• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Buxton, OR

L.L. Stub Stewart SP - Hares Canyon

3.655(based on 26 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

L.L. Stub Stewart SP - Hares Canyon reviews

Filter
10 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.1 years 1058 played 627 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 11, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

L.L. Stub Stewart - Hare's Canyon is the main, 18 hole course in the park and man is it a good one. The terrain is very hilly and it's extremely wooded on each and every hole. One of the single most beautiful courses I've ever had the chance to play. It feels like you're in a different world when you're out here. Stunning doesn't even describe the experience you'll get playing out here.

Single brick tee pads on each hole. These are decent sized and have good grip to them. I liked these and didn't have any issues with them.

The baskets are mostly the orange banded Discatchers like they have on the putter course. There were a couple newer yellow banded ones too. Either way, all were in great shape and caught great. There's two pin positions on every hole. If not every hole, almost every one. There were mixed on the day we played, some in longs, some in shorts.

The elevation is pretty crazy out here. You don't notice it so much toward the beginning but you certainly will by the end. Lots of awesome up and downhill shots to had out here. The course plays pretty evenly between FH and BH favorable shots off the tee. If anything it felt a little more FH friendly. Either way, there's lots of different shot shapes required out here.

This is my favorite kind of golf. Accuracy is your number one asset out here. Being off the fairway can be anywhere from slightly annoying to disastrous. You don't need huge distance to score here, you need precision.

The tee signs are nicely done. All the info you can ask for with these. All the basics like a hole map, hole #, pars and distances to either pin placement. In addition to that have the elevation loss or gain to either pin and a next tee arrow. Excellent job with these things. These are all mounted on a tree stump cut on a sharp angle too, which just looks great and fits the vibe of the course.

Cons:

My number one con out here is the relentless rough. The fairways are fair for the most part off the ground. The thing is landing in what should be the ideal spot may end up in a lost disc or at the very least lots of wandering around looking for a perfect shot. It's actually borderline incredible that neither me nor my wife lost one today. We only seen two other players out there today, and we caught up to both of them searching for discs in the rough.

A few of the gaps off the tee are almost poke and hope types of holes. A few trees could be removed to open these lines up a little more. Unfortunately it sounds like a LOT more trees are going to be removed in a few weeks. Hopefully this doesn't take this con and flip it around the other way too badly.

The course doesn't loop back to the parking lot at any point so make sure you enough liquids, snacks and anything else you may need.

Not the easiest course to navigate without a map. It's doable but there are a few longer, not so obvious transitions here. Even with a map the reception is pretty bad towards the bottom section and it's a little tricky to find your way around.

Other Thoughts:

This course was everything I was hoping for it to be. Just my kind of course. I ended up playing it on the safer side due to not wanting to lose all my discs on day 2 out of 12. If anything I just wish I'd played here right before flying home so I could just let it rip. This course is one of those love it or hate it ones. Personally, I loved it. If heavily wooded, hilly courses are your thing this one will be something out of a dream. If you like throwing far and at nothing, this one will be a nightmare. Just know what you're getting into. Must play course in my mind. Hell the drive in alone is worth it. If you get a chance, do yourself a favor and play this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
rkopald
Experience: 23.5 years 11 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Excellent, technical, beautiful 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 12, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Extremely fun and challenging course in an outstanding, gorgeous setting with the sound of the wind through the pines and discs bonking off of trees. Very fun and varied holes of all lengths. Rewards all skill levels with effort. Not hot in the summer, and often feels empty even with other people on the course. Dogs love it here.

Cons:

None.

Other Thoughts:

What a jewel of a course in a State Park.
Whoever designed this did an outstanding job and the construction crews did some amazing work. Almost all of the sightlines are clear, and most of the circles around the basket are cleared of all obstacles. Accuracy is your greatest asset here. A driver is very rarely needed.
Although this is all in the woods, it is amazing to play. Oddly, thanks to all the trees, it's possible to play here in the middle of a snowstorm, a moderate to heavy rain and in hot weather.
The location is absolutely beautiful. The view from the parking lot is incredible. I see far more mountain bikers here than disc golfers! You will probably lose discs here, but if you have a lot of time they can eventually be found.
At the right time of year, and in the right light, when you hit your approach shot, you will swear you ended up in a Peter Jackson movie set. It's very dramatic after a rainstorm with a beam of light shining on the basket in a clearing in the woods.
Love this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Nate32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.9 years 75 played 60 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

One of two courses on a beautiful piece of land is Hares Canyon. This course plays through a gorgeous forest side winding its way through a canyon. One thing I love about this course is how it is really never very crowded and it makes for just a perfect time to play disc golf in the woods.

