• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Joliet, IL

Highland Park

4.025(based on 63 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Highland Park reviews

Filter
11 1
ArcheType
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.2 years 38 played 25 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great for a Challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 28, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course, first and foremost, provides a very challenging round of disc golf. It offers a great variety of long straight, or sloping holes, and shorter, more precise ones. The elevation in the area is taken full advantage of, several holes having you throw from one hill either down into a valley, or across a gap to the top of a second hill. One hole even has you tee off and throw up a hill towards the basket. The addition of red, white, and blue tees this course a lot of fun for players off all skill levels. I played mostly blue and some white tees while I was there, because I was playing with some higher caliber players. Even though I was playing from some tees I'm not at the level of making in par just yet, I still had a wonderful time of it. I recommend everyone to give the blue tees a try at least once. Most of the concrete tee pads are in now, which is a major bonus. The course is also excellently marked. The signs by the tees are computer made, highly detailed maps to the basket. This is a major upgrade from any other course I've played in the area. Several places also have wooden posts with the next hole number and arrows pointing to it, a few with separate white and blue arrows if different routes reach different tees faster, which made this trip so much more enjoyable for me.

Cons:

The course is relatively new, and some of the holes are pretty tight with foliage. I'm sure this will be remedied with time and more player traffic, but right now its a turn off to some. Like other reviews have stated, a few more garbage cans would be a good addition. The road to the parking lot is also in pretty rough condition, but that has more to do with the city of Joliet than its park district.

Other Thoughts:

This course provides probably the most diverse holes of any in the area. It also isn't too heavily crowded yet, due to the prominence of West Park as Joliet's premier disc golf course, which is all the more reason to go give it a play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
Countchunkula
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18 years 215 played 72 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best/Most Challenging Course in Chicagoland 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 18, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Highland Park is a challenge. It has plenty of par 4 type holes and the par 3s aren't gimmies either. About half of the course plays through dense woods with ravines. The rest is split between holes playing under a mature tree canopy and a few mostly open field holes. The mostly open holes are still challenging with baskets tucked back into the woods, usually with small openings to line up with to get a look at the basket.
There are some truly great holes in the woods. They have left to right, right to left and straight ahead combined with elevation gain or loss, framed by lots of trees. Sometimes you are throwing down into a ravine, sometimes across one and sometimes up and out. Two of the holes where you throw from one side of the ravine to the other have an unused, OB road at the bottom. If you don't get your disc to stick on the other side, it can roll all the way to the bottom and end up OB. Most of the wooded holes are tough to duce, but there is a nice downhill ace run in the woods to make up for the beat down you will be receiving.
This course has three sets of tees (red, white and blue)to play from that sometimes change up the course a lot. The tees are crushed gravel, although concrete is in the works. I usually play from the whites (middle tees), which are quite a challenge for a rec level player. The reds shorten the course a bit, but are still very challenging and fun to play. The blues are considerably longer, and in some cases totally change the hole. For example on one hole the red and white tees shoot from one side of the ravine to the other. The blues start at the bottom of the ravine, around a turn from the white/reds. This turns a really tough par 3 into a par 4 where your second shot (if you make it that far and don't go OB on the road) is up a steep hill out of the ravine to the green.
The designers and the locals have built tons of steps just to make this course playable.
The signs are nice and descriptive and so far tag free. The difficulty of this course tends to keep the chuckers and TDD's away.
The designer built the course as two nine hole loops, allowing you to start at 1 or 10. This also gives you the opportunity to fill up on drinks at the car between the front and back 9.

Cons:

The baskets at this course are really old and have been heavily used and then regalvinized. I believe that they are the original baskets from West Park, Illinois' oldest course. They don't always catch as well as modern baskets, but aren't terrible.
Two of the wooded holes in particular are a little too random for my tastes. There is so little room for error that the difference between a 2 and a 4 or even 5 is inches. On the other hand this course is still young and will open up with time and play.
The gravel tees are not perfect, but will be upgraded to concrete hopefully this summer.
The park that this course is in used to be a dumping ground for years. Those who played the course when it was first put in saw rusting appliances and car parts everywhere. This has been cleaned up dramatically. Every time that I play Highland it looks better and better.

