Tampa, FL

Cypress Point Park

3.825(based on 37 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Cypress Point Park reviews

Filter
10 0
Duder786
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course. Sport heading in this direction 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 10, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It is a great course that is quiet. There is one bike path/jogging trail that goes through it but is never really busy. There are some long holes so it is a break away from traditional par 54 courses. Nice Innova baskets, big cement tee pads, and recently installed tee signs which in my opinion are some of the best signs you can use on a course. I have only really played during Fall and Winter and it has stayed fairly dry other than dew in the morning and casual water on 1, 17, and 18 after a rain.

Cons:

Holes are a little bit cramped in some areas. Lots of fairway overlapping that would make it hard for tournaments in the future. Mosquito's have been out at sunrise in the winter months so be sure to have bug spray come summertime. There is not enough benches for sitting, plus no water fountains or bathrooms on the course. You would have to go to the other end of the parking lot near the bay for that.

Other Thoughts:

This is still a new course and still getting "beat in" so game play will only get better. I love it because it's 10 minutes from work and I get a round in before I clock in. I hope to see more courses like this pop up soon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
jjw4ucm
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.8 years 37 played 30 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Scenic and gorgeous right by the Bay! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 23, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

UPDATE (12/27/2021) - I first played this course seven years ago, and since, I've moved to the area so it's become one of my go-to courses. Signage has been installed and the course is maintained very, very well.

One pro that I've come to appreciate is the wide-open, long bombs on 16-17-18. The finish to 17 is interesting enough with the trees that it's definitely not boring.

There are minimal lost disc opportunities here, with the exception of the massive dogleg around the huge fence on 8. You can throw from the am pad to get around this pretty easily, though. There's water lurking behind a few of the baskets but you'd really have to overshoot to be in danger. Original review follows:
________________________

Lots of very fun, long shots to keep you interested. I could see where the design was going with each shot and really enjoyed it.

The park is just gorgeous. Most of the woods are palm trees, there's views of the bay, and the throws here are fun and scenic for the most part.

Baskets are in great condition, obviously, since they are new. They are numbered which is absolutely invaluable. Tee pads are new, nice, and grippy.

I found the design lots of fun and it never left me bored. Good shot variety kept it interesting for me most of the time. I loved the use of the creek behind 4 and the massive left dogleg on 8 - great job!

To be honest, I didn't find navigation here to be all THAT cumbersome. Sure, it was harder than it should have been, but the flow of the course was such that you generally could see the next tee pad from the preceding basket. To give you an idea, I spent about 1/4th as much time being lost here as I did at Tocobaga over in St. Pete. Maybe I just got lucky, but I wouldn't let the lack of signage keep you from playing here.

This park is absolutely beautiful and even has a beach if you're interested. Bathrooms and trash facilities were readily accessible at the parking area. There was sufficient parking as well when I was there and there were no other disc golfers, however it was also 12:00 PM on a workday.

The challenges present walk the line between fun and frustrating really well, and almost always end up on fun. Most of the frustrations here I feel can be ironed out and aren't a factor of the course design.

There aren't benches in the traditional sense of being directly next to the tees. However, there are plenty of areas on the course you can have a seat. Since it wasn't busy, this is something I could have done had I wanted to.

The course appeared pretty well maintained when i was there to be honest. As a full disclaimer, I was here in November so the bugs, water, and the like weren't anywhere near as bad as they can be in Florida in Summer.

Cons:

UPDATE (12/27/2021) - Again, the below review is from seven years ago. The signage has been installed and is in great shape, significantly alleviating my biggest gripe. However, as I suspected, this course can become almost unplayable in summer due to the standing water issues, and the bugs it attracts.

One thing I should've mentioned last time is that 1, 16, 17, and 18 all play very close to each other and basically throw back-and-forth across a massive grassy field (which is also the source of the water retention issues at this course). While I still like these holes overall, it's very easy to throw into the other fairways. Original review follows:
__________________________

Already been harped on, but there is ZERO signage here. I know I said navigation wasn't impossible, but it takes a very conscious effort without the aid of a map or signs! Bakset 18 is visible from the road, but there really isn't any parking close by and no indication where to go for hole 1. Be prepared to keep your head on a swivel and pay lots of attention to finish out a round here. I had to keep good mental notes of what basket was numbered which for future reference. The photos someone very kindly posted here were invaluable as well, thanks!