The first three holes play down the hill before you start going into the canyon. I find it helps to keep some stable discs in your bag due to tight lines.

Hares Canyon offers great tee signs which do come in handy. Course is well marked
If you are playing for the first time like I it might take a while since some of the baskets are blind.

Hole 7 is probably one of my favorites on the course because you play down into a nice grass patch where the basket is placed so perfectly. One of the great things about Lil Stub is its a great 9 warmup course for Hares Canyon since they are similar in terms of style and technicality. Hares Canyon is longer and harder.

-Since the photos were taken from this course back in 2017 the course has definitely made some improvement. Playing this course on a misty morning also makes for some fun shots.

The back nine is definitely harder than the front nine. Holes 12-16 are pretty hard and have some very tight lines. Hole 12 is one of those holes where you kind of shoot and hope you don't hit a tree. Truly a very hard line to hit.

Cons:

If you are truly starting out for one of your first rounds of disc golf I would recommend the Lil Stub the adjacent course to Hares Canyon. Most of the holes on Hares Canyon have very tight lines and can be very challenging for beginners.

There are a lot and maybe too many trees on this course. If you miss the fairway on most holes it can be challenging to recover.

Other Thoughts:

The two courses at L.L. Stub Stewart Park are both fantastic. I recommend going on a warm weekend because playing in the rain is not a super great idea. I have yet to play this course in the summer time but I'm sure it will be just as beautiful as it is in the winter time.

I did both courses in on a Tuesday and I never ran into any large groups. It might be a bit more crowded on a weekend but it shouldn't be that bad in the wintertime.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Pierparknut
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.1 years 90 played 87 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

-What an amazing course. It plays through a gorgeous forested hillside near the top of the L.L. Stub Stewart State Park.

-The layout is exceptional. Holes are not crowded together or too far apart. For such a densely wooded course, I expected to follow a map, but that wasn't necessary at all.

-Standout holes were #7, a stunning downhill 320' shot to a grassy clearing, and #16, an arrow-straight, slightly downhill tunnel shot.

-The course gets progressively more challenging. The front nine is all par 3 with several birdie opportunities. The back nine features five par fours and several holes which are tremendously challenging in the long pin position. I believe if the course were set up in all Long positions, even par would be 1000+ rated.

-The technical skills required here are unmatched in most other area courses. 13-speed Drivers are not necessary; proficiency with putters, midranges, and a straight-flying fairway driver are crucial. Clean, un-obstructed putts are exceptions.

-Lines are tight but fair. I only found one hole (5th) to have no realistic line.

-It is clear tremendous work and care is put into this course. Terraced steps on some of the steeper holes, well-defined fairways, fantastic tees, signs, and Innova baskets with two placements per hole are all the little touches that make this such a wonderful venue. It's nicely broken in, but given the remote location, not overplayed.

-Winter course conditions were excellent given the tremendous rain lately.

Cons:

-Absolutely not a beginner-friendly course. The adjacent 9-hole short course is a great option for new players.

-The course plays through a beautiful, mature forest. However, it is a second-growth forest, so all of the trees are approximately the same age. It's a shame this piece of land didn't retain some majestic, old-growth Douglas firs, which would make the course truly special.

Other Thoughts:

-Lost discs were not as big of an issue as I was expecting after reading other reviews. There are only a small handful of blind shots, and the woods are thick enough that shots over 300' are infrequent. Also, there are only a couple of holes with steep ravines or thick undergrowth. Sword ferns are the greatest disc concealer here. I did play in winter, though.

-Not too many places can you stroll through a woods as pristine at these and hit some chains along the way. Whether it be sunshine or a misty rain filtering through the tree tops, the beauty of the place is incredible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
creeddude98
Experience: 6 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Challenging! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 4, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Tee pads are made of brick and are solid, firm grip. Each tee pad has a map of the hole with distance information.