Other Thoughts:

This is a young course and overtime it will improve and its issues will be dealt with. What you will find now is still a top notch course, just a little rough around the edges. The Joiet area is the best concentration of good courses in northeastern Illinois. Highland Park is the premiere course in the area, but you would not be disappointed with West Park, the Oaks (Mokena) or Community Park (Channahon). Honorable mention goes to Trinity Links (Lockport) and Shorewood Park (Shorewood). If traveling on Rte. 171 (Archer ave.) to the Joliet area check out Little John's in Lockport, great hole-in-the-wall Italian beef and hot dog stand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
tallpaul
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 36.1 years 934 played 137 reviews
4.00 star(s)

top five in Illinois 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

I played this one, same day, and on a trip with Texconsonite; and his review also describes many of my thoughts. So, read his review, and give me a thumbs up just for that, as I showed him the turf....ha ha
I'll give a bit of a different run down....Tex joined us for two days of a 4 day journey; my other traveling partner and I played a total of 17 courses in four days. Highland came in at my #3 best/ and possibly my favorite, of those 17! The only two to beat in, in my scoring, was Lemon Silver/Gold and Anna Page West. Some may disagree with Anna West being better than Highland; but those are the three for comparison....as far as how I rate this one.
Three sets of tees (a few holes condense multiple tees into one spot). We enjoyed shots so much, that we played from both mid and short tees. This was the only course of our trip that two rounds were played on....as Tex noted; we enjoyed every hole; and wanted to throw again. We did not play long tees; however, we only played Silver at Lemon and Anna West has since added longer pins; and so I believe the comparison will still hold true in relation to those two courses.
I managed to avoid most of the biggest trouble here and still ended up over from both sets of tees. This course is very enjoyable; but, not for the faint of heart. All aspects of your game will be challenged, and you can expect to shoot a number of holes more than 3 times....regardless of what tee you choose. Looking at long tees; and reading reviews posted; lets you know that on some of these holes; another shot is added; just to get to landing zone.
I found the hole with the stone benches (hole #13) to be quite unique. One of the more outstanding sculptural features of this kind, that I have ever seen.
The trash/dump situation here was also quite unique. From reviews, you can tell that the junk is being cleaned up rather quickly....but, I'm glad we came when a fair amount of it was still present. Combined with the abandoned road; with also throws in nice o.b., it gave me the impression kind of like the show, "after man is gone." Had the feeling that you were playing this awesome disc course in an area that had been forsaken at some point in the past....and now, was being restored for the enjoyment of man....and discers in particular.
Signs are good.
Tees in pretty good shape.
Many baskets perched precariously near huge fall aways.
In general, short walks between tees (though again, we did not play longs).

Cons:

Baskets a little weak (read homemade).
Tees a little weak (read natural). We couldn't find one red tee.
No trash cans.
Erosion may become an issue at some point. However, I give these guys great credit for placing baskets in these spots for the present; and dealing with that, when the time comes.

Other Thoughts:

This course is awesome. Joilet has been at the forefront of Illinois disc for a long time. This is their latest and greatest design; and will be getting even better; as they finish the trash clean up and perhaps upgrade baskets and tees. Course was suggested to us, and recommended highly by one of the Lemon Lake designers. When a World's designer suggests you play; usually a good bet; it's a good one. He was most correct.
This course beat out Lemon Lake Red (which I've played numerous times; and love), Lemon Blue and White, The Oaks, Anna East (which I've played many times and love).
Only Foundation in Centrailia, Anna West (just barely), and Camden 2, are better, in my book, than Highland; in the entire state; and I've played all of the Illinois top ten, as rated by state coordinator (except new Springfield).
Will be coming back next year to play long tees; and probably multiple rounds as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.1 years 351 played 178 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Challenging with Wide Variety 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 16, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

See other thoughts for link to image gallery.

This course has a ton of character and variety. There are several long open par 4's as well as tight wooded par 4's to go along with some very challenging par 3 holes. There is a good mix of tight wooded and open holes.

Tee signs are very nice and descriptive.

