• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Baytown, TX

Jenkins Park DGC

Permanent course
3.835(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Jenkins Park DGC reviews

Filter
4 0
djohnst
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very clean, well-maintained park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

I am amazed at how clean and well maintained this park is. The grass is crisply mowed and all areas trimmed and edged. Absolutely no trash or debris anywhere on this course and park that I saw. If you get disgusted with the amount of trash that is left behind at so many other DG parks, you will be most surprised when you visit here. I also didn't notice any fire ants mounds anywhere.

As mentioned in many other reviews, very nice tee pads, signs, and baskets. As an average player, I found the holes to be challenging enough, but not difficult. I was surprised that a few holes were listed as par 4's when I assumed they were par 3's.

Cons:

There were very little activities going on when I played other than a few walkers/joggers but I suppose it could be an issue on busier days. A couple of holes are close to the ball field and dog park fences (OB) and may require a long walk to retrieve wayward discs and present safety hazards to unsuspecting park patrons.

Other Thoughts:

Thank you, City of Baytown for such a nice, clean park! Other places where I often play (Kingwood, Conroe, Austin) are never as well-maintained as Jenkins which is unfortunate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
blake833
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.2 years 160 played 140 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good, but overrated 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is definitely a well maintained, interesting course.

There's a warm-up basket near the tee-pad of hole one. That's a huge plus in my book. This one doesn't have a large warm-up area around it, but just getting loose on some practice putts can make a world of difference in a round.

There's a decent variety to the front 9, and makes good use of the park's space, navigating other park attractions pretty well.

The tee pads are full concrete, and well placed. The signs are detailed, accurate, and have great little hooks on the back to hang your bag.

Two holes have elevated tee-pads, which I don't really care for, but if you like bells and whistles with your disc golf, that'll do it for ya.

All the pars are pretty easy, with some great birdie opportunities (and even an Eagle or two)

Cons:

It's a big park, and I think in trying to use the whole property, there is some sloppiness to the design. The front nine run very close to the basketball court, baseball field, and the water hazards (which, albeit, are small, but take up a large part of the fairway on hole 5 or 6).

The size also comes into play when in the back nine, almost every hole is just wide open distance throws. On a windy day, I could see this being pretty frustrating.

Other Thoughts:

I know I haven't said anything new, that no one else hasn't said yet, but as someone who grew up in Baytown, I think it is a great local course, and pretty fun to play with friends. It's definitely overrated, and I mainly say that because some holes have no clear line, or alley (even playing in winter, which opened more up for us, I still had a hard time figuring out some of these designs), and there's absolutely no elevation. It's a good course, worth playing, and worth keeping for a long time. But not worth a trip out of your way, which I normally would do when I see a course rated 4 discs or more.

Sidenote: I went to play by myself and ran into two brothers who let me play with them, and made the course way more fun. They play it at least once a week in a friendly rivalry.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Front Nine Is An Average Park Nine But Back Nine Is Not Wotth The Walk! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 1, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Jenkins Park is a large county (?) park that was a beehive of activity on Sunday. There was a large family gathering that forced me to skip hole # 3 and I had to wait and/or throw carefully around other walkers, picnicking groups and just hanging around people. The course has baseball and softball fields, two different basketball courts, a dog park, soccer fields as well as dirt bike racing. As I was leaving, a guy shows up, unloads two little mini dirt bikes and sends his kids off spinning donuts and mostly terrorizing the anyone in their way. Where are you, Mr. Policeman?

The course starts between the two basketball courts. There is is a course map there. The concrete tee pads are fine. The nice colored tee signs show the intended route and have these amazing heavy duty bag holders on the backside. I didn't notice them until about half way through the course. Discatcher baskets have the yellow band and number on them. There are a few holes with benches.

# 1 & 2 both play around the curving baseball outfield fence. # 3 is a 511' hole with the deep ditch on your left and the parking lot on your right. Keep it straight here. # 4 is an right turning hole that throws around the children's water feature. It would be way too easy for someone to throw into the kids. But I would never pass by it without soaking my head on these hot humid Texas days.

I liked # 5. It's 326' with the canal on your left but a big tree kind of forces to you to throw left and let it drift back. I didn't much care for # 6 throwing 332' with deep woods on the left and the deep gorge on your right. 7 & 8 were typical park holes. # 9 plays 506' to the raised basket.

