• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Shorewood, IL

Shorewood Park

2.95(based on 34 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Shorewood Park reviews

Filter
7 1
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 212 played 200 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Shorewood DGC 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Because I only had about 40 minutes to play this course for the first time today, I had to jog through it pretty quickly. That being said, I found it very easy to navigate even though I was in a hurry. This course beautifully utilizes trees and the creek for many of the holes. There were some very tight shots and some very open shots and just a huge variety of shots. This course also uses mandos very nicely and they fit in very well and add to the challenge of the park. Some of the holes are very, very short and offer a good ace run (I had a bounce out my first time playing). Very fun!!!

Cons:

It's very short...the longest of the holes was about 350 ft. but since it fully utilized the park, this isn't a huge complaint. There was snow on the ground when I played today and there were still several other people playing. I can imagine that there could be quite a few people here when the weather is nicer.

Other Thoughts:

I choose this course because it was so close to the highway on my way home from Chicago and I was definitely not let down. This course is very technical in a few spots and accuracy is a must! As said before, it's definitely an ace run course and is perfect for beginners. The mandos are a lot of fun and I think people of all skill levels can appreciate this park. :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
whitechocolate
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.2 years 437 played 23 reviews
2.50 star(s)

MIdrange Madness 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 17, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Cement Teepads
-Well signed
-Pavilion/Picnic Tables
-Port-a-Potty (in season)
-Garbage Can
-Mostly secluded park (other things however rarely used)
-Practice basket
-Offers something for all player types

Although this is definitely not a challenging championship type course, it is still a course I like to frequent when I am this direction. There are bunch of holes under 200, and maybe three that are over 300...barely. With that being said, there is a great opportunity to use you bag/discs to learn how to shape your shots. There are anhyzers, hyzers, doglegs, and mandos to challenge and give you an opportunity to practice form and quality of shots. Alot of the shorters holes are heavily wooded. The "longer" holes are more open. It's a great putter/midrange/fairway driver course to practice on. Plus it is easy enough to bring newer players where they will not get as frustrated, but still show them what disc golf is about and has to offer. It's what I considered a fun course, not than a challenging course. I still enjoy going there whether it's with a group to enjoy a casual round or alone to work with my midranges and putters. There is enough trees and tight lines to make it enough of a challenge, but very duece friendly. Plus it has that old school nostalgia feel that you do not get from newer courses.

Cons:

-short course
-road comes into to play too much
-some baskets are too close to each other
-lack of overall challenges

Although enjoyable, the course is still very short. There is next to no room to expand. They used the park to it's full potential. The problem is it's a small park. It also went in way before the disc technology got to where it is today. Any high rated player would not find this park a challenge at all. Any casual player would love this place. Shooting even would not be consider rare by any stretch of the imagination. They road could come into play on many holes when throwing. There are some good hyzer routes over the car path which could lead to someone's disc getting ran over. I always drive extra slow to the parking lot when going through there when I see people playing just incase. I don't want to play a round thinking about how I just crushed someone's 10x Roc.

Other Thoughts:

With there being better courses in the area, this course still getts plenty of play. The layout could be slightly confusing at first play, but it is relatively easy to follow. I can see throwing at a couple of the wrong baskets the first time through. Signs are at each teepad, so recommend looking at them closely. There are a few long tees, if you can find them. If you are looking for a fun course, it's here. Also if you're hitting the Joliet area for a couple courses during the day this is a great first round warm up course. Definitely not the hardest course in the area, but worth a stop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
WindyCityROCer
Experience: 19.2 years 27 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

It is what it is, and it's good at it 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great course routing, no 2 holes play anywhere near the same....
Beginner friendly!
Requires a VARIETY of shots, lots of mandos (5?)
Beautiful park, DG is the main activity....
Probably THE BEST COURSE IN JOLIET AREA TO WORK ON YOUR ACCURACY!
EXCELLENT concrete tees! (well, for shorts)
ALL baskets in great shape!
2/3 of holes are VERY defined by trees/canopies... an excellent technical course approachable by all skill levels.
Creek in play on 6 holes... but not a lost disc scenario.... just a stroke for water....

Cons:

TRAFFIC... unless you can get there early, it's a mess....
Length, for any regular tournament player (ie... 850+?) this course will