Cons:

The entire course is covered in dense ground foliage that makes it very hard to find your discs if playing alone. You really need a spotter. I have lost a few discs at this course. Hole 13 at the time of this writing has a ton of debris from the recent ice storm in early 2021. Don't overshoot the basket as other side is steep drop off. Extremely hilly in some places. Hole 14 easy to loose discs as right side is fairway is a steep cliff.

Other Thoughts:

I am giving this course a 4 rating, which I would give a 5 if discs didn't get lost so easily in the underbrush. But don't let that scare you. Read on and judge the entire course with an open mind.

The first 3 holes are fairly level with some underbrush, which is pretty common throughout the entire course. Holes 4 through 6 are pretty steep hills, hole 7 is down hill to an open area where the basket is. Just don't get confused with hole 7 and 8. The course loops back next to hole 7 fairway for hole 8, which can be easy to get disoriented and mistakenly shoot the wrong hole. Also be cautious of other players in this area as a drifting disc might hit someone.

Holes 8 through 11 are very hilly and steep. Easy to loose footing and take a tumble. Some areas have steps to make it easier to navigate the steep terrain.

Hole 12 is a delight. A great place to get a super distance shot, assuming you can make it through the trees without hitting them. The basket is on a sweeping blind curve to the right over a shallow gulch. My favorite hole on the entire course.

Hole 13 through 16 are very hilly and very dense in foliage, making it very difficult to find your discs. Hole 17 is more flat, but very dense foliage. Hole 18 is similar to hole 12, but straight shot to the basket, instead of curved like 12. Basket is at the top of the hill, but relative position from the tee pad is only like 20 - 30' climb to the basket. The shot however is over a shallow gulch. Trees make it difficult to get a clean shot.

Be prepared for a good hike. Wear solid hiking boots in this course and probably wearing jeans would be a good idea since 90% of your time in this course will be traversing through knee high deep foliage searching for your disc. In spite of the cons with this course, I really enjoy the course and will return over and over again. It will make you a much better player for sure!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
puaahunter
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 45 played 37 reviews
3.00 star(s)

All the trees. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Solid baskets. Very challenging. Good signage. Decent brick tee pads. Great use of elevation!

Cons:

Many of these holes were blind. With multiple positions, the signage was near useless. Playing the course for the first time, we had to walk down the fairways to see the baskets. There are SO. MANY. TREES. Perhaps too many trees?

Other Thoughts:

This is a very enjoyable destination course for intermediate and advanced disc golfers. Coming here and staying at the state park to play the great disc golf courses in the area is a great call. If this was my home course, I don't know if I would be a disc golfer. You'd spent so much time searching for your disc when it kicks off trees; it would be very discouraging for a beginner. Even the 9-hole course here looks super challenging. Not beginner friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 14, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is beautiful with just an amazing feel of nature. Good mix of forehand/backhand holes. Has you throwing different shots. Nice new tee signs showing distance and par! Good mix of par 3s and 4s, as well as distances. Pretty easy navigation for most part. The course keeps getting better and is becoming a top level course

Cons:

The ferns can eat disc might reccomend spotter for Some of the holes, mainly the back nine have kind of a throw and hope feeling, as you're playing down walking paths. The par 4s make it more realistic but still tight. There are lines just very very very tight. Plays on horse trails and will run into occasional horse poop. Also next to mountain bike trails so watch for mt bikers.

Other Thoughts:

It's at the top of LL park and you can choose to go left to the mini for warmup before this course. Overall phenomenal place to play
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
ODRB
Premium Member
Experience: 16.1 years 195 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Kirkke's review is spot on. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 24, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Just see Kirkke's review.

I'm only adding because the course has apparently come a LONG way since the early bad reviews (and a long way even over the last few years, when I have played it very sporadically).

It deserves better than it's dragged-down-by-early-reviews rating.

Cons:

Just know what you are getting into: it is tight and technical.

Other Thoughts:

Unique among Portland area courses for it's tight technicality without a single hole to air one out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Kirkke
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

a fantastic course for the experienced disc golfer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 23, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is an absolutely picturesque course as you are literally disc golfing on a forest hiking trail. The entire 18 holes are completely in the woods which was really great for keeping us out of the elements such as the sun and wind on this hot day. Mature trees line the narrow yet very distinct fairways. Low limbs were cleared so low ceilings weren't a factor. I really appreciated the technical aspect of the course which rewards you for playing safe and smart. Being able to throw both backhand and sidearm comes in handy for hitting your lines here. The course was simple to navigate, signage and benches at every tee, and was in overall in great condition.

