• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Romeoville, IL

Lewis University DGC

Permanent course
2.535(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Lewis University DGC reviews

Filter
9 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19 years 265 played 254 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not. a. Fan.

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

- navigation is mostly clear, although going down the walking path between 5 and 6 isn't obvious
- numbers on baskets
- fairways are mown and maintained
- some very good elevation change on a few of the holes

Cons:

- high grasses are a nightmare for finding discs
- very basic tee signs, and are somewhat yellowed due to age
- rough is very unforgiving
- tee for 6 shared with walking path
- safety hazards, such as holes 2 and 6 fairways crossing each other
- natural tees
- no real amenities (practice basket, bathrooms, etc.)

Other Thoughts:

I was not a fan of this course at all. Giving is a 2 was generous, in my opinion. This is clearly a polarizing course. Some people love it. Generally, any tall grass course like this I think is so frustrating it's not worth it, but to each their own. There are some redeeming qualities here, such as some cool elevation change - particularly on hole 6 which throws over a ravine of sorts.

Finding the course is a bit of a challenge. Like many college campuses, there are parking lots everywhere, but once you find the right one the course sign is right there (with "disk golf" on it, seriously?). Navigation was mostly manageable, and with some of the holes being pretty open, numbers on the baskets help. However, there are definite safety hazards here with some fairways crossing and some backtracking as you walk the course. It was dead when I was here, and I suspect that is the normal state, but be aware if anyone else is playing at the same time as you.

The course is definitely challenging, but it's the kind of challenging I just find a headache. I don't think anyone enjoys 15 minutes of searching for a disc because it went 5 feet off the fairway. The fairways are pretty unforgiving and finding your disc in the grass is brutal. I'm all for a challenge but this is not what I find enjoyable. The uphill and downhill shots are a good kind of challenge, though, and the course ends with some steep uphill shots that most people will find a bit unusual.

The baskets were in good shape, and the tee signs had rudimentary maps, although the age of this course is showing. They do keep it pretty well maintained, but I think there are way better courses around and wouldn't plan to return here. As others have noted, this is probably used more by college students than any others. For this audience, a more open/basic course seems like it would have been better. The elevation change is cool/good, but the high grasses and challenging disc hunts/safety issues don't seem like the best situation for this particular course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.2 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Love-Hate Relationship With This Course. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 27, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course at Lewis University is definetly unique. Quite possibly, other words have been used to describe it. It's one of those courses that's going to bring out the emotions in players. The course sits behind the school's baseball field. Actually, you go past the field to the next left turn to find the course. The course plays in three very different types of terrain, a grassy meadow on a hillside, the wooded ravine with the creek at the bottom, and a grassy area near the ballfield's right field corner.

There a couple of epic holes here. # 3 is just 245' but crosses over the creek and another small ravine and the window to get through is minuscule. # 6 could be missed. Don't, miss it! It's tee pad is up and above the creek and you throw through a narrow opening out into the meadow, then you have to thread another shot through another tunnel to a basket which is perched precariously close to a ravine.

The course is Intermediate to advanced player level. It is not a course for newbies or players who can't throw accurately.

Cons:

I hate courses with mown fairways out of tall grassy fields. The ones where if your disc lands in the tall grass, you may never see it again. This course has much of that and rest assured you'll spend plenty of time searching for your discs.

I think courses on a college campus should be aimed towards their target audience, which is college students, most of whom are just out to throw a few discs, maybe drink some beer and enjoy an easy round without the agony of searching in the tall grassy fields and woods for their discs.

The course is difficult to the point of frustration. Throwing uphill 425' and trying to keep your disc on a 30' wide fairway is my idea of a hole that is not enjoyable for most of us.

The tee signs are the old school fiberglass ones. They're in pretty decent shape. The baskets are DGA models with the tough to read red numbers.

The tee pads are composed of some kind of dirt, cinder, metamorphic rock? I don't know what they were but I didn't care for them.

Other Thoughts:

If you desire a challenge, come here and play the Lewis College Disc Golf Course will provide all the challenge your little heart desires. If you are a newer player or have a scatter arm or hate looking for lost discs, then I might advise you to find another course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
BionicRib
Experience: 24.2 years 194 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Inexcusable, but fun and challenging 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 23, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Hole one is close to parking lot
-Interesting/fun/challenging shots with punishment for poor execution
-Nice baskets
-Elevation was used well
-Somewhat of a challenge for experienced players
-Doesn't seem to get played often as the tees showed little evidence of play.

