• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Willow Street, PA

Ship Rock DGC

3.785(based on 32 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Ship Rock DGC reviews

Filter
22 0
HyooMac
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7 years 427 played 395 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Something for Everyone

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 20, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ Starts with a dramatic downhill, a downhill out of a chute, and a narrow uphill along a steep hillside. There are open bombers (uphill and downhill) and tight corridors. The layout incorporates an old stone building foundation, a drop off a cliff, and several holes running alongside a river


+ Two layouts (two baskets on the first hole, then alternate tees for the majority of the remaining holes)


+ Excellent poured tees, DisCatchers, great signage


+ Designers do a lot with roped OB, mandos and a few flagged landing areas to create challenges, because much of the property is pretty wide open with a few rolling hills



Cons:

- It gets pretty dull in the last third of the course. In this way Ship Rock reminded me of Brandywine in Delaware which has spectacular views and amazing elevation changes, but during the back nine at both courses I found myself thinking: "oh - we're going back up that hill we went up earlier and then came down...great."



Two holes felt a little gimmicky to me, although they're playable and others might like them:


- Hole #1 Gold is essentially a horseshoe-shaped flightpath with a huge downhill as you turn around almost 180 degrees and head to the pin, which is flagged with OB and an island green. It's 700', but unless you've played it several times, the tightness of the corner with the OB looming sets up a likely teeshot/dink/dink/dunk for par


- Hole #11 is probably the stuff of local legends: short, up over a bluff and then hard dogleg left leading to a cliff's edge with a basket straight down with water next to it (the drop is so steep that you're literally peering down at the top of the basket). The risk of the water is so great that the smart way to play the hole is to chip it over the bluff, drop it down to the basket, and tap in for par. While it's fun to stand on the tee and think about where the basket is, it's sort of a minigolf hole



Other Thoughts:

~ "Somewhat Cart Friendly" is accurate. I used my Zuca and while it was fine for most of the course, there are several really difficult spots, like Hole #11, and especially the transition to the 12th tee, with a long narrow path through the woods that takes you to the base of the tee (and yeah, you then have to climb up to the elevated tee - which you passed minutes ago). The narrow fairway up the third hole and the hills in the later parts of the course get a bit tiring with a cart. If I played again, I'd leave the damn cart in the truck.


~ Much of the layout plays along a narrow arc of the property. WIth multiple tees and holes running in different directions along this fairly confined space, navigation is pretty confusing for the first timer. I strongly recommend playing with a regular here (whose advice on playing #1 and #11 will likely be of great value)


~ Ship Rock is a very good course featuring alternate layouts, which puts it above nearby 18's like Herr, and even the dual tee layout at Buchmiller. The tight OB and the couple of tricky holes make you want to play more than once - because you'll likely do better with a little experience


~ Overall, the limited available land at Ship Rock just doesn't lend itself to interesting holes like you find at Klines, the new course at Fairview, or the best of the bunch: Muddy Run. But they've done a lot with the land at Ship Rock, and they've doubled down with the great signage and poured tees. It's well worth playing when you're in the area




Was this review helpful? Yes No
19 0
jamespenn
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 4.3 years 36 played 37 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Everybody gets a challenge

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 18, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice long cement tee pads on most holes. The tee pads on the side of the hill are rubber but in excellent shape

Two tee pads on most holes with reasonable pars assigned to both pads. The really short par 3s have one pad.

Surprisingly tough for being a generally open course

Long and mostly wide course, yet it's compactly laid out, like a ball golf course. You're never far from your car, or the port-a-potty

Several unique and fun holes.

You probably won't lose a disc unless you are way off target. There isn't any rough to speak of, and the river can be in play but the baskets aren't right on the edge.

It's kind of long for a beginner, but a beginner can have fun here. I'd add a second basket on pretty much every hole for the beginners. Put one in the foundation on #5 for example.

Cons:

Flooding is a problem near the river.

There are some unexciting holes in empty fields. Not many though, and they can act like a little mental break. If every hole beat you up, you'd eventually get sick of it.

Mostly one basket per hole. I'd add a second on almost every hole.

I'm not a big fan of holes with water directly behind the basket. There are 4 of those here, although you'd have to go 40 feet long to reach the water.

