• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Bristol, CT

Page Park

Permanent course
3.785(based on 36 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Page Park reviews

Filter
13 0
HyooMac
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7 years 427 played 395 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Woods and Some Water 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Mostly deep woods course, with a handful of open holes in the mix and one substantial water carry




Notable Holes:

#8 is a huge downhill cruise: a fun shot that's gonna fly forever which requires touch and control

#12 tee is on a patio overlooking the park's lake. The best throw is a RH hyzer that's over the water pretty much the entire time. The "safe" throw along the shore on the left side isn't easy, because the water cuts in just before the green. A great hole


Variety:
The layout uses the park really well. You'll play in deep woods for a while, and suddenly come upon a few more open holes (#6 and #7, #14 and #15). But these holes have character too: #6 is a par 4 blind teeshot, with the approach having to thread through trees guarding the basket. #7 and #14 also make use of trees to protect the greens. #15 is a fun shot that requires an uphill RH hyzer over an OB road most of the way (although this could be a pain and a danger if the park is busy - I played on a quiet November day)


Water:
The intimidating lake throw on #12 is the most memorable use of water at Page, but there's a stream that sneaks in to guard the baskets on #1 and #16. These are both short downhill par 3's that really reward a careful touch


Skill:
Bring your RHFH - right out of the gate. The first four holes are a lot easier if you can make your disc fly left-to-right


Cons:

- You're throwing a lot of downhill teeshots here, and although they require skill and touch, the course began to feel a bit "samey-samey" standing on tees #1, #8, #11, #16



- Nothing's really bad at Page, but there's a lot of "meh" here. Hole #9 requires throwing over a large fenced area that borders a picnic pavilion - and I suspect these areas get busy during the summer. Holes #10 and #11 feel "stuck in" - short up and down a hillside. Holes #17 and #18 are heavily wooded and a pretty forgettable finish to a mostly-good course


Other Thoughts:

Course Amenities Summary:
Framed paver tees on most holes; good baskets; old signage that's collected a bit of graffiti; somewhat cart-friendly (the wooded fairways are well-maintained, but you're going to carry the cart in a few places)



~ Page is a workout: you're doing a lot of hiking up and down


~ The biggest thing going against Page Park is that it's 10 minutes from Rockwell, and it pales in comparison. Page is a better than average course: it has a couple of very memorable holes (like #8, and #12), requires varied skill and touch, mixes up the landscape, but it also has forgettable stretches. That said, a trip to Bristol means a great day of play on two courses

Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 5
SandmanZS
Experience: 9 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Made me work for it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great distance, approach and elevation varietyA bit of an exercisePlenty of parking

Cons:

Litter/broken glass
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Ryal
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 7.1 years 234 played 192 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Turn To Page Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ The whole course plays within a hilly forested park away from most other park users.
+ Almost all tee pads are tessellated concrete pavers within wooden frames.
+ Tee signs feature easily readable maps alongside distances, pars and elevation changes from tee to pin.
+ Mostly wooded course accentuates shot shaping over brute force.
+ More than a few satisfying water features.
+ Lovely elevation challenges.

Cons:

- Some tee areas are simple lines traced on the ground.
- A few of the holes do not stick out in the player's mind; some feel like filler.
- Navigation for the first time player can be somewhat tricky with inconsistent 'next tee' signage.
- Few opportunities to let loose at full power.
- On the short side; eight of the longs and four of the shorts hover near or exceed 350 feet.

Other Thoughts:

My favorite hole at this course was definitely hole 8. I have a soft spot for downhill tee-offs, and hole 8 at Page Park is an unforgettable downhill tunnel so perfectly framed on both sides by trees that it almost looks as though you are throwing through a castle's grand hall. My least favorite hole was 15. I hate throwing that close to roads.

Regarding the course as a whole, Page Park has a lot working in its favor. This was my penultimate stop during a disc golfing trip through Connecticut in March 2019, and it definitely has a lot of features that I've come to expect from a course in this state: plenty of trees to dodge, a few water hazards to deal with and some elevation challenges to overcome. Page Park has a nice assortment of all of that to offer the disc golfer.