Cons:

-The layout IMO is just awful, there are so many shared/crossing fairways. (4 and 5) (6 and 2) granted the holes are fun to play, but if there is any sort of traffic out here it makes the course dangerous for players and the joggers/walkers on the blind shot on hole 3.
-Tee signs are broken
-Hole 6 has a ladder that is placed in the ravine to get down, but be careful because its shaky and a bit dangerous.
-Tees are a mixture of mud and limestone
-hole 8 is right next to a parking lot (somewhat protected by a fence)
-navigation is tough for first timers so get a guide

Other Thoughts:

This course IMO would be an easy 3 if you left the holes the way they were and somehow got rid of the crossing fairways. I completely understand the argument for a higher rating based solely on the quality of shots. I am a big proponent of safety for players as well as safety for other people/cars/activities on a disc golf course. If this course was on private land and wasn't open to the public I wouldn't have a problem with it, but IMO the layout is pretty inexcusable. Even though I rated it a 1.5 I would definitely play it again if I had time and was in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Tom_rrsh
Experience: 19 years 27 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Best 9 hole in Illinois. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 21, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great use of changing elevation.

Not Crowded.

Good mix of long / technical holes.

Beautiful Course.

Cons:

Easy to lose discs.

Broken signs make it difficult to find the right basket or next hole.

Some holes share cross each other. hole 6 crosses hole 2. Hole 4 and hole 5 share a fairway. Hole 7 crosses hole 9. This could be a problem if it was ever busy.

Other Thoughts:

This is my favorite 9 hole in Illinois. Hole 3 is amazing. It is a blind shot over a gully, and if you have never played this course before you have no idea that there is a second, slightly smaller, gully between you and the basket.
** There is a running path atop the hill, between the gullies, so exercise caution when teeing off.**

Hole 6 might be my favorite hole, anywhere. You tee off from the top of a ridge, through a narrow window, The narrow fairway is lined with tall grass making it difficult of find errant discs. It is very challenging, but very fun. Holes 3 & 6 are the reason I gave this course a 3.5, otherwise I would have given it a 2.5 or 3.

The sign for hole 2 is broken, so if you have never played this course before, you will have no clue which basket you are throwing to.

I don't live anywhere near this course, but i go whenever I am able to make the drive. It is worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Jashwa
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.1 years 175 played 88 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not horrible, but a little worse than expected 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 24, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Because I'm dumb, I chose to go play Lewis University DG course right before a blizzard so it was super cold and super windy. Despite this, I think that my round there would have been much more enjoyable had I timed my trip better. Here's what I liked about the course

*Some of the hole designs were pretty fun. Holes 3 and 6 come to mind... fun wooded tunnel shots with high risk reward

*The course designers used the limited available elevation on site very well

*very scenic part of the campus

*Abundant parking

Cons:

Many cons come to mind that have nothing to do with the weather conditions I was playing in.

*The teepads at this course aren't very good. They are a sand/muddy/gravelly material. Not the greatest of footing even in the dry time of the year

*Hole 1's basket was very low...the bottom of the basket was maybe a foot off the ground

*The most interesting hole on the course, hole 3, is also extremely dangerous. It blindly throws over a running path. Also, you have to go back up hole 3's fairway to get from hole 5 to hole 6. On a crowded day one must be very careful.

*Holes on this course are not isolated from the rest of the course or the university in any way. There are many ways that an errant disc can be harmful

Other Thoughts:

If I was a Lewis University student I'd be thrilled to have a fun, somewhat challenging course like this one right on my campus and I'd play it all the time.

As a non-student, I probably won't be playing this one again given some of the far superior courses in the area
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
freezermink
Experience: 14.1 years 57 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Where is everyone? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I consider this a great practice course. Its 9 holes with distances ranging from 190 to 435. the course makes good use of the elevation changes that are there. its got a decent variation with wide open fairways and tight tunnels. the course looks like it is maintained fairly well by the university with mowed fairways/paths. the course was very clean.

Cons:

the course layout leaves a bit to be desired. i have been the only one on the course every time i've played, so i didn't have to worry about it, but there is some crossing of fairways that could be dangerous. #2 and #6 cross, walking from #5 basket to #6 tee puts you directly in the path of #3, and #9 crosses #7. the other thing i've noticed is that it seems as though when the course was measured, a rolling type measuring device was used (i'm assuming) as flight path distances seem to be contradictory. as an example, #1 is marked at 305ft, but after skying the basket a few times i used google maps measuring and it marks at 268ft. it doesn't detract from the course much, but its something to note.