This is Chicagoland's toughest course with an SSA of 55.29 from the blue tees and 52.31 from the white tees. To shoot around 54 you have to play some great golf.
http://www.pdga.com/course-ra...?TournID=9611

There is some nice elevation througout the course. There are some very challenging fast greens and ravine shots. They put in a ton of hours building multiple staircases going up and down the side of several hills.

The walk from hole 9 to 10 takes you right by the parking lot.

Cons:

Tee pads are limestone/gravel.

Baskets are old Mach 1's that have been regalvanized.

Other Thoughts:

This course is an Advanced/Pro level course. Novice and Recreational players keep that in mind.

Image gallery.
http://discontinuum.org/index...itemId=245906

If you are driving down I80 south of Chicago this is a must play. It's only a few minutes off the Interstate.

With the installation of cement tee pads and updated baskets i'd give this course a 4.5 rating.

The local guys have done a great job cleaning up the garbage that was dumped at this course over the years prior to it being a disc golf course.

Check out my Illinois Top 10 list.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
skinner21
Experience: 23.1 years 22 played 15 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Insanity 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 29, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Wow, what a course. Very well designed and built. The holes here are consistently going to make you smile and remind you of why we all love this sport. I played from the white tees and the risk/reward at this course is like nothing else in the northern Illinois area. The course designers took every advantage they could of 2 different large "valleys". One is from a creek and the other from an old unused road. This course has alot of character. There are easily over 6 signature holes and not one hole is repetitive. Great elevation changes, lefty/righty mixes, good length. I had a blast here.

This course is TOUGH. I put this in the pros because it is one of the few course in the area that forces you to get better and think about your flight lines. If you don't it's going to be a long day. I know this course made me better because I played the nearby West Park after 2 rounds here and shot my best ever score there, as did one of the others that I was playing with.

The signs here were awesome too. great illistrations that did a fantastic job explaning where the pin was. Combine that with the signs that point to the next hole and navigation here is a breeze, even for 4 guys that had never played here before.

Cons:

As great as this course is, there is still some room for improvement. First of all, the trash is a bit much. The weird thing that this is not the fault of discers. The trash that is lying around is the result of years of littering and disrespect. You can tell that the litter there has been there for a LONG time. But with the awesome DG club in the area, I am sure this is only going to be a temporary problem and will be mended in due time. I actually have heard that the trash and misuse of the area before it was a DG course was one of the factors as to building one there, as the area will improve because of the course and those maintaining it.

The other issue is the tees. Natural tees are an issue for me, especially since it had been raining all week. They weren't terrible and were built level with some care, but some nice tees would really complete this course.

Other Thoughts:

This is a must play for those coming to the area to play. There are a ton of course in the area, and this one is by far the best and most challenging. I loved it. You will see the time and effort of the build/designers of Highland the first time through. These guys/gals knew what the hell they were doing when they set out to make this thing. From the much needed stairs (even with them I was pooped at the end of 2 rounds) to the pathways and posts, this course was great. And to top it off, the 9th ended right at the parking lot, which is something that I had never seen of thought I cared about until I found myself refilling drinks, and shedding unneeded supplies that I was tired of carrying. All in all, a great setup, a great course, and a great day of discing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 8
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 394 played 276 reviews
3.50 star(s)

B+ = Interesting and addicting 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

I am rating this course from the long tees. Thankfully I met up with Dana Vicich who helped me find them since several are hard to find! This is a new course and still a little rough around the edges - I have knocked around half a disc off for that (half a letter grade).

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A- (Very well designed for the most part. A few holes play a lot more fun from the mid tees, but the longs on those present worthy risk/reward choices. A few holes offer rather funky flight paths which insert luck into scoring and knock down the fun-factor too.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+ (For my length a few of the long tees were a little much and made them tweener/boring holes. Longer throwers would be more anamoured than me I imagine.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+ (Great variety and use of terrain! I marked things down a little since a few holes do not offer reasonable flight paths - as mentioned earlier. These sort of things can be fixed and I imagine the design/implementation is not quite finished yet. Hey, it is easier to take trees down than put them up!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+ (Seclusion is superb! This site has been used as a dumping ground and could use cleaning up. I marked this down to for this aspect of "rough around the edges").

