Salt Lake City, UT

Creekside Park

Permanent course
3.495(based on 57 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Creekside Park reviews

Filter
1 5
thespeedokid
Experience: 9.3 years 110 played 34 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice hole signs. Large concrete tees. Two practice baskets. Large variety in hills and also in trees. Variety of shots needed to score well. Variety in distances of holes. Multiple hole locations.

Cons:

There were a lot of people playing this course but there is a reason for it.

Other Thoughts:

Really solid course with a creek that winds through a few of the holes. The water really shouldn't come into play to much. If you do end up in the creek it is shallow and clear.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Disc chaser
Experience: 12.2 years 35 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Top Shelf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 12, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great course. Attractive surroundings. Well designed for a variety of shots. Mostly long holes when I played but I noticed there were as many as five basket placement options on some holes. Easy to find and easy to access with good parking playground and facilities.

Cons:

Needs a short (200ish) technical fairwaywith a visible basket. Hole 16 has a 207 option but was in the 291 position. The current March 12 setup offered distances that were very monotonous (all seemed 275-325 except 3a which was blind) . Easy fix if the local club pays attention to variety when changing baskets.
Can be crowded with intoxicated players.

Other Thoughts:

Exceptional course for Utah.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Barneybboy
Experience: 10.2 years 15 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Not to bad of a course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 23, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is located in a park so it makes it good for that family to be able to play there while others throw the course. The park/course is really nice with some open areas and some trees in others. Makes for a good variety of throwing. There is good signs telling where the baskets are and they do a good job at changing basket location to keep the course fresh. There are good concrete tee boxes and benches to sit while resting or waiting for others.

Cons:

It is a very popular course and gets busy which can cause waiting. May not be the best course if you are in a hurry.

Other Thoughts:

Beautiful park and course. Definitely worth playing and visiting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
MrDarkHorse
Experience: 11.2 years 55 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Probably the best course in Utah 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 11, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Very nice course, with great scenery and requiring a variety of shot selection
- Some fun elevation, and the creek is a decent water hazard
- Nice people

Cons:

- Pretty crowded
- Signage is missing
- A little tricky to navigate in a couple of spots, I had to ask locals for help

Other Thoughts:

Definitely a don't miss course in the SLC area. Not terribly difficult, but not a wide open pitch course either. Very good intermediate disc golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
tommyUnitas
Experience: 11.8 years 45 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 25, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very nice course. Open holes, tree holes, river holes, up shots, down shots, grassy, nice baskets and tee pads, new signs on each hole, tunnel shots, 2 extra holes plus a bonus hole which comes out to 21 holes, nice locals, tournaments, dubs, bathrooms, multiple pin variations.

Cons:

Not many cons, some would say the river, but that's just a challenge, not a con.

Other Thoughts:

Overall very good course. I played here 4/25/14. Was here from SoCal for work, and got in a practice round with some locals, followed by a Dubs tourney. Course was in great condition, with great views of the surrounding mountains. All the locals were cool, the course was dog friendly. I would recommend if in the area, and even if your'e not in the area, still worth playing...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
thenewguy
Experience: 10.8 years 16 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Requires all types of shots and disc use. Great course to work on technique.Very easy to find a pick up game

Cons:

Very hard to navigate. Baskets seem clustered together and every tree is painted orange, not sure what is OB anymore.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
protravler
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Run down but still fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 29, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Solid, large Tee Pads. Just enough Technical challenge. Very well played-in, son few places left on the fringes for discs to hide.

Cons:

95% of all signage has been ripped out or vandalized, very hard course for a first-timer to figure their way around, lots of crossing patterns and overlaps to make that worse, crowded scene plus crowded course design.

Other Thoughts:

OK, so I get this course is an oldie, and that shows. Probably my biggest complaint since spending hours trying to navigate this thing the first couple times I played was just the overall crowded feel. That said though, the course is a fun mix of technical challenges and it's one of those short courses where there's a birdie available on just about ever hole for the better players with accuracy off the tee. A good 'locals' course for sure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Tay.anderson82
Experience: 11.2 years 5 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Creekside 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 22, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

A challenging course, but set up very well. I'm still very new to DG so I sucked at this course, but its nice to have a challenge to be able to get better.

Cons:

Wait time is about it but that's not to bad if you're patient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Memphis Newbie
Experience: 12.3 years 33 played 22 reviews
3.50 star(s)

so good, but so crowded 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 29, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful park with grass, woods, hills, a creek (more of a river by Utah standards) with crystal clear water that makes it easy to spot discs

the design of the individual holes is great. lots of variety and character. super fun that some of the baskets are perched just a couple feet from the roaring creek, making what would normally be a good drive or approach, a frantic wade into the creek to save your disc.

