St. Paul, OR

Champoeg State Park - Old Layout

2.985(based on 31 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Champoeg State Park - Old Layout reviews

Filter
1 1
Rakoz
Experience: 19.8 years 33 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 4, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Good range of shots required
- Open and wooded holes
- Beginner friendly
- Camping Available
- Water access
- Relatively fast play

Cons:

- Crowded with non-discers on great days
- Day use fee (not really a con. Just be aware)
- Not great signage
- Not great tees
- Doesn't handle winter the best.

Other Thoughts:

Solid park. Worth a trip to play through twice in a day. Good multiuse park: hiking, water sports, running, BBQ and other park amenities.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 0
thegeneral13
Experience: 24 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 22, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good variety of long and short holes, makes for a fun round without it getting to boring. Holes are well marked and it is relatively easy to follow the course (with a few confusing turns). Beautiful area, just a fun atmosphere and campsite.

Cons:

Only 15 holes when they could probably add on three more to make it a full 18. A lot of trees, but if you've ever played disc golf in Oregon you know to expect that. Can get kind of muddy when it is not the summer, and the tee pads can get slippery.

Other Thoughts:

would love to see concrete tee pads, but otherwise this is a course I would recommend to anyone trying to disc golf in Oregon. A must see
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Murdoc Loch
Experience: 19.7 years 62 played 15 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Poor Teepads? Pour Teepads! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 10, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Scorecards at kiosk
- Good distances to the holes; not too long and not too short.
- Nicely maintained park of mowed grass and oak trees.

Cons:

-Poor Teepads; unlevel, uneven, muddy, slippery, bumpy, short and not concrete.
-Poor Baskets; old, bent, faded, differing in type and at times crooked.
-Little shot variety, favoring RHBH hyzers.
-No tee signs & No distance on scorecards
-Three holes short of a full eighteen with plenty of room for more holes.
-Not much parking near hole one.
-Little to no elevation changes.
-No card reader for parking, bring cash

Other Thoughts:

-A good amount of foot traffic in a few places on the course. Keep an eye out and wait till pedestrians are clear before throwing.
-Can get muddy in the wintertime, bring rags and waterproof shoes/boots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a good sized park, with plenty of land devoted to the disc golf. There is a walking path, and the entrance road, but other than that there shouldn't be any interference.
- While there are only a couple different patches of forest that come into play, there are a lot of trees here used to shape lines. The woods are mostly in play on #5, which is a hyzer into a clearing, #6, which is a little RHFH flick through the trees, and to the right of #11 as rough.
- Rest of the course has a wide variety of trees, with some very concentrated sections. #10 and #15 have a ton of trees on the right side of the hole, for instance, that make a RHBH anny the best shot. #2, #7, and #12 are better suited to a RHBH hyzer shot, to get around some trees. A pretty good mix overall, from pretty open to fairly tight.
- Some baskets are protected by some trees as well; #3's basket is within a ring of mature trees, #2 is directly behind a clump of trees, and #11 has a lot of trees right before the pin.
- Very good mix of hole lengths, there are five holes at or under 200', and four holes over 300', including two over 400'. Places to bomb some drives as well as lay some touch on approach discs.
- Rubber pads are decent, baskets are good. Navigation can be tricky the first time through, but a short study of the map should be plenty to get around.

Cons:

- Course is pretty much as flat as can be. I didn't really notice any elevation changes on any holes, maybe a sliiiiight up or downhill slope.
- The road and paths are in play in many spots, which is good to add some challenge (OB), but isn't the best in terms of the overall experience. Lots of cars driving by on a busy day.
- A few holes are kind of close to each other, like #3 through #5, and over by #13. Not too bad, but the course gets a lot of play. Heads up!