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C+ (Hole 4 is a supurb par 4 with a challenging landing zone leading to a touchy upshot. The other 2-3 par 4's are less inspiring to me. It is great to see a new course that has gotten away from the par-3 paradigm!)

Overall, I love this course! It definitely has the potential in my mind to be a 4.5 disc course with some tweaking and clean up. I am sure I will upgrade my rating to that if/when the locals finish things up. They have done an enourmous amount of work so far.....and it shows! Thanks for a great new course!

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
WindyCityROCer
Experience: 19.2 years 27 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A child learning how to walk 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is situated in a very nice park, with land that is GREAT for DG. Off the bat, this is a mostly wooded course, with enough length to challenge. Risk vs. Reward is a huge factor on this course.... LOTS of holes have multiple lines, despite having a single fairway/route/tunnel. At least 3 holes (5,14,17) have pins located within 10 ft of a severe slope, forcing you to reconsider that birdie run.
Course starts in woods with a tough schule lined 275' dogleg left. The next few holes are open drives into wooded "choke points" requiring finesse tee shots.... beware of #5's basket ... 5 feet later is a steep drop off you really don't want to walk down, let alone putt from...Number 6 is the first signature hole of the course, across a ravine/road... you need a straight tee shot to clear the guardian trees and then a quick bail-out left. Holes 7-9 play though parkland with huge trees (ie) canopies.. people call this the boring part of the course, as it's 3 straight holes in a row, but there's enough length and room that you finally get to air it out.. 9 finishes at parking lot, yay! The back nine starts off with 2 more holes through the park area, and then you step back into the woods to #12... Another signature hole, 12 is a shot off the top of a ravine , across a road into the valley below... feels very similar to the original #2 at West Park, accept OB road down the right side. Hole 13 features a blind tee shot quickly uphill, then flattening out to a neat par 3. Hole 14 is located along the top peninsula of a ridge, playing slightly downhill to another pin within 10ft of a hillside... Hole 15 is similar to hole 6, but a little longer and straighter. Play across a pretty ravine/road to a pin at the top, and about 50 ft beyond the top of the other side. Hole 16 is COMPLETELY NEW, when I first played this course, the basket was out, but it played as a rather boring open hole across a field. The new 16 is found by following the mowed path along the treeline to the left. It's a 225ft R>L hole that plays along a road on the center/right, and SEVERE drop and schule to the left/center. The basket is located very near a drop off again, this will put ace runs in check, along with a few trees on the right side of the road that are in the perfect spot to smack down a shot thrown too high... also, watch out for the pipes L of the teebox, they run about the first ~125ft from the tee, and it's about 8 inches off the ground. 17 is a 525ft never ending turn to the left. The basket is once again nestled on top of a peninsula, drops/trees to all sides, watch your upshot. The course finishes with a shot across/up a ravine through a fairway littered with trees.

(after proofreading) I should mention that all ravines (you have to cross to get to basket) have nice wooden steps built into them... All holes have signs that are good indicators of where to go, although tbh I'm not convinced that all distances are accurate.

Cons:

This is a new course that was set into a park notorious for "seedy" people, and sadly garbage dumping. I played here first in March of 09, and it (the complaints of garbage) showed, today the course had been cleaned up significantly! The terrain is rough, WATCH YOUR FOOTING THROUGHOUT, beware of tree stumps, branches, sticks, rocks, and RUTS on the fairways... particularly the "open hole" 7-11. The schule is still heavy in most areas, there is possibility of losing discs, but lines/paths are starting to appear in the hot spots. The natural tee pads, while still in overall great shape, are starting to erode in spots. Speaking of erosion, some major control needs to be planned, the "demonic" pins just feet away from steep hillsides can only last so long... as nice as it is, the 16th basket will slide off into oblivion soon. The parking lot isn't the largest, but I'm assuming you can park on the grass south of the lot... There is no water, or restrooms in the park, and the road into the park is rough. Also, the course is in desperate need of trash cans.