Other Thoughts:

with only 9 short holes, i can't consider it a serious players course, but it is great for getting familiar with some new discs or working on your short game. as long as there isn't too much traffic on the course, ill continue to stop and shoot a quick round if i'm in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
gowiththeFLOW
Experience: 15.1 years 8 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

PlayitTwice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 17, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Excellent 9 Hole
-Easy to get to
-Nice course set up
-COLLEGE GIRLS
-Definently worth the drive

Cons:

-No concrete tees
-School grounds

Other Thoughts:

Nice challenging 9 hole. Perfect to play a couple rounds while your near Lewis. And on those summer days, you can catch some college chicas running out on the trails. And thats always a plus,
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
ArcheType
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.2 years 38 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

My top 9er thusfar 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 9, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-This course has an amazing shot variety. The holes are all super unique, and feel very different. I'd consider hole 6 the signature hole, an off a hill, through a tunnel, and down another tunnel to the pin shot. I can't say I've ever seen a hole like this anywhere.

-Adding to that, all the elevation changes here are taken advantage of to their fullest potential. No typical flat 9er here.

-The signs here were in good shape, and seemed very accurate.

-The baskets were also in great condition, and caught well.

-There's a sweet variety of length on all these holes, from <200' to well over 400', which was a shock, considering several 18 hole courses in the area don't have 400'+ holes.

-The area is well maintained, no trash/litter on the course.

-Several greens have cool roll away potentials, making the holes that much tougher.

-This course is tough! I consider myself a pretty good player, but it took me 3 rounds just to shoot even here. Always nice to not have a pitch and putt scenario.

Cons:

-The biggest con I have for this course is the tee pads. They leave a lot to be desired, and in my opinion, keep this course from being a 3.5 (the equivalent of a 5 for a nine hole by my ratings).

-The navigation here can be spotty once or twice, but it's manageable.

Other Thoughts:

This is by far my favorite 9 hole course I've played, and certainly would serve well as a warm up for anyone coming to play the other courses in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 316 played 268 reviews
2.00 star(s)

9 Interesting Holes 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Lewis University is home to a decent 9-hole course that criss-crosses a small prairie, a wooded ravine with a tiny creek at the bottom, and a grassy area abutting the bullpen area of the college's baseball field.
-Elevation, while not epic, is well implemented on most holes. Hole #6, for example, forces a downhill shot over the ravine and through the wooded gap, across the field and to a pin located somewhat precariously on another downward slope. Several pin positions are located on slightly elevated or depressed terrain in order to increase the chance of rollaways.
- Decent signage shows hole number, distance, and a basic map of the hole.
- A good variety of distances and hole types for a 9-hole course.

Cons:

- Lewis' bustling campus surrounding the course detracts somewhat from the natural element in places. Two holes have baskets very near crowded parking lots, while another's fairway is defined to the right by a fence and another parking lot. One hole's basket can be in the way of bullpen activities if a baseball game is going on.
- Natural tees. Soft sand in some places, but not terrible.
- Watch out for parked cars on several holes.
- Navigation can be slightly tricky the first time through, as the flow isn't intuitive in places. This shouldn't be an issue for most discers.

Other Thoughts:

- The main thing holding this course back from being one of the better (or best) 9 holers I've played was the lack of decent tee pads. Even crushed gravel would be an upgrade from the soft sand used in places.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21 years 570 played 284 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Intermediate/Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Great mix of different types of holes at this course. Most are out in the open, with a decent amount of mature trees in play. A good variety of shots into, through, and out of the forest on most holes as well.
- Elevation changes on about half of the holes really make a difference. Long holes uphill are a true test of distance. The shot out of the forest to the downhill basket on #6 is a great hole at any course (includes a walk around the creek to get to the fairway). A small valley over an even smaller creek is also good to see in this region.
- All types of shots needed here. Good mix of left, right, and straight needed, with little choice in many places. Thick rough, and some water, make accuracy very important.
- A couple of good ace runs with downhill elevation changes also help to make the course very diverse.
- Teepads were decent, good baskets. Signage was also pretty clear, with helpful next tee direction on the signs.

Cons:

- Pretty much my only gripe with this course is the layout. One of the baskets is pretty much in another hole's fairway, and another hole has you backtracking a bit down the fairway. The worst is getting from #5 to #6, and then from the #6 tee to the #6 fairway, where you have to cross right through the heart of #3. Inconvenient and possibly dangerous.

