• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Piqua, OH

Duke Foundation DGC

Permanent course
3.135(based on 15 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Duke Foundation DGC reviews

Filter
1 0
SK45869
Experience: 41.1 years 14 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 12, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The holes were a nice mix of long and short, trees and open with 1 water hazard. The entire course is mowed nicely and in great shape

Cons:

Like some reviewers said you have to pay attention to where the next hole is because sometimes it's not obvious but now that I've played it I know where they are...no big deal.

It is a long walk but I like that for the exercise....so this could be a pro or con depending on what you want.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course for the first time today with my son and we had a great time. Overall, this is probably the nicest course I have played yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.7 years 400 played 384 reviews
2.50 star(s)

They really took advantage of the space! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 10, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

18+1 good condition Chainstar baskets flow all over this spacious community college campus, and the course boasts nicely sized, level, flush to the ground concrete tees, as well as informative signage with little basket/bins on a number of them. There are even alternate basket positions on five holes, plus play that ranges from ridges to pine lanes, a U-shaped hole around a marshy rough area, a hole that flirts with a creek and another with a pond.

So it's not -only- a course to stretch your legs and work out your arm, just a mile or so off interstate 75 in Piqua, but a design that will enable you to practice control in the frequent plains windiness, and get your upshots right, because about ¾'s of the holes finish into a tight green. Your upshots will need to be pretty good working left to right and right to left to score best out here.

There is a great three-sided kiosk with a course map and some local info, trash barrels and benches all over, as well as tons of available parking. The distances on the course range from four technical holes under 200' to three holes (more open) that are well over 400'.

Cons:

They had very little elevation to work with, and did incorporate the available woods edges well, but this necessitated some enormously long walks between holes (probably between 300 to 500 feet from 6 to 7, 9 to 10, 15 to 16, and 16 to 17, then the walk back to 1 after 18). Take a copy of the map out with you!

Personally, as a guy who struggles to get past 300' on my drives, and especially into a headwind, there were at least six holes I'll never have a chance to reach, but they really weren't 'hard' enough to turn into fours, unless I really screwed up my upshot, or fluffed my putt. I tend to prefer a design that gives me a shot at deuces with a perfect tee shot, but might punish poor execution with a well-deserved four. But maybe that's just me.

Other Thoughts:

There aren't a lot of courses nearby, and the Duke Foundation course is pretty good one overall, especially if you're out for the fitness benefit of a good hike. They seem to have used the space they had as best they could, and it's clear that there have been some saplings planted in a few places since the pics on here were taken, so they're thinking long term.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Soilmapper
Experience: 18.2 years 1 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good test course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 25, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Wide open tee shots lets you test new discs or new throwing technique (for beginners testing their strength). This course makes you feel like a better player than you are.

Cons:

In a few years, holes like #14 will be a different story... tree growth being the reason. More obstacles would be more challenging.

Other Thoughts:

I am a casual player. I drive between 250-280 typically, with my BOSS driver. I got my first eagle on #16 with two long drives and a 10 foot putt; that hole should be a par 4 at best. Just too wide open to be more than a 3 rating. I am used to LOTS of trees from the tee pad onward.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Bushman71
Experience: 314 played 10 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Cooed course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 7, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Some nice holes, good signage, clean well kept park.

Cons:

Lots of land and potential holes lay between holes. Could be 9 more holes put in between the holes. Witch also means long walks between holes

Other Thoughts:

Make sure you make note of witch way the next hole is on the T-signs
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Chainrattler
Experience: 13.8 years 129 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

R-E-S-P-E-C-T 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

I respectfully disagree with the previous reviewers about the design. The whole time I played this course I kept thinking it was designed perfectly. Yes, the tee shots are open on 16 of 18 holes, but the second shots need skill and precision. The pin placements are genius. I've played alot of courses in this part of Ohio, and this one is by far the nicest asthetically. The mature evergreens on 5 and 13 are classic. Trash cans were available. The grass and landscape was nice. The signage was spot on. The parking was easily accessible. There are even signs along a couple roadways telling people to watch for disc golfers and flying discs. RESPECT baby!!!

Cons:

The lake could've been designed for more risk.

Other Thoughts:

I cant wait to play this one again. If you are in the area on I75 you should stop and play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
tsqrd
Experience: 13 years 32 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great for Beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Wide open tee shots with very little trouble. Great for a beginner trying to find that perfect driver.

Nice cement tees and hole markers are accurate and detailed.

Almost all baskets are guarded by trees. Can be a pro or a con, depending on your perspective.

Cons:

A few missed opportunities with hole design. Plenty of mature trees and obstacles that were NOT included in the course design.

Distance from the 18th basket back to the parking lot was a bit much. Might consider playing the holes starting at 6 and ending with 5 (One of the primary signature holes in my opinion). This will end you right at the parking lot.

Other Thoughts:

If you are a beginner to the sport, this course allows a lot of forgiveness in shot selection. There are only a couple holes where potential loss of disc is a factor.

Your approach game is important here for low scores. If you cannot get close to the pin on your second shot, you may be in trouble reaching par.

If you need a course to test out new discs, and you live close to Piqua, this could be a great place to grip it and rip it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Foofoohead
Experience: 21 played 21 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cement tees in very good shape.
Good hole plaques at each hole.
Very nice course map at hole one.
Practice basket at hole one.
Good mix of holes, some good signature holes.