Other Thoughts:

The "new" course in Joliet lives up to expectations... I've referred to it as a "Modern West Park" ... using great wooded, hilly terrain similar to West, but enough length to actually use most of your bag. All skill levels can play this course, although I don't recommend it for beginners. I give this course a solid 4 discs+, but it NEEDS improvement for 4.5. Given another season or two to wear in, and it's one of the best courses in the state, hell, it may be now.... it is a must play if you're along the I-80 corridor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
Evan
Experience: 15.2 years 10 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 3, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

challenging, the park looks nice and it is easy to get from hole to hole. i like how it is half in the forest and half out.

Cons:

some holes have too much trees. in some situations its impossible not to go bark-hunting. the baskets are abnormally small and the discs pop back out funny

Other Thoughts:

this is nice course and i would definitely come when you get a chance
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
4_Of_Spades
Experience: 16.1 years 36 played 28 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Another Great Course in Joliet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 21, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great use of the park. Parking lot is between the front 9 and the back 9.

Holes are both open and moderately to densely wooded.

Great shot variety and elevation use. The shots over the valley/ ravines were really awesome.

Great signs at every hole also tells which direction next hole is in. Tee pads okay.

Great atmosphere in the middle of the park. Feels like you are playing in a old, abandoned ghost town park where the spirits take over your throws after you release them into the air.

Makes you use power, finesse, line shaping, disc selection, shot selection, and decision making to score well. Can have some pretty bad punishing slopes for missed tee shots as well.

Good balance between RHBH and RHFH.

A very fun and challenging round.

Cons:

Baskets are kind of weird and not as deep as most.

Dirt/gravel tee pads are uneven on most holes.

Not many negative things to say.

Other Thoughts:

This course is one of the best in the area and everyone needs to play here if you are remotely close. It is a very well thought out course and provides a great disc golf experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Challenging course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 5, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a hilly forested park with lots of different terrain and foliage. There is a great mix of holes in open fields, through scattered mature trees, and through more dense wooded areas. The course design makes great use of the terrain, playing up and down hills, and over small ravines.

There were very few holes on the course that felt like filler holes. Most offered something unique, from old concrete bench supports making a henge around the basket, to a ravine shot with a road down in the bottom. The design is well thought out, and flows nicely through the park.

There are multiple tees on most holes, with up to three different tees. There are signs on every hole that clearly show the locations of all tees, along with a hole map and distances for each tee box. I only had time to play one set of tees, but they clearly worked to make the different tees have totally different looks at many of the holes. On the few holes where all three tees shared a single box, it was clearly because that was the best location for an interesting shot that would challenge players at different levels.

The course is well-maintained for the most part, especially with regards to things like steps up and down steep inclines where footing could be an issue. Looking at previous reviews, a lot of work has gone into the course, and more work is still in progress, making the course even better.

Cons:

The tees are almost all natural, and a few were rutted and uneven. Some in low lying areas were very difficult to tee off from with ruts and puddles. In a few places, the tee boxes that didn't have the signs were not as well kept, and the tee markers had been overgrown.

The baskets were in ok shape, but were very shallow and prone to bounce-outs. The course could also have used some more trash cans throughout the course, especially in the places that had collected piles of trash.

Other Thoughts:

This course offers a lot of different challenges, and is worth the drive to play. So far, this is one of the better courses I've played in the Chicago area, and with West Park nearby the area makes for a nice day of disc golf.

With the alternate tees, the course is approachable for beginners, but also offers some challenges for more experienced players. There are some places to lose discs in the brush, but other than that and a few blind holes this is a pretty beginner friendly course. The course loops back to the parking lot after the front nine, which is a nice feature.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 10
discin311
Experience: 22.2 years 75 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

best in the midwest 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

this is one of the best course i have played. All baskets were there and tee pads for all the holes but they r gravel which was OK

Cons:

not anything beside the garbage around the park but its not that bad

Other Thoughts:

play this course every hard and great course then hit up west park that is a good day of disc golf
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 9
MDethCKR
Experience: 16.3 years 53 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Additions 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 28, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Best course this far north in IL.

Cons:

Garbage still isn't taken care of completely, although little by little, the park is getting better. No more Ford Explorer front end by 17s teepad!

