• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Fiskdale, MA

Hyland Orchard & Brewery DGC

3.835(based on 15 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Hyland Orchard & Brewery DGC reviews

Filter
1 0
Mythy
Experience: 10.2 years 5 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

New England... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

THIS COURSE HAS A WELL POSTED LOST DISC POLICY AND A GUARDED LOST AND FOUND... I LIKE THAT LOTS
Well marked signs at tees...
2 baskets at each hole... (Longer/Shorter)
Open and wooded holes...
Outdoor Brewery Bar Beginning/Mid Course...
Friendly people all around...

Cons:

Fairways are a little tight... one might wind up off in tall grass or orchard at points...
Grass is a little tall... but it's a lot of acreage and it's mowed, just a little tall...
Poison ivy thrives on the edges... and in the woods...

Other Thoughts:

I'm unsure as to whether or not to review the course from a competitive standpoint, or from an experience standpoint...
Competitively, if you can throw on a generally straight line (and I don't or can't always), in retrospect, I'm not seeing anything overly challenging other than distance... I think the scenery contributes to not throwing straight... sometimes obstacles look harder than they really are.

It's a heck of a walk... especially some ups and downs through the woods...

I'd say I had a much better time here than at other courses... the brewery lends to a laid back atmosphere and the people around were all way nicer than I've seen elsewhere...

Definitely worth being here and I'll do it again...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Jaxully
Experience: 11.8 years 26 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Up And Coming 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 30, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a beautiful setting and some really nice holes. It has a few birdie runs and an ace run or two. It ranges in difficulty from long tight wooded holes to shorter open field holes. It has a real downhill bomber that's nice to see how far you can throw. The course is pretty neat and well maintained.

Cons:

Some holes are still being tinkered with and moved and the first hole is even under construction.

Other Thoughts:

The people on this course are very friendly and may join you if you would like. Some are knowledgeable and can teach you a thing or two.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
JAKE master
Experience: 15.7 years 77 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

3.8 is about right. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice setting for disc golf. Multiple pin positions. I feel par for the course is right on point for a 950 rating.

Other Thoughts:

I feel the course as a whole is pretty left friendly. It seemed like most holes wholes where slight deviations from straight with the exception being holes with dogleg rights. I played both rounds from the blue position.
1 is up hill steadily 451, plays more like 500. Slight right to left, RHBH power players dream.
2, 330' plays like 400. Big uphill, L to R pin. A leftys dream. Deuce-able hole, most will take 3's.
3, 351,wooded down hill, straight slight R to L finish on a fairly cluttered fairway. a common back up hole in tournaments. Deuces can be had, but a 5 is not uncommon.
4, 328, wooded. Nice RHBH hyzer shot played along side of hill. Plays like a shorter and downhill hole 1.
5 not sure if 340' is correct, wooded, this hole plays more like 525'. One of the hardest legitimate holes on the course. Birdies can be had on the hole. Plays diagonally up hill, R to L.
6, T says 330', plays uphill like 360' feel. Another hyzer up the hill. Hole plays like a shorter hole 1.
7, 470, playing very slight uphill to a plateau. More or less straight pin position with space to be fair for L or R FH or BH. Second shot plays up over a row of apple trees.
8, 505, very slight L to R pin, again pretty fair to all. Basket again gaurded by 4 or 5 apple trees.
9, 450, awesome Lefty BH bomb downhill. Deuces are rare but can be had. Fun hole for all.
10, 238, wooded slight L to R.
11. 260 plays like 300, uphill wooded, slight R to L. Described by all as the worst hole on the course. Not much of fairway, kind of a hope and prayer hole. Silver position is ok, but it seemed like the blue position was a forced hole.
12, T says 460, wooded, a lefty T shot friendly, somewhat twisting fairway. Id label this hole a par 4, but thats just me.
13 540 wooded, over a little valley and down hill. A pretty fun and satisfying hole. Fair to all. Great feeling if you hit the birdie on this hole. Probably my favorite of the course, even after carding a bogey and double bogey.
14, 400, plays like 460 on the big Lefty friendly uphill bomb, as you are now back in open field. Plays pretty similar to hole 2.
15, 685, downhill, big open fairway perfect for crushing your favorite driver. This hole is what most call the signature hole.
16, wooded, the toughest 228 of my life I said while playing. It takes a great drive to deuce but not hard to par.
17. 310, seems longer on this wooded fairway. Another Lefty dream, again doglegging R. deuces can be had, but so can 4's and 5's.
18. 520. Wooded, lefty friendly. I feel the setup for this hole feels very similar from 17. Your second shot again feeling like 17. Technically an island green. I would make this a par 4, and put the stroke on hole 12 as mentioned. A 4 to me felt unsatisfying on the finishing hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
reposado
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.9 years 278 played 276 reviews
3.00 star(s)

