
-- You throw over a walking path a few times, and it comes into play on a few other holes.
-- No. 13 (the shortest hole on the course at 170) plays entirely in a drainage ditch with a walking path 20 feet behind the basket.

Other Thoughts:

-- Some comes up a lot in this review because the course underwent (is still undergoing) a redesign. The alternate tee pads appear to all be in place, but there are no signs. There are multiple pin positions for about half of the holes.
-- A sign as you exit U.S. 287 directs you to the disc golf course.
-- Twice (10/12 and 13/18) two tee pads are really close to each other in the shade (with a bench the second time). It makes for a nice gathering spot, but if you had a group on each tee, it would be really crowded. No. 11 (probably the best hole on the course at 315 feet RHFH with a 15-foot wide fairway between trees and the creek) finishes about 30 feet from the 10/12 tee area, so that could really get crowded.
-- After No. 3, go left and over a bridge to get to the area with holes 4-6. Lots of construction equipment will greet you. Go past the playground equipment to find the No. 4 tee. No. 7 throws back across the creek.
-- Tee pads are different lengths, generally ranging from 10 to 12 feet.
-- If it hasn't rained in a long time and if you can find your way around, this can be a fun course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Heretik
Experience: 5 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Time to change the info on the course om this app 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Extra 3 holes added to the course for a total of 21.Multiple Tees and Pin LocationsVariety

Cons:

Not the best course to play after it rains. A part of the course will stay wet with mushy grounds for a week.Due to the new holes added, some of the tee signs are off. I.e hole 16 tee sign is at the new 19.

Other Thoughts:

Solid course. Some longer open holes with a good mix of holes that require specific shit selections. Risk vs Reward on some. All around solid course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
TheBuddha
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The hidden gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 30, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

What a great course this is. I feel that this course is advanced enough to not be anywhere near pitch and putt, but forgivable enough to definitely be beginner friendly. There are 10 holes with alternate basket locations which is always nice to challenge different shots. With the 21 hole layout, there is a good mix of wooded holes (11) and fairly open holes (10). This course is all about distance control and will reward you when you get it right, and destroy you when you get it wrong. Although the half of the holes are quite open, there are factors that come into play to punish you if you miss-judge the distance as well as miss-judge the wind, as it seems to always be windy at the course. In it's current basket positions, the course plays (in my opinion) 1-righty, 2-righty, 3-lefty, 4-neutral, 5-righty, 6-righty, 6a-lefty, 7-lefty, 8-neutral, 8a-neutral, 8b-lefty, 9-righty, 10-lefty, 11-neutral (though it finishes left), 12-righty, 13-righty, 14-lefty, 15-neutral, 16-neutral, 17-lefty (though it could be neutral the shot for left hand back hand is significantly easier), 18-righty. That's (8) right hand back hand, (7) left hand back hand, and (6) neutral holes. Just a good mix and a fun play.

Cons:

Maintenance. It seems the city does not do a very good job of consistently maintaining this course. When the grass is mowed this is a wonderful place to play, but often the city will neglect a couple holes making the 21 hole layout extremely brutal in a couple areas. That is really the only con that I see of this course.

Other Thoughts:

I think this course is a hidden gem. Not a lot of people travel to, nor even know where Waxahachie is, but I think this is a great course. The local that runs the course and takes care of it (Daniel Rowan) does a fantastic job, and is always going to bat with the city to make this an even better course. He often helps out with community service workers and lets them get hours out making the course better. Trenches have been dug on the holes that typically see excessive amounts of flooding after rain and they have help TREMENDOUSLY. If you haven't been out to the course to see if for yourself and played it, definitely one to check out. Would love to see another course closer to it to have a 2 course 2 day 3 round tournament out there some day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
La_Flama_Blanca
Experience: 10.3 years 76 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Diverse but fun course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 29, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is pretty awesome. There is a really good mix of distance and finess.

There show to be quite a few "short" holes but the tee shots make these holes quite challenging.

The setting of this course is beautiful, it is a park with a few ponds, a lot of trees and some elevation changes.