Cons:

There was a fair amount of loose debris (fallen branches) laying on and around the fairways on several holes... quite a big task for how many trees there are here.

Other Thoughts:

This course is designed to challenge the experienced disc golfer. It is on a sloped hillside, pretty steep is some areas. Naturally, there is a significant amount of elevation change from hole to hole. You will want to plan to leave the strollers and carts behind and use your backpacks.

There were quite a few ferns on some holes which contribute to making the course very scenic, but also can make locating your disc challenging. If you are not playing solo, having a spotter is really helpful for many of these holes.

The course was really quiet for being a Sunday afternoon. We saw only one other disc golfer and only once or twice did we hear some nearby hikers as there is a separate hiking trail that crosses through the area.

The Portland area has plenty of open courses which makes this course a nice change of pace. It truly was a real treat to play and I can't wait to get back!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
longandwrong
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.4 years 59 played 39 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Unreal! Super control/technical course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course makes you rise up and play your "A" game or you will not score well.Very tight and narrow fairways totally dwarffed by forest of trees on both sides...you can find the 'local'
route on many holes and that helps the score if you can miss that one tree...you know the one you need to slide by just barely.
I enjoyed the challenge.

Cons:

Cons...check out the review written by 'ChasinChains503" For a beginner or just a casual player his review should suggest that playing somewhere else would be more fun., There where 3 of us...one advanced, one intermediate, one beginner and we had a good time...had to come out of the trees many times. One hole 13 has a big canyon on the right...a big one and you probably will see your disk way down there. It's a hike, we found out!

Other Thoughts:

If your in the Buxton area...play this course in the morning then go play Buxton Woods in the afternoon or the other say around. Both provided great challenges and entertainment for the three of us.
If you consider yourself a player...come on a give it a chance. Worth it.,
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 20
Chasinchains503
Experience: 11.2 years 29 played 4 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Unrealistic 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 23, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

-course is located in a beautiful park, very scenic
-not a crowded park at all
-multiple pin locations
-benches at every hole

Not a lot of "pros" I can say for this course besides what is listed

Cons:

- tee pads were almost completely covered with debris (granted I know there was just a pretty big wind storm the past weeks)
- tee signs had fallen giving no direction
- no garbage bins at holes leads to trash floating around the course
- fairways are more like trails giving you only 5-8 feet of good landing space
- if you don't land in the fairway, you are searching for your disc for a couple of minutes before locating it (I would definitely recommend a spotter if you don't want to spend hours searching)
- this course seems that it was just placed in the middle of a trailhead. Although we didn't come across anyone since it was early in the morning, I can imagine there is some potential of hitting someone along the trail
- course is far too dense with trees and ferns to be able to play and have fun. You will hit a tree and it will more than likely ricochet and be hidden by the ferns
- the "pro" position baskets are in unrealistic locations for par 3. You can't see the basket until you walk halfway down the "fairway" at most of the holes.

Other Thoughts:

I would never play this course again. It is far too dense with trees to hit on every hole and with ferns to bury your disc even if you don't hit a tree.

If you're thinking of making the drive to this park from PDX area I would keep in mind that Hornings is closer and you would probably have a lot more fun there. If you do wind up going to stub, also keep in mind that if you don't like it, Hornings isn't too far back towards PDX ;)

I understand that this is supposed to be a very technical course with lots of trees but I just feel that the location of these holes are to unrealistic to maintain par. My buddy has played this course when they were in the AM locations and he said that were more obtainable to get par with. Hopefully he is right and if any of you are to go there then the positions would be in the AM locations.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
ezbake
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

ONCE was enough 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

nice tight technical course. lots of birdie opportunities if you just stay out of the trees. great place to play on a hot day and you wanna be in the shade. bright orange baskets are helpful with not so visible teesigns and lack of next tee signage. great place to just work on your mid/putter game

Cons:

teepads are nice but petite, after you roll off the edge of a few of them you find yourself wondering how much more would one more row of bricks cost on these?😝 no footage on signs and i could see getting a lil lost on your first time with no next tee signs.