Other Thoughts:

This is a very golf-course-like disc golf course. It's not on a ball golf course, but it feels like an upscale public course, set on rolling hills, with nice wide corridors that go back and forth across the field. The course feels like it was designed by people who play ball golf, as there are not a lot of shots that are blockaded by rows of trees. There is quite a bit of OB, some holes are roped off to create corridors, others have the river alongside or behind, and there is also a cornfield that comes into play on the first hole and the last 2 holes. It's challenging, but you can definitely make it around without a bunch of OB, and still par the holes.

#1 is a nice downhill throw to a blind landing, it's fun to see where you ended up. #2 and #3 play down a hillside and then back up, with lots of trees. #5 is a very fun hole, uphill and over an old stone house foundation. Don't get caught in the basement! 6 and 7 are mostly open doglegs with a row of trees in the middle. 8 is a pleasant downhill par 3, with another row of trees to deal with. You have the same row again on 9. 10 is a blind left to right shot on a wooded hillside. Much is said about the bizarre 11th hole, but I think it's a lot of fun. It's just a short shot up a little hill, but then the basket is off a ledge and down about 20 feet, next to a creek. You possibly could go into the creek if you get too aggressive, but the play here is definitely to crash your disc into the huge tree at the top of the cliff and let the disc fall to the bottom. You'll be right next to the basket. Is that a little too random? Antithetical to the normal play of avoiding trees? Maybe, but unlike the typical plinko poke and pray hole, if you hit the right tree, in the right spot, you're parked.

The course kind of slacks off a bit from here. 12 is a pretty hole along the river with a beautiful wooden porch to throw from, and another row of trees to go through, but the tee is unfortunately so high that it's difficult to get to the row of trees, let alone to the basket 50 feet beyond. 13 is a nothing hole in a field. There is some water behind and to the right, but it's not very close. 14 and 16 are uneventful and also unplayable if it is wet, as the baskets will be in 2-3 inch deep water. Unfortunately water gets trapped in a field next to the river and has nowhere to go. If you go when it's wet, you'll be skipping these two holes. 17 and 18 are a little more exciting, as you make your way up the edge of a cornfield and up a hill to the parking lot.

Overall this is a fun course. There are only a few shots where you'll have major tree trouble, so you aren't blasting discs into trees all day. Also, it's tough to make a bunch of birdies, but relatively easy to make a bunch of pars. It's at just that right distance and Pars where you can get 18 pars if you're relatively careful and can throw it 225 feet with a little accuracy, but it's really tough to make 10 birdies. The only par I would change is #6 from the silver tee. That should be a par 5. It's a pretty long uphill climb and most people playing the silvers need 3 of their best shots to get anywhere near the basket in 3.

I would suggest moving the baskets for 14 and 16 away from the water and closer to the tree line. I played in a tournament there a couple of weeks ago and they did put temporary baskets out, about 50 feet farther away from the water. They worked fine and that would keep the entire course playable even if it's wet.

At a recent tournament there, Even par from the silver tees was a 922 rating, so while it is beginner friendly, it's also a challenge. It's not as grand or magnificent as its neighbor down the road, Muddy Run, but it's a worthy cousin.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Dr.Ray
Experience: 7 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

shiprock 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 11, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well marked tee boxes and good signage
Good mix of holes
Easy to navigate
good use of the land available with elevation change and water hazzards

Cons:

some of the open holes are repetitive
would be difficult for a beginner

Other Thoughts:

despite the length of some of the open holes it was still enjoyable for this 65 year old...keep your tee shots in the fairway and you can grind out pars but birdies are tough to get
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
DCriola
Experience: 22 played 16 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Nice park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 14, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

It's a park just for disc golfMany different shotsCool set up on a few that I haven't played before Gold and silver driving tees
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
SillyPeddy
Experience: 3 years 15 played 14 reviews
4.00 star(s)

SO CLEAN 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 29, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

(Looking at old photos and reviews this course has been updated dramatically in the last 2 years)

This course is more open than a lot courses in PA, DE & NJ. But having the OB lined with spikes and string made it more fun/challenging (especially when dealing with wind). The course does a great job breaking up the holes, they don't feel repetitive and none of the penalties seem out of place.
The 1st 9 holes are sooo much fun and require more touch shots, the back 9 is definitely asking for some bombs.

- Fairways were spotless
- New pads were great
- Baskets were great
- Disc golf only park
- Free
- Gravel parking lot
- Port A Potty

Cons:

- Hole 17 and 18 are vanilla, it stinks that those wrap up this cool course.
- Hole 11 (cliff shot) is a little silly. The basket should be placed on top of the cliff IMO for more fun/challenging approach shots and putts.