You are playing right beneath Tampa International Airport's southern approach. You can almost read the call signs of the airplanes; it wasn't horrible and really not much worse than road noise, but just be prepared!

You're also right by a rather large office park, and I played right around lunch, so I saw lots of people in khakis and ID badges meandering through the park and eating lunch. Very nice folks but might delay your throws a bit.

The thick woods are almost all palm trees, which I've learned are a bear to thread discs through. Some variation would be helpful to the course I think.

Other Thoughts:

UPDATE (12/27/2021) - The addition of signs really helped this course out a lot. If the drainage were better in summer and there were just a tiny bit more variety in terms of vegetation and elevation, this would be a solid 4.5. As it stands, it's easily a 4 and is a great park to play. I find myself coming back here more than almost every other course in the area, so you know it must be darn fun. Original review follows:
___________________

This course has monster potential and could be an amazing weekend destination. Put up some signs and navigational aids, and you have a gorgeous pro-style course that even the non-pros among us such as myself can enjoy.

While there were no bugs, no standing water, and no overgrowth when I was here, I also played in November. I saw several areas that could get bogged down quick if it was the rainy season.

This course is truly a 3.75 to me. Throw in some signs and it's a solid 4. However, I feel even without, it's still a blast to play and I really enjoyed my round here a lot. The signs would not have really increased my enjoyment of the course, and the lack of them did not decrease my enjoyment measurably. However, this is only my opinion, and you may feel totally differently -- and that's okay! I rate on the enjoyment and the quality of course design, and I found both of them to be good here personally. As a disclaimer, I plan to play again in summer and my rating may change as a result. Happy discing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
johnny4put
Experience: 13.9 years 17 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

johnny4put 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 21, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice concrete tees. Nice baskets. Very scenic

Cons:

Tees not marked. A map would be helpfull. No signage or arrows to show the way to the next hole. Very important.... bring lots of bug spray...

Other Thoughts:

I couldnt find the basket for 8, I played to basket 9.then played 13 ,14,15, and 16. At that point I had enulf. 17 and 18 were visible. I was just over it by then
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
domromer
Experience: 21.5 years 88 played 21 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not a very interesting course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Plays through some scenic palms.

Cons:

No signage
hard to find your way around
course does not flow
Not an easy course to walk up and play

Other Thoughts:

This course is fine if you play ti all the time and know where all the pads and pin are located. But if you are visiting I'd give this course a miss. As of right now it's a pain to navigate without signage and not interesting enough to make it worth while.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 1
thrembo
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 48.9 years 242 played 195 reviews
3.50 star(s)

This Course Made My Friend Butthurt, Literally!

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 17, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

A somewhat scenic, pro player style, coastal Florida course.

The course zig-zags through a heavily wooded, grassy fairway, no rough to speak of, low lying area. A lot of the longer holes have open fairways, followed by well-guarded pin placements. There is a nice mix of short and long holes, but the course definitely leans to the longer side.

Nice concrete tee pads, sweet tee signs, and fresh Innova baskets.

Some interesting bumpy, rolling terrain features.

Cons:

The first thing that you will notice is the almost constant, extremely loud noise of airplanes coming in/out of the Tampa Int Airport.

There can be a lot of standing water (6-12" deep) on this course during the rainy season.

Other Thoughts:

This course is on its way to becoming one of the Tampa areas finest.

As of right now, I prefer Medard, Taylor, and Cliff in the Tampa area. I would also caution Rec/new players. The course is long and hard, and it could be tricky for new players to navigate.

