Escondido, CA

Escondido Rotary DGC

3.615(based on 48 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Escondido Rotary DGC reviews

Filter
1 2
tdkrizenshine
Experience: 10.9 years 34 played 12 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 31, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great for beginners. Decent variety of shots with some minor elevation and technical spots. You get to rip 'em on the first few and last couple holes.

Cons:

Signage is weak! A very crowded Park- we had a few near misses of children and picnickers who were oblivious to the course!

Other Thoughts:

This was a fun course with a variety of holes and shots. It plays through a fairly crowded public park so be very aware your throws. The first 4 holes are grip and rips in a open dirt fields but after that you head into the trees and the feel changes. Definitely a good alternative to my home course (Morley field) if I need a change- ie: not waiting at EVERY tee box or being hounded.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
jtrod
Experience: 21 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 4, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good course with several different types of holes.
- Long open
- Long with obstacles
- Short open
- Short with obstacales
Good signage and teepads

Cons:

Large groups 8+ that play slow
Picnickers and joggers

Other Thoughts:

Pro shop in the park
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Sroberts
Experience: 11.1 years 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 24, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Free
-Tests all skills
-Good lengths of holes
-Awesome pro shop
-Good Course layout
-Nice practice area

Cons:

-If you somehow get a disc in the woods good luck finding it
-confusing finding a few holes
-have to be careful of park go-ers

Other Thoughts:

Over all a great course and will go back for sure guy at the proshop was really knowledgable and helpful about course Q's. def a must go. 4/5
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
hyper_hippo18
Experience: 11.5 years 6 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Must play! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 24, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-tests lots of throws
-great scenery
-awesome pro shop

Cons:

-pins a little difficult to see, maybe a flag or something
-lay out changes, a little weird to find some holes
-water
-pretty wooded

Other Thoughts:

even though there were more cons than pros, the course was awesome. clean, easy to walk. On an overcast weekday, there was no park goers, and just had a great time. Mind the trees and the day will turn out well. Really tests your discs and throws
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
ChubbieRooster
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Nice Diversity! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 17, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice mix of hole variety. Short, Long, Obstacles.
Played twice and both rounds went by pretty quickly even with larger groups out in front.

Cons:

You do have to share this course with other park goers. You do have to keep people informed that you are going to be throwing, but will move without any problem.

Other Thoughts:

This course actually had a great pro shop. I usually just see Innova if a course does sell discs but this one kept up with just about everything and wasn't let down with my purchases!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
Lackychams
Experience: 11.3 years 3 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great first time 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 29, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

this is a great course for just starting out on, i had no real troubles with playing, the creeks were low, so when i did dump my discs in the creeks they were easily to grab.
-most of the holes are short and are easily noticeable.
- the pro shop is great stocked with new discs and used ones, very informative and helpful.
-great practice baskets with enough area to try different distances.

Cons:

- goes through a park and some times people walk around in the field.
- 30% of the holes dont have signs to show what hole you are at
- a few of the hole tees where hard to find or hard to access.

Other Thoughts:

i recommend to try this course if your in the area, check out the pro shop for anything needed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
tu-f-o
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Kit Carson Review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 15, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I love this course. Overall my favorite in San Diego so far. But I've only played Morley Field, Montiel, Cal State San Marcos, Brengle Terrace. A good mix of open shots, narrow wooded, maybe just 1 hole that is a true par 4 (strength or weakness?), pretty challenging to get a good low score consistently, many holes have options to go either backhand or forehand, nice park in general.

Cons:

Not very many hills at all. 1 downhill shot. The park sometimes has normal crowds like families and kids, but usually they don't get in the way too much. Not as technical as Morley Field, not as big or challenging as Brengle Terrace.

Other Thoughts:

It's a good size course, not too big not too small. Just finishing 18 holes is a nice walk. You won't be beat, but you'll get a decent walk. Nice combo of dirt areas and grass areas. And FREE to play. Nice staff at the pro shop. Best pro shop I've seen so far. Good deals.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
Spmurphy23
Experience: 13 years 7 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

My Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 6, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is free and easy to access. There are long holes and there are some short more technical holes. It is an intermediate course in my opinion. Not technical but not easy. The pro shop is AWESOME too!!!