Other Thoughts:

Enjoyed this course much more than anticipated.

GREAT JOB to the team behind it!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Beerdid1
Experience: 120 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Am World Upgrades 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 19, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It was clear that in the run up to the 2019 Am Worlds a lot of effort went into new tee pads through-out the property. Though my division played only one layout during the two rounds I played here, it was a thoroughly enjoyable course. The designers made good use of elevation and you will certainly feel you got a workout once you've completed a round.
Hole 1 took a few rounds to learn which disc was going to make the guarded basket at the toe of the slope. Most of my cardmates took 3s while some of the locals who had played the hole a lot more either had birdie runs or birdie looks. Good hole!
Hole 2 is a downhill, hard right hand dogleg that only plays in the 260 is range. A solid RHFH with a pretty stable fairway driver or meaty mid will do the trick.
Hole 3, considering elevation, plays about 325 relative distance straight uphill. You will find trouble to the right if your accidental roller takes off down hill.
I wasn't a huge fan of 4 but it gets you to the top of the hill and presents a little more distance that what had been offered up on the first three holes.

I enjoyed some of the longer, wide open holes not because they were easy, but I actually thought the designers did well pegging the pars just about right for the distance, elevation and challenge. Longer arms will have a distinct advantage over noodle arms on the longer layouts but the distance still allows shorter throwers to e competitive.
.

Cons:

Skipping to the namesake hole, I wasn't a real big fan of the big cliff drop off shot with the basket 30 feet below on a narrow bank of the creek. Most locals threw something head into a cluster of trees just hard enough to spit out and drop inside the circle for a 2 attempt. Amusing the first time one plays but seems less like a skill shot than a gimmick shot. Just my two cents.

Other Thoughts:

Like most other PA courses in this area, its out of the way but worth the drive. Go throw this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Ryal
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 7 years 223 played 189 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Smooth Sailing At Ship Rock 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ Plenty of wide-open shots for the player to use their unbridled full power. Most holes are 350 feet or longer.
+ The wooded holes have some tricky shots.
+ Many elevation challenges: some abrupt and some gradual.
+ Tee signs are sturdily built and anchored showing the distance, par and a diagram of the hole.
+ Very pleasant venue for golfing. From start to finish, the player is surrounded by farms, forest, and fields with a river thrown in during the back nine. It's very peaceful here.
+ The grounds were magnificently maintained when I was there. I saw no trash despite the perceived absence of trash cans. Please do not litter!
+ Most of the fairways were immensely wide. They were easily distinguishable from the rough.

Cons:

- Going from one wide open hole to another starts to feel tedious, especially during the back nine.
- The tee pads need work. Rubber mats anchored onto wood dry out easily and start to lose their rigidity with use. Some did not feel solid and study under my feet, and some were damaged such as 5, 8, and 13.
- Some of the holes are played right alongside each other. For example, holes 4, 6 and 7 are played on the same meadow with yellow ropes indicating the barriers. This risks errant throws flying toward other players and/or having to wait for others to reclaim their discs before you can throw.
- What few truly wooded holes there are do not last long and do not satisfy the itch for perfect placement.
- As mentioned earlier, there are no trash cans, which may cause lazy players to cast litter on the ground. There were very few benches or makeshift seating that I saw. Players who feel fatigued from Ship Rock's large footprint might want a place to sit.
- Some baskets were missing their 'next tee' signs.
- I don't remember seeing a lost disc box.

Other Thoughts:

I must give credit where it's due and mention holes 3 and 11. I don't think I've ever played holes quite like these two. 3 is a steady uphill throw into a narrow corridor of dense trees. Not only that, there is a pretty steep hill just off to the right. One bad ricochet, and you've got trouble. It forced me to be a better player. 11, my personal favorite, starts off level in the woods and then plummets straight down off a cliff to a pin with a river nearby. It's beautiful to look at and just a blast to experience.

As for the course as a whole, Ship Rock DGC is definitely a course geared more towards the wide open throws. Bring your most glide-worthy discs and a pair of comfortable sneakers to get the most out of it and just go nuts. However, it has just enough variety spliced within to keep it from feeling too repetitive. Hole 5 jumps to mind as it features a mysterious old structure of stone. I'm guessing it was someone's old farmstead hundreds of years ago. And the basket finishes atop a hill overlooking the structure.

Although, the open holes on the back nine start to suffer from a lack of originality. It is a good thing that they have some hills in the second half of the back nine to tell them apart, but that's largely it.