Other Thoughts:

- A pretty fun course to let some discs rip! The lines are there, and are fair, it comes down to having the right mix of accuracy and power to reach all the pins. There should be multiple holes for even the biggest arms to throw the high speed stuff, but some shorter holes to keep it fun for the noodle arms.
- Definitely best for beginner/intermediate players; expert players will be able to easily cruise through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 1
mbressler13
Experience: 11.9 years 50 played 26 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Worth the $5 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 9, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-15 holes
-Good set up for beginners
-Longer holes tests your distance throws
-Well kept grass
-Mainly Flat
-Good for families

Cons:

-Holes lack variety
-Is a marsh during rainy season
-Trash....beer bottles in every tree
-Mainly Flat

Other Thoughts:

This is my home course. I love this place. Can get crowded on weekends and during the summer. The course is really really close to getting a full blown make-over. Holes 1-4 are pretty straight forward. 5 & 6 test your accuracy. 7 tests your strength, and the back half of the course tests your upshots. Hole 10, 11, and 12 can be disc eaters if you grip lock it right.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Salem Disc Junkie
Experience: 12 years 14 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun and simple 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 29, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Quick paced course
All of the holes are pretty close to each other
Good for kids and beginners

Cons:

No signage to mark tees
Rubber mats instead of concrete tee pads
Only 15 holes, wanted a full 18.

Other Thoughts:

My son and I played this course and had a lot of fun. It's not real challenging, though some of the trees make for a bit of a challenge. The lack of signage really does hurt the overall value of the course, as does the fact that it's only 15 holes. Given that you have to pay $5 to park because it is at a State Park, I wanted a little more bang for my buck.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
MCW5379
Experience: 12.8 years 61 played 23 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good family fun. Mostly open, lightly wooded. State Park so kept up well. Easy to get around.

Cons:

Can get wet and muddy so be prepared if you go after a rain. Not super difficult, only 1 mando.

Other Thoughts:

Will need a parking pass to get in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Disc Dog
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.7 years 109 played 48 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A squishy one. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is set in a park with lots of stuff to do. Such as camping, fishing, hiking, biking, and just general family fun.

The course is well maintained in the summer. The grass is mowed regularly and dries out for a better place to play. It has plenty of parking and is easy to find.

The tees are rubber mats that are staked down with metal stakes and are therefore secure. The area in front of the tee is generally okay but can be muddy on wet days or in the case of 13 a real big water hole.

The baskets are old Innova single chain models but are in decent shape and catch well. The area around the baskets is usually better than the tees.

Undergrowth and such is minimal except on 5 and 6.

The map that is provided at the course is much better than the one here and I will up date as soon as I can. It is easy to read and follow.

Cons:

The place is playable when wet but bring shoes you can get wet and muddy. There is a lot of standing water after rain and in the winter.

Holes 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, and 8 are closed in the winter. The water is standing every where and in the areas around these tees and baskets it is so bad that they have to protect the soil from being tracked on or it will damage it badly.

There are no tee markers and no distances listed any where I couuld find.

Other Thoughts:

This is not a place I would go out of my way to play but when in the area I will.

There is room beyond 12 where the course could be expanded and I hope they do. Because there is some promise here for a better course but it would take a lot of work.

The course order while the baskets for 1, 2, 5, 6 , 7, and 8 are out is 4, 3, then 9 - 15.

I gave the course a 3 because it is much better when dry and the missing baskets are put back for the summer configuration.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
dgjordan
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Family Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good course for the beginning player or for a small family. There is a semi-decent range of distances to throw and an occasional bend in the fairway. Most of the course consists of straight 200ft shots with the random bunch of trees to throw at as well. Each tee has a pad to shoot from, though each of which could benefit from a new rubber mat. For the locals this course would make a solid lunch time excursion.

Cons:

There isn't a whole lot of range in the types of throws one gets to make. It all depends on what you are looking for in a course. If you are making the trip from Portland, I might caution against it.

Other Thoughts:

This course is barely playable in the winter time without waders or rain boots. The course is setup on the flood plain and the soils are apt not to drain that well. The first five pins criss-cross a sloppy meadow and the remaining ten fairways have similar issues with mud - though not quite as bad as the first couple.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Discbear
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.2 years 1456 played 25 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Champoeg Park St. Paul Oregon 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 25, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

While not what I would call a destination course it is well worth playing. It is 15 minutes off of I-5. It is set in a beautiful well kept park with plenty of tall oaks and mostly grass fairways.It is all flat and easy to walk, not that that matters to most disc golfers but I know that is desirable or necessary for some folks. Most holes are easy 3s with several birdie opportunities and a few ace run holes as well. Hole 11 is always a tough 3 for me with it's length and tree negotiation. Hole 13 is not sidearm friendly with a mando on the left and ob on the right. There are 2 other courses 10 minutes away in Newberg a 9 holer and a 12 holer so 36 holes total are available without a prodigious drive. The rubber tee pads work well and the baskets are fine but probably a step down from the best available. There is on site camping with water and restrooms available. It is quiet, and pretty and a good place to relax even if your not golfing. There are good walking and cycling paths on site as well as a nice visitor center to keep the non disc golfers occupied while you get in a round or 2 or 3 or more.

