Chico, CA

Peregrine Point

Permanent course
4.085(based on 30 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Peregrine Point reviews

Filter
3 5
nelsofthewoods
Experience: 12.9 years 39 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 27, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Great baskets, cement teepads, excellent signage.
-Lots of varied holes, from the technical to the distance ones.

Cons:

-If you lose a disc, you LOSE a disc!
-Lots of rocks age your discs quickly.

Other Thoughts:

One of the most beautiful courses around. Holes 3 and 4 require some confident shots as you are on the side of the cliffs, but, are some of the most fun holes for the same reason. Only downside is the rocks and how they can tear up your discs. hopefully will attract more organized events in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 2
jhkovac
Experience: 33.9 years 24 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Stellar Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 13, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I have to admit, the course was technically "closed" yesterday, but I was traveling through town all the way from WA state & had some time on my hands, so I wanted to check this course out.....even if just to stop by and walk it a bit!
I could tell right away that the Outsiders have dropped some serious money & time on this course.
Great signage. Great concrete tee pads. The baskets were solid, numbered, and a couple of them had huge flags on top which helped with showing the current wind direction as well as the general location of the basket on the up-shots. Genius!
The scenery made me stop a couple of times just to take in the vast valley beyond the course. I loved the fact that if you mess up, your disc WILL be lost over the cliff. It just made me huck my DX Wraith that much harder & with confidence with my backhand toss on hole 3 & 6.
All of the hawks (I know why it's named Peregrine Point now!) & other avian were such a treat too.
Simply a great 18 hole course, worthy of traveling to play.

Cons:

Hard to find the turnoff off Hwy 32. Just know that it is DIRECTLY across from Dean's Paintball Guns/Tailor Park & the Sierra Nevada Adopt-a-Hwy sign. Slow down considerably!
This course was technically closed at the time due to heavy, continual rains during this past week. While I understand why this is needed (heavy traffic on this erosion-happy cliff-sided course on a wet day would absolutely desecrate the beautiful landscape), it would still make me a bit sad if this was my local course. I'm sure that the non-peak rain seasons would more than make up for the few months that this would be a factor though. I'm not too sure what the weather is like in Chico, but it can't be nearly as bad as our weather up in the PNW!!

Other Thoughts:

Just a beautiful, scenic course (period). This is one course that is a must play if you're in, around, or passing through Chico. My girlfriend & I decided that we'd never been to Chico, and given the choice to stay the night there or in Redding, we chose the former. Plus, I looked up the courses in each place and Chico won!
So happy that I was able to play this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
DutchViking
Experience: 18.1 years 54 played 17 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Good Discin in Chico 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 8, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very fun 18 hole Course located in Upper Bidwell Park, just outside Chico, CA.
Great teepads and Baskets in a beautiful setting.
There are no filler holes, all teeshots are challenging and different. Big anhyzers and hyzers, wooded and technical as well as open holes.
Lots of elevation changes to keep you on ur toes.
Signature Hole is definitely #3. HUGE CANYON to the right with an amazing view.
#4 is also a very cool shot uphill with the same canyon in view to the right.
Some birdie and ace runs, very fun
Easy to navigate

Cons:

Arrows pointing in the direction of the pin location, instead of teesigns or maps. Also no distances listed which would be very helpful.
Can get very hot in the afternoon, especially in the summer. bring water and wear sunscreen.
If the weather has been rainy, the course gets get closed by the park rangers.
Room for more holes, but Chico conservationists have fought against this course for a long time, and surely they would not take kindly to more holes.

Other Thoughts:

This is a first rate and very fun course in a beautiful spot in NORCAL. Chalked full of fun shots and nice locals. Lots of good golf to be had here. Don't miss this course if you are nearby!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Cavanator
Experience: 13.7 years 43 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

That's good DG! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice tee pads.
Easy to navigate.
Great variety of shots - tight vs. open, lefty vs. righty, a couple of bluff shots to test your reaction to the "pucker factor".
Awesome views from tees on 3 & 4.
It's a fair course - challenging without being over-the-top dificult.

Cons:

I could see this course being windy since it sits on top of a bluff. And I was glad I played in the morning before the heat of the day got out of control. Distance signs from the tee would be a nice addition, but everything else about this course is great.

Other Thoughts:

Visiting this course as a non-local, and having played over 20 courses, I think this is a first-rate course. I would love to play it a couple times to really get the strategy for the different holes dialed in. And having the course located three miles outside of town probably helps keep the dog poop and tagging under control. All in all, a great asset for Chico.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
JohnAmber
Experience: 20.7 years 8 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 15, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

* Terrain changes, up and down
* FANTASTIC views of the canyon and valley
* Can be played at the pace you want, slowly or quickly
* Players are generally courteous and polite and will let you play through if on your own or moving quickly.

Cons:

* Parking lot is tough on a car, but not impossible
* Snakes and ticks love it there in the warm months

Other Thoughts:

Chico finally has a great, WELL CARED FOR course that is both challenging, but perfect to take someone new to.