Other Thoughts:

- Course in located in the east-southeast part of the campus. There are some maps around, look for the water on the map if you get lost.
- Some flooding the last time I was there; a smaller island green was present which I'm sure shouldn't be there. Probably just due to the recent rains, so I hard a tough time gauging the difficulty of the hole in normal conditions.
- I really liked the difficulty level of this course. There were some easier ones, some medium ones, and some pretty tough ones, both in and out of the forest. Definitely one of the most complete 9 holer I have ever played in this region.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
tallpaul
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 36.1 years 934 played 137 reviews
2.50 star(s)

nice niner 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 4, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very narrow green entrances.
Informative, old metal tee signs. Yardages seemed correct.
A few roll-a-way greens.
Couple interesting o.b. holes. #7 especially, is an interesting hole; finishing on an elevated green; with roll-a-way potential. Road above green, and parking lot below. (One of our crew threw directly into lot and through two rows of parked vehicles and a student gave him his disc back with a smile. Evidently, students are aware of the danger of parking in this lot.)
#8 is a short hole. But, again, their is an o.b. fence running the entire right side of the fairway; with parked vehicles and a lot to right of fence. Thick schule to the left.
A couple of 400+ foot semi bombers; both uphill finishes, essentially making hole play even longer.
Beautifully done, steep stairway on ravine hole.
Attendant at gate was very helpful. Gave us directions and a parking pass; no charge.

Cons:

Natural tees. We played in winter; with some snow and ice; and therefore hard to tell how rutted tees are. They seemed to be in pretty good shape.
The parking area holes....while interesting in an o.b. sense; could easily cause trouble. I am sure cars get hit here.
Navigation at this course is the biggest issue. Tee signs do have an arrow telling where to find next tee; once hole is finished. However, as noted by another reviewer; these give you a general idea; but are not precise.
After driving hole #6, you must back track towards #5 and descend stairs to cross bridge. Navigation is not that difficult, but you will have to have your thinking caps on a bit; and will probably wander slightly; first time through.

Other Thoughts:

I would say this course is nearly a three rated course; which I very rarely give nine hole courses. I thought they used the land available to it's fullest. Lewis University DGC is one of the better college courses I've played. This is not just a stuck in afterthought of a course.
For those playing the multitude of nine hole; rather boring courses in Chicago land; I suggest you come and play all of the gems in the Joliet area. This would be the first you would arrive at; coming from the north; and will provide a good warm up. Combined with Trinity Links, Highland Park, West Park, Community Park, and Shorewood Park, this set makes for destination disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
mykeg44
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 72 played 45 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 19, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Offers a good mix of long shots, technical shots, and elevation changes... especially for a nine hole. When classes are out, you'll almost definitely have the course to yourself (and when they're in session it's usually empty except for the kids who go back in the woods to smoke). I haven't played a course that has anything similar to hole #3, a shot over a ravine that is definitely the course's signature hole. Navigation is fairly straightforward for the most part.

Cons:

Definitely not a beginner-friendly course (which could be a pro depending how you look at it). Unless you're a marksman or play very conservatively, count on having to dig through the forest at some point, it's probably a little better in the fall, but during the summer the brush is heavy and many of the shots go through tight fairways...especially hole #5. The grass that comes into play on #1 and #2 can also eat your disc if you're not careful.

#6 is hard to find and no signs exist. Coming back from #5 you have to turn right on the gravel path and walk about 50ft. Similar to #3 there isn't a tee box, you just have to throw from the path (and there's pretty serious fall if you get carried away and go off the path). You then have to go back to the ravine crossing which sucks if you threw your disc in the grass as you will lose sight of it (a spotter is definitely recommended)

Other Thoughts:

As a Lewis grad, this course holds a special place in my heart, and the more courses I play, the more I appreciate how good of a course this is. With Oak Brook gone, this is arguably best 9er in the SW burbs.

If you're unfamiliar with the campus it could be a little hard to find. Once you turn into campus turn left and follow the curve to the second stop sign. Turn left and then make the first left into the lot for Benilde Hall. You'll see a sign for the "Lewis University Disk Golf Course" at the back of the parking lot (leave it up to Lewis to mess up the spelling on a sign for something they spent a couple $1000 for...).

If you go while classes are in, I think you're technically supposed to get a visitor's pass for your car from the guard shack in front of campus, or you could get a "ticket". I wouldn't worry about this though, even if you do, you can just throw the ticket away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
4_Of_Spades
Experience: 16.1 years 36 played 28 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice with a Little Challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 13, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good signs and nice baskets.