Cons:

Sundays are hard because of all the park goers. It is also bloody hot in the summer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
nuttinbutchain
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12 years 44 played 23 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Kit Carson 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 17, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- great 2 basket practice putting area
- awesome pro shop with super friendly workers...scorecards, discs (new, used, lost and found), drinks, and maps available
- relatively flat course, but a couple of minor elevation holes, mandatories, OB's, and the trees keep it interesting
- i think the course is evenly balanced in terms of people who throw RHFH or RHBH. I throw both and do use both throws on this course.
- some holes have different basket positions that change every week or two (1,2,3,4,6,11,14,17...there may be more that i missed, but that's most of them)
- easy to navigate for the most part
- decent length on most holes with an ace run on hole 6
- oh yeah the best part about this course is little to no waiting (unlike Morley Field)
-updating their signs and adding bag hangers on every hole
-for the holes with multiple positions, they now mark which position the basket is in

Cons:

- plays through the park, bad to play on the weekends because you may run into park goers, especially holes 6 and 7. May also run into park goers on holes 8, 14, and sometimes 18. most park goers don't know what disc golf is. some even picnic in the middle of the fairways! however if you ask them to move nicely, they will oblige.
- On hole 3, you are literally next to a major road on your right. This can be dangerous lol. I've accidentally thrown my disc onto the road one time before and thankfully it wasn't run over nor did I cause any major distraction to the drivers. On hole 5 you are next to a road in the park as well, but this is not as treacherous.
- some moderate trash, i always try to pick up a few pieces every time i play.

Other Thoughts:

Its free, its not crowded, and the holes are decently challenging. Also, its very easy to get through a round of 18 holes here as opposed to other courses such as Morley and Brengle. The only real downside to this course is that it overlaps with other park goers, so keep your eyes open before you throw. NOTE: be careful on holes 4,5, and 16. On hole 4 its very easy to lose your disc in the "habitat area" because this hole doglegs to the right. On hole 5 be careful to not throw into the "habitat area" on your right...very hard to find a disc thrown in that jungle. And on hole 16, you could potentially lose your disc in the dry shrubs to the right. If you play with others, you may want to have someone spotting each other's throws. Overall a great course that is free.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Rugball
Experience: 13 years 10 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice park setting 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice tree-lined park setting. Never overly crowded, even on weekends for DG. They added bag hangers on several holes so you don't have to drop your gear in the dirt. Generally clean course, with grassy fairways except for the first 4 holes. Decent mix of longer holes, with some shorter technical holes with trees. The hole locations are rotated on occasion, but it's not always apparent which spot they're using.

Cons:

Can sometimes be a hassle when park-goers aren't aware of DG. The park ranger asked one group to move over the last time I played as they were not even 10 yds from one basket, and their kid was swinging from it. A lot of kids will play in the creek running through the course as well, often too close to baskets . No elevation changes to speak of. If you pay attention to the tee signs, there's more OB than you think. At times your corridor is extremely narrow even if you think you've made a good shot into the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

Rubber tees on majority of holes. Usually adequate, but could use longer ones on some holes where you take a bigger run-up. There's a nicely stocked DG/skate shop across the parking lot from the course. I like that every time I've gone to this course, I can hit a few practice putts on the way to the 1st tee, and just take off. I've never had to wait more than a few minutes, even on weekends. I'm usually able to get in 2 rounds without too much trouble.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
rmcguire86
Experience: 15.7 years 17 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-LOVE this course. It's my home course, so I may be a bit biased but its great, great, great.

-FREE!

-One of those "good for all levels" courses. Beginners will find it accessible, but there enough challenging shots for more experienced players.

-Hole 13. 300ish feet long, downhill throw, so much fun. Always end up throwing three or four discs when it wont hold anyone up.

-Beautiful San Diego weather, so its awesome.

-Park is very nicely maintained.

-Much, much less crowded than Morley.

- Great pro shop on the premises! SDSF FTW!

Cons:

-Squirrel holes EVERYWHERE. Be careful while walking, esp on holes 1-4.

-Some of the holes are a little too short. Birdie Alley (holes 5-9) is fun for a while, but once you figure out the lines it becomes a little routine.

-Pin locations are changed infrequently.

-Multi use park, that can get a little crowded on the weekends. Most people are courteous, but sometimes there will be kids running around on the course and they do not listen. Its taken me as long as five minutes to get their attention before. Kind of surprised that no one has gotten hurt yet.