Tee pads are great.

baskets are my favorite--dga mach Vs

The map here on DGCR makes for easy navigation, otherwise you will get very lost.

Cons:

Number one con--incredibly crowded. This is the only good course in SLC so it gets all the crowds. I was there on a Wednesday from 11 am to 4 pm. I was on vacation visiting from TN, and apparently so was every disc golfer in SLC because it seemed like they were all there. It was especially crowded around noon, probably because people were playing during their lunch hour.

Slow play-- I think the locals are accustomed to the crowds and have adapted by learning to play very slowly. I am used to playing quickly and I almost jog through my local courses, so it was frustrating to see players sitting at a tee bench for extended periods even when no players were in front of them and then they would stand up and tee off right when we approached the tee instead of letting us play through. Most players we encountered here were very friendly and courteous.

Layout-- I mentioned that the design of the holes is excellent, however, the layout of the holes has a lot of overlapping fairways and backtracking, on a less crowded course this wouldn't be so much of an issue.
Vandalism--there are frames for signs at every tee, but the signs have all been destroyed. I have heard rumors that there is some hate against disc golf in this park. Bummer.

Other Thoughts:

loved playing here, even with the crowds. beautiful park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Intermediate/Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 30, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a city park that is pretty much devoted to disc golf. There are other activities present here, but it seems the course is well separated from everything else. Shouldn't be any interference.
- First section of the course plays in some pretty thick woods, which require accurate line shaping and control. #2 is a low RHFH flick into the treeline on the right, #3 shoots into the woods with a sharp left turn to get to the long pin, #3a is a tighter wooded hyzer, as well as #3b. #11 and #13 are pretty heavily populated too.
- Lots of other holes play next to dense forest or tree coverage as well; #4 is a long anny line with a hill left and the woods right, with the long pin tucked into a gap. #6 has woods lining the entire right side, #7 shoots through a gap in a thick line of trees, and #8 is a long anny shot with the treeline on the right.
- Rest of the holes are located in a more open area that has a combination of thick patches of trees/schule and individual trees. Lots of places where an errant shot can lead to big trouble due to rough, jail, or general bad lines to the basket. Decent mix of hyzer, straight, and anny lines, with some low ceilings and well protected baskets.
- Fair amount of elevation changes here, which are pretty good. #1 is a valley shot, #3b has an elevated teepad, #4 plays along a hill, #5 and #6 play on top of that hill with slopes left and right, and #7-#10 also have elevated teepads. Adds a lot of variety to the course, well utilized.
- Creek is in play on many holes, adding another element of difficulty to the course. #7 shoots directly over from the teepad; clipping a branch could be disastrous. It is also pretty close to the right of #8 and part of #13. #14 shoots directly over it, though it is possible to go way left to take it out of play.
- Good concrete pads, though #3a and #3b are natural. Tee signs are good with a few vandalized a bit, baskets are good. Navigation can be pretty tough; having a map is a big, big help. Practice basket in front.

Cons:

- Biggest con at this course is some serious layout trouble. #7 and #8 have crossing fairways, #7 and #9's teepads are pointed across each other, #12's basket is just off of #13's fairway, and some holes are just generally close together in the more open area. Heads up at all times, or else.
- First half of the course is very interesting, the back half is kind of lackluster. Still challenging, but not nearly as fun.

Other Thoughts:

- Solid course overall. A lot of different types of holes, from tightly wooded, to open bombers, to water holes, elevated pads and dangerous rollaways, a little bit of everything. Lots of different pin positions can influence the length and difficulty as well. No matter what positions are currently in, this course is probably a bit tough for beginners, better suited for more experienced players. Have seen groups skip #3a, #3b, #7 and #8 to make things easier.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
TheGrim
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.4 years 75 played 44 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awesome Beautiful Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 30, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is a lot of fun. The holes have a variety of challenges which will make you use all kinds of throws and types of disks. They range from long open bombs to tight tunnels.

All the holes are well marked. Most of the cages even have bright pink flags on them to make them easy to see through the trees and such.

The cages are moved very often, making it different all the time so you don't get bored with it.

The people are friendly for the most part, but with some of the holes throwing at others it's important to make people aware that you're throwing. It's all about common courtesy.

Cons:

As I mentioned several of the holes throw right at other tee pads. I didn't really notice it too much till someone from out of state mentioned it to me and I realized just how many times it happens. This problem is exacerbated by the following con:

This is one of the best courses in the state which has one big con, (thus the 4 instead of 4.5+), it attracts a TON of people.

This isn't all bad, I've played with some great people, but it also means that you have to contend with crowds, annoying and inconsiderate people at times, and lots of people leaving garbage, (which is usually quickly cleaned up).

I've also awakened a few bums who make the pad for 3B their bed some nights.