Cons:

Missing some signage on the new holes that have been added but I expect them to be there soon since they were just added.

Other Thoughts:

This course was pretty cool. If you have a chance give this one a shot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Notorious21
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 105 played 48 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not great 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 12, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Some variety of technical and open holes
- Some variety of distances
- Shade on most tees
- Decent signage, although a few distances were definitely off

Cons:

- Very little elevation change
- Muddy fairways on several holes, despite a lack of recent rain
- Several very boring, wide open holes

Other Thoughts:

I think the rating description of "Decent/Typical" is fitting here. It's not a bad course, but it just doesn't have variety and challenge of the top tier courses in the area. You can tell they're working on the drainage around holes 2 and 3, but it's still pretty wet at the moment. If I lived closer, I'd probably play it on a regular basis, but I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1756 played 602 reviews
3.50 star(s)

the good, the bad and the ugly 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cement Tee boxes, several with a larger crushed granite area around it.
Decent signs for all the holes, even has alts mapped out.
Good direction signs in the middle of the course, you would be lost without them.
This course does have a very good mix of holes and shots.
Porty potty next to the parking lot.

Cons:

Parking lot is small, very small
Holes 2 and 3 are in a bad drainage area. They mowed this week and have built some ditches to help drain the course.
Some of the holes like 8 and 15,16 were to get from one place to another. These are poor holes with little to no trees.

Other Thoughts:

First course I can ever remember seeing a direction sign off the highway. "Disc Golf Course --------->"
I was lucky that no one else was using the park, there are very few parking spots.
As far as the course,
Hole 1 is a killer shot with nicely mowed grass and a lot of trees in the way
Then you get to play holes 2 and 3 which are in an area that does not drain well, it was still a little muddy today. These are basic rough holes with not much to them.
Then you cross the creek and play 6,7,8. Nice set of holes. Not hard by any means, but compared to 2&3, I was excited to play these holes.
4 is a longer hole down a clean fairway.
5 throws across the pond behind a tree. Don't overthrow the hole or you are in the creek
6 is just a simple shorter hyzer, however it is about 10 ft off the creek bank.
Now cross back across the creek and READ the direction sign to 7, you can't see it because it is behind some brush.
7 is a filler hold, 400 feet dogleg to the right.
8 is the worst boring hole on the course. It is on the edge of a small hill, other than that, nothing between you and the basket.
9 has a few tree's right in front of you to make you drive 20 ft. But is a basic easy hole.
Now comes the best part of the course in my opinion.
#10 is short, but is a nice tight to the right fairway.
#11 longer than 10 and even tighter fairway, way way to the left. This freaking hole ate my lunch, I took a 5 on a 220 ft hole because I hit trees on my first 3 shots.
#12 Nice straight tunnel shot to the alternate parking lot that was empty. If I played here more, I would find a way to park at this lot.
#13 basic defined simple hyzer fairway.
#14 tight turnover shot with lots of rough
Then they need to get you back to hole 1 so
#15 designed to be a big turnover shot thanks to a tree in front of the tee box, your suppose to play the sidewalk and across as OB, but you know rec players never do that.
#16, long open field fairway with the basket out of sight behind some rough.
#17 in the alt position, pretty much a straight shot, but you don't want to throw it too far right (like I did) and hit the trees.
now a long walk to 18 tee box. Seriously, you could have put another hole here.
18 is a good tunnel shot with rough on the left and some trees blocking a big hyzer shot. Turn this one over and you are in an open area with some rough between you and the basket.

In general, this would be a better course if they can get it mowed more often and clear out some of the rough areas.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
kcrain7
Experience: 15.1 years 40 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Awesome Variety of Holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 25, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is my home course. I've played it at least 100 times, but thanks to changing basket locations, wind conditions and seasonal challenges, every round is different and fun.

Good mix of trees and open. From short holes to long bombers. Back 9 opens up a bit more than the front.