I will name just two examples. A gutsy drive over a big pond at hole 12 provides tons of drama and tension as you helplessly watch your disc fly. From atop a steep hill at hole 1, the player throws through a dense portion of the woods down towards a basket guarded by a moat below it. Varied challenges like those are what make a good course great, and I do want to say that I think this course is great.

On the down side, I have trouble clearly recalling some of the holes just by memory. That's always a problem with densely-wooded courses, isn't it? They run the risk of feeling too similar to each other. Holes 3 through 5 are a blur of tunnels to me, and some of the back nine can only come back to me if I'm looking at their photos on DGCR. On top of that, the navigation is a little tricky for first-time players. If you've never been here, just keep an eye out for tape on the baskets or stone slabs on the ground if there is no conventional signpost.

Bottom line: Tacticians will get more enjoyment out of Page Park than power throwers, but I do warmly recommend the course to anyone who likes refreshing surprises during a regular walk in the woods. Just watch your step on the hills when you turn to Page Park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Sharknado2
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 35 played 35 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Exceeded expectations, glad I found this place! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

- A handful of par 4's to break things up
- Fun for a variety of skill levels, I played with a first timer who had a lot of fun and as a recreational player I had a great time with it. But even if you're a veteran player there are some holes that are so tight or require a ton of arm strength that you would still enjoy it.
- Solid mix of 350ft+ and <200ft holes that make precision and arm strength necessary.
- Decent sized lines, only a few wide open holes and a few that are a little too tight.
- Water and OB on a fair number of holes demanding some precision.
- Loved the way the holes and bridges snaked around the creek, something I don't see at the courses in SoCal I play... mainly because there is no water.
- Parking both by the 1st tee and over by the 12th/13th next to the pond.
- Hole 12 was my favorite, a 240 ft par 3 off a deck going over the pond. But a big guardian tree hangs over the basket preventing a big hyzer into the green. I played it safe and launched a hyzer with a fairway driver that ended up 40ft short (obviously a victory because I didn't lost a disc).
- Baskets were in decent shape and tee boxes weren't bad, though I don't love that they're concrete.
- AWESOME signs, very clear hole diagrams, clearly marked OB and hazards, indicated some shorter tee positions as well.
- Not too crowded when I first got out there
- Lots of elevation changes and shot shaping. You'll need sky shots for sure, if you miss the fairways the only way you're getting out is with a grenade/thumber/tomahawk. A good mix of FH/BH holes.

Cons:

- The flow wasn't great, more than a handful of times where I got lost and had to backtrack after making a wrong turn. The walk from hole 13 to 14 in particular was long and a bit confusing.
- Layout was a little crowded on the front 9 with a handful of holes all converging around the basket for hole 3/tee for hole 4.
- Hole 12 has lots of a disc losing potential. There are a few holes with thick rough and one next to a busy road where a shank will cost you some plastic.
- Holes 1-3 stick out to me as ones with lines that were a little too tight to still be fun. I had lots of unintended course maintenance... In particular the tee shots for 1 and 3 were really demanding. Make sure you stay out in the open at all costs on hole 2, if your tee shot ends up left you're gonna be lucky to get a par.
- The course really filled up by the end of my round which was pretty surprising considering I finished at 2:45 PM on a Tuesday... in winter. But I guess this is the course to play in Central Connecticut?

Other Thoughts:

Woods style course with a good variance of hole shapes. Definitely felt better than the average course, really unique use of water and elevation. I don't know if I would go as far as the 4-star average but I also feel like this course would grow on me if I played it more. I grew up in the area and had come to this park but never got into the sport when I was a kid so it was a cool blast from the blast to discover there is a course here. Right in the heart of Bristol and pretty close to another 18 hole course that I have yet to try. Would love to come back on a weekend and play a double header!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
HomemadeBasket
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.7 years 64 played 39 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Filled with fun shots 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful setting for a course.
Excellent use of space.
Great pads on each hole.
Good baskets around entire course.
Well defined and well kept fairways.
Amazing variety of shots. Never feels like same hole twice.
Awesome, fun shots on every hole.
Seating throughout the course.
Nice layout and good flow to the course.