Other Thoughts:

All teepads (not 16) for white and blue are in. Reds are still natural, and 16 is gravel.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
27 1
Texconsinite
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.4 years 138 played 79 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Stop Whatever you are doing and PLAY THIS COURSE 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 21, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

First off, wow. This course really, really impressed me. Dirt tees are marked by twin colored concrete circles in the ground. Teeposts at middle tee. I really liked the nice tee signs built into the sides of the teeposts, which contain good hole maps, and all tee locations and distances (helps). Three sets of tees, with enough difference to make them play differently from each, even though some holes combine 2 or all 3 tees into one spot. In the instances where the tees are all the same, however, this is fine because its the tee you'd want to shoot from anyways, on some mind-blowing holes.

As an added bonus, every hole on this course has a name, which I have only seen on one other course (Lambs Creek at Pioneer Bar north of Menomonie, WI), and on both courses the holes were all interesting enough to warrant names. The interesting thing here is all the hole monkers have someone's last name in them, such as "Delasso's Delta" or "Slope of Saenz". No recognizable ones, but still, makes me wonder who they were named for and adds further character.

Another nice thing about this course is the flow. Short walks between holes, but enough room that you don't worry about hitting people on another hole off the tee. Also, Holes 1 & 10 start by the parking lot, and holes 9 and 18 end by it, which is a really nice feature that speaks to good course design. (also great for getting more cold drinks from the car mid-round)

This course is not the longest course out there. It is very tough because it forces many very specific and unique technical challenges.

This course throws several things at you that you just don't see anywhere else, and many things that you may see elsewhere, only cranked up a notch. Other times, it just has interesting holes.

This course is seriously like the twelve days of Christmas, for technical challenges

Twelve of these holes would be signature holes on any other course, the kind you tell your friends about later, and that someone who plays this course will still remember in 5 years.

On two holes, you shoot off a wooded hilltop, over a valley with an OB abandoned road at the bottom, to a basket on the opposing hilltop (see photos). In both cases, you are shooting into a tree window on the other hilltop, just to avoid rolling into the valley of death. And in another case, you shoot into a hollow at the bottom of the valley, sandwiches between two roads and a hillside, with woods everywhere.

They also like to not only protect the baskets amidst many trees, but they put several baskets on the edge of the abyss. On at least two holes, less than 2 ft past the pin, the fairway drops off sharply, into nasty ravines, and on several more holes the basket is on the top of an incline, to make rollaways more common. not only that, but this course will have a right curve downhill fairway, ending in a basket at the edge of a dropoff.

I would say this course had gimmicky holes, but there's no gimmick, these holes are just legitimately nuts from start to finish.

On hole 10 the basket nestled between and under two trees, which are hidden by a line of long grass on a raised ridge off to one side of the gravel field of a fairway.

On another hole, you have a 15 ft cliff straight up on the right side of the left-sloping fairway, which drops away on the wooded left side. Cars rush by 20 ft below, on the road you can see glimpses of through the trees. The basket is a left, down-sloping curve off the tee, and the washed out dirt fairway plays very fast. Think about that.

Though this is like the mother of octuplets choosing a favorite child, I'd say the signature hole is hole 13, Carey's Stonehenge. Off the tee, you are basically forced to tomahawk up onto a heavily wooded hillside, with the basket up and directly in front of you. Old concrete bench supports jut from the ground in a 20 ft circle around the basket, which is fairly close to the edge of the dropoff into the abandoned road valley.

This is a new course, and it will only get better. On three holes, there are stands of little trees (in the middle of the fairways, of course) protected by orange plastic ski fences, which create a 3 ft wall that blocks discs. Extra challenging, just as the trees once they're big enough not to need the protection.

The holes on this course are a real testament to great course design. Even the ones that are less insane are well done with multiple opportunities and much intrigue. Shot placement and selection are both key on this one. Every single hole on this course is very good, its just that some get out shined by the weird, unique ones. Even the holes on this course that would not quite be signature holes on other courses would still probably rank among your favorite holes on those courses. Here, you get spoiled rotten.

One thing this course is great at is punishing errors. After two rounds, one from whites one from red tees, I realized i had several double bogeys each round, all from different holes. As short as this course is, you would have to play a mentally tough and extremely focused round to shoot in the low 50's here, from any tee.