Other Thoughts:

gets a lil repetitive feeling, uphill to the right, downhill to the left, repeat. also for such a short course its some serious hiking. kinda kicks your butt, but for not very much of a payoff. its clean and pretty and shady and kinda tough....but overall underwhelming compared to nearby courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Ocelotl
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.8 years 40 played 18 reviews
4.00 star(s)

In the woods 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 25, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Im going to preface this review with- I am a sub 900 rated player who throws 300-320 in a flat open field. This place really challenges my accuracy and disc selection, while forcing me to constantly choose between maybe going for glory/disaster and simply playing it smart.

-Scenic, set along a ridge in a state park every hole plays along tree/fern lined fairways, not one whole is visually boring. And LL Stub offers great views and spots to picnic before/after rounds.

-Variety/Difficulty- while some of the short positions are not that challenging, when placed in the longs the shots that the holes ask me to shape really stretch my skill set, a solid forehand and backhand both come into play.

-Facilities, day use parking area offers nice restrooms/water fountain, cut-tree benches on every pad, paver pads are all fairly flat large enough for short run-ups.

-General Navigation, while the individual holes have some nav issues (see cons) their are extremely clear trails in between each hole, with usefull "next hole" sign posts at some trail intersections.

-Placement shots, due to lacking a spectacular RHFH I find myself really relying on accurate BH placement shots with this course, challenging my ability to really judge distance and slopes. I love courses that force me to try something new.

-Location, you feel extremely isolated but you are only 45min outside of central portland, a must visit if you are in PDX with a car and half a day to kill.

-Exercise, Most of the holes play down from elevation or back up the hills, while not a hugely long course its a work out for sure.

Cons:

-Hole navigation on the back 9. Like I said before it is very easy to find your way in between holes, but due to the back 9 lacking signs on the tee posts and with a number of blind holes I find myself wandering 3/4 of the way down fairways to check on where the pin is.

-While part of the charm the ferns and underbrush are serious disc eaters here, multiple cardmates/ a spotter are a must as a shot catching a nasty tree kick can quickly become lost.

Other Thoughts:

With full signs at each tee I would probably give this a 4.5/5.

The lack of any truly wide open holes doesn't bother me but if they are your thing, this isnt the place for you.

For a number of holes, 13/14 in particular, if you haven't played the hole scout it out before running upshots at the baskets, that hill is STEEP and any shot going over the edge is lost unless you are a sherpa.

One last thought, I would love to play here with someone that can really crush an accurate RHFH flex shot, for a number of the holes in longs I can see that that is probably the way to go but dont have the skill yet to make it happen!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Rugball
Experience: 13.2 years 10 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Bring supplies 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent use of the hillside terrain in a beautiful Oregon forest. Nice pavers for the teepads even though they were all fairly short. There was a carved log bench (or two) at every hole. I appreciated the orange rim at the top of every basket and the drop-boxes for found discs at #1 and #10.

Cons:

Unlike the previous reviewer's experience, there were only hole diagrams, no marker writing with distances that I could see. And there were only hole diagrams for the first nine holes. That meant I had to hike half the trail on the back nine to attempt to get an idea of where the baskets might be. But several holes had baskets tucked away and not visible to one side or the other, like #17. I threw a nice anny following the pathway, only to get to my disc and realize that the basket was well to the left.

Not a true con, but there are no trash bins one the course or at the Hilltop park where you leave your car. Pack it in and pack it out. There's a central trash area near the park entrance for the campers to use.

Other Thoughts:

Don't forget to bring $5 for the park fee unless you have the OR forest pass. I don't mind paying a few bucks if it means you'll have a well-maintained course to enjoy. This is a tough technical course, but there's a few shorter holes and I picked up a few birdies here and there. Don't expect any real opportunities to air out shots. Be sure to have control over your midrange discs because you'll be throwing those for sure. I played solo, so I didn't dare throw a driver on the few longer holes. I didn't lose a single disc and didn't have to waste a lot of time bushwacking either. Keep in mind that the undergrowth is pretty lush before you try to bomb a hole.

Finding the course is super easy, but it is *MILES* from anything. Bring any supplies you need for the day and enjoy the serene beauty of the park. Even better, bring your bike for a post-round ride because there are miles of trails here, some paved and rougher ones.