The back nine was way too open and boring. I have no other comment other than to ease my boredom, I started working on my rollers on about the last five holes. Zzzzzzzzzzzz!

Cons:

The front 9 has a couple of safety concerns, especially on # 4. You should never under-estimate how off target some players will throw a disc.

# 3 skirts close to the parking lot.

The canal/river/ creek/ditch has steep banks and ugly looking water.

# 13 and # 14 add up to about 1200' of coma, inducing disc golf. Wake me up when I get past them.

Other Thoughts:

My thoughts are if I were a big armed player, I would bypass this course and go play Evergreen Flyways DGC every single day and twice on Sundays. As a old recreational golfer, I would never again play the back nine. I would probably just keep playing the front nine loop. And surprise, when I left at noon on this beautiful day, there wasn't another golfer on the course. No surprise to me. Riding those mini trail bikes looked like more fun!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.3 years 1756 played 611 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Meh.... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee signs on all the holes
Cement Tee pads on all the holes

Cons:

long open holes on the back side
holes 9 and 18 baskets are elevated

Other Thoughts:

the difference between the front nine and back nine are like night and day. Front side is in a better manicured section of the park. Lots of trees for shade and obstacles. The back 9 are long, mostly open holes in an area that is not mowed as regularly.

Ok, now for the baskets on holes 9 and 18. No, I do not like them. It is a gimmick like a putt putt golf course. you might as well put a windmill in front of the basket. Now if you had made the pyramid larger, or just a small hill, I would not have as much a problem with these two holes.

Too me, I just aim my upshot at the base and if I hit it, I got an easy putt.

Would I play this course again?

Probably not, it is a basic course, the front side is interesting but I have zero interest in playing the back 9 again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
coyotepower
Experience: 18.8 years 87 played 34 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Jenkins - worth the trip! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Good Variety
-Challenging for beginners but not difficult
-Great Baskets with cement bases
-Nice park

Cons:

-Backside is wide open
-New Kids Waterpad in way on hole 4

Other Thoughts:

I like this course. It is a good case of a decent piece of property that sometimes floods being utilized for DG.
Nice Variety on length, I can really think of anything I would change for the better.

They did add a new Water Feature by hole 4 that is in the way....im guessing they will move the basket at some point to resolve any conflicts that may occur.
Jenkins+Evergreen is an amazing way to spend a day!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
DiscNorth
Experience: 7.7 years 25 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Worth the Drive 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 15, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Crisp look to the park. Baskets are well marked. Great launching pads/tee boxes. The setting is great.

Cons:

A lot of traffic from pedestrians walking across the course. If you're a rookie/newbie (like myself) and are not great at throwing distance yet, be prepared for a lot of throwing (especially on the back 9...over 700+ feet/par 5 one one of the baskets).

Other Thoughts:

I play with a group and we're all relatively new to disc-golfing. We thought it was a fantastic place to play and we look forward to making the hour drive again some future weekend. The front 9 had great shade, decent challenge with the trees, etc. The back 9 felt brutal (especially to me since I carry some extra weight). Not a lot of shade. Very wide open. Make sure to take some extra water if you're playing in the summer and have a decent hat if you play on a sunny day. Great course though! Great experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 4
lyleoross
Experience: 28.5 years 2 played 2 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Pitch and Putt 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

The city clearly cares about this park, and put some real effort into the tee pads and signage.

Cons:

While this course has some positives for beginning players, no player rated over 940 is going to enjoy playing here. Most players between 880 and 940 are going to get multiple birdies. If you have an arm, and low accuracy, this is the course for you.

1) In DG, trees are not for shade, they are there to challenge the player. When you don't have a lot of trees, you need to use them judiciously, not to shade the tee pads.
2) Almost every tree'd hole has a back door hyzer route, a route that is easier than the direct route by far. The one exception is a hole set up as a hyzer, here the forehand shot is an easy 200 foot lob that drops you at basket's edge.
3) If there is an open field, with some trees at the end, and a fifty foot wide hole in the trees, an advanced player will hit that hole 100% of the time.