Oh, how did my friend get butthurt? He was teeing off at hole 16, and we were running out of steam a little bit, and he sprained a glute trying to go large. "Dude, the Climo course made you butthurt!" Lol!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
boursin
Experience: 12.3 years 13 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Big arm of love 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

set right on Tampa Bay near the airport, some very long holes and some mid length and some short holes, a very good mix of shots needed. This course can be open and can be quite technical, I heard Ken Climo designed this course so be prepared for a challenge (multiple multiple world champ what do you expect) the first time I played this course it was pretty much dry the next time there was knee deep water on 1, 17, 17 and 18.

Cons:

except for the water issue and the lack of signage on each hole not to many to speak of

Other Thoughts:

play it when there has not been a lot of rain or you will be wet. Bring your Icy Hot you will need it after you huck this long monster (thanks Ken) When we played there bugs were incredible a couple of mosquitoes tried to pick up one of my discs and fly away with it. they were horrible bring your DEET. the fire ants were also pretty terrible other than that it is a super course that I will play over and over
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Jabberwocky
Experience: 12.9 years 24 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beautiful park, poor design 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

The best thing about this course was the beautiful park. Very scenic setting. The baskets were also very nice and marked well. Bugs were very non existent.

Cons:

I know it's a new park but signage is really needed to help navigate course. The layout requires crisscrossing of holes. The low canopy would have been nice for a challenging course if the numerous palm trees weren't so good at trapping discs.

Other Thoughts:

Overall I think this course has a lot of potential. It is a challenging course that was a lot of fun to play. Because of crisscrossing holes however, tournaments might be too congested to be enjoyable to play. Also the low canopy of Palm trees will slow play as people try to retrieve discs which can be a challenge with Palm trees. Fun, beautiful course, that needs a little more work to get a 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
WAR813
Experience: 27 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 3, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Great length.
- Great use of space.
- Great shot diversity.
- Nice park.
- Great tee pads.

Cons:

- Got stung by some wasps trying to retrieve my putter from under some palms.
- Needs more trash cans.

Other Thoughts:

I really loved that the course had some par 4's and 5's.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Rich.Carrozza
Experience: 13.9 years 22 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great new course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

I like courses that require a big arm and this one makes you bring it. Huge hyper and anhyzer bombs to be had here. Tee pads were perfect length and baskets are pristine. A wonderful, beautiful course in a nice park.

Cons:

Not much to say that hasn't already been said. No hole signs or next tee directional signs. Few trash cans. A few benches have been put it which is nice and the killer bees are gone. Grass needs to be mowed a little, but other than that it was a great course. Tons of fun.

Other Thoughts:

Super fun. Big long shots. Plenty of Palm trees to thread between which always is a nice challenge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
JohnPSI
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.2 years 93 played 19 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Pro Level Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent tee pads and signage! Very thoughtful layout that takes advantage of every bit of topography available. The trees provide a canopy to shoot under on most holes, while a few are wide open. I had to use every disc, shot and trick i had on this course, and was spent at the end. There's even a proper practice basket that is segregated from the rest. Plenty of shade to be found on this course to give you a break from the sun. I believe hole 5 was my favorite, 550ish through to the back of the course, with a water side basket that might make you rethink your putt

Cons:

Not much to really complain about, but giving it an honest review: there are a lot of other park users that are friendly, but could delay your throw on a few holes. The landing planes are fun to watch while warming up, but distracting when playing. The reality is, the only things keeping this course from getting a 5 is lack of benches, trashcans, and next tee directional signs.

Other Thoughts:

This course is really a gem! I would bring the bug spray during the rainy season, but other than that, bomb on !
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
BeauRoch
Experience: 18.9 years 59 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great one in Tampa 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great layout. Need to be able to play a wide variety of shots of varying lengths. Course is in good shape and was fun to play.

Cons:

Need to get those killer bees out of there...they affect three holes. Needs signage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
drewzer
Experience: 27 years 5 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Tough (but fair) Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course is set-up in a nice park. Holes are a mixture of open & woods (mostly Palm trees). Even though there is major length here, there are some Birdies to be had for Amateurs, & Intermediate players alike. There are Restrooms near the Beach area, which is not too far from the 1st tee. The flow of the course is good, and I did not get lost from hole to hole.Nice lay-out. Tee pads are cement & are just the right length. Baskets are new Disc Catchers. I like the par 66 set-up. Tough but fair.