After the fanfare 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

There's a lot of fanfare at Hyland Orchard. For one, there's a brewery. There's a pavilion with the wares on tap. (It can be visited before your round, after and inbetween nine and ten) It's festooned with disc golf banners and the path to the first tee is fairly grand. Likewise, the archway that greets you to the back nine sets a very positive tone to the round.

Occasionally, the course lives up to all the hoopla. There's a lot of variety. Short holes, long holes. Uphill, downhill. In and out of the woods. On one hole, you shoot over a deep valley that you certainly don't want to be searching for your disk. That was fantastic.

And the work is done. The open holes are mowed. The woods holes are well maintained. The tees and signs are more than adequate.

Cons:

But for most of the courses, it is pretty standard stuff. It's a good course, but to be a destination I would have liked a few more standout holes to make up for the flaws some of which are probably inherent to the land.

It's not great walking around the course. Some of the woods holes are just impossible to maintain perfectly as the rocks and roots are abundant.

There are some very awkward obstacles in the orchard part of the course. I would guess they were cool with it but I felt uncomfortable throwing too close to active agricultural activity.

Then there were a few problems that could be remedied. The easy: arrows. While often there was only one obvious pathway from most of the greens, on several I walked a considerable amount of time in the wrong direction. The harder: The blue cages. The long cages feel very tacked on. On some holes, nine in particular, they are in very odd locations. (On nine you basically play to the standard cage then pitch it directly right 50 feet into the woods) Often, playing to the blue just means yo have to backtrack a ton to get to the next tee. Great to add additional cages for more replay value, but I really wouldn't even want to play to most of those blue.

Other Thoughts:

Good course that I would play again if I was in the area, but not one to seek out without a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
discNDav
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 38 years 437 played 91 reviews
4.00 star(s)

DG with a brewery! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

DG and an onsite brewery make a great combo.

The elevation changes along with the open and wooded holes make another great combo. The wooded fairways were very fair, nothing too tight. Lots of variety for the golf shots required. The front 9 plays around an apple orchard.

Two baskets on each hole, it was easy to see the difference since the long pins were a different color and basket type. This is a great idea!

Two bars, one inside and the outside one is located at the start and between holes 9 and 10. Live music at the outdoor bar. The bartender was very cordial and helpful with tips on the course.

Zoo animals all around the complex made this quite unique.

The course was very clean, no litter at all on private land.

A good golf challenge, a few long wooded holes reminded me of Nockimoxon in PA.

Small bridges and wooden planks help navigating thru the wet/swampy parts of the course.

The rope provided on the massive steep downhill walk on hole 12 or 13. A great signature hole.

Maple Hill is less than 1/2 hour away!

Hyland is located close to the interstate highway exit.

Their IPA beer was fantastic.

Cons:

Pay to play, $5 and a course map/scorecard was not available.

Only open on weekends?

I had trouble navigating btw holes 2 to 3 and got very confused btw 16 and 17....after 16 walk straight across the street and uphill slightly. Next tee signs or arrows would be a big help here.

The rubber tee pads were slippery after a rain and some were built on a wooden plank sloping uphill.

Not an easy walk through the woods, it was a hike. Large rocks/boulders to navigate throughout the course. A bench near tee 6 would be nice after the uphill walk on hole 5.

Other Thoughts:

$5 to play, $5 beer to start $5 beer to end, cost me $15 total but I was on vacation and didn't care.

The map on this site is outdated, basically swap the front and back nines.