Players should be forced to make decisions on shots. In this course, there is always one way the designer wanted you to go, or in many cases, a clear alternative, but very little thinking is involved.

Other Thoughts:

It seems clear that the designer built the course for beginning players. The designer added in some long holes, maybe because the space was there? Movement of tees to better utilize trees and tighter spacing will move the real rating of this course up. The designer might go out to Tom Bass, another course with big fairways, where the designer used the few trees to great advantage, forcing players to think and push their games.

If you want a very clean park, that is really well maintained, for a very casual round of golf, this is it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
H-Town Hero
Experience: 10.3 years 9 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great layout 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 24, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Terrific overall layout; the course takes you on a "bowtie"-like path, where Hole 1's tee, 9's basket, 10's tee, and 18's basket all converge around the parking lot, making it very convenient to play just either set of 9, all 18 in order, or even each set reversed (like 10-18, then 1-9) if you'd like, and in any of those situations there is zero extra hiking back to your car. Also, the entire course is perfectly continuous -- each tee is extremely close to the previous hole's basket.

- Amazing signage! Each tee has a fully illustrated layout, with the hole number, distance, par, AND A PAIR OF BAG HOOKS! YAY! If you don't see the next tee right away (which is rare), there is always an arrow sign pointing you the right way.

- Long, concrete tees.

- Great mix of long and short holes, both wide open and tree cluttered, and a couple that go over / hug the creek bank.

- Nice, new, double-chained baskets that are clearly numbered.

- Park is well maintained, never overgrown.

- Need an excuse to come here? There's plenty of stuff here to convince the family: skate park, dog park, nice playgrounds, ball fields, plenty of trails including several that go throughout the trees... I usually bring my daughter, and I always remember to bring a plastic bag of Cheerios, so we can feed the many turtles that gather under the footbridge by the 4th Hole's basket.

- Benches and trash bins spread evenly throughout the course.

- The 9th and 18th's baskets being elevated on brick pyramids are a very nice touch.

- There's a practice basket by the 1st tee.

Cons:

- While there are several shallow drainage ditches dug throughout the park (mostly around the playground area), Jenkins still has some flooding problems and takes longer than other places to dry out, mostly due to its overall flat terrain. Hole #1 is almost always completely underwater, unless the weather's been dry for at least a week or two.

- While the park is well maintained, be extra careful of the thick brush growing in certain OB zones... they're very dense, and laced with plenty of thorns! Specifically around 4 and 10's baskets, and the whole left sides of 6, 11, and 12.

- The 1st and 2nd holes hug the outfield fence of a ballpark, so a bad hyzer throw on either of these would be pretty bad, mmm-kay? (Update: they've since fixed this problem by adding "disc golf gates" by the outfield fence).

- Like the other reviews say, the popular walking trails can really mess with your momentum, but I've only experienced real problems on the 9th hole, since a trail goes down its entire fairway from the parking lot... but I guess that's the price you pay for a busy park.

Other Thoughts:

They've changed the layout a little bit from the map available on this page (unless they've updated it since my writing this). Now, Hole 4 tees off from close to the same spot as before but goes across the bayou, and Hole 5 tees off from THAT side of the bayou, coming across again, its basket now being just northeast of 7's basket (they're not close enough to each other to cause confusion or anything). What would be nice is a sign that guides players from 5's new basket location and across the bridge to 6's tee... but I guess that's what uDisc is for. Navigating from 5's basket to 6's tee is the only awkward transition in this overall layout; everything else is really easy to follow.

All in all, it's a great course, as long as the weather's been dry... otherwise it's a miserable mud fest. But the best part is having a well designed course less than a mile from my house! :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
ddoublep4517
Experience: 15.1 years 35 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Solid course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 20, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has every shot in the book! From your tunnel shot to the big arm hyzer flip! You have a mix of the short holes to the long holes with the front nine and back nine ending on elevated baskets! If your a beginner I recomend playing the front nine a few times before moving on to the back nine, the front nine is more technical and short while the back nine is full of big arm open shots! The course stays very well maintained by the city of Baytown so you never have to worry about playing in tall grass! And my favorite part of the course is the long tee boxes!