Cons:

It is a little disappointing that there aren't 3 more holes to make it a solid 18. I know that efforts have been made and been shut down. There are seasonal hours posted and the rangers will come and escort you out of the park within about 2 minutes of the posted time and they lock the gate behind you. this can be frustrating when you've got enough daylight to play 9 more holes.

Other Thoughts:

Most Oregon state parks should follow Champoegs lead and install a disc golf course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 6
innova disc golfer
Experience: 14.2 years 10 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

awesome course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

fun longer shots and alot of holes that require different throws.

Cons:

LOTS of oak trees. I have bent a few discs hitting them.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of my favorite courses and i think everyone who plays disc golf in NW oregon should try to make it here atleast once.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
JonnyQuest
Experience: 14 years 14 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

peaceful 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 12, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

very nice park and very well maintained.
the course was very well layed out and easy to follow. course maps were available at the bulletin board.

Cons:

non other than its $5 to park

Other Thoughts:

wish there was more holes.. i really enjoyed playing this course. it was fairly easy but offered a few good challenges and i cant wait to play it again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
cefire
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 24.8 years 1121 played 136 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good Foundation Builder 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Champoeg DGC is located in a giant State Park close enough for a quick stop off of highway I-5. While not championship caliber, the course is a solid mix of holes in a flat, grassy, moderately treed meadow of the park. Holes range from wide open to tightly wooded and have a nice variety of distances from short putter shots to extremely long par 3's.

Highly skilled gold level players are going to rack up birdies on these relatively simple shots while Ams and the lower ranks of pros will be able to strengthen foundation-level shots. Most holes are out-of-range for beginners but the lack of underbrush and ability to save par from pretty much anywhere will make for a good challenge without frustration.

Variety - A well-rounded player will be throwing both forehand and backhand shots along with perhaps a roller or two off of the tee. Hole distances have great variety from putters to long-range drivers and there aren't really any holes which pop out as "clunkers" - every hole has a purpose and routes which will be successful a high percentage of the time.

Navigation - Navigation is fairly straightforward as the disc golf part of the park is small and open and tees are marked with hole numbers. Only 1 basket is not visible off of the tee (hole 6) and the rest are fairly obvious so first-timers should not have much problem getting around.

Cons:

The course design here works very nicely but there is currently neither the space nor terrain required to make for a championship level course. If a larger area were available for disc golf, including heavy woods, elevation, and some punishing underbrush, a redesign might make sense. Until then, this course is great for what it is - a place to practice disc golf basics.

Other Thoughts:

I'd mention that this course was very swampy when we played for the first time earlier this year, so it may be best to play during periods of dry and sunny weather. On our most recent visit in September 2010, the place was bone dry, which made for very skippy discs but much more comfortable feet.

Park Fees: I've made the edit, but the park recently started charging $5 per car for entry rather than $3 which was posted in the current edition of the PDGA directory.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
CheezyBanana
Experience: 14.8 years 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good for beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great for a beginners! Most of the pins are easy to find, and there is not a lot of brush/bushes that you can loose your disk in. Also each hole was a par 3!

Cons:

Some of the pins were hard to see, and each hole is not clearly marked so make sure to check the map! We were lucky we had someone who knew where to go, but there was a lot of people just kind of wondering around because they weren't able to find and follow the path.