Considering all the negatives, I still thought it was a great golf course. I saw a lot of work that was done and imagine it will only get better after the first year or two.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
bradharris
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 90 played 46 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a perfect setting for disc golf. There is plenty of elevation change as well as wooded and open terrain. The course makes use of every bit of variety the grounds provide with open holes over grass, tight wooded holes, and even holes that play in or around the rows of trees in the orchard.

Distances are varied nicely with some short ace runs as well as long bomber holes.

The open holes are well designed to test your ability to hit a spot using your preferred line, while the wooded holes test your ability to shape the right line and find the best landing zone.

Signage is decent, providing hole layout and distance.

OB is used well to provide a little more challenge to holes that might otherwise be fairly boring.

Two pins for each hole provides variety in the layout.

Two bars on site (one outdoor and one indoor) with great beers on tap.

Cons:

Some of the wooded holes I thought were a bit unfair. The trees from the tees on 11, 12, and the approach on 18 are a bit tight and can knock down even good shots. Hole 5 is a big uphill shot but with so many trees, it's nearly impossible to hit a good power line. This leaves players with a real in-between approach that can result in an easy three or a disappointing four.

Navigation is a little tricky in some spots. Particularly with a long walk from nine to ten.

Other Thoughts:

You'll need a full bag at Hyland. Every shot will be tested, from long bombs to short turnovers and everything in between.

You'll see a nice sample of what disc golf in New England is like, with finely manicured grass holes to tight rugged wooded ones.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Franky4fangaz
Experience: 15.2 years 28 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 29, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Just about everything thing is a pro here ..I love this course great variation of holes and excellent scenery plus a brewery with very tasty beer

Cons:

Only thing I can really think of is signs could use a little work ..but navigating this course is no problem

Other Thoughts:

If u are in the area don't miss playing this course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 8
MrHighlandPark
Experience: 15.1 years 54 played 18 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great new course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Beautiful property
-Great elevation and hole variety. Some really interesting and fun holes
-Chickens
-Brewery on site
-Shelter with picnic tables

Cons:

-Worst bugs I've ever experienced on a disc golf course. Bring bug spray.

-Course is so new it still needs to be broken in. Tee signs aren't quite there yet, and more navigation arrows are needed.

-Nobody was attending the sign-in booth, and I didn't have exact change. I eventually ran into some other players who helped me break a 20. I'll bring exact change next time.

Other Thoughts:

This is an instant favorite - one of the very best courses in Massachusetts. Hyland has 5 star potential if it develops the right way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.2 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice wooded layout 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 24, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a hilly wooded property around the brewery and orchard. A couple holes play on open grassy hills with rough in play, and a few play through or next to the apple orchard. The rest play through thick woods with some underbrush and tight fairways. You'll need a pretty good mix of shots to score well, the course plays balanced between left and right turning shots.

There is elevation on most holes, and it's used well to add some really fun shots and some nice challenges including an open bomb from the top of a hill with nice views. There are basic tee signs with hole layout and distance, and the long walk between 9s is well marked.

Cons:

The rubber tees weren't always laid flat, some were lumpy or tilted. There are a couple spots where navigation is a little tough, a few more next tee signs would go a long way. The course is still a little rough, with lots of dead branches on the wooded fairways. Many of the lower spots on the course hold water and can get pretty muddy and nasty. Some have boards to walk on, but you can still end up in some mushy spots off the tee.

Other Thoughts:

This isn't a very beginner friendly course, the fairways are tight in many spots and there is enough rough on many holes to frustrate less accurate players. More experienced players will find some nice challenges and enough variety to keep it interesting. The opportunity to stop and get a beer between the front and back nines is definitely a nice bonus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
tistoude
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 200 played 61 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Experience 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beer and Disc Golf together just as God intended!

This cool Disc Golf Course/Brewery/Petting Zoo/Concert Pavilion/Playground is located on a nice isolated patch of land that is absolutely perfect for disc golf.

The course design is a very fun mix of heavily wooded, mostly open, and through an orchard, all of which make for a great variety. The distances of the holes also have great variety ranging from a short 190' poke through the woods to a downhill 615' launcher. Elevation throughout the course is used to great effect, with only a few holes playing relatively flat. I think the pin positions added significantly to the course as well. Many of them are guarded well, with a couple being blind from the tee.