Cons:

This course is shared in a park and a very busy one at that so you will often find yourself waiting to throw!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
Loganpeake
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Favorite course! Worth the drive! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Where do I begin?? This course is awesome! Baytown did a great job when they put this course in. Not only did they seek help from the dg community, but they didn't skimp on materials and land. This course has a little bit of everything...from lightly wooded shots to shots across the bayou, to grip it and rip it shots. The concrete tee pads are the best I've seen to date, the baskets are double chains and of high quality, and the course is very well thought out. Holes 1,9,and 18 are all near the nicely sized parking lot if you need to take a break, 9 and 18 are elevated with a nicely done brick pyramid-like hill, and there are facilities on site in the event you need to use the restroom or wash your hands or feet. Everyone I have taken out here has deemed this course an instant favorite of theirs. I highly recommend taking the drive out here to check it out. Come in the morning or evening, as a few long
holes are not shaded. Kudos to those involved with the design and construction of this course!

Cons:

None. Only thing I can think of is I wish it were a little closer and there are 3 looooong holes back to back. Would've been nice to see them spread throughout the course.

Other Thoughts:

Watch out for the holes along and across the little bayou and bring bug spray and water!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 1
uwdiscgolf
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 164 played 26 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Jenkins Delivers 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 2, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The Pros:

1. Tee boxes are concrete and big.

2. Baskets are are new with two sets of chains.

3. Tee signs at every hole with O.B. labeled.

4. Park is well kept. Mowed frequently.

5. Restrooms and other amenities. Jogging paths, dog, park, skate park, etc..

6. Lots of parking

7. Holes 1, 9, 18 all near parking lot.

8. Holes Nine and 18 are elevated islands.

9. Course has good use of trees , bayou and open space.

10. Practice basket right near hole 1 tee and parking lot.

11. Bag Hooks Tee Signs At Each hole.

*12. Park and city have an ongoing involvement in the park. Some of the brush along some of the fairways have been cut back.

Cons:

The Cons:

1. Jogging paths can cause serious back ups.

2. The front nine plays near jungle gyms and jogging paths. So please be considerate of others. This is really the only big Con of Jenkins DGC.

Other Thoughts:

I feel Jenkins is a great mix of short and long, wide open and moderately wooded holes, and uses the terrain and geographical features very well.

Hoels 1-6 play through trees and near the jogging path to bring you to the the bayou. After hole six you cross over to holes 7-18.

Best Holes front 9: 3, 4, 9

3: First shot is nothing more than a spot selection for your second shot. Careful because the trees are not forgiving if you dont pick a good line and follow it.

4. I would assume Big hyzers are the way to go since once you get past the big oak, you pretty much park it nea the basket or within 30 ft. That being said for RHBH and LHFH (LHFH is my style).

9: Elevated basket hello!! Texas Army Trail (TAT) is the only other DGC i can think back on that has an elevated basket. I love this because its one of the features of DISC GOLF that i love. You cant do that in ball golf. Other sports the basket, hole, strike zone, goal is always the same regulation size both in shape and distance form the ground. DISC GOLF IS AWESOME! ITS DIFFERENT! As with hole 18 the basket is elevated on an island as well.

The back nine hole open up to offer distance and accuracy. Hole 13 is the monster for Jenkins. posting at over 700'.

Best holes on Back 9: 13, 15

13: At over 700' this hole allows the big arms to come out and play. also gives those with drives less than 300' to work on long range rollers. The hole is pretty open some a 4 on this hole is easily manageable.

15: Being a LHFH I stepped up to the tee box thinking a perfect "S" shot would be sweet and sexy. As soon as I threw my dirver I was reminded of why i love Disc golf. My "S" left me less than 10' from the basket and watching it fly was so amazing. The beauty in disc golf is the flight of different discs and the paths you can take with them.

