• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Frankfort Square, IL

Indian Boundary South Park

Permanent course
1.445(based on 8 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Indian Boundary South Park reviews

Filter
11 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 316 played 268 reviews
1.50 star(s)

"Native American Boundary South Park" Is the Preferred Nomenclature, Dude...

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Nine holes of pitch and putt, with one or two slightly longer holes. Portajohn and ample parking. Signs. Baskets. Lumpy blue concrete (asphalt? hard to tell with the blue paint) teepads, with huge boards at the front upon which to stub your toe.
- Scraps of elevation and water help keep this from being completely dismal, with #8 kind of on a bit of a small rise and #4's basket near-ish the pond.
- Native American Boundary South Park plays around a largely flat, open, grassy area dotted with the very occasional mature tree. A deep-looking creek bounds the park to one side, and a pond bounds it to another. The other two sides are house/apartments and prairie grass. No Native American Boundary I could see, but lots of bird-watching opportunities here, including...

Cons:

- Geese. Geese poop.
- One's basket looks like it lipped off to Mike Tyson.
- Did I mention goose poop? Geese like defecating here.

Other Thoughts:

- F'ing geese.
- This would make a fine practice course if not for the excrement.
- Saw a couple of large water birds (crane and I think an egret)...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1068 played 637 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 27, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is located in a pretty much disc golf exclusive area. There could be other people lounging around in the grass, but it's probably a pretty rare occurance.

The baskets here are Mach III's I believe. You don't see these too often anymore but they were all in decent shape still. They don't catch the greatest but are serviceable at least. One pin position per hole.

The tee pads are blue painted asphalt. Not too often you see asphalt tees, but to be honest, I really didn't mind them at all. They were all pretty level and had excellent traction and grip.

The tee signs here are very basic. Hole # and distance. It's all you really need since the pin is visible from the tee on every hole.

A creek can come into play on hole 1 and the pond has potential to come into play on a few holes as well. It would take a pretty poor shot to find any water but if the wind is up it can become much more likely.

The flow of the course was pretty straightforward and easy to follow. I'd still use a map to speed things up, but not too bad in general.

The course is permanent and free to play. This one would be in my winter rotation with the general openness to it. Ample parking and there was a restroom by the start of the course.


Cons:

Landing in the creek or probably even the pond pretty much means a lost disc. The water looks like chocolate milk and the smell is, let's just say. not appealing in the least.

The course is just pretty bland. There's a few trees scattered throughout but they're easily avoidable for the vast majority of players. Other than that it's just flat and open. Not a very memorable of even interesting course.

It appears that the pond is prone to flooding which would make a hole or two unplayable if that happens. It appears to stay muddy for long stretches after the water recedes as well, judging from the look of the grass near the water.

A walking path can potentially come into play, but it was only noticable on hole 8 if I recall correctly. Possibly 9 too, I didn't notice if it was though.


Other Thoughts:

This is a quick play if you're in the area and short on time. If you're not short on time there's numerous other, better options a short distance away. It was passable when I played it, so I went with a 1.5. It's a place with baskets.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.9 years 261 played 247 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Very Forgettable 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 21, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

- park is mostly in ok shape
- asphalt tees are decent
- navigation is relatively straightforward
- open space for practice/easy for beginners

Cons:

- most baskets are showing signs of wear/rusty chains
- completely flat with very few obstacles
- no maps on tee signs
- pars listed on tee signs are way too generous

Other Thoughts:

This part really left very little impression on me. It is another suburban park 9 hole course with basically nothing that stood out. The asphalt tees weren't great but were definitely better than natural/gravel/etc. The course is pretty much entirely flat with very few obstacles/hazards. Hole 4 ends against the lake so overthrows could end up in the water, but that's about it.

The baskets weren't in great shape but were all serviceable. Tee signs were very basic but gave hole number, distance, and laughable pars (such as par 5s on open holes under 400'). The holes are fairly repetitive but are fine for an open practice or quick round. It definitely is low stress for beginners.

I wouldn't make an effort to go back to Indian Boundary South. I suppose it's fine if you live nearby or want to check this one off, but it just didn't make any impression on me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Below Average Chicago 9-er! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Indian Boundary Park won't inspire a lot emotion form us disc golfers. Mashnut used the adjective scruffy to describe the park and the course. Maybe the village and it's inhabitants are scruffy as well.