Every hole has a tee pad and tee sign. Both are of a homemade style but are perfectly acceptable. The tees are a mix of rubber pads and astro turf, with the signs being hand drawn including the shape of the hole and distance. The baskets are in great shape and there is a practice basket near hole 11.

The condition of the course was immaculate when I played. I did not see any litter or sticks on the ground and all the grass was nicely mowed. There were also lots of little amenities through out the course that always make a good impression. Garbage cans, flags to help navigation, walkways over the wet areas, clear rope marking the OB, nice beer between 9's (sort of), live music to play by, and bathrooms in the brewery.

Everyone I met here was super cool and seemed enthusiastic about disc golf, music and the brewery. When I went into the bar to ask about the course Rasta Marc actually came out from behind the bar and walked me over to the first tee and gave me a breakdown on the navigation of the course since I did not have a map.

Cons:

The $5 fee is a negative for me only because I come from a region that is predominantly free to play courses. If you are from the northeast though this seems pretty normal.

The course has a very homemade feel to it. It is missing that polished or broken in feeling that the top courses have. Not a huge con.

The tees need to be upgraded somewhere along the line. They are adequate for now but definitely not top notch.

Although navigation is not very difficult an updated course map would be appreciated.

You have to cross the dividing road a couple of times. It doesn't seem to busy but is something that could be dangerous.

Other Thoughts:

I usually don't play courses solo but I really enjoyed my time on this course. It was a great walk through the woods and the cool orchards. I saw a bunch of wild turkeys, some crazy looking chicken type birds and a small group of deer. The entire time I was on the course a very good band was playing in the outdoor pavilion, and made the round that much better.

This course is appropriate for all skill levels. I ran into a first timer on the course who was having a blast with his friends and I found out that Dave Feldberg was there just the day before getting in some practice before the Vibram Open.

I was told that you needed to be NEFA member to play here but when I talked to Rasta Marc about playing the course it was never mentioned so I am not sure if that is still in effect.

The beer at the brewery is really good. I tried a few different brews and each one was great.

Overall the fun factor at this course is very high and with everything (non-disc golf) taken into account my entire Hylands experience was awesome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
solomon.trenton
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 89 played 68 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Disc Golf + Brewery = Awesome!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Obviously having a brewery on site is great, but here there is also a bar outside! There is plenty to do here for your whole family. There is a fenced in play area outside near hole 11 as well as a small array of animals. Oh and there is an apple orchard on site! It can't get much better than that; oh wait, there's a disc golf course!

There are decent tee signs at every hole with all the necessary information. Signage in between holes is really informative as well. Most of the tee pads are astro turf or rubber slabs.The course uses elevation to its advantage on almost every hole. It goes from long uphill shots, downhill bombs, valley shots and technical up/downhill. The variation couldn't be much more diverse. Rope/twine marks OB where needed. There is a good use of OB that makes you play placement golf and the challenging rough makes you thoroughly consider all your options. The baskets are in challenging locations throughout the course. Practice basket is near the pavilion and hole 11. Trash cans are scattered throughout and almost no litter is evident. Super clean bathrooms are located in the brewery. The course is semi-private so you don't have to worry about log jammed. There are bridges on low wet spots and over drainage ditches making walking easier.

Cons:

There is nothing major to complain about just minor things. Although I have no problem with it, others might: the cost to play is $5 and you must be escorted by either a member or an active NEFA member. The tee pads are not uniform in size or material. A few of the slopes get really slick when wet and they lack steps. The walk in between holes 10 and 11 is a little long, but broken up by a stop in the brewery:) The warm up basket is located by hole 11( although you could use 10's baskets as it isn't too far from 1). I was unable to find a map or scorecard. The pond doesn't come into play on any hole, although 10 utilizes a small stream as OB. There is some crossing the road and a few fairways are close.

Other Thoughts:

Some of the pars are hard to get and others are almost gimme birdies. Please don't sneak onto the course and ignore the rules. They are there for a reason and we don't want an awesome course being pulled because of stupid stuff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Don Boutin
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Lots of improvements made 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 7, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

We have done a lot of work clearing the rough parts of the holes. Hole 16 is now free of all overgrown weeds and brush. More trees have come down to make bigger gaps. We have paid attention to where people land and how people play the holes. Making it more player friendly. We have sprayed over 100 gallons of round up to kill the evil Ivy. We will be working on getting all tee boxes rasied and leveled this weekend. There will be rubber on every box. Trail markers and real Tee box signs coming soon.