Jenkins is just a lot like my first course in Wisconsin. Not as much elevation though, but provides different shots to choose from to get to the basket, a range of short and long shots, wooded and non wooded holes, water hazards, and the FUN FACTOR! I highly recommend this course to all in the Houston area. With the PROS winning out right I can only say that Jenkins is a course i will go back to over and over again. A tiny bit more difficulty would put this course on my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
bogeymanjr
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.9 years 35 played 24 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Best For Miles Around 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Jenkins Park is a great disc golf course and just what this area needed as there are not too many others that are close. I enjoyed my round here. The layout was good for using the land well in the park and had some good challenges throughout. My favorite holes were: # 5 with its throw over the bayou-excellent birdie hole; # 6 which is also an excellent birdie hole. # 9 is a great challenge with its trees in just the right spots, narrow fairway, ob's and elevated basket. # 13 with its "grip and rip" open fairway. And I had to like # 14 as I got birdie with a 100 foot sunk putt. And, of course, # 18 with its elevated basket. Great signage and excellent concrete tees made this course a joy and privilege to play.

Cons:

The only con I can name here is the wind a person can encounter on the wide open holes. Otherwise I see no other cons at this time.

Other Thoughts:

This is a disc golf course that was a long time coming for the city of Baytown. I was glad to come out this day and experience it with a couple of friends. This is a great course and worth the trip out to play. I know I will do so again sometime.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
MatthewDH
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Rookie Review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

It's brand new so the tee platforms and baskets are in great shape (high quality), practice basket near hole 1, good layout with regards to parking, a variety of hole layouts requiring different shots, course looks great and is easy to get around.

Cons:

Back 9 is fairly open (lack of shade) but I think the plan is to let some trees mature and grow in.

Other Thoughts:

I heard and read rave reviews of this course in my hometown and decided to check it (and the sport) out. I didn't give a 5.0 only because I have nothing else to compare it to, but I had a blast. From this rookie's perspective the course is truly phenomenal. The perfect level of challenege to not scare me away, but in fact get me hooked and itching to come back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
redsport3
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

18 holes! Challenging holes! Nice baskets and awesome elevated baskets on #9 and #18. Cool design on the perimeter of a huge park. Lots of activity at the park for families - walking/running trail, playground, dog park, skatepark, etc. Bring your family while you play! Great spot to get picked up on a group to play anytime. Awesome long hole on #13 - 763 feet!!

Cons:

Watch out for walkers. It's not too bad but you still need to keep an eye out.

Other Thoughts:

Hole #5 - watch out for the bayou - you might lose a disc if you don't make it across. And be sure to have mosquito spray this time of year!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
Dustin
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Good Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete Pads, Two Raised Baskets, benches through out the course, Innova Disccatcher Baskets and parking at hole 1 that is near end of course.

Cons:

Signage coming soon will help with navagation of course and distance.

Other Thoughts:

Fun course for all skill levels
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 1
ERicJ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.6 years 287 played 154 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Cool Elevated Baskets 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 23, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful park space. Latest/greatest DISCatcherPro model baskets with just about all the chains you could want. Ample sized concrete tees (see Cons). Plenty of parking and the course loops back to the parking lot between holes 9 & 10 so you can restock if necessary. The elevated baskets on holes #9 and #18 are very well done and add a nice element to the course. The first half of the course is <span class="italic">more</span> technical requiring reasonably accurate shots to card birdies for INT/ADV players. The second half of the course opens up a lot and is more forgiving of errant drives but #10, #13, #14, and #17 really let you try to crush some drives. While the first half wouldn't be considered "woodsy" by most standards, I do like the balance of shorter shot-making holes and longer bomber holes. Very nice tee signs with accurate pictograms and rules. "Next Tee" signs placed where needed.

Cons:

The distances on the tee signs are not all that accurate; some are off by 30ish feet. Be cautious on the nice looking concrete tee pads: they are lightly textured, and can actually be slippery especially with just a little bit of dirt/dust on them. The next issue is the walking path that winds through the course (or visa-versa) can lead to significant back-up times while you wait for pedestrians to clear the throwing areas. Then there's the issue of the dog park; it comes it to play moderately on hole #10 and is definitely in play on hole #18. On 18, I envision most RHBH players throwing big hyzers out over the dog park intending to fade back into the fairway... which may or may not happen. Unfortunately, this is dangerous to unsuspecting dog park users. Lastly, the course easily favors RHBH throwers with only hole #15 being an obviously lefty-friendly hole vs. holes #2, #5, #6, and #12 as obvious righty-friendly holes. Many of the other straighter shots have better lines for RHBH.