Come to Ship Rock if you relish the thought of throwing your hardest in wide open fields. If you prefer more technical and controlled throws, there is still some great fun to be had here, but this course caters to the power arms out there. I would sooner recommend it more to power players than I would to technical players, but both can get some fine enjoyment at this course. Set sail and go play Ship Rock.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
templink
Experience: 20.9 years 124 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

unique 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent use of elevation changes, making some very interesting holes (#1, #2, #5, #11, #12 in particular). #1 starts off at 700+' downhill with a mando and then a sharp corner before you can even see the basket. #2 is downhill again, and the basket is near the water. #5 has ruins and an elevated basket. Signature hole #11 drops off a cliff to the pin about 50' below, and it's very close to another dropoff into a creek.

Also there are quite a few wide open holes to really let them rip.

Cons:

#13 and #14 need trees or something..
#15 - 18 were somewhat repetitive.

Other Thoughts:

Some great holes make this a destination course. Some of the long bombers make it only accessible to advanced players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
Conductedtie
Experience: 23 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Long, but fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Some mixture of holes, many longer open holes. Some holes have challenging distance (I'm thinking of you, holes 4, 6, 14) with some OB lines, but there's not especially easy to get the birdie, due to pure distance.

Some drastic elevation, but this makes the course quite interesting at times.

Good mix of sidearm/anhyzers and hyzers.

Noteworthy holes:
Note 5 - Hyzer around an old farm stone structure.
Hole 11- Dastardly fun.
Hole 16 - Huge smash down a hill.


Cons:

Parking is rather limited.

A good compliment to the more technical holes found elsewhere in the county, but this is 70% a big arm favored course.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course when it was wet outside, and that became a little difficult to manage with the extreme elevation found in holes 2,3,10, and 11. Would recommend high grip shoes in wet/moist conditions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
iHitTree
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.1 years 100 played 38 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Crush! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Ship Rock is a "grip it and rip it" style course for the most part, but don't let that fool you. There's a ton of variety, provided by BIG elevation change, water hazards, some woods holes, big wind at times, and some unique features. Favorite holes include hole 1 (a big downhill smash around a corner, setting up an approach as the entire hole takes a U-turn, separated by a peninsula of large trees), hole 5 (I mean, come on, you're throwing over the ruins of a house that is probably a couple hundred years old, cool stuff), hole 9 (a tricky gap in front of the tee opening to a landing zone, then a big mid-range turnover shot as the hole narrows to the protected basket), hole 11 (signature hole, super short tight hyzer shot, but the basket is a mere 2 or 3 stories straight down a cliff at the end of the fairway...one of the most unique holes I've ever seen), and hole 15 (a big uphill crush to the hilltop, then a downhill crush over OB to try to get birdie 3).

Cons:

The parking area isn't very big, so when it's crowded or in a tournament setting, cars need to line up aside the driveway and even across the street at times. There is no running water or bathrooms. There is a porta-potty between holes 4, 5, and 6. Holes 3 and 10 piss me off a little, as good shots can go unrewarded, and often punishes. On hole 3, it's a really tight tunnel on a hillside sloping down left to right. You can throw a laser right through it and roll on edge way to the bottom. The good thing is that you can usually still save par. Hole 10 is a turnover shot that is met with an absence of a fairway at the end, as a phalanx of trees protect the basket. There is no skill line through them, only a "hold your breath and hope for the best" situation. But, that's golf, and they're still fun holes.

Other Thoughts:

Ship Rock is a ton of fun and offers great contract to Buchmiller and Akron, the other 2 courses in the immediate surrounding area. I would recommend including it on a road trip golf tour if you're going near the Lancaster area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
doyle
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

DNF but willing to go back 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Long holes to rip it
-Signage with distance
-Teepads were in good shape
-Technical holes to challenge

Cons:

-Grass was overgrown, which led to:
-Flies, bees, wasps, insects everywhere
-Stinging nettle that lines the fairways and cramps the wooded areas, that stuff is no joke


Other Thoughts:

-My wife and I came up here to play something other than our home course(s). We started playing and almost immediately after we stepped off the tee the swarming insects began their assail on us. I am not terribly bothered by it and I shrugged off her suggestion that the grass was too high, but ultimately she was right. Way too many insects to enjoy the round so we cut out after 5. Every step in the grass was kicking up what seemed like dozens of flying little
devils.

