• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

College Corner, OH

Disctractions DGC

3.425(based on 32 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Disctractions DGC reviews

Filter
5 0
hipster
Experience: 43 years 86 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Disctractions in the Forested Realm of Hueston Woods SP 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is played entirely in the woods on scenic state park property. A shady course on sweltering summer days is akin to the proverbial "manna from heaven". The first 5 holes have elevation then the course levels out for the remaining holes. Clean, spotted very little litter during my round.
Next Tee signs throughout this wooded realm show the way to well laid concrete tees. Each hole has two tees which provide two distinct tee shots for each hole as opposed to the run of the mill long tee vs short tee.
Accuracy, variety of shot skills, and a little tree love are needed to do well here. Noodle armed players can neutralize the cannon armed players on this course provided the noodlers hit fewer trees.
There is adequate signage for each hole that provides an accurate map to the basket. Navigation and course flow have improved tremendously in the past year and course is beating in quite well.

Cons:

I am hard pressed to con this wooded course considering it is located in the boon docks.
There is wooded debris throughout that can get in the way. Course could use a few more benches. Could not locate distances on some of the latter holes, but, it wasn't too bothersome.
Lacks a signature hole IMO.

Other Thoughts:

Disctractions is great addition to Ohio State Park disc golf family and the course in now worthy of its great name.
Be prepared, bring water, bug spray and TP. Port O Pot is located by the paint ball area after the last hole.
Played the day after a vicious summer storm and there were downed trees. Behind basket 1, on the way to hole 2, there was a huge tree that was blown over the brook and took out some good sized limbs on the way down. A lone park maintenance worker was just starting to take a chain saw to the massive mess.
Hank and his crew deserve an mighty round of applause for building and maintaining such a fine course. Disctractions is now a favorite of mine and i plan to play it more often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Dettmerb
Experience: 28.8 years 336 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great summer course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Course is completely shaded with a high ceiling that rarely affects throws. Easy to spot "next tee" signs make navigation easy. Two concrete tee pads per hole. Each tee pad gives a different line, making course play differently. A substantial amount of clearing has been done. All 18 holes in great shape. Newer baskets in great condition. Nice views of lake on early holes. Lots of wildlife throughout the course.

Cons:

Still listed as 27 holes, there are only 18 holes. Professional tee signs on first seven holes, but only hand drawn signs for last eleven holes. You will want to bring bug spray. Hole distances similar, no really long holes.

Other Thoughts:

First 7 holes on one side of road. Remaining 11 on other side. Follow signs toward the lodge to find course. Practice basket most visible to the right of lodge. Hole #1 near practice basket. I feel this is best wooded course in Cincinnati area. Congrats to those who have put in a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
Devilduck discgolf
Experience: 29.7 years 103 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I like the risk and reward factors here, great views ,great teepads, and great basket placements

Cons:

the fairways need to be cleaned up alittle and constant storm damage makes it tough , Not enough volunteer work goes into it ,

Other Thoughts:

Great design !
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
hooked312
Experience: 16.1 years 34 played 17 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Getting Better! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 29, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- This course is on a wonderful piece of property in Hueston Woods State Park. The front side is on the side of a hill with beautiful views of Acton Lake.
- Nice concrete tee pads with great signage directing you to the next hole.
- Never very busy, so it makes for a traffic free round.
- Great use of elevation changes on the first seven holes.
- Little trash buckets located at some of the tee pads and a few benches throughout the 18.

Cons:

- As much as the first 7 holes are scenically beautiful it feels like they are very spread out and there is room to make more holes or change the flow somehow.
- The tee signs are only on some on the tee pads and they don't have the greatest illustrations.
- On holes 8-18 it feels like some more clearing should be done to create lines for tee shots.

Other Thoughts:

The last time I played the course was the first time I could find 18 holes to play. The navigation and organization has definitely improved on this course.
This course has so much potential and every time I play it I am enjoying it more and more. It is a very technical course that challenges you to shape a variety of shots throughout.
Can't wait for future renovations and improvements on this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Powerstrokem
Experience: 12.8 years 10 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun, and Challenging 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 11, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course is in the woods, so requires some skill to get through and around the trees. The first half of the course is in great shape for the most part.

Cons:

The back half of the course is still not finished, there are no signs posted telling you the distance or pars, and some don't even tell you where the basket is. So it can be difficult at first.

Other Thoughts:

Overall i really like the course, and for the area it is a great course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
uglytater
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Multiple Launch Pads, Shade from trees, hard to loose a disc as there isn't much brush, not too busy, adding 9 more holes and I've heard they might add multiple basket locations for each hole to have a unique round each time, plenty of parking

Cons:

You're going to be throwing and hitting a lot of trees as you're in the middle of the woods, need to have a map the first time you play

Other Thoughts:

I really like this course, each time I've played I've had a very enjoyable experience and they're working to make it an even nicer course by adding more holes and more character.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
clyderandall
Experience: 14 years 13 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

I'll be back 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 29, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course was a lot of fun to play. It makes you through with precision and accuracy. The distance isn't too far but not too short. You play completely in the woods which is nice to be in shade. The front nine are clearly marked with nice maps and reflective markers pointing you to the next tee.

Cons:

The course does not seem to be finished yet. It says its 27 holes but most of the back half of the course is still being developed. With that said the back of the course is not clearly marked and some holes are over grown and need to be cleared.