Other Thoughts:

Be wary of throwing in the rough on #5 & 6 the poison ivy and thorns are unbelievable! Overall Jenkins was a fun course to play, though not a destination course. You're better off playing the course at non-peak park-going times to avoid pedestrian interference. Also, kudos to the Baytown P&R folks to reaching out to the DG community for input on the course before blindly installing it.

Update:
The Baytown P&R folks have cleared all the [thorny] brush from the area of holes #14-16! While this gives the park and course a much nicer look and is a welcome addition it does make these holes easier than they originally were.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
cwh4soc
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Good Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Multiple shots, elevated baskets, concrete tees, benches though out the course

Cons:

Not very many, front 9 offers nice skilled shots, and the back is more open. From the large parking lot, you can play either the front or back 9 as they both start and end from basically the same spot.

Other Thoughts:

Quality course in Baytown
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
cjt613
Experience: 21 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

First off, i'd like to say how i'm excited to have a course in Baytown!!! I can now play often with a short drive to get to the course.

The course was a lot of fun and I can't wait to play it more.

Definitely had to use a lot of my bag on this course...lot's of variety.

I was able to navigate the course very easily without the t signs being put up yet.

Baskets are great and installed nicely!

Cons:

The back 9 wore me out a bit with the long wide open shots but still fun.

Not much shade for a lot of the course, especially the last half. Bring water and stay hydrated...gets a little toasty.

Other Thoughts:

Looking forward to seeing the sport grow in Baytown and the surrounding areas.

The front 9 plays around the park area so be careful of walkers and other park goers as they get use to the new activity.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
griff17
Experience: 16.1 years 69 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great concrete tee pads, new innova "28"baskets, good mix of holes, risk/reward-path ob's on the front 9 mk you think about your shots. Back 9 offers a different style of play, 5 of 9 holes over 400 , but with similar risk/reward. Fun course.

Cons:

Back 9 is more open , but course was designed with new growth trees in mind .

Other Thoughts:

I try not to be biased, as I offered design input on this course. I can give some insight into the design process . The front 9 landscape lent itself easily for a fun, moderately wooded, "park golf" design . Back
9 is different in landscape, more open, and lent itself to a bigger arm style of play . 5 of the back 9 holes are over 400 with hole 13 being 750ft, it was designed with new growth trees In mind to shape a great 60-70 dt wide fairway in the future. Holes 15 -16 are just over 300 and offer hazards in the form of thick shrubs/trees . Well placed shots provide a birdie chance , while errant can be punished . Hole 17 offers 3 distinct options off the tee , lefty or righty safe play hyzer , or the big turnover or hyzer flip center gap (much tighter) that Players would have to thread to reach the pin for a two. I'd encourage players to think thru some of the obvious hyzer lines ,as they may be "sucker bets". My last thoughts , fun course , good mix, great course for turny play and will get better when the trees grow in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 299 played 209 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 12, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays on a huge piece of land in a multi use park in the middle of the city of Baytown. The concrete tees are some of the best around and the baskets are brand new and very nice; they are cemented into the ground and two of the tees are elevated.

Even with a lack of tee signs (which should be here soon) navigation was not an issue. Most, if not all, of the teepads were near the previous basket.

The course has some interesting shots. Shots that involve throwing over fences or throwing over a creek. #8 was the shortest hole on the course but comes to mind as the basket is interestingly place in between two tight trees.

The course has a good variety of shots. The first nine being shorter and a tad tighter while the back nine are much longer and much more wide open, think 750 ft a number that you will not find anywhere in Houston besides Tom Bass Park. There is a little something for everyone.

Cons:

The back nine killed this course for me. Long holes are fine. However, five long holes in a row with little to no obstacles can suck the fun factor out of the course pretty quickly. #13, which is the long hole, is a fine hole but #14,#15,#17,#18 are all ~450ft and wide open. Where is the fun to that?

A couple of the holes in the front nine played very close to the playground and other activities at the park. Because disc golf is a new scene at the park many park patrons will not be aware for a while about what disc golf is.

Other Thoughts:

I'm glad this side of town got a course because there really was nothing over here. This is a good course but not a great one. The park has a TON of space which is probably why there are such long holes. This would be a great place to hold a tournament and a good place to play a few times a month.

Bring water. With the lack of shade, the sun can be quite hot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top