Other Thoughts:

Relaxing, and the trees give great coverage during the summer :) and 3 of us were able to finish the whole thing in an hour and a half, and that is with one of us not really knowing what they were doing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 6
newberg
Experience: 4 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Must play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Long, well kept

Cons:

mud and hole 6

Other Thoughts:

Please take your empties with you. Please.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 6
McDilligaf
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Fun/ambient course, not too technical but thats ok too. I liked the layout and the rubber pads, also it was nice to have a BB-Q and play again. Will definatly be heeding the good advice about winter play though it sounds fun also. Thank you :)

Cons:

more holes would be nice but not really needed
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Puddy47
Experience: 13.8 years 9 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Spring run through Champoeg 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 8, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good course for beginners, moderate distance, open and flat, easily navigated. Fun for an easy day when you don't wanna stress yourself, it's not a bad course.

Cons:

Ground can be marshy and muddy, not a very challenging course.

Other Thoughts:

It's alright, it wasn't anything exciting by any means but it's good for beginners and testing new discs or techniques.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Hippy007
Experience: 16.7 years 42 played 15 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 24, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is flat so that it is easy for all levels of people to go out and play here. There is plenty of parking and many BBQs that can be used to cook some dogs or buggers between rounds. The big Oak trees make this just a special place to play. They offer great shade in the summer and crazy amount of lines to the baskets. You will always find new lines that you want to try and make to try and make it closer to the basket.

Cons:

The rubber tee pads can get very slick in the muddle rainy winter that the NW gets. Also the flat fields are not completely flat and when it rains there are lots of puddles/mini lakes all over.

None of the baskets are way out there and require multiple shots to make it to the baskets. It is mostly drive, approach, then putt, or just Drive then putt. That second one is much more common for most Am and above players.

Big guns might find this course way to short for them.

Other Thoughts:

There are many other things that can be done at this park. You could even camp here and play for many days. There are two other parks in the area so it is very easy to get in two or three parks in a day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.1 years 399 played 384 reviews
3.00 star(s)

How do you pronounce Champoeg? 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 4, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

You have to love one of Oregon's oldest courses, originally built in 1980 and today it still stands as a great disc golf course for people of all ages, abilities and skill level.

I have to disagree with previous reviewers that said this course could get stagnant after a while. One of the first things that stood out to me about this course was the beautiful oak trees and the multiple amount of routes you can take to get to the basket. I found myself having a tough time deciding what to throw off the tee box because I would step back from the tee and every time I would see a new route and want to try it. All of these different paths would keep this course fresh over the long haul of playing here a lot and it looks as if it's stood the test of time.

There is a great variety of holes including different variations of length and obstacles along the way. Navigation is fairly easy and course flow is pretty well done also. Having disc golf courses in state parks make so much sense because there are other things to do as well so if you have a significant other you can sneak in some golf and still go and do some things your partner wants to do.

Cons:

It's not a huge challenge of a course and there are no holes to bomb a drive out on. Some reviewers have said it should be 18 holes and I disagree with this; I would like to see it shortened to 12 holes and make some of the holes a lot longer and challenging which would make this course even better than it is now. new tee pads are desperately needed as the rubber fly mats are breaking apart, concrete might be the way to go as I'm guessing this course is not going anywhere soon.

Other Thoughts:

I played it during a wind and rain storm and the park had pond like puddles all around so you may want to avoid this place during the winter months. I bet when this place first opened it was one of the best courses in Oregon and 30 years later it still stands up as being a better than average course that uses a lot of it's potential, the $3 charge to play isn't a big deal at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
tommygunn
Experience: 22.9 years 14 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Worth a visit, but not regular play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a course that anyone would be comfortable playing at. The holes were fairly easy to follow, and a couple holes provided some minor challenges. It would also be a great place to bring your kids too.
The scenery is also nice. I have only been here in the summer and the fall, and the Oak trees are beautiful. One last bonus would be the lack of traffic/players. I have only played here three times, but it was always quiet.

Cons:

>Lack of any real distinct challenges. Advanced players will find this course to be monotonous after one round.
>Rubber tees can be a bit slick.
>An advanced player will be scoring 2's and 3's on almost every hole.
>15 holes? I'm guessing three more could be incorporated somewhere.
>Too flat, and not enough variety.

Other Thoughts:

This is a course to visit if you have some time and are headed up or down Interstate 5 through the Willamette Valley. If you are looking for an epic course to play, I would not suggest making a special trip to this course. It's an average course-it does not have the character to quite break 3 stars. Again, if you are in the area and have an hour, it's certainly worth playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top