Cons:

Wish the parking lot was a little bigger.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
jason.soule
Experience: 12.1 years 45 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Variety of shot lengths
- Mix of open and wooded holes
- Great signage
- Well maintained

Cons:

- Very soggy
- #11 is a luck shot...clear a few front trees to give an actual line.
- Alot of long holes had very low ceilings off the tee pad ( I don't prefer this...but it is the discretion of the course designer)

Other Thoughts:

Overall it is a quality course worth playing if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 388 played 318 reviews
3.00 star(s)

better than i expected but still just okay 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 27, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-textured concrete pads
-new discatchers
-nice signs, next tee signs
-variety of shots, distances, terrain
-port-a-john next to the parking lot
-playground and soccer fields, not in play

Cons:

-many wide open holes
-a large section of the course looks like it is in a flood plain
-a few areas not as well utilized as possible
-very small parking lot

Other Thoughts:

This course mostly makes the best use of what little is available. I really liked the first hole, a simple hyzer through a thicket of trees right next to the road. The trees set a cool atmosphere for the start of the course. However, upon walking up to hole 2 my excitement evaporated. I could see the large flood plain ahead with tall grass and what looked like many holes crossing this same area. I figured the rest of the course would be like this but I was pleasantly surprised but some of the variety ahead.

Holes 2 and 3 play in the flood plain (with too narrow a strip of grass mowed for a fairway, IMO) but then you move to another section of the park across the creek for holes 4-6. This a good change of pace but I thought these holes should have been rearranged. The tee area on hole 4 is actually a perfect area for a green: slightly elevated from the field ahead, protected by several well-placed trees. Instead it is an easy tee shot into a wide open field. Hole 5 is a really cool shot over a pond to a basket behind a wall of trees that you can approach from the left or right; a highlight of the course. Hole 7 puts you back into the flood plain.

The back area of the course from holes 10-14 goes through a wooded area with tight lanes. It is a good compliment to the mostly open areas. I thought there was not quite enough of a lane on hole 11's tee shot. The last few holes are filler, as others have said, to get you back to the front of the park.

I like some of the holes here but overall there is just too much filler. Almost half the holes are almost completely wide open. There are a few good technical holes to change things up but I'd love to see parts of the course redesigned at some point. It would be great to have alternate pins and pads here too. Without another course for miles, it would increase the replay value for the locals and sweeten the deal for metroplex golfers thinking about coming down to check out the course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
garrettfreberg
Experience: 29.5 years 57 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 21, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well maintained.
Great signs to find your way around.
Some excellent shots over water and across streams. Baskets and concrete tees are all in great shape. Garbage cans scattered around which make it nice to keep the course clean. Loved hole 5 and 7.

Cons:

not sure about hole 9 or was it 10 with a short ceiling and a couple of baskets to choose from.
What I mean is it looks like from the T that you want to throw straight at to the right, but once you get out from under the canopy of trees, you see the basket is actually on the left. Last few holes seemed like an after thought to get you back to the parking lot, but I understand the designers traversed the whole park and you have to get back to where you parked
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
NORML
Experience: 17.1 years 25 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice to finally see a course down south 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 21, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a great course. I had my doubts when I heard the park it was going to be in, but the designers did a great job. I have never played a new course that was so well manicured. Concrete boxes, tee signs, easy to navigate and nice visible lines. There are plenty of Ace runs, but also a few bomber holes.

Cons:

Cant say to many bad things about this course. It has a good mix of longer and shorter holes, as well as a good mix of technical and more open holes. Great for beginners or serious player. The 1 con I can think of is the park and soccer fields. There was already a problem with people parking on the fairways and right on the Tee-boxes when there was soccer games going on.

Other Thoughts:

Weekly Mini's every Saturday at 10AM. Meet by the practice basket by 9:45. Amateur and Pro divisions. I look forward to playing some PDGA tournaments on this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
1TallTXn
Experience: 11.5 years 35 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Cut it down to a 15, and I'd like it a lot. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice baskets
Well groomed fairways
Mix of long/open and short/technical holes.
Nice tee pads

Cons:

Roughs are very rough.
Lots of poison ivy in the rough.
Several holes are a challenge to find the tee
Several holes (#16 mostly) the tee sign and the basket don't really line up.
Several holes need a bit more trimming. Works as is, but requires VERY specific shots to make it work.