-The stinging nettle was out in abundance as well. Without realizing it, I walked right through a patch of it off of the bend on hole 1, looking for a disc that barely made the turn. Bad decision, as my legs were on fire for the next 4 holes. I played through it and tried to ignore it but it was pretty bad. I took notice of it on the next few holes we played before packing it in and took off for Buchmiller, which I am much more familiar with and was recently mowed and much less bug-gy.

These things are not the courses fault as much as mother nature just doing her thing, and I certainly can't give it a rating without finishing a full round, but for now I'm going to wait until fall to return and hope that it's a little more playable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
sidewinder22
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.9 years 304 played 198 reviews
3.50 star(s)

We're gonna need a bigger boat, how about a Ship? 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 Discatcher baskets, rubber tee pads, and nice tee signs for blue or advanced level player. Impressive course layout using every bit of the available land and maximizing it. Excellent use of the elevation and terrain providing some truly unique holes. Lots of long open holes to test out your arm and a couple short technical wooded holes to test your accuracy. Navigation is decent. Disc golf only park.

Cons:

Only one set of tees and basket placements. Lower levels of the course prone to flooding and mud. Not much of a park amenity wise, it feels like you are entering a private course on a farm in the middle of nowhere in Amish Country. High number of long open holes gets a little repetitive and in summer it's hot with little shade throughout the course. Parallel fairways on the open holes are a little close for comfort and OB lines are used to help keep you honest.

Other Thoughts:

Starting off hole 1 was awesome and unique, my favorite hole here, you throw a massive downhill bomb and make a U-turn around the woods where the basket is tucked in. Hole 2 was another fun downhill shot but short and with the creek behind the basket. Hole 3 was a short uphill technical wooded hole with a severe left to right slope, another great hole. Hole 4 is wide open downhill par 4 hole with the basket on a fast green. Hole 5 was a unique hole with the remains of an old barn and the basket on a mound. Hole 6 plays uphill parallel to hole 4 and is a long open par 5. Hole 7 plays downhill parallel to 6 and 15 and is a fairly easy par 4. Hole 8 and 9 are fairly flat and straight forward open par 3s. Hole 10 takes you back into the woods briefly for a solid left to right par 3.

Hole 11 is probably the signature hole even though it's only 204' long it's the most unique hole I've ever played and have mixed feelings about it. You tee off looking at a right to left turning hole with a couple small trees scattered in the fairway and then you come to the cliff with the basket about 35' below you and water right behind it. It's crazy to go for the basket off the tee because you are likely to end up in the water and have about zero chance of acing, although a circle 3 is not a bad option and hopefully you can find your disc in the water. Laying up to the edge of the cliff you have a shot at a deuce, small chance and it's unlike any other deuce you have ever tried to hit almost straight down, I nailed the center of the top of the basket and narrowly missed getting wet. Holes 12, 13 and 14 were fairly boring, flatfish, open and 14 was long. Hole 15 is a long open sloping uphill par 4. Hole 16 plays back parallel to 15 downhill and you get to throw a bomb here on an easy par 4. Hole 17 plays back uphill and next to a cornfield that tapers the fairway down on a par 4 and the basket tucked between a couple pine trees. Hole 18 is a long uphill par 3 that takes you back to the parking lot, kind of a bland ending as most people will par it.

Ship Rock is a little weird and you will see the reviews all over the place rating wise. Generally I prefer more wooded courses even though the open holes here do provide some variety. It's not really my cup of tea, but if you really like long open holes this place may be your dream with 2/3 of the holes being fairly wide open. I'm rating this course as very good, as it has a couple amazing and unique holes and elevation is awesome, but overall the rest of course is just ok. Due to that it's not quite what I'd consider a destination course, but if you are anywhere near the course I highly recommend playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
blazerico
Experience: 19 years 321 played 37 reviews
3.00 star(s)

meh 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 7, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-dedicated to disc golf only, which is always nice
-quiet farmland
-nice teepads and signs
-porta john (also nice to have,but doesn't affect my ratings)
-easy to find your way around since it's pretty much wide open

Cons:

-kinda boring. no offense to anyone involved, but there wasn't a single memorable/signature hole. I need some sort of "wow" factor to give a high rating.

Other Thoughts:

It's a nice course, but i wouldn't go too far out of my way to play here
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
mikesuds
Experience: 11.1 years 8 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Scenic, beautiful course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Plenty of opportunities for both airing out a disc and tighter technical shots.

Beautiful landscape.