Cons:

Wide open off the tees. (not all bad)


Other Thoughts:

Very nice course. I liked the idea of the course being wide open off the tees but the baskets were surrounded by trees. Second shots very important here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
esdubya
Experience: 29 years 106 played 23 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Disappointed 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 23, 2011 Played the course:once

Other Thoughts:

Armed with a recently purchased Buzzz and Force from MC Sports (I didn't bring my discs on my work trip) and fresh from a meeting I was really stoked to get a round in at a new course. My pre-round anticipation was high. This seemed to be the highest rated in the area.

The land here is nice for a course but there were so many missed opportunities out here that I left very disappointed with my experience.

First, the drives are almost all wide open and there tends to be holes where 95% is open then it's closed in around the putting green area. There are WAY too many holes like this and I'm really not a fan. I prefer more obstacles on the drive not just around the basket.

Second, the walks between the holes, wow.. Many of the walks from basket to tee are longer than the holes out there. It would be one thing if the long walk was to get through a bottleneck in the land or to setup a really cool hole, but many of the walks are just from lame hole to lame hole in a wide open area. WHY?

Third was most frustrating. There are many cool berms and OB areas around here that would make really cool putting greens. None of these are utilized in the design. Anytime you can put a basket on a side slope: do it!

OK, so there are two 'decent' holes and those are #4 (through the small tree stand) and that one with the lake on your left.

This course is a poor man's version of Lawrence Tech University. Not recommended. I would only play here if you are stuck in the area.

It's too bad the designer didn't steal some good ideas from other courses (like the college's namesake T. Edison did to other inventors). There is a 3.5 star course here with some major redesign.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
hooked312
Experience: 16.1 years 34 played 17 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Interesting Round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 1, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-A good variety of holes. Not one hole really reminded me of the others.
- Good mix of shorter holes and longer holes.
- Very nice cement tee pads. (also see cons)
- A nice map and practice basket by the first tee
- With the signs it was fairly easy to navigate for a first timer.

Cons:

- Not a natural location for a course. It seemed kind of forced into the area.
- Some of the tee pads were short for the length of their holes.
- Long walks between about a handful of holes.

Other Thoughts:

All in all this course was just decent. Nothing extremely beautiful about it and as I said before it seemed kind of forced into the location.
It did offer a few unique challenges and each hole was different which I was impressed with.
I wouldn't recommend anyone to go out of their way to play it, but if you are in Piqua you should try it out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
BoB3k
Experience: 13.9 years 3 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not bad 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 18, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Open, quiet.
Pretty good mix of shots, considering the land they had available.
Nice signs and cement tees.

Cons:

Some hole designs feel forced, having to use what they had.
The walk between holes is often long, in a few cases, longer than the holes themselves.

Other Thoughts:

This isn't a bad course. It's pretty open, which is nice, but it would be HOT in the summer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
uppervalleyflyers
Experience: 21 years 17 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A pleasant surprise 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 27, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A very diverse course. Long open hots and short technical shots. The course utilizes its surroundings well. Tee-signs and a new kiosk with a full map are now in place.

Cons:

If you don't have a map, your first time navigating the course could be a bit tricky.

Other Thoughts:

A great course with a variety of shots. The college setting and view of Alexander Stadium at neighboring Piqua High School in the background provides for a nice round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
shots17
Experience: 14.9 years 13 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Long Walks 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has diverse shots set up. Lots of open fields, tunnels, hills, turns, few rivers and pond. Also good variety of short and longer shots. I like that it's a solid 18 with no repetitive holes. Never very busy there but I usually play later in the evening. They used what was available around the college for the course.

Cons:

Distance between holes is very long and if it's your first time playing there it is hard to navigate the course. After 18 you've walked like 3 miles. Not necessarily a bad thing tho.

Other Thoughts:

Got my 1st ACE on 5.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Corkscrew
Experience: 40.1 years 11 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 27, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

After several days of rain the course was dry, no mud to be found. Course was clean, No trash. Cement T pads were good, benches were nice.

Cons:

Hole Signs would be a nice addition. I was easy to find the launch pads it sometimes hard to figure which basket you were going after.

Other Thoughts:

Course was in nice shape. It turned out to be a little harder that it appears. The wind was a major factor at this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
whitespider
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Brand New Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A nicely mixed bag of mix of long open holes, a few tightly wooded shots, water hazards, some cool elevation changes, and it comes in at just under 5500 feet. Five alternate pin placements, cement tee-pads, tee signs are still pending, but are on order, benches, practice basket, and Discraft Chainstar baskets

Cons:

Until the tee signs get installed, it may be difficult to find all the holes. Also, if the bean field eats your disc on hole 8 or 9, you're in for a world of hurt.

Other Thoughts:

Separate disc golf parking on the campus, easy to find, surprizingly harder than it first appears,
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Moser
Experience: 15.8 years 2 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Mix 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There is a good mix of open holes and sheltered holes.
Most of the holes I find are good to play as a par three.
It is a good place to practice.

Cons:

It is confusing. The first time I played here I actually missed several holes because I couldn't find the launch pad. Some of the launchpads are rather hidden and it is not easy to tell where exactly you should go unless you are with or following someone who knows. If they add some signs that would help tremendously.

Other Thoughts:

It contains a nice mix of terrain. If you get it in the bean field however you may have some trouble retrieving it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top