Cons:

Navigation was slightly tricky first time through.
A couple holes intersected with other park users.
Walking along a mildly busy road (getting picky here).

Other Thoughts:

Page Park has been on my wish list for a while. So happy to have had a chance to throw a few rounds here.
The shots are all fun! You have a great mix of layouts on every hole. The downhill shots are awesome. The uphill shots are not killer climbs. The shot over the horseshoe pits is unique, and the basket by the pond is just enough water to round out the course. It's a quick play through. I played with a friend and we were finished with our rounds in about an hour and a half. Definitely worth a trip to play this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
xGIRTHx
Experience: 13.5 years 39 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Visiting family and snuck away for Disc Golf. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

We were visiting family and made time to visit this park with about 4 discs each that we packed in our luggage. The course was very scenic and the variety of shot was awesome. The elevation was a welcome change and not readily available at home in Florida. The fairways were pretty tight and the trees lining the fairway were bare at the time. It was a very challenging course and I would have loved to play it with my full bag. The creeks running through the course made for a very Zen disc golf experience.

Cons:

Not many to think of unless you don't like courses that require precision. If you aren't on your A game or just starting you will probably find this course quite frustrating.

Other Thoughts:

I absolutely loved my one playthrough though I didn't throw great. The ambiance and scenery of this park is second to none and I wouldn't hesitate to go back especially with my full bag. There are a variety of shots required and this isn't a rookie course. All of the locals were great to talk to and very welcoming for a bunch of rich CT yuppies. I've never seen so many disc golfers driving BMWs. Jokes aside everyone was awesome. Thanks again for the hospitality fellas. Hopefully one of you is throwing my Purple EMAC Enforcer I lost.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 7
User112623a
Experience: 6 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pretty Good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The middle section is pretty nice. I enjoyed the hole with the pond. I saw a lot of hawks hunting actively while we played.

Cons:

Some of the holes seem random and poorly designed. Uphill holes in general aren't "fun" to me because you don't get to see the disc glide. A 200ft uphill hole covered in trees and rocks seems more like work than a healthy, fun challenge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Reginailedit
Experience: 8.5 years 23 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Place for Disc Golf!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 14, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1) Fairways - Each hole has a defined fairway (except hole 10, I'll get to that) and every fairway has decent, but challenging lines to hit
2) Flow - the flow of the course is wonderful, I was able to find my way to each tee fairly easily
3) HOLE 12 - Signature over a lake shot with a daunting line, I absolutely love this shot (most likely because I haven't lost any discs into the lake) but there are safe lines too
4) Difficulty - this course is perfect for intermediate players to get a great challenge and pro players to attack and get low scores
5) Baskets - Innova DisCatcher baskets catch well, all level with the ground and chains are in good condition
6) Maintenance - each fairway and field is in great condition and the woods are quite cleared and shooting out of the woods isn't a hack-fest
7) Tees - there are concrete tees for each hole, they are really solid and level

Cons:

1) Hole 10 - I think this is the only unreasonable hole, it is short and up a hill but the fairway is peppered with trees which makes it more of a bother than a challenge, I can't take away too much from the hole because it is very very unique and won't be found anywhere else
2) Signs - the signs are somewhat lacking, it only takes a bit to find tees
3) Litter - there are bottles and occasional pieces of trash around the course

Other Thoughts:

I really enjoyed playing this course. I loved the different holes that you cannot find elsewhere. The use of elevation is really cool and there are holes that are fun to just crank a putter down. I definitely recommend this course to everyone close to it and even people who want to make a day trip out of it! The effort was definitely put into this course and it really shows.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
KnickerbockerLAG
Experience: 12.2 years 20 played 12 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Page Park is Entertaining 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 23, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Good design
-Variety of terrain
-Moderate difficulty is not too hard, not too easy
-Nice Innova Discatcher baskets
-Free
-Well Maintained

Cons:

-Hole 5
-Signs... seriously...