Cons:

Okay. This did not bother me, but other players, maybe. Just above the 1st tee is the southern runway approach for Tampa airport. It's loud & often, so be prepared.(after #1, I really didn't notice the Jets until #16, 17, & 18) .The course is new and I won't be too critical of lack of signs, trash cans & benches. I'm sure most of these things will be addressed in the future. Bet this place gets "Buggy" during the rainy season. Bring th' Deet!

Other Thoughts:

Not having a big arm I thought this would be a punishing course to play, but it wasn't. The longer holes seemed to have nice "landing areas" to set up the next shot.The big open shots are #1, 16, 17 & 18. The fairways were a bit rough and unmowed, but the course is new. I'm sure this will change over time. The Back 9 (w/ the exception of 16, 17, & 18) weaves around a Palm tree forest w good sight lines. Nice mixture of Hyzer & Anhyzer throughout the course. It's just nice to have a new course to play in the T.B. area. Thanks to Ken Climo & Patrick King ( & all involved) for your work on this new DGC!! I'll be back, for sure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
Rustyham
Experience: 22 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

I got killed but loved every minute of it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has lots of weird shots, and few that are straight. You'll be using just about every disc in your bag. The holes that are par 5 are not obnoxiously long, they go through a fun array of terrain and obstacles. There is plenty of shade and some beautiful flora.

Cons:

Since it is still new, I hope these issues are remedied: There are no trash cans or benches, except for on hole 1. There is a colony of Africanized Killer Bees in the back nine, but at least it's blocked off with caution tape. Too bad it's in the middle of a fairway. Also beware the quicksand on hole 18- Stay away from the fairway, as this bog is right in the middle of it.

Other Thoughts:

Despite being killed by this course, I had so much fun playing it. Great elevation (Florida elevation), great trees to work with- narrow ones in the fairway and bushy ones in the rough.
I will definitely be back to improve my score.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 13
macfleming1
Experience: 40.9 years 82 played 10 reviews
2.50 star(s)

not fun 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 4, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is for the pros with its monster length. Very scenic, excellent baskets, great signs, fantastic tee pads.

Cons:

At age 51, I play DG for fun. Cypress Point is not fun due to excessive length and ridiculous number of trees. On 1, 4, 8, 16, 17, and 18, it takes 2-3 perfect drives to get within chipping distance. Adding some amateur/shorter alternate teepads would immediately add a point to my rating. Being a tree lover, I can only fault poor (or sadistic)design for several holes chock-full of palm trees and other foliage. I recommend throwing champion plastic that can take a beating.

Other Thoughts:

Absent some shorter teepads, definitely for younger players, who won't have to ice their shoulders the next day. With the addition of signs, I noticed "OB across sidewalk" on a couple of holes, which can VERY easily happen with a bad bounce off one of the many trees. That adds insult to injury, upping the frustration level IMO.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 2
nitron2097
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.3 years 13 played 12 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Epic course; thanks, 'Champ!' 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 9, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This was the first time I've played a brand new course since Ed Medard.
You'll throw every disc in the bag and get tested every shot. Roller approaches, thumbers, annys, spikes...
Kenny and Patrick used all the land they had. Nice mix of pars and a good variance in distances to the pins. Nice Innova baskets.
Tees here are great; really scuffed and rough; I'd bet these play great when they're damp.
There's plenty to do in this park besides disc golf. A huge beach area sits on the bay and there are biking and skating trails and picnic shelters.
Plenty of parking at the beach lot and a big practice/warm up area with a basket and benches.
Love the proximity to Tampa Airport; the sound those planes is awesome!

Cons:

A few of the baskets are in close proximity to each other. We weren't sure which bucket as #1 until we were on top of it.
Some of the underbrush is a little overgrown and dead palm fronds still need to be removed.
The course doesn't return to the parking lot at all until you finish.
No tee signs as of yet.
Ant hills are a major issue here. Long pants are already a good idea. 'Off' and sunblock are also musts.
No real on course seating save for some picnic tables between #8 and # 14.
#16, #17, and #18 go through a huge field that has a drainage pond in it.
#16 also runs right along the parking lot for the industrial park, so watch the cars.