Excellent course design using natural obstacles and some man-made O.B. lines.

I really can't say enough just how beautiful I thought this course was. Can't wait to go back.

Cons:

I really have a hard time thinking of any cons.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
vslaugh
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 28.1 years 48 played 23 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great Par 64 Layout with Unique Holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 29, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Ship Rock succeeds in having holes that are fun, strategically interesting, and diverse. The layout features seven well-designed Par 4s and one Par 5 (at a ~950-975 rating?) and winds its way over an old farm and inside a big bend of Mill Creek. Cool and unique shots abound. Wrapping a big hyzer around the remains of a barn (Hole 5) and a tough 150' shot to the edge of a steep drop off with the pin below (Hole 11) stand out as highlights. I really enjoyed the spike hyzer approaches on Holes 7 and 16, and the drive/approach strategic decisions on Holes 1 and 4. A birdie means something on just about every hole, and the designers did a good job creating Par 3s that are both ace-able and bogey-able.

Cons:

Holes 13-14 and 17-18 are weak compared to the rest, although Holes 13 and 14 should be able to be improved through pin placements or tree plantings. The course seems susceptible to mud and wind. The open holes didn't bother me too much as it's fun to let a drive rip, but I don't think I'd look forward to those holes on a very windy day.

Other Thoughts:

The course is very well-designed, especially when you consider it's the work of a couple talented local high school/college students. They put in the hard work for good tees, signs, and baskets, but also used their imagination to create a couple holes that cannot be found anywhere else. Ship Rock is a great course to play in conjunction with Buchmiller Park and is a fantastic asset for the area. Great job!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
bnbanbury
Experience: 80 played 17 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Well Done Bomber 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 2, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Long, mostly open course that stays interesting throughout.
-Intense elevation changes that the layout takes full advantage of
-OB is in play on almost every long hole which protects neighboring fairways and adds a technical element to the open holes
-New discatchers are some of the best baskets on which i've had the privilege of playing.
-Good signage and flypads

Cons:

-Holes 13 and 14 stood out as being a little below the standard set by the rest of the course. 13 is a flat open 300' hole and 14 is a flat open tweener type hole that is too long for a par 3 but a fairly easy par 4. I think both could have greens carves into the rough to the right to bring them closer to the creek and make them more interesting and technical.

Other Thoughts:

I wanted to talk about holes 15-17 specifically in my review because i have to admit that my expectations of these holes were colored by reviewers that had come before me. I thought they would be long boring throw-away holes and found that nothing could be further from the truth. 15 is a challenging uphill tee shot with OB on both sides to a big sweeping 2nd shot from hill top to hill top. 16 plays downhill to line of trees that runs across the fairway. A long drive still needs good placement in one of the gaps to give a good look at a 3. 17 is one of my favorite holes on the course. The OB on the right and rough on the left narrow as you proceed up the fairway. The more you try to bite off on the tee the more challenging your 1st shot is but a good tee shot makes a three very reachable.

I have really enjoyed my rounds here and try to make the 45 minute drive as often as possible. Some additional amenities like benches would improve things and i've heard that there will be additional trees planted which will be awesome. There aren't many courses like this on the east coast. I think it can be hard to build an open course that doesn't feel repetitive and chore-like but i think this is one that's done right.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Some Sensational Holes Followed By Some Not So Great! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

After reading previous reviewer Croow's review, I was tempted to just cut and paste his review in it's entirety. His is a extremely well written review and spot on with the information he's conveying.

Upon arriving at Ship Rock's sign on a busy county road and driving back a few hundred yards, I wasn't sure as to what kind of a course I was arriving at? A small private course? A large county park course? Turns out this is a county park set in the middle of farm country. It's a wonderful, large rolling area with hills, wooded parts, creeks, etc. And it seems to be disc golf exclusive!

The pads are great fly pads. Nice new Discatcher baskets and great signs with all the information including little arrows hanging underneath pointing you to the next hole.

The course starts out with a major "WOW' factor in my opinion. # 1 is either a downhill 870' (tee sign distance) or 704' (on-line map listed) Par 4 curving around a grove of trees. Bigger arms than me could throw over the trees and shortcut the hole. Recreational types still get to start their round with a big downhill and then possibly cut through the trees. Either way it was a really fun way to begin a round.

Then # 2 is about a 225' touch shot to a basket sitting just in front of a small creek. The tee area is very neatly carved into the side of the hillside. Another fun, great hole.