PS - There's a ton of RV/camper sites at the park, so it would be a great roadtrip course if you like to RV. I didn't see any tent sites so I'm almost sure it's RV/camper only. Check their website for more info.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 1
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Super Intermediate Course In A Beautiful Oregon State Park! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

I'm not sure which is better at L.L. Stub Stewart State Park's Disc Golf Course, the amenities, which are among the top 5% of the courses I've played or the lovely, sloping piece of Oregon forest land on which this course is built.

Start with the terrain. It's the quintessential piece of beautiful Oregon forest. Once you get 100 feet from parking lot, you feel like you're alone in the wilderness. The course was built along this sloping property with it's many horse and hiking trails. I doubt if you'll encounter any hikers or horses. The underbrush is naturally thick in places. The sword ferns are especially good hiding places for discs. Although I played this course SOLO, I highly recommend playing it with someone or in a group to maximize the enjoyment factor. There are a couple of holes , # 3 in particular, where an errant hyser can sail quite a ways downhill. I chose to skip that particular hole playing by myself, having no-one up ahead to help spot.

Everything here has been so well planned out and designed. You're impressed when you step up to the # 1 tee box with pavers and the basic tee signs. Someone used a Sharpie and neatly wrote the distance and Par on all of the tee sign posts. I really appreciated this information. There is a kiosk at the start as well as a disc return box. Almost every hole has a nice bench to rest your weary legs on. These too are much appreciated as this course is a hike indeed.

Each hole has two basket positions Red/Blue and the baskets have a bright Orange rims making them easy to spot in these seas of green.

The course is a technical wooded course. There are no "Open" holes to let loose on. Having said that, I found the distance just long enough on most holes to add to the difficulty, especially coupled with tight fairways, ever-changing elevation and sometimes treacherous rough.

The greens around the baskets were bordered with smaller logs and then filled with wood chips to keep them from getting so muddy during the wet weather.

# 10 was a 330' Par 4 uphill shot but the basket was in such a cool little landing area that I had to love the hole.

# 13 was another lovely, interesting hole. It was an anhyser throw where the fairway just kept turning to the right.

Cons:

I could find almost no cons with this course. It's so lovely and so well designed and maintained. I found one bottle and one can and carried them out.

I did not like the long or Blue basket placement for # 10, I think ?. It's a great downhill throw to the shorter basket placement which would be visible from the tee. But the long position seemed like an afterthought. It was stuck back in the woods another 60 feet or so with no line or fairway leading to it. Just didn't care for it.

It's not quite going to challenge the advanced to pro player but I gotta believe they'd enjoy the hell out of it.

Other Thoughts:

I would love to see simple bag holders attached to tee poles here. It would be nice to keep your bag off the ground on those wet Oregon days.

My other words of wisdom for golfers here. There are quite a few stinging nettles here. Remember that the Indians along time ago discovered that the Brachen ferns are a natural remedy to take the sting out of nettles. Brachen Ferns are the slightly smaller, green, more delicate looking ferns than the heavier, dark green sword ferns. Brachen ferns look more like the houseplant variety. Just break a leaf off the Brachen fern and rub it on the infected area and it will help ease the stinging effects.

If you haven't made the trek out to L.L. Stub Stewart State Park, I would encourage you to do so. It's a wonderful, enjoyable way to spend some time in this beautiful forest environment flinging discs! And it's just kinda fun saying the name.....L.L. Stub Stewart State Park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Spectralmonkey
Experience: 12.8 years 186 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

first impressions 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 7, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

amazing hike through the woods
easy navigation... obvious paths
quality baskets
challenging and a nice variety
well cleared out (compared to the past or so im told)
benches at almost every hole if not all...

Cons:

tricky as hell
short teepads that sometimes back up against hills or trees making a full run up harder.
some tees in the back nine missing signs (but the writings on the poles helped....
spotters required for some holes, also some blind holes that require a walk out view...
no trash pack it in pack it out means that lazy people leave trash behind