-Rubber tee pads in shady spots can be slippery.

-

Other Thoughts:

This course has gotten much, much better in the last year or so. They've altered 14 so that you don't have to back track as much. They've added a hole (16) so it is now a full 18 hole course. Tee pads on every hole now, which is a huge improvement. My favorite course in San Diego County. Morley is fun, but it gets so crowded. Kit Carson is a fast play, even on weekends. Can't recommend it enough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Um...
Experience: 15.9 years 44 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Hometown Love! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 19, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Fun and technical course. Plenty of long holes to open it up on, along with some shorter technical shots that will really challenge you to consider your approach to the basket.
- Multiple holes with optional pin locations (although they don't change very frequently)
- Set in a beautiful park. First few holes (1-4) are in more of an open and somewhat dusty meadow, but then the course moves onto cut grass with a meandering stream that winds through the park and is in play for several holes.
- Pro shop has an awesome selection of discs, although pretty pricey, especially when you add CA sales tax. >:-(
- Well maintained and clean. Very friendly crowds and respectful players.
- 2 practice baskets at the start of the course.

Cons:

- Certain shaded tee pads throughout the park can be slippery and unsafe at certain times. Would really love to see concrete pads installed here.
- Some holes play past walking paths and through common areas. Generally if you're kind to the parkgoers and ask them to move, they will.
- OB can be rough here, especially on holes 3 and 4. Hole 3 you're right up against a very busy street where the hole requires you to air it out. Hole 4 is another long hole that has a protected marshland to the right and is very dense. Say goodbye to discs thrown here.
- Can be difficult to navigate.

Other Thoughts:

This is my home course and I couldn't be more happy that they've managed to install a GREAT course in this park. The park itself is awesome and the course doesn't disappoint. Great place to spend the day too, so if you're inclined, bring a picnic and plan on playing for the day! This park has been around A LOT longer than the dg course so please keep the course and the park clean and be respectful of the other parkgoers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Miamisms
Experience: 13 years 92 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Ohio plays CA 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Clean course
Pro Shop
-also if you find a disc and call the person you can leave the disc at the pro shop and the shop,will give you a dollar for the return. The owner will then just have to go to the pro shop to pick it up. GREAT IDEA!
Good variety
Wooded but not to much
Fine distances
Pads and baskets in good condition

Cons:

A little hard to navigate if you don't know course
Idk if I screwed up but I think I played 16 before 15 thought followed the logical course layout
Some park goers were clueless at what was going on and hung around a baskets was shooting at for 5 mins

Other Thoughts:

Compared to OH courses it was a good combination of all my favorite holes. Wasn't very sunny but still very nice weather. Other players were very nice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
dheathx
Experience: 13.1 years 22 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

all about lines 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 25, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

High variety
Elevation changes
Technical shots required
No wait times
Manicured park
Water hazards!

Cons:

Insects are slightly annoying down by the creek.
Some tee pads can be a bit uneven, but not too crazy.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a lot of fun and is very challenging! Probably the toughest course in san Diego. The course requires you to figure out your lines before throwing the shot. Hyzer, anny, flat, all shots are needed and utilized. Figure out your lines and you will have a pretty solid day of DG.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 7
jimmyslicks
Experience: 13.3 years 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

great coarse 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 4, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a great technical coarse , really makes you think of what discs to use. It has long holes , short holes but always an obstical to try to over come.

Cons:

The bugs are the only down fall to this wonderful coarse
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 7
Magnum
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Kit Carson keeps on impressing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 3, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Wide variety, of holes, terrain, and it almost feels like climate as well
- The more course in so cal I play the more I like what they have done it Kit Carso

Cons:

- Park traffic
- Tees

Other Thoughts:

- Great course.. wish more cities would take on this oppurtunity
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
DocHaole
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.7 years 79 played 48 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- The course winds through a nice multiuse park. Very dusty at first but it then winds through some well kept grassy areas.

- Good use of obstacles throughout the park, including the giant snake statue.

- A good mix of distances, including a handful of long bombs. But not too many that you can't take beigginners along.

- Water and OB winding throughout to give an extra challenge. But usually you can retreive your disk from the water without much trouble.

- No crowds!! SD county really needed another quality 18 holer.