Other Thoughts:

While there we spoke to the designer of the course and owner of sweeteesdiscgolf.com. He told us about the big plan for the course and the schedule to have this course completed over this summer. Every hole will have multiple tees and is designed to be skill challenging versus power challenging. The people behind this course are very passionate and I'm excited to see what comes of it. Just needs a little time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.2 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Awesome beginning, disappointing ending 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 11, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a hilly forest with nice mature trees. The first part of the course is a more open forest with limited underbrush, more elevation changes, and great views of a lake. The rest of the course is much denser, with smaller trees, lots of thick underbrush and flatter terrain. The elevation changes are used well to make some fun downhill shots and some tricky uphill holes.

There is a nice variety of hole shapes, with left and right turning holes and some straight shots. The first part of the course has a few holes that are a little longer, with shorter more technical holes at the end. There are two tees on every hole, adding a very different line on some holes for some more variety. There are nice concrete tees that are fairly new and in nice shape. The baskets are also pretty new and catch well. The signs that are in are decent with hole shape and distance.

Cons:

The course doesn't feel finished at all. The signage starts out nice, then disappears for the rest of the course. The numbering is odd because only 18 of 27 holes are in, with a chunk of holes missing in the middle. Navigation can be a little tricky toward the end of the course with no signage and leaves covering many tees in the fall.

The first 7 holes are great, but the rest of the course gets pretty repetitive and isn't really finished yet. Once you cross the road, nearly every hole is short and a little pinbally, with lots of small trees, fairways that are really narrow and odd shapes, and extremely punishing and disc eating rough. There is lots of brush and dead branches still on these fairways adding to the unfinished feel.

Other Thoughts:

If the whole course was like the beginning, it would be a really awesome place to play. It needs a lot of work, and hopefully more holes that are in the style of the beginning of the course. If that happened, and the signage was completed, I would love to come back and give this course a much higher rating. Beginners might find this course a little tough and punishing. More experienced players will find some fun challenges, though overall the course isn't really a test for better throwers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
CasualBrellow
Experience: 20 years 5 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Interesting 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 7, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This location is certainly an interesting course what with their being two places to tee off from for every hole. Also the scenery is some of the best out of nearby courses for the first 9 holes or so. The course itself has pars assigned that to me seem difficult and so perhaps to someone more than casual player acceptable.

Cons:

The second set of 9 holes. The first half of the course being some of the nicest in the area opinionably, are quickly forgotten when the second set is begun. The second set will eventually be holes 19-27 after renovation but are acting as 10-18 until then and thus the layout itself can be confusing. What doesn't help that is that after the first 5 or so holes the beautiful signs that tell you where to aim and the par are missing and the only direction as to where to go is often finding some arrows spraypainted on the trees near the basket.

This is not always simple because the course seems to be set down along existing paths through the woods near the lodge. So the path crisscrosses a few times and its easy to miss a few holes or circle yourself a few times if you aren't careful.

Other Thoughts:

My friend and I noticed a lot of trash cans filled with beer bottles and agreed that if anyone were to drink and play here it would be a sore choice as they would likely get lost and or hurt trekking through the woods if they were inebriated here, so take that as warning if thats something you do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
sickem2
Experience: 17.2 years 5 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Our First round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

i liked the way that they had arrows leading your on your way. Without them you really cant tell the different between the fairway and trail. Serveral hole surround a huge "Ravine" and trust me, you dont want to end up in :eek:) (Yes personal expirence)

Cons:

For some reason, someone thought it would be funny to destroy the signs for the length, distance/direction of the hole signs. Dont get it.. why destroy them, your only hurting the people playing behind you..

Other Thoughts:

The first hole is at the back end of the parking lot near the Lodge. Follow the lodge signs to find the course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
Bikinimower
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.7 years 174 played 67 reviews
2.00 star(s)

I'll try it again later 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 21, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The 1st 7 Holes

Cons:

All the other holes

Other Thoughts:

This course seemed very run down. I know it's November so maybe it's out of season. From what I understand it's still a work in progress, but it has potential so I may try it again down the road.

But for now I was definitely disappointed. If they can get the last 3 quarters of the course anywhere close to the 1st part of the course than I'll give it a 4 rating
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
tatonka
Experience: 19.2 years 69 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

disctractions... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 7, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

it starts out great... the first 7 holes play through a hilly mature forest with tight, long fairways. a gorgeous park with a huge lake that, unfortunately and unbelievably, never comes into play, but the course does make good use of a couple of creeks and big elevation change.
the best part about this course is the multiple tee pads for each hole. on most of the holes one is quite harder than the other making the course friendly for players of all levels.

Cons:

and then you cross the street... the next 11 holes lack some of the length and overall quality of the previous 7. most of these holes are under 250' and get repetitive. i understand that the course is still new and some of the fairways look like they were cut through some pretty heavy stuff*. but most of these holes are either easy 2's or the only route is to throw your putter 150 feet to a corner and then throwing it again 100 more feet to the basket for a simple drop in 3. there is one long hole but it has such a tight fairway that much less than a perfect drive will leave you in some of the most hilariously thick rough ever.
and oh yeah... no signs what so ever yet so good luck... im sure hanks working on that.

Other Thoughts:

i guess hes adding 9 more holes that depending on where they go could be a great addition to this course. real potential here to be a great course, but still very rough around the edges... it is brand new.
one of the coolest things about this course are the giant mushrooms everywhere. once you get into the thick woods some of the holes have the most and biggest mushrooms ive ever seen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top