I highly recommend playing it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
monty
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful and Very Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very beautiufl and extremely fun course. Nice pads and trails. Easy to find your disc. Long and short holes. My favorite course

Cons:

Lose your disc on the cliff holes. Poison Oak can be a problem.

Other Thoughts:

This a great course for a begginer, intermediate or pro. It really can challenge you, but it is possible to shoot a very low score
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
MikePinchico
Experience: 19.6 years 124 played 19 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Premium Disc Golf in Chico 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 16, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has a variety of different shots that are needed off the tee pad (hyzers, anhyzers, overhand). There are finally concrete tee pads and quality mach 5 baskets in one of the most picturesque courses in the north state. The course is easy to navigate with plenty of signs to the next pin. OB is clearly marked, and makes for an excellent addition from the old setup. There are very nice log benches at most holes, along with wood chips surrounding the tee pads and baskets. This course has some of the best views looking down into Bidwell Park and the Northern Sacramento Valley.

Cons:

There are no signs at the holes to show where and how far the basket is placed. There are no trash cans. This course is closed during wet weather and you can get a ticket for playing while the course is wet. Also, it can take a couple of weeks for the course to dry out enough for the course to reopen. During the summer this course is HOT, so either bring lots of water or only play in the morning or evening. This course can eat your discs due to an abundance of rocks on the fairways. This course is crowded during the afternoon and you could have a long round even as a solo player. Your dog must be on a leash due to the possibility of getting a 100+$ ticket from the rangers. Don't get caught with and open container because that will be an other 100+$ ticket.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a challenge for non experienced and even the experienced player. If you are ever in the area I recommend this course because you are missing out if you haven't played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 3
wildrivers
Experience: 14.7 years 19 played 19 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Play it! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 13, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Solid concrete tees. Clear directions and trails to next tee, look for rocks with arrows. A few OB areas. Mach 5 baskets.Flag/wind indicaters on each basket. Clean park.Views are great.You can not hear the road noise. Friendly people. Fairway and tree protectors mark most fairways to baskets.
Dogs allowed on leash.
Lots of variety with throws.Benchs at all tees.
Great course design.Best Nor.Cal brewery right down the road! Falcons and various other birds flying the cliffs.

Cons:

It looks like you can not play here much in winter and early spring due to rain. When it is wet the park department closes the course. It can be dry for 3 days and it may still be closed. I probably wont play this course in summer, as it sits on a high plateau. Chico can reach temps. in the 100's for summer. No restroom (outhouse in parking lot). No trash cans yet. No distance charts per hole. Some holes you should watch out for throws from other players, throwing from close tees. Every one out there is smart enough to yell if needed. See the Chico outsiders website if there is a question if course is open due to rain. Wish Chico would build one downtown where we can play year round in any weather we choose. Rolling Stones sing..cant always get what you want. smile.

Other Thoughts:

This is a top notch, extremly well thought out course. I am a intermediate player and was fine with the whole course. It is challangeing but you dont have to be an expert to play here. I dont think there is any hole over 400 feet,hard to tell as there are no signs for distance yet.It is one of the best all around Nor.Cal courses. Course is bigger then most but not as large as the Orland,Ca. course. I cant not recommend this course high enough. PS. BRING WATER!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 3
rdleis
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Chains in Bidwell Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 12, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

After years and years, there are actually real targets and concrete tees in Bidwell Park. It really makes a big difference!

The course mainly follows the old layout with some changes incorporated to address environmental concerns (ie big OB areas on hole #3 etc). This makes it fairly easy to navigate for the first time.

The course should prove to be quite challenging for the beginner/recreationalist, but more advanced players will probably enjoy it too.

Awesome views!

Cons:

Tee signs and garbage cans would be a great addition.

A couple of the hole layouts are...interesting.

Several baskets are too close to the next tee box (#8 and #17 come to mind), so stay aware and be careful.

Course is closed when wet.

Other Thoughts:

The course plays over quite a long distance and makes for a nice hike. It can be quite warm during the summer/fall. Bring plenty of water as there are no faucets on site.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 1
jimbosprint
Experience: 20.9 years 99 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Disc golf returns to Bidwell Park! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 12, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

New Mach 5 baskets and nice concrete tees. Trails are well defined and have markers to help people navigate the course. And there are flags on the top of a few baskets that are hard to see from the tee.

The scenery is amazing. Nothing else I have ever played compares to the tee shot on hole three - shooting off the cliff toward a target 400ft away.

This is a challenging course for amatuer players, while remaining fun for most skill levels. Good variety of shots.

Cons:

Course closes when it rains. Layout was designed by environmental wackos, not by disc golfers. Large groups of yelling, inconsiderate college kids are out there at times.

No trash cans, so pack in - pack out. No tee signs, just tee numbers. Watch out for poison oak! Tall grass that can make finding discs tough at times.

Other Thoughts:

The old Chico Long Course with tone-poles and dirt tees is reborn as a new disc golf course with baskets and concrete tees!

Hot in the summer, so bring plenty of water and sunblock.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top