The park is at the end of a dead end street. The park, not the street, is decently large, very flat and bordered by a canal on side, the lake on another, a street and some houses. The whole park just seems kind of forgotten.

The signs are kind of big and ugly. They give you all the normal information. The tees are asphalt with a RR tie at the front. I had no negative feeling toward them. The baskets older DGA models, I think. Some had a number on top.

The course is mostly open, mostly flat and always uninspiring. There are couple of holes where some of the scattered trees come into play. Course designers did their best with this below average piece of land.

The tall grass could come into play on # 1. # 7 has tall grass down it's left side. With a really bad shot, you probably could find the lake on a couple of holes.

The listed pars are junior high level.

There is a porta potti in the parking lot. Yeah!

# 2 makes you make a decision off the tee. Do I throw left or right around this tree in my line?

Cons:

The course is recreational level, at the most. There isn't much challenge there for most golfers.

The 7th basket has the gangster lean going.

It's pretty soggy overall. You probably would to skip this course during rainy times.

Lots of geese. Should be a droppings alert although they seemed ,to be hanging out over near the lake.

Other Thoughts:

Just another sub-standard Chicago 9'er. Not a horrible course, just a very lacking piece of land to build a course on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Scruffy little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 14, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a small flat park with a few scattered trees and a nice little pond. The larger trees come into play on a couple holes, and a couple others have a few small trees to keep it from being completely wide open. The pond and creek are not really in play, though they could possible catch really errant drives. Though most of the holes are pretty short, there are a couple with more length that allow you to throw a drive.

Cons:

There isn't really a whole lot of interest going on with this course. It looks pretty scruffy, with a muddy weed filled field as the fairways, a mucky creek, and some longer weeds along the sides. The pond looks nice, but unfortunately doesn't come into play.

Other than a couple longer holes, all the shots here are short and straight and don't offer any challenges. The tees are terrible, short asphalt tees with large wooden posts laid across the front end to prevent any follow through if you want to use the tee. The signs seem to have inaccurate distances, though all the holes are easily visible from the tee so the signage isn't as important.

Other Thoughts:

This is an ok place for beginners, though it won't offer any challenge to learn different shots. More experienced players won't find much to enjoy here, it's a pretty boring course in a mediocre park. Definitely don't drive out of your way to play this one, it's only worth it if you happen to be right in the area and want to play a new course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
trimixjoe
Experience: 14.9 years 6 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good pads, not to hard to navigate for a beginner...good for kids and beginners!
I like the creek, and pond but you really would to have to be a bad thrower to miss these baskets.

Cons:

#3 the soccer field I had to skip due to soccer practice...poorly planned basket
Also the #3 sign states 30 ft to basket and no par indicator
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 394 played 276 reviews
1.00 star(s)

C- = a little below average for a 9 holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D (Wide open and not long enough where it is not conceivable to card more than a 3. No punishment dished out by the course, no decision making needed.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+ (Several of the holes are in the challenging length for me - 280-340'. Problem is, there is nothing that forces you to shape shots in any particular way.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D (Not wooded, not shaping, flat as a pancake)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C- (A few scraggly trees in a weed-infested field. The pond is kinda nice and it is away from the hustle bustle.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

Cons:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
WindyCityROCer
Experience: 19.2 years 27 played 13 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Beginner/Youth Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2007 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course is usually well kept, as it's in a multi use park.

Creek on hole 1, and long grass on 5 are the only places to lose discs (unless you have a really poor shot on 6 and it goes over fence/into a yard).

Baskets in good shape.

Cons:

VERY short, the longest hole is 350ish.

Dangerous asphalt tees w/4x4's in FRONT of pad, very easy to injure yourself by tripping on them.
A FEW trees come into play on 4 holes, otherwise the course is wide open.

Distance to Hole 9 is wrong, it was accidentally measured to hole 2 basket (past 9), so sign is about 60' off.

Multi-use park, primarily for soccer I've seen as many as 4 holes unplayable due to games.

Other Thoughts:

Not much to offer for anyone other than youth or beginner. Makes an ok place for fieldwork/practice. Drainage is also very poor, and the backside of the course lends itself to ducks, and their droppings.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top