Other Thoughts:

one of the most challenging courses in the area
worth the trip from portland
comparable to not much else around due to elevation and technical shot shaping requirements

a wicked course not to miss... i wish i played it sooner! gorgeous forest setting and nobody else out there on a beautiful day !
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 570 played 284 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Intermediate/Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a very large state park, which has a ton of land dedicated to the disc golf. There are some horse trails by some of the holes, but there shouldn't be too much interference. As every sign here points out - it is a trail based course! Follow the path to where your disc landed, and walk perpendicular through the rough!
- Entire layout is set in the woods, which means there is a whole lot of line shaping going on. Very few opportunities to relax. #1 and #2 are probably as easy as it gets, with fairly straight lines that aren't too tight. A ton of other holes are pretty narrow with hyzers/anhyzers to get around some corners and through some tight gaps. Holes like #8, #15, and #16 are especially narrow; accuracy is a MUST.
- Good balance and variety of lines here, they are not all simple hyzers or annys. #12 and #13 are sweeping doglegs right, with #12 almost a u-turn from start to finish. A bunch of holes work well with a RHFH anny shot; the hyzer lines are there but the curvature is well suited to the s-curve. Also a good amount of straight-up RHFH flicks or RHBH annys. Also some tricky straight shots that don't give much room for error.
- There are a lot of trees here, all over, from start to finish. Errant shots can be kicked deep into the woods, usually into dense tree jail. Getting par is tricky enough, saving par after a tough shot can be nearly impossible.
- Elevation changes are ever present here, starting with #3. It really makes the course; on flat land it'd be interesting, instead it is very tricky. #4 is a steep downhill shot through the woods, and #7 and #11 have a decent downslope. Fun stuff. #6 and #10 are not so fun, playing tight uphill shots. The long pins are especially tough to reach.
- Long pins make a big difference where present, adding significant length and challenge. Many were still in the works when I played there, but it was obvious what the shot would be.
- Good baskets and teepads; the amenities will be awesome when complete. Great benches and other man-made structures to make the course top-notch when complete. Tee signs also a work in progress, but navigation is still pretty easy.

Cons:

- While I will never complain about all the holes being located in the woods, there are indeed very few open shots to let 'em rip. Not a con in my book, but some might not like it.

Other Thoughts:

- Kind of tough to come up with cons for this course; it is what it is. Lots of tight, tricky lines in the woods, good variety of holes lengths, with good and decent elevation changes here and there. If you like that, then awesome! If not, then too bad! There aren't many epic holes but it is solid from start to finish.
- Best suited for intermediate or better players; way too many trees for a beginner to have a good time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
AceAtHornings
Experience: 12.2 years 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Stub Stewart is in my top 3 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Stub Stewart has almost all the things I look for in a DG course...quiet/scenic setting, course is maintained and easy to navigate, provides some challenging holes and it's very likely you'll leave with the same number of discs you started with! This course is not perfect, but it has the overall package that works for me.

Cons:

Everytime I play at Stub Stewart, I usually have to comb through the foliage a few times to find my disc. The "fairways" are very narrow...they're basically trails.

Other Thoughts:

This course is one of my top 3 favorites.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 5
JHern
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17 years 82 played 50 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A Rough Draft of a Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Oregon country west of Portland is a pretty place, with rolling hills covered by a patchwork matrix of young trees of different ages/heights painted on different portions of the landscape. It is almost always cloudy, and rains a lot, but very green and lush as a result.

The creators of this course appear to have had a mostly blank slate to work with in a fairly young (60-ish years?) forest of almost 100% fir trees (a few juvenile hardwood stands can be found here and there). They carved out a network of trails through the fir trees in the usual way, and left the stumps in the walking paths (presumably to mitigate erosion), and called it "trail-based disc golf."

I love this concept, and I think it has a lot of potential. Some of the holes on this course (particularly the back 9) will eventually become very fun and challenging, and you can get a preview of this while playing out there in the next few years.

This is generally a fun place to spend a day, there are nice park amenities near the 1st tee, a bathroom, bbq pits, etc.. Walking the course is not a problem, just a short hike around a hillside area.

Cons:

The edges of the tee pads dangerous and slippery when wet! Watch out! They are bordered by some sort of treated wood or synthetic plastic wood that is very smooth. I highly recommend that you don't put your plant foot too close to the front of the pad...you could seriously break your head open.

The front 9 were all set up extremely short. It was really unpleasant to play this way, because the short positions are like 100' off the tee! And it was relentless, we kept coming to the next tee hoping to find it set up longer, just to be disappointed again and again and again. It made these holes into essentially narrow and short upshots down the trail. But I'm not sure that if they were all set in the longer positions that I'd be any more satisfied, since the posts marking the long positions were only typically 50 or so feet further back than the short. There is absolutely no question that the front 9 are way too short. The designers might be able to add longer positions over time, but until they do this is the very definition of "putt putt" disc golf.