Other Thoughts:

Editing my review after playing my fourth round here.

A couple of things this park could use:
It'd be pretty cool to see a club get started up here like at Taylor Park in Largo; the course does need TLC.
Signage...omfg, signage...
Palm trees are oppressive beyond reason....I understand it being part of the challenge, but a few of the holes are just stupid hard thanks to the huge groves of palm trees that only offer 5" wide gaps (8 thru 12 especially).
One nice thing about other local courses is the number of am pads; this place needs them badly. Unless everyone in your group is a seasoned player, you won't have fun; this place eats too many shots. Even perfect shots here can be punished for no reason...really takes away from the fun factor for casual players.
Fairways need mowed. I don't have more than 300' worth of air arm, but I can roll 400'+ and the grass won't let me do it....this is a little annoying. It'd be really nice to see these fairways get haircuts more than a couple times a year.
After playing this place a couple times, I can say it's definitely over my skill level. That said, it would be nice if you could still go out here and have fun, but the way the course is right now, that's just not really true.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 9
tedy4444
Experience: 15 years 13 played 13 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

this course is a mixed bag. has everything you could ask for. any level of player can become a better player onthis course.

Cons:

being a new course, it has not been manicured yet. this will change soon.

Other Thoughts:

congrats to the champ.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
fasteddy8170
Experience: 13.4 years 28 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The bar has been raised in Tampa 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are so many where do I start. Location: Perfect. Easy to get to, great view, and the jets landing and taking off adds to the experience. Design: Offers a lot to different levels of players. 4 and 8 are diabolical due to length and obstacles--perfect for the Pros. Whereas, 2, 3, and 15 give shorter-throwing players opportunities for 2-shot birdies. The natural open spaces, bushes, and trees were used to maximize the feel of the course and no hole feels contrived as if made difficult or easy on purpose. Tee pads: Large and rough. So many concrete pads can get slippery when it rains. That won't happen at Cypress Point. Variety: Lots of it. Neither righties or lefties have an advantage. Backhands, forehands, rollers, anhyzers, hyzers, etc.--you may need all of them to get around this course. So many courses have holes that seem to be copies of each other. That's not the case here. Navigation: Fairly easy for a long course with no tee signs yet. On most of the holes you can see the next pad from the previous basket. The only confusing part might be around holes 7 and 8 where there are 3 pads within close proximity of each other. Favorite holes? 1, 9, and 16--860ft! Ace possibilities: 2, 3, 7, 11, and 15. Despite the course being next to The Bay, water is only a factor on one hole--behind the basket on #4. And watch out, the course has only been open for 1 day and already that hazard has collected some very good players' discs.

Cons:

Any cons I would include have everything to do with the course being absolutely new. For example, the long holes--1, 4, 16, 17, 18 are roller shot candidates but right now the grass is thick and feels like a mattress when walking on it. I'm sure the players who throw the roller would like the grass short and the ground hard. As previously mentioned, no tee signs yet but I'm sure they'll be up in no time. In addition, as I said above, a couple of the tees are close to each other so I'll be interested to see how it plays out when every hole is being used in a tourney situation. I've seen tighter situations but you never know until you get 90 players on a course.

Other Thoughts:

This is a "destination" course--players will drive hours to play it. Tampa has so many great courses: Cliff, Medard, USF, Taylor, Coachman, Maximo. But they aren't the Memorial courses in AZ, or Winthrop Gold in SC, or some of the epic courses where Pro World events are held. Cypress Point is Tampa's first entry into that class of course. It's a real par 66 with opportunities for Pros to show off their distance and their control. For the record, I'm a 910 to 920 rated player and shot 3 over first time sight unseen. I'm hoping Pinellas and Hillsborough Counties allow more courses like this to be built so FL can get a World event some time in the near future. Congratulations to The Champ and the others who put it all together.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top