Other Thoughts:

This park is beautiful most of the time. It is almost everything you could ask for in a course, except the crowds and the other cons mentions, of course.

Don't bother coming on Wed evenings unless you enjoy tons of young men and young women throwing with frisbees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
JakeLaPutka
Experience: 17.7 years 15 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

This is what disc golf is all about 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 2, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

--It has Everything. Short, Long, Open, Wooded, Tunnels, Right, Left, Up, Down, Water, Mandys.
--Average of 4 pin positions per hole, always being changed.
--It is hard, but not so hard that beginners can't play. Is friendly for all skill levels.
--Water hazard that doesn't always steal your disc. about 60% of the time you can find your disc and wade in/use a stick to get your discs.
--Not really windy. Windy days will usually be guarded by the trees. Don't get me wrong though wind can come into play!
--Doubles is HUGE here every tuesday. Big payout usually, and great time to learn from better golfers. There is a B pool so less experienced players can play.
--Uses all the shots in your bag
--There is a bathroom and potable water
--A Disc golf park. Rarely (although it does happen) are there people in your way like walkers, runners, etc.
--Very well maintained by Team Utah Disc Golf, with garbage cans about every 5 holes and benches on 16/23 of the holes

Cons:

Not too many.
--Crowds. No way to play a <2 hour round on the weekends. The front 9 is hazardous with 6's teepad being prone to shots from 4 and 5. Many people think 3A and 3B are "too hard" so they skip from 3 to 4, so often youre stuck playing through big groups twice. A lot of people are not very nice here. Lose your disc and get called back 2% of the time, Big groups not letting people play through, massive groups not splitting into 2 groups and holding everyone up.
--Conflicting holes can cause some positions to stay the same, for example hole 13 is almost always short because there is only 1 position on 12 that allows 13 to be in any other position than short.

Other Thoughts:

The reason the cons did not bring this course from 5 to 4.5 is because they are cons that can't really be changed. I guess people could just be nicer haha. It is understandable why this course is so crowded because it is so awesome!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
ohtobediscing
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 44.4 years 401 played 41 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Best use of flood basin ever 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 6, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course seems to have it all---open and grassy, wooded, volumnous creek, elevation changes, isolated holes, varied clientele, alternate pin placements. Not much pro/long-armed, but not really a family/beginner's course either. Most of the lovely, dewey field fairways are in the first 9; the holes start flirting with the creek about halfway through. The creek helps mediate the temp in the park, and can provide a cool dip on a blistering summer day, or steal your disc when its up and muddy. The trees start to really kick in and affect shots by hole #9, though #s 4 & 5 dance around the oaks a bit. I think its a great course with educational opportunities for the improving discer; if you can excell here, you should be able to handle all but the most overgrown, mountainous, abysmally long courses.
Except for 1-2, 15, and 17-18, you're pretty much hidden from the rest of the park, a nice amenity for those who like an "its MY country club" atmosphere. A nice selection of tees with benches, and the bathroom might be 300 yds. from the most distant hole.

Cons:

Major hindrances are other discers [packed on weekends], other park users[dogs, kids, strung-out LDS/LSDers], obscenely hot temps in summer and fairway/tee encroachment. The creek can be hazardous in late spring-mid summer: if its muddy you should have your life insurance policy paid-up if you risk going in.

Other Thoughts:

Too bad there's not another course of this style in the Greater Salt Lake area---the flatter, longer, blander courses are why this one is so popular.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
baylor90505
Experience: 10.8 years 31 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 16, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beautiful park and great layout. Great concrete tees and challenging hole locations. Awesome little river runs along some of the holes. Great flow to the course and pretty hard to get lost.

Cons:

Some areas of the park never seem to dry up and can be very muddy. Can be very busy at times and sometimes have to wait on holes.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a really fun and challenging course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
mallardthrasher
Experience: 17.8 years 3 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

FORE! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good variety from a few wide open holes to tight wooded fairways on the back 9 that require control shots rather than the monster drives on almost every hole at Valley Regional, Water hazards make it challenging and fun, No Joggers/Walkers to wait for or hit!

Cons:

Lots of people, overlapping fairways and tees (You have to wait for people to tee of on the next hole before you can throw or else you may hit them in some cases). Sprinklers were going the whole time I was playing (very soggy back 9). Lots of discs flying in every direction on a few holes making it a bit dangerous. Confusing hole layout and lack of markings for someone that has never played the course before.