Good use of elevation, pin placements, and shot variety.

Mix of RHBH and RHFH shots.

Clean course located on the Lewis campus.

Not crowded when I played.

Cons:

Dirt/gravel and uneven tee pads in spots.

Layout was very weird, holes 1-5 are alright to find, but you have to walk a ways to hole 6 then walk back to get to some tees.

Bad throws can be punished badly with thick rough and trees. Poison ivy was spotted.

Other Thoughts:

This course can be quite difficult with small narrow fairways and tough rough to look through. It is a nice and some what challenging course for 9 holes but I haven't had the urge to play here again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.4 years 831 played 777 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Tough little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 4, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a moderately hilly area on a college campus with a mix of open areas and dense woods. There is a stream running through that comes into play on a couple holes, adding a little bit of fun risk/reward. The available elevation is used well, especially to make the open holes more challenging and interesting. Many holes have pins tucked into the woods, punishing inaccurate drives and approaches and adding some nice challenges on some of the greens.

There is a nice mix of shorter reachable holes, and longer holes that require accurate drives and usually a solid approach to hole out in 3. You will need right and left turning shots, as well as long straight drives to score well here, and to stay out of the woods and brush. The design does a great job of taking advantage of the space to make a course that is challenging and fun.

There are decent signs for every hole, that make it pretty clear how long the hole is and where to find the basket which is nice on the few blind holes. The baskets were in good shape. There was almost no trash around on the course, and it seemed like a well taken care of area in general. Some real work went into carving out the wooded holes, and building steps up and down the ravine. The college clearly supports the course, and the attendant at the front gate was very helpful with directions and parking instructions.

Cons:

The biggest issue this course has is navigation. There are a couple spots where it isn't at all obvious where to go to find the next tee. There are next tee markers on the signs, but they weren't always clear.

The woods were filled with spiders and other bugs, so make sure you stay on the fairway if that's something that bothers you. You might want a spotter on a couple of the longer holes, as the brush off the fairway in the woods makes it easy to lose an errant drive (not really a big con, just an observation).

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the better 9 hole courses around the area, and presents enough variety and challenge that experienced players will enjoy a round here. This isn't the best place for beginners, with lots of chances to lose a disc and a few tough navigation issues.

The course is definitely worth playing if you're in the area, and the University seems very supportive of the course. If you're up for a tough little course that will punish you for errant shots, you'll enjoy a round or two here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 2
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 394 played 276 reviews
2.50 star(s)

B- = Bery Bery Nice 9-Holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9-hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B (2 of the holes have tunnel fairways though very dense wood. It is easy to turn an aggressive shot into a 4 on those. A couple other have pins tucked into dense alcoves in the underbrush punishing go-for approaches that do not land very close to the pins)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+ (Several holes are too long for me to reach, but are not long enough to make the ensuing approach at all challenging)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+ (Great variety for a 9-holer. Thows over the raving are fun and a few holes make good use of the available up and down elevation)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B- (A few places are quite pretty, but the course bumps up to University parking lots and view of buildings to get a good grade in this area)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Countchunkula
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.1 years 220 played 72 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Great 9 Hole

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 2, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Wow. Mostly wooded technical course.
This place is great and always empty.
If it was 18 it would be one of Chicago's best.
Hole 3 is one of the coolest I have played.

Cons:

Lots of bugs.
Easy to lose discs, even with a spotter.
Kinda hard to find.

Other Thoughts:

Lewis rocks!
Don't bother with the nearby romeoville course, it is one of Illinois' worst.
Combine this with the 9 hole in Oakbrook, Il and youv'e got something special.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Hitmetal
Experience: 17 years 166 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Excellent if not for the bugs. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Excellent 9 hole course. A couple 400+ and a short 190. Plays over a deep stream bed on 3 and 6. Although the tee boxes are packed clay, they are in good shape. Not forgiving if you throw off the fairway, thick foliage, bugs and terrain make discs disappear. I think this course is the best 9 hole I have ever played. It packs a punch.

Cons:

A little tough to navigate the first time. Hole 6 is back up the #3 fairway to the service road and to the right. But there are signs at each tee box.
BUGS. Wow, lots of bugs. I really like this course, except for the bugs. I am looking forward to playing this in the late fall when the cold takes the bugs away.

Other Thoughts:

Nobody ever here. I have played 3 times on the weekend and have seen one other player and even he said "I never see anyone else here"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top