Other Thoughts:

Page Park is a great place to play disc golf. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
NewEnglandDiscGolfer
Experience: 10.2 years 8 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A Course With SO Much Potential 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 22, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Park has EVERYTHING, from a pool, to courts, to fields, to playgrounds, even a pond.
-All holes are VERY unique, with one being over a pond! (sort of)
-Great mix of open field and wooded holes
-Lots of elevation changes
-Holes go around the whole park

Cons:

-Hole 18 has a lot of shattered glass right near the basket, underneath the rock
-Lots of litter on the course, not well kept
-Marking is poor for most holes, hard to find next tee
-No signs at the tees showing where the hole is
-Basket to next tee are WAY to far apart
-Some baskets are near populated areas, so be careful
-One hole near the end goes RIGHT along a traveled road, my disc ended up going into the road. Luckily, no cars were around.

Other Thoughts:

This course would jump to a 4 or 4.5 if they cleaned it up, added tee signs and better markage, and maybe change the hole near the road a tad. These changes wouldn't cost much money, or take much time. I'd say it might take a week at longest. I love the hole over part of the pond, and it's great they have a rec tee for beginners on that one. I love how there are open field holes, and how they are the only public one in Central CT to have that. I like this course, but with a few minor improvements, I would LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
adlacro
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.1 years 152 played 125 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Page Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 18, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 holes with DIScatcher baskets in fair shape. Rather wooded with a few somewhat open holes. Wooden holes have definitive shooting lanes, but they can be tight in spots. Small casual stream will be in play on a few holes. Holes 2,5, and 18 are par fours from the long tees, but short tees are available. Trash cans available on a few holes. Scorecards available as ell as practice basket. Signature hole 12 offers an opportunity to throw over a signicant lake with left bailout for shorter arms. Good use of elevation on holes and fast greens.

Cons:

Some of the baskets are misnumbered (hole one was marked nine for example). I personally will never be a fan of DIScatcher baskets because that name is a misnomer. It takes away space to make a putt and if you hit the band on top, it is likely to roll away. If this place got "real" baskets I would definitely rate this course a "4". In or after rain some of the hills will be muddy and quite treacherous to walk down.

Other Thoughts:

Despite my rants about the basket type there isn't much to gripe about at Page. It is a solid course with a few standout holes and is worth a trip if one should be in the area. Tee pads are well done. Go out there and be a "Pagemaster"!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A Page from the Book of CT 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Page Park in Bristol is fun, challenging, and has good tees, baskets, as well as a nice flow. The tees are concrete pavers, flat and even, and the baskets were DISCatchers in ok condition. Blocks under the baskets have arrows pointing to the next tee. Elevation changes are significant on many holes, and so are heavy woods. Also a bit of water on the course, nothing to intimidating. These are all good things to me. I played the long tees on the holes that had them, and I shot 58 (1 over par). Scored two on five holes, so being over par at the end was a bummer, but I remember it fondly still. My favorite holes off the first run were 1, 10, 11, 16, 17, and 18. Starting and finishing holes were both cool ones, and the quality is pretty good overall. 18 is a long drive through many trees and up the hill to the parking area, with the pin next to the humungous boulder. What a finish. There are only three par 4's, and short tees where necessary, so Page Park is fun and friendly for beginners, too.

Cons:

I saw as much litter here as nearly any other park I can think of. Not taking away points for that, but detracts from an otherwise lovely park. The disc golf parking is a ways from the park entrance, but keep on the road and you'll see the kiosk. I got there eventually. The other park users may be close to parts of the course, around holes 9 and 12, maybe others. The map I printed online was helpful in navigation a couple of times. Signs would be a welcome addition to those who are not familiar with the course.

Other Thoughts:

Page Park may not blow you away, but I bet you have a good time playing it. I certainly did. A cool place to get some good throws in. A very good course with some contrast to nearby, and also very good, Wickham Park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
reposado
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 278 played 276 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really interesting course with a ton of elevation changes and a pretty sweet variety of hole shapes and terrains. It boasts some real signature holes. Specifically, 18. What a finisher. Uphill, with the exposed boulder just to the left of the hole. It's a real challenge, both to hit the line to get into position and to hit what will inevitably be a sharply uphill putt. Most will find it difficult to dislike 1, with the drop off just after the tee and a rightward turn along the fairway as the disc slowly lowers to the ground. Finally, a small creek just before the basket. 11 is a variation on this theme, but the shot here is straight, there is no creek and the basket sits on a rise.