Then I really liked # 3. It was another hole carved into the hillside where a lot of work has gone into building and engineering this hole. Players are throwing uphill with danger on the right.

I don't think I've been so wowed by a course after the first three holes as I was after these the first three here.

Later # 11 absolutely makes my All-Time list of Unique, Clever Holes. From the tee it appears to be just another 230' hyser throw through the trees. But what makes this hole so unique is when you walk up to find the basket, the basket is hidden down an almost a straight vertical drop of a hill (maybe 50-60 feet). And just beyond the basket is the creek. So your simple little 230' annie now becomes a most interesting tee shot. Throw it hard enough and you could blindly get it down the hill to the basket. Or you could have a most interesting putt straight downhill. Too hard of a tee off and you could find yourself in the creek. Loved this hole!

Another clever, fun hole was the one where the old barn was removed and you're now throwing slightly uphill up over the old foundation works. It's a nice change of pace from the wooded and open holes on this course.

Those players with big arms will love this course.

Cons:

As previously stated, the last six holes are overly long, sometimes boringly open, sometimes uphill and sometimes brutally hard. By the time I reached this point, I was spent after a long, hot day so I just walked the course with co-founder Travis and his friend. The course is built and designed for a player like Travis, who throws 400' straight drives and is young and strong.

Other Thoughts:

I would love to see a set of Rec/Beginner tee pads built here at Ship Rock. I loved playing the front nine plus a couple more but the final six are probably too much for many recreational players to really enjoy. If you're an advanced/pro player, or a young strong rec player wanting to play some great well designed holes, you gotta come and experience Ship Rock DGC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Crooow
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 37.1 years 249 played 52 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Two-thirds great 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 18, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great tee pads (fly pads). Great new DISCatcher baskets. Really interesting holes (but see below). Area is dedicated to disc golf so no interference. Nice mix of hole lengths. Mostly open but some wooded holes as well. All the par 3 holes were fun and not ridiculous. Plenty of opportunities to air out your arm. Pretty easy to find your way around.

Cons:

Lots of long wide open holes that get boring after a while unless you can accurately throw 450-500 feet (see below). No amenities. Directions here are accurate but the turn-in comes up unexpectedly on a heavily traveled road with fast moving cars.

Other Thoughts:

As I played the opening 12 holes, I was thinking "4.5". When I played the last 6, I was thinking "3.5 or lower" so I settled on 4.0 as a compromise. I got par on all par 3s (actually birdied #5) but I don't have a big arm so I bogeyed most of the longer holes (with at least one double bogey).

It starts out great with a par 4 curve around a wooded area and the basket tucked near the hill side; it wasn't that hard despite being listed as 704 feet. #2 is a short shot from the hillside through some woods to a basket on the other side on a clearing. #3 is a short one up a narrow path with a small landing area (big roll away possibility).

#4 is the first long open hole (par 4, 723 feet, gradual downhill) and was fun to air it out. #5 is a picturesque 244-footer around the remains of a stone building to an elevated basket. #6 is an 853-foot uphill par 5 which was fun for the first one of these.

#7 is a 696-foot par 4 slightly downhill with a mando and a tree line that you need to negotiate. #8 is a fun little 358-footer downgrade with the basket protected by a few trees.#9 is a 486-footer that follows a curving fairway that narrows to a basket in the woods up a small incline.

#10 is a fairly easy straightforward hole with a few trees to get your confidence back. #11 is the shortest hole (204 feet) but perilous as you have a sharp left turn with a cliff and the basket at the base of the cliff. If you overshoot, your disc goes into a large creek where you may lose it. For #12, you throw off a wooden deck through some light woods with the basket out in a clearing.

After this is where I got disappointed. #13 is a flat straight 298-footer in a wide open field. #14 is a flat straight 614-footer farther down that same wide open field. #15 is a 579-footer up a big hill but also wide open. #16 is a 640-footer down the same hill with one tree line to negotiate. Then #17 is a 538-footer up the same hill again (just farther down). Then you finish with #18 which is a 325-footer that starts up the hill and then levels out. It is also wide open and is not bad except that the previous 5 holes had already bored me as just drudgery.

It seems such a shame that the course ends on such a boring but still difficult set of holes. If/when I return I will probably just play 1-13, then 5-13, and then 5-6 back to my car.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Caelstrom
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 33 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Addition to the Lancaster Circuit 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- This course was very easy to follow. The signage was simple and never left you guessing. The progression of the holes felt very natural. Somebody obviously put a lot of thought into the design/layout of this course.