With so many insane holes, you really have to check this course out for yourself to believe it. PLAY THIS COURSE if you are anywhere remotely nearby. It is SOOO worth it.

I can't say enough nice things about the holes on this course, but they are jaw-dropping and amazing and you will not forget them.

Cons:

Tees: On some holes, the dirt tees are a little beat up and uneven, though not too bad. On hole 10/Slope of Saenz/Giant gravel field hole, the red short tee is either missing or impossible to find, so we just approximated for our drives.

In several cases, the extreme nature of the holes could become a problem. I forsee the pins with steep dropoffs just past them will erode in the future, and some kind of terraces will need to be installed around them. However, that might make the holes even harder, so either way its a good thing, just that those hillsides will erode after a few yrs.

There is trash all over this course. Its nowhere near as bad as some I've seen, but its not clean by any means. I know the course is isolated, but trash cans seem few on this course, which also doesn't help. The old tires dumped into the bottom of the ravines (next to the "No No dumping, U will be prosecute" sign by hole 1) complete to refuse heap feel.

The homemade? baskets are very nice, and I hope they hold up over time, but the fact remains that playing on them is different than the chainstars and discatchers most are used to.

I really wanted to rate this a 5, because it is that unique, challenging and amazing as a course, but the junkiness stops me. In time, I have faith this will be a 5

Other Thoughts:

Mediocre, basic dirt tees, homemade baskets, trashy park, we even came close to getting into a fight with some locals. All normally ingredients for disaster, and yet this course rises above it all by awesomeness alone. Never before have I played, seen or heard of a course as nuts as this, from a pure technical standpoint, aesthetics aside. Yes, the park is ugly, but this course has character up the wazoo. Legendary. With some better amenities, and a massive campaign to clean up the park, this is a no-brainer 5.5 star course, probably the best I've played, but perhaps cleaning up the park too much would ruin some of this course's urban, mean-streets, forgotten ruins feel. However, trashcans and nice teeboxes (like 16's) would certainly be welcome additions.

Without this DG course, this park is very unflattering. The course transforms it into something special.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 3
Rexdiscus
Experience: 19.1 years 195 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Check out this rocking course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 13, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I love this course. It has variety as other reviewers have noted. It has cool elevation changes, interesting twists, and plenty of stuff growing out of the ground to knock your discs down. No hole is totally open. You want open, try Sunrise Park in Bartlett. That is open. Every hole offers something interesting.

Cons:

It is hard to find any except for footing issues on the hills after some rain.

Other Thoughts:

Quit complaining about garbage and lack of benches. The world is not perfect. Why let a few minor flaws bother you. That stuff in no way interferes with having a great time. I encourage all lovers of disc golf to check this place out when in the area. It blows away my home course--Sgt. Means in Olympia Fields.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
bunk'g
Experience: 15.1 years 34 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Cool Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 15, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Mostly wooded holes, but with variety. Beautiful holes requiring a drives over ravines. Tee signs make it easy to navigate. The course is fun and challenging. One of Joliet's better courses

Cons:

No Bathrooms? - (1st time playing, maybe there are somewhere)
Lack of garbage cans

Other Thoughts:

Help keep the park clean!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
m1ke
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.9 years 46 played 20 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Amazing course w/ fixable flaws 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 10, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Outstanding course design; truly exceptional- one of the best I've ever seen.
-Tons of elevation, well taken advantage of; shots uphill & downhill (to varying degrees, too), shots across deep ravines, etc.
-Good signage, including little stickers on each basket pointing to the next tee.
-Alternate tees.
-Serious challenge and serious fun.
-If you've got limited time, both the front 9 and back 9 start and end at the parking lot, so it'd be easy to play half the course. (Although I can't imagine being able to resist the whole thing!)

Cons:

Baskets seem a bit shallow (I've heard a rumor there are plans to replace them at some unspecified time in the future).
-Some @$$hat had driven donuts all over the fairway for hole 9, and there was still dumped trash in places; hopefully local residents will treat this place better in the future.
-The fairway for 18 was a bog, even though the rest of the course was pretty dry.
-Mosquitos: there were none when I played in May, at the end of July they were plentiful.

Other Thoughts:

I had to persudade myself not to rate this 4.5 even when basket 16 was missing; now that the course is complete I came back to update my review. Could it reach 5? Hmm, maybe- I'd have to play here more times to get a really good feel for the place, and see how much they fix it up. This is the best course I've seen anywhere near Chicago- I live an hour away but definitely want to come back once a month if I can. I came here at the end of a day having just played Channahon and West Park- both great courses- and this place still blew me away. I really can't recommend it highly enough.

If you're out of shape, do be prepared for climbing lots of steps up and down hills- you'll find the course well worth the exertion, though.

Hole 13 is kinda eerie-looking; I love it! In fact, the sections of abandoned road along portions of the course gave the whole place a strange atmosphere that I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
golbi
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

(Will Be) The Best Course in Chicagoland 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Excellent use of topography and tee placement. Tight holes are challenging, yet play fair. Open holes will test your discs and offer unique lines. Some holes are very memorable and leave a lasting image in your head. Course signs are well labeled.

Cons:

Good amount of mud, even on high ground. Needs more amenities such as garbage cans. Missing a basket on hole 16.

Other Thoughts:

This would get a 4.5 star rating if it 1) wasn't missing a pin, 2) had more garbage receptacles and 3) had concrete or padded tees. This is a young course, and will get better over time. Even with its shortcomings, it's still my favorite course in the area (just beating the course in Mokena and West Park in Joliet). Even though I haven't reviewed a lot, I have read many reviews, and I've inflated my review a little bit so that this course will get some love and improve in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
hacocacyb
Experience: 25.1 years 168 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

30 yrs later, Chicagoland has new crown course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 17, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course from a pure hole perspective is perfection in my mind. Very interesting and challenging holes, great variety between short and long tees. Excellent use of hills and trees. Great design where front nine and back nine both start and end at parking lot. Steps built in to steep hills. ***16th basket placed and tee built as of 6-13-09***
***6-2-2012 update: now has concrete tees on all holes***

Cons:

There are few trash bins or benches, but they are popping up. Park is dilapidated (but this is the Chicago suburbs, so land is hard to come by, in that sense, what a gem!) Watch where you step, even on paved paths. Throwing to blind baskets necessitates spotters. Didn't lose discs, but spent time looking.
***After 4 years, the course has opened up and only four holes are 'blind' from the tees but you don't need spotters.

Other Thoughts:

I loved this course. I can't wait to return. Changed rating from 3.5 to 4 because of the final basket being placed and benches being built. Seems like there could be land for more holes. This park was made for disc golf.

The designers put a lot of effort and work into this course. There are 6(!) very nice sets of stairs to help you get up and down the ravines.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
jdunk03
Experience: 17.5 years 22 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

challanging fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

you have to have a bag of tricks to play here the hardest course around and i like them hard. throwing hill to hill is amazing! not to many people go here or come back, have the course to your self.

Cons:

trash is a problem but that can be fixed.

Other Thoughts:

could be one the best with better baskets and better tee pads
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Trick
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

course is improving 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course is improving. A LOT less trash on the course than last year. This course was just put in as of late 2008, so give it some time. I was impressed with the improvement compared to last year. Great mix of holes. Personally, I don't want a course that is all easy, or all hard. The first isn't challenging, and the latter is too frustrating. One reviewer wrote that the open holes (7-11) were too easy. But, two of them are very long. And, the fairways are lined with mature Oak trees. Sure, the fairways are about 50' wide, but for some golfers that is challenge enough. The more difficult holes have tough fairways that can be as little at 10' wide. The interesting elevation shots, both uphill and down, and across ravine like areas make this course unique in this area. I also found it to be less muddy than other area courses at this time of year (springtime). Definitely worth a visit. And no, you don't have to be afraid to go play this course by yourself.

Cons:

Hole 16 is still missing while they do some work on the course. And yes, the park used to be a place that some careless individuals would use to dump trash. Putting a disc golf course here was a stroke of genius. Park is already looking better. But, there is definitely still room for improvement. Fairways and tees can be rough in places. Still experiencing some growing pains.

Other Thoughts:

This course has the potential to be one of the best in the area. Just needs time and care to improve. Play it. Unless you are a nitpicky person, you will most likely love this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top