Most of the holes are very wooded, with tight fairways cut through the trees, (check out 10) but there are some wide open holes that provide a distinctly different challenge. 6 and 7 will let you air it out while hoping that your disc doesn't follow the slope to the right. 13 and 14 will give you two more chances to put something on a disc, but this time the fairways roll uphill.

Cons:

A few of the holes (ahem, 3) don't really feature a fairway. They traverse an area of scattered trees in which the underbrush has been mostly removed. I'd hate to cut down the trees required to make an actual route to the basket but as of now, they play as easy pars but birdies are entirely dependent on luck. The trees are dense enough that there is no true path to park one by basket, but spread out enough so that once you're halfway down the hole, there will be an easy approach from almost anywhere.

Additionally, there a ton of areas where the fairway is cut by a small muddy area on what seems to be a regular basis. There are typically some sticks placed there for people to walk over, but a top-notch course includes bridges or boardwalks over such areas.

Lastly, there are a few places where fairways pass close to other pieces of property. Occasionally a tee is just a line on a walking path. 9 is fairly ridiculous. The only path is directly over several facilities.


Quintessentially Connecticut course. A lot of great stuff here, with a few very flawed holes. Probably best-played in off times, so that the other park facilities are not being used. 12 is a nice carry. It's not as good if there is someone fishing in your flight path.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 1
DPGRAY1962
Experience: 12.1 years 13 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful challenging course with one fairway completely over water. Great variety of fairways with lots of trees and only a few wide open ones.

Cons:

Can be very wet and muddy in some places. Frequently had to hold play for hikers to pass by. One fairway is over a paved area and past a pavilion that is often a crowded area.

Other Thoughts:

Great course that is definitely worth a try. In warmer weather bring bug spray as the mosquitoes can be a problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
chikago12
Experience: 11 years 49 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of the best courses in Connecticut 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 26, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Beautiful paver tile teepads on the majority of holes

-Excellent mix of open and wooded holes.

-Holes are interesting! Between forehands, backhands, thumbers, you'll need every trick in the bag to navigate this course successfully.

-Hole 12 over the lake might be my favorite hole in disc golf. Really fun shot where you get to just bomb it over the lake, or take a straight shot right at it

-Fun, but still challenging. Every hole is birdie-able, but also bogey-able. Good shots get rewarded, bad shots are punished.

-Beautiful scenery in a gorgeous park. Number 8 in particular in the fall is beautiful.

-Course is extremely well designed, where even the short holes are interesting. There are no 'throwaway' holes here. Perfect example of this is 15, a very short hole along a road. Shot could have been pretty boring, but the green is on a huge slope so you either can go for a dangerous birdie putt or play it safe and go for par.

-Big open field right next to the course for warming up. Warm up putting basket also available.

-Short tees on a lot of holes (2,5,6,9,12,13,18) , most notably 12, so you don't have to throw over the water (as much).

Cons:

-Problem with returning discs that someone else mentioned is real. I've lost quite a few discs here, all tagged, and have only had a couple returned.

Other Thoughts:

Page is one of the most fun courses in Connecticut. It's my home course, and I've learned a ton trying to learn the lines here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
nstraz
Experience: 14.2 years 69 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Worth traveling to 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 14, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great tee signs and directions
Fair fairways
Great use of elevation changes
Long and short tees on some holes
Well kept grounds

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

Stopped here while traveling down I-84. I was really impressed with the course and would definitely stop there again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Flyngtuna
Experience: 12.2 years 5 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course, constantly improving 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great, well maintained course that gets better every time I visit. Whoever maintains this course does a terrific job - lots of woods, but there's rarely debris and now there's a tee-box on nearly every hole.