- Holes 3, 10, and 11 added some great variety to the course with tight shots and several obstructions.

- Lots of fun elevation changes and some interesting mandos.

Cons:

- As of 4/9/13 a large pile of debris in the middle of hole 5 (looks like they tore down an old barn) made this hole a little dangerous.

- This may seem a little petty, but a bench or two (and maybe a few trash cans along the way) would be great amenities for this course. Right now there's no place to sit and rest (save for on the ground), and you will notice the occasional litter (which hopefully would be solved by the addition of trash cans).

Other Thoughts:

- Don't overshoot the baskets for holes 2 and 16 unless you want to go swimming for your disc. These baskets are backed-up by a large creek.

- This course is very open (not much shade) so bring sunscreen and be prepared to fight the wind on holes 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 15, 16, 17, and 18.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Airubus
Experience: 21.1 years 43 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Big Arms Delight 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 12, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This area is clearly designated for disc golfers only! You wont find any hikers, or sunbathers, or dog walkers, etc.. This place is a beautiful property with great elevation changes and a winding creek, with overlooking cliffs, well off any road. That said:

The views are great. keep your head up and look around on every hole. It's just beautiful.

The signage is great. Not only the tee signs with distances, but also the arrows under the baskets pointing to the next tee.

All the tee-pads are fly-tees, and were level with plenty of run-up, (save for hole 12).

With holes abundant in 600ft or more, this is a great course to practice throwing hard and getting that big D. If you've a big arm and can throw 350-400+ ft...you'll be ringing in birdies. If you're looking to practice a 700ft downhill dream, it's here. Likewise, a 700ft uphill monster? it's here.

(Update June 2013) Now with a garbage can at the bulletin board!

Cons:

It's the little things that separate the good courses from the best courses. it's hard to ding courses for the little things, but little things add up to great things.

With the length of the course, i don't remember any benches to take a rest. I could see older/younger, or disabled persons wanting a break.

(Update June 2013 - With the grass high and fairways mowed, the out of bounds was obvious) In the winter-time, the grass is gone and the out-of-bounds ropes were invisible to my eyes until i literally tripped over one. it's a small gauge white string, and in some places, staked in the ground with tree branches. Thicker gauge yellow rope with low profile (1' x 1" lumber) stakes would be a welcome upgrade.

I don't know if it were my eyes or not, but some of the tee signs included trees that just weren't there which left me looking at the sign, then the fairway, back to the sign, back to the fairway...then confusion.

If you cant throw far (as in greater than 350') you'll look at a 700ft hole with little to no obstacles and become bored. there are many - many long holes with little to no obstacles that will leave you with the feeling, "i guess i'll just throw till i can putt"

Safety. Few holes will put you in harms way. Nothing really bad except for holes 4 and 10. Once you finish the previous holes, you will literally walk up the fairway to the next tee-pad. With such a large amount of land and countless 600+ft holes, i still find myself questioning why am walking 40ft up a fairway into someone's drive with so much land around me.

As of now, the parking was limited (for the stone parking) and the driveway was muddy (on this particular day). it's not a big deal, but i think you could fit 6-10 cars on the stone (i think) I don't think you could get stuck, but beware in muddy conditions if you're parking off the stone in a 2WD car.

Other Thoughts:

This course is in serious need of short tees (like a Blue tee long position and a white tee short position and even a red tee - recreational position).

I think this course is a prime example of what a course could be if multiple tees AND multiple pins were utilized. That alone could generate countless and unpredictable layouts accessible to players of all skill levels. I can throw 300ft consistently. i would see a 700ft hole and think - "ok...another 4"

On some of the open field shots, i think a roped off "island" hole would add to the challenge, rather than "Drive. Drive. Putt. Repeat"

Little things disc golfers would LOVE to see: A mailbox stocked with scorecards, and drop box for lost/found discs. Buried/painted bricks on the fairways to gauge distance: Blue 300', White 200', and Red 100'. Likewise, how about a buried marker around the pins indicating 40' for a jump putt? One little amenity i just love, is a vertical 4" x 4" piece of lumber with pegs to hang your disc bag at the tee-pads.

If you're playing in the summer-time BRING WATER! There isn't much cover on the back 9 and if the sun is out and the heat is on...you'll be hurting.

This is a great addition to the local courses, and I'm VERY excited to see the direction the local club takes! kudos to a beautiful course, albeit long!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top