Other Thoughts:

Over all, it's a nice course. I really enjoyed through the first 14. After that they're just open filler holes.

Several of the holes are very tight and technical <200ft. It's almost as much luck getting through the trees as it is skill. I enjoy those types of holes, but this was a bit much.

For me, it's a 45min drive to this course. It's nice, but I doubt I'll be playing it often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
JeremyKShort
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 80 played 33 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice new baskets, tee pads and signs. Has a number of shorter technical holes, with a few longer holes mixed in. Doesn't seem to favor BH or FH lines. Makes very good use of the trees that are there, also puts a creek into play on several holes, and a nice water carry over a pond on 5. While many of the holes have you near the edge of the park property, you are never in serious danger of throwing into private property. There also doesn't seem to be any throwing over playgrounds, sports fields and the like.

Cons:

The course starts of very well, but doesn't finish strong. They seem to have run out of interesting property holes at number 15, the last four are just long open holes that get you back to the parking lot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
DiscFifty
Experience: 13.2 years 20 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Loved the front 9. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Brand new course with excellent signs and concrete tees on each hole. Fairways are all well taken care of. Course navigation was fairly easy. The front 9 was fun and a pleasure to play.

Cons:

The rough...is...very rough. Definitely some major disc eating potential on several holes. One of the guys we played with was also attacked by bees so watch out! While the front 9 was a treat, the back 9 could use a few trees to break up some of the scenic boredom.

Other Thoughts:

The entire course "looks" great, just a really good looking disc golf experience. I think it's a good course to introduce new players to the game. I think more experienced players will easily come in well under par. Let's hope they plant some more trees for the back 9! :)

If the course was just 9 holes, I would have gave it a 4. The back 9 brought the rating down due to it being a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
FallenOak
Experience: 25.1 years 152 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Finally Some Banging in Waxahachie 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 5, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

You know, since they closed the Super Collider and all.

So in my quest to play all the courses in the Metroplex, I noticed a new course down in Waxahachie and thought "Dang, I'm never going to finish if they keep adding courses on the outskirts of DFW", but after playing Brown Singleton, I realized if all the new courses are like it, it will be a problem worth having.

A well balanced course of rhbh, rhfh, long, short, open, and tight, this course will challenge most skill levels while being fun for all. Any negatives are mostly personal preference.

When I arrived, a truck with a trailer full of baskets pulled in right behind me. That's right, I played the whole course, except 18, with the baskets laying on their sides waiting for the city workers to put them in their sleeves. A neat experience to watch the course come up around me. All the pads were poured and have excellent grip, although some were a smidgen short for my liking. This course will have excellent signage, not just tee signs, but also directional.

Almost all the holes demand either pinpoint accuracy, deciding whether to "go for it" or lay up or advanced shot shaping. Most rhbh hyzer shots are challenged from the tee pads. The course is littered with risk/reward and a lot of the risk isn't always obvious.
My personal favorites are:

5: basically an island green with the pond in front and the creek winding behind the basket

9: I tacoed the same disc twice about 7 feet off the tee. When I finally got it out on my third try, it skipped down a slight slope right into the creek.

You could put "lack of elevation" as a con, except the course designer used the slightest of elevation changes to their maximum effect.

Cons:

My only complaints are 12 and 16, you have throw across sidewalks. I played early on a weekday and I saw no one else using the park, but as a rule, I generally don't care for this. Also, some of the rough is FILLED with "beggars lice", those multitudes of tiny burrs. By no means does this course require long pants, but if you end up in a patch of this stuff, you'll be picking them off the rest of the round and probably still when you get home.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a great addition to the region, well, worth the trip from anywhere in the area. I spoke with a few members of the city staff, and they all seemed excited and vested in the course. There is a "grand opening" Saturday September 7th from 9a to noon and I think the course and the city deserve a good turnout from local golfers. Check out downtown Waxahachie when your done playing, the French burger at College Street Pub is excellent.

I would give this a 3.75 rating, but gave the course the benefit and rounded up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top