There are only a few open holes to really let loose, most of the holes require more control than distance.

Cons:

Not a lot of complaints regarding the course - I will say lost discs seems less likely to find their way home here than any other course I've played. Between my friends and I we've lost ~4-5 discs (all tagged) and only 1 has been returned to date.

Other Thoughts:

Great course with challenges for experienced players but not too tricky for beginners. A good mix of woods, open holes, and a great water hazard on 12 for added fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
sneakytiki
Experience: 22.2 years 15 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Can't stay away! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 5, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Somewhat heavily wooded with a good amount of elevation change, Page Park has a tendency to test your finesse. Several tees are nicely perched, giving you a view down into this serene, mossy, ferny wood tucked into the middle of Brisol CT in a most unexpectedly pleasant way.

Though many holes are wooded, there is always room to pick your favorite line, and when you do hit it just right it is very rewarding seeing your disc navigate its way through the trees.

The more open holes offer a chance to let it rip... stretch it out a bit. There are no SUPER long holes (only two par 4's, the rest 3's) but you are never left wishing there was a 650'er because the course keeps you sufficiently entertained.

Cons:

It can get a bit damp and muddy at certain times... but this is New England... as long as you don't mind stepping in some mud, or digging your disc out of a little creek bed you should live.

The mix of hole layout could be better. You definitely do not need every weapon in your arsenal to get through a round here.

The tee signs could use some work. When they can be found, they are typically laminated paper or something like that, stapled to a tree. Some are missing.

Other Thoughts:

Don't be fooled by the number of "water" holes listed here. All of them but one are just a small little stream running through the hole, not going to steal your discs. The one hole over the small pond in the park tests the nerves, but a long drive is not required to get over it, I usually throw a putter off the tee for an ace run, usually an easy birdie.

UPDATE: I've been noticing a lot of poison ivy. Be wary in the woods and scrub down after playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
jared18
Experience: 11.4 years 30 played 6 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Best coure 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Amazing course best course kept in great condition and all around a nice walk and a great time if you have been playing for a while if you have not i would stay away. You do find discs i found my sp line squall there amazing disc favriote disc in my bag!

Cons:

Some holes are very tricky you cant really find them and some are really hard. You do not get a score card or on some holes there are not sheets. The water hole i lost 2 discs you can get it caught in the tree's easy and it goes in the water tough lie.

Other Thoughts:

My family lives in connecticut and i live in NC my experience there was amazing id love to do it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
AgentJ
Experience: 25.1 years 132 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Made to be fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Free to play, open year round dawn to dusk.
Plenty of off-street free parking.
Emphasis on fun shots at this medium difficulty course.
Tees and baskets placed on peaks and valleys throughout.
Excellent flat, paver stone, patio style tee pads.
Baskets (DISCatchers) are in excellent shape.
Variety of shots, balanced between right/left, short/long, early/late turns.
Nice tee signs and next tee signs.
Informative kiosk at hole 1, has course maps, league info for all the local courses, and other nice stuff.
Can play solo in about an hour.
Dedicated volunteers who care.

Cons:

- Constant battle between DGers and litterers. We try very hard to keep the course clean, but you may come across broken glass.
- Some people have trouble finding the parking area near hole 1. It's WAY up at the very end of the park road. Just look for the kiosk.
- Some parts of the course adjacent to other park uses, so be careful and let others have right of way, we are the new kids on the block.
- No dedicated practice basket yet (maybe in 2013), but you can warm up on 18's basket which is only a few feet from the tee of 1.

Other Thoughts:

Excellent challenge for beginner and mid-level players, with par 56 only attainable on a very good round.
Pro-level players can consider par to be closer to 50 or 51, and it is quite challenging to get lower than that. Tight lanes on the wooded holes, precarious basket positions, and lots of elevation changes keep most pro scores in check. You will need a variety of tee shots.
A counter-balance to the very difficult neighboring Panthorn and Wickham courses (both of which you should also go play).
The course has come a long way, the locals have proudly stepped up and supported this place, and it shows. The number of players and interest grows every year. 7/21/2013 will hold the first Page Park tournament.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top