The back 9 have enormous potential for great holes, but the way the fairways are cut (elbows, semi-circles, doglegs, etc.) requires shots to be thrown higher with some air under them to work the necessary lines. However, the shaded (leafless) branches of the fir trees are left poking out into the fairways above 15' off the ground, making it a total crap shoot to throw a disc on higher routes through the fairways. This must be mitigated before this part of the course can be considered ready to play.

While this might just be a consequence of trail-based disc golf, there are rarely options to throw different routes to the basket, or to decide to take more risky shots but for more potential reward. Typically, there is only one path, and the course designers already decided it for you. What is lost is the calculus of risk-vs-reward that is so essential to the idea of golf in general (particularly at the competitive level).

The signage on the course is in progress, but it would be really helpful if there were some sort of distance scale or something on the tee signs. Maybe the pin locations could be listed, along with their distances off the tee.

Other Thoughts:

During the second round I decided to try and score well on the back 9 just to see how I could do (the 1st round was experimentation). Considering every hole to be par 3, I ended up with 5 pars, 3 bogeys, and 1 birdie (hole 18). It was pretty tough, considering my putting game was pretty strong during that round. I decided that quite a few of the back 9 holes have no chance for getting your drive to the pin for an inside-the-circle birdie. Mostly any birdies will be hitting longer approach shots (around 60'). On the other hand, I can pick up 7-8 birdies on the front 9, so scoring under par over all 18 is relatively easy (but only for this reason).

If I lived out in this area, I would gladly pitch in to the effort of further developing this course. There is still a ton of debris to be cleared (can it be mulched and spread on the trails?). On some of the holes and paths I can already foresee that erosion might eventually become a serious problem on portions of the course, and perhaps retaining walls and more stairs will need to be built.

Over all, if you've played all the other great courses in the region, and you're looking for something fresh, then come play this course. Otherwise, don't waste your time just yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Hector Chain
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 222 played 191 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The new kid in town 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

You'll arrive in a parking lot with a beautiful vista of the countryside below. Say goodbye because this course is entirely wooded and has a different kind of scenery that is no less impressive.

The course forces some throws through some narrow alleys of tall pines. The shorter holes are not difficult to par, but it can be difficult to get aggressive on the longer ones without punishment.

The bright orange baskets show up very well against the green background, although they are not always visible from the basket. Tee pads are good, too. They were some sort of brick, and traction didn't seem to be an issue (it wasn't wet when I was there, though).

I don't think navigation was a big problem here once you got started. The hiking paths are obvious. This looks like the kind of place you'd have a field trip in grade school. This is a much better use of the land. But maybe you'd better bring a brown bag lunch just in case.

There is some great elevation changes here, but with the ferns there weren't a ton of rollaways, which was nice. If you like technical courses that require accuracy more than sheer distance (and I do), this is your place.

Cons:

Losing a disc here is more likely than at any of the other Oregon courses I played. The undergrowth is mostly just ferns, but it's thick. Unfortunately a few holes make losing a disc more likely. I thought #3 in particular was a poor design, forcing a long drive where any ricochet off a tree ensures a long search on the steep slope below (the hole was at least 500 feet long with no landing zones). On that note, the fairways here are just hiking paths. There are no landing areas. Bring your bright colored discs.

The tee signs are not great, just painted strips along wooden posts that have very little information.

Lastly, this course doesn't have much variety. Look at the pictures online and you'll see what I mean. That said, if you're going to have a lack of variety, this is a heck of place to have it!

Other Thoughts:

At one point I threw a shot that stayed on the fairway but collided with a dead branch on a tree and knocked it to the ground. A guy in the group we were playing through commented that that is going to need to happen a lot, and I realized that was part of the issue: the course just isn't worn in yet. Eventually those ticky tack deflecting branches won't be a part of the fairway, the piles of deadwood will have been removed, and the course will have found the balance between heavy undergrowth and heavy foot traffic.

If you want a good perspective on the course, check out this piece done by a local news crew while I was out there. Shameless self-promotion: that's me sinking the putt around 4:19. They were gracious enough to edit out some of my awful shots!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ayer_embedded#at=200
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top