Cons:

- Other park users can get in the way. I have not played on the weekend but I can imagine that it could get very crowded with other park users.

- The first few dusty holes can get really hot with OB where you can not retreive lost discs.

- Navigation was a bit tricky, not a big deal but it definitely helps to print out the map.

Other Thoughts:

Hats off to the guys in Escondido for building a much needed quality course. Out of the 4 in the Escondido/ San Marcos area this is my favorite. Definitely worth the trip if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
hatchet
Experience: 19.9 years 115 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

spring break 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-wonderful course
-many grass holes
-some dirt
- long holes, short holes

Cons:

-bit hard to navigate
-signs are old
-way to many peds right in the middle of half of the holes, they get in the way and make you wait.
- have to cross a creak with no bridge to get to a tee pad, just to come straight back across

Other Thoughts:

I still enjoyed this course thoroughly
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
ninja-don
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.6 years 29 played 25 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Just get past the first 3 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Baskets are in great shape and easy to see.
Tee pads are good, maybe a little small if you have a huge run up, but plenty big enough for the 3 step throw.
The park is amazingly beautiful and was awesome to play in.
There is a disc shop that is on site and has a great selection of disc and gear. You can also get a map and scorecard here... Take the map if it is your first time!
Lots of different shots to choose from.
Challenging but not impossible course.
Wasn't very crowded (weekday later in the afternoon).
There is a small creek that runs through the course which adds a little intimidation. Don't worry, I don't remember anywhere when I was there that you wouldn't be able to get your disc out of it... you may have to get a tiny bit wet in some areas. If the water rises in other months it could be a real issue.
Two practice holes in the open away from everything else.

Cons:

Holes 1-3 or 4 were in dense overgrowth and could be hard to find your disc.
There was a section of protected marshland or something to the right of hole 2 that you are NOT allowed to go retrieve you disc from.
If there are people here and I suspect that this park gets used a lot, you will have some many areas where you will have to wait to throw "Safely" or skip that hole all together.
Snakes - be sure to stomp through the brush and weeds areas.
There are a few signs that are marked wrong or in the wrong places after being moved. The staff in the disc shop should be able to give you specific details on this. I lost my notes, so I can't remember exactly which ones, but it was near 14 or 15.

Other Thoughts:

18 is a wide open bomb shot... a good ending to a rather technical course.
Just up the hill from 18 tee (can be seen on hole 17 too) is a sculpture garden that is absolutely amazing. If I ever make it back down that way I will bring a camera. It's all tile and polished rocks, and glass mosaic covered walls and statues. DO NOT pass up seeing this if you play here.
This is worth the trip to play, just try and avoid the weekends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.1 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a large multi-use park. There are some minor elevation changes that are used fairly well to make the course more interesting. The creek running through the middle section of the course is used on several holes, even when dry it can be a hazard to have to shoot up out of the creek bed and adds some risk if you play it as ob. There is a mix of open dusty areas and grassy park areas with more trees to avoid.

The course has some longer holes that add some challenge and a chance to open up and throw some longer drives, as well as some shorter ace run holes for variety. The course felt pretty balanced between left and right turning holes, with a nice mix of hole shapes to make you throw different shots. There are nice hole signs with hole layout and distance. The alternate pin placements on several holes looked like they would change up some of the holes quite a bit for some more variety. There is plenty of signage to help navigate the course, and I had no issue finding my way around the first time out despite some longer walks.

Cons:

The tees are awful here. Most are rutted out areas in the dirt, and make for pretty bad footing on drives. A couple use rubber or concrete, but often don't have enough room for a real run up without risking your ankles. A few of the signs are awkwardly placed at the front corners of tees.

The holes in the open areas don't offer very much interest or challenge, and are very dusty and hot on a warm summer day. There are some safety concerns, with lots of holes that play through picnic areas and could be unplayable on a nice weekend afternoon. There are several walking paths that come into play, we had to wait on a few pedestrians even in the middle of the week. The alternate pin placements are nice, but there is no marking to tell you what placement is in use.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great alternative to the crowds at Morley, hopefully the sport continues to grow in San Diego and more courses can go in. There are some nice holes here, and it offers some good challenges even for more experienced players. Newer players will find it tough but not too terribly punishing, so it's approachable for beginners. If you're in the north county area, this is the best option, and when you don't feel like waiting on every hole downtown this is a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top