Other Thoughts:

I have to say it is a cool course especially with the control needed to score well on the back nine. However, I am not a big fan of having discs thrown at me the whole time I was playing, but all in all it wasn't too bad. With as many people that were playing, it is a little too crowded for my taste, but it does help to not have the joggers and walkers all over that have no idea what is going on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
JDee
Experience: 13.7 years 20 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Creekside AKA A packed house 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 27, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Creekside is the staple course in Salt Lake for year round play.
-Multiple hole placement is a bonus. It's nice to show up even 2 days later and a few holes are in new locations. different hole location add different challenges to the over all excitement of this course.
-Trees, shrubs, water, mudd, and people add to the difficulty and fun of this course. You will hit a tree, you will hesitate before you throw over the water, and you will have to yell FORE because there are peeps everywhere!
I enjoy a challenge, therefore the difficulty and challenge of this course is a pro.
-One of the better courses to be able to use multiple discs that do different things to your advantage. And you will be able to throw your long distance drivers at least a few times.

Cons:

-To. Many. Damn. People!!
-When it's nice out, it doesn't matter what time of day, this place is a mad house. A packed house! Prepare to wait. If you go with less then 2 people most groups are totally awesome about letting you play through. But still, it's a hassle.

Other Thoughts:

You can't go wrong with Creekside. It's a legit, fun, sometimes difficult course. There are two bonus holes. hole 3a and 3b that are fun as well if you would like to play 2 extra holes.
Play with a group and enjoy taking your time. Or come with less then two and rip through all the tons of people and huge groups. Enjoy salt lakes staple disc golf course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
climbingbubba
Experience: 13.9 years 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good and challenging 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Has a lot of basket placements per hole so the course is rarely the same.

Has double tournaments every tuesday night which is always good times.

Very challenging with some heavily wooded holes.

Cons:

Lots of places to lose your disc if you mess up.

Holes 4-6 can get backed up and you need to watch out for incoming discs.

Gets really crowded and it seems a majority of people there have no sense of proper disc golf etiquette.

Other Thoughts:

Its a very challenging course that is probably the most frustrating one around. Due to this it definitely helps build skill and lets you take many interesting shots that you wouldn't encounter on more open courses.

Not my favorite around (I am still pretty new) but a must for anyone coming to visit salt lake.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
AltitudeDiscGlf
Experience: 6 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice technical course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 29, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is well marked and positioned. There are a number of different pin placements (up to 4 for each hole) making it nice for variety and a change up. The pins are moved very often and I've even seen it changed 3 times in one week.

The tee pads are concrete, and the course is really easy to follow. The terrain is parklike - grass with some trees. A small creek runs through the park (not too much of a hazard for experienced players - if a disc is thrown in, it is easy to fish out).

Cons:

There are two main cons to this course: First - it is compact and there is overlap on holes. This wouldn't be a problem except for the fact that (Second Con) it is extremely busy. I've even shown up at 6:00 am and had to wait. Overall it is worth the wait though and you wont be disappointed in making the trip to the course.

Other Thoughts:

Play this course, from the signature hole 12 through the tunnel of trees to the pleasant park like setting, you wont be disappointed with this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Forrest
Experience: 13.8 years 6 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Creekside 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Best course in the valley. The course is well laid out giving you grass/water/woods. Pretty much a constant shade for most of the course so it's not bad to play in the middle of the day. Concrete tee pads and benches at most holes.

Cons:

Traffic. That's the main thing. This is a busy course since it is arguably the best in the valley. Some holes are too close, which causes some wait time between throws because it's easy to throw into another holes green. Heads up if you're allergic to cottonwood trees.

Other Thoughts:

Great course and the whole valley knows it, so be prepared for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
ryan ranes
Experience: 15.5 years 48 played 25 reviews
5.00 star(s)

THE BEST COURSE EVER!!!!!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 11, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

there are so many psotions on ever hole now the lowest is 2 and the most is is 6 positions on one hole and tight fariways a couple of mandos on 13 long and short and mandy and 11 we have 2 new holes to the course betewwen 3 and 4 they are called 3-A 3-B. there are alot of shots rigth next to the creek so almost the hole course u can risk losing discs the course is a more accurate player in mind and over grown trees and u dont stay on the fairway ur SCREWED. this is my homecourse and im very blessed to live right across the street. with awsome cement teepads and signs we mow it every 2 weeks there is water by the first hole theres a practice basket

Cons:

the only bad thing i can say it gets way to crowded

Other Thoughts:

play tuesday doubles 5:00- 6:30 some time throught out the year is when we tee off
I have aced 14A 5/6/10 dx viking for my first ace 13Short twice champ groove 167 13th ace then with a discraft impact on 6/28/10 for my 19th ace 13 mandy champion orc for my 3rd ace 8/22/09 gumbputt for my 5th ace 10/09/09 the flx drone for my 8th ace 1/22/10
10A on 1/17/10 with a champion valkyrie for my 7th ace then 3b-a for my 15th ace with a first run cro on 5/31/10
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top