Cons:

Recent storm damage has made a mess out of the fairways. Leaving branches every where. Also making it very wet.

Other Thoughts:

Soon the layout will change. Hole 1 will become 9. 11 will be hole 1. We will be adding a hole after the current 11 to make it a front 9. We will be combining holes 4 and 5 to make a back 9. Sounds crazy but a lot of trees will come down to make it a great hole. Soon we will have a pro shop. By next spring we will have two pin locations, 3 lean-to shelters on the course.
Contact Don Boutin@ 4132376813 or Rasta Marc @ 7742895160 for any info about course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
AceHole10000
Experience: 16.2 years 7 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

New England Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

A good mix between tight technical and open bombs. A great scenic walk thru the woods and orchards. Hole 3 is awesome. Shoot off a cliff and over a ravine. The back of the green drops off. The first open hole is only 406 but plays up a huge hill. The second open shot 610 down a huge hill and green drops off hard. Just a great course with a brewery at the start, middle and end. Great people that ran it and great craft beer.

Cons:

Not much but some of the tees need a little work.

Other Thoughts:

Just one of the greatest disc golf experiences I've ever had. Good beer + good disc = awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
kskog
Experience: 12.9 years 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Disc Golf and Brewery!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 24, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great diversity. Well marked. Tight woods sections that have been cleaned up very well. Easy to find disks if you throw off line. Open fields. Great use of elevation. Challenging but incredibly fun. At a brewery! Figure 8 setup means you start, mid and end at the parking lot/brewery. Great for a quick 9 holes. No walking in mud here. They have raised walkways over all low/wet areas.

Cons:

A good course map would be great. They had a sign at the brewery of future hole markers just like pyramids. That will be great. I received a hand drawn map from the bar tender at the brewery. Everything worked out. Front 10 are really easy to follow as long as you start off with hole 1 into the woods. The basket in front of the t box is hole 10.

Other Thoughts:

Holes 1-5 are in the woods. Hole 3 is great. You throw off a cliff. My favorite hole. Cross the road for hole 6 and 7. Open field shots. Hole 7 is a great power hole. Let it fly. Hole 8 was the muddiest but they had a great raised walkway. Cross the street again for hole 9 and 10. Gets a little tricky. Go past the brewery and up to the kids play ground for hole 11. Orchard shot. Pretty cool. Good use of the orchard for holes 11, 15-18. After the basket at 11, walk ahead to the woods. You'll find hole 12 going back into the woods.
Overall, great place to bring the family on the weekend. Apple picking, petting zoo, play area and I read live music on the weekends. Looking foward to playing here again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
erbguy
Experience: 14.9 years 68 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awesome, will return soon. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course: Figure 8 layout, using the brewery as a center point. Varied/mixed course utilizing elevations, woods, & orchards. There are some open bombs, tight tecnical shots, decent risk/reward's and everything in between. There's a couple easy birdies, offset by a couple near-impossible par 3's, and a nice challenging course all in all.
And again, it has it's own micro-brewery on-site, and how cool is that.

Cons:

The tee's are not improved, no benches or trash bins to speak of, some of the rough areas are extremely rough, the tee signs aren't the clearest, it's field limited parking, and you might have brewery/orchard crowds to throw thru.

Other Thoughts:

With apple picking, petting zoo, brewery tours, and other activities I can imagine this place getting packed. On the flip side, this offers a non-throwing signifigant other or friends something to do while you squeeze in a round.
Without a course map, it's a little tough to find your way around, so here's a couple pointers:
From the parking lot, the path to Tee 1 is thru the sign and into the woods. 1-9 takes you thru the woods, crosses arnold rd, and ends by the "shack".
#10 is located across the driveway from the parking lot.
#11 tee is by the petting zoo and shoots toward the orchard. #12 tee is straight ahead from 11's basket. 11-18 makes a loop counter clockwise and ends by the large pavillion (road side, not putter basket). By this point you know the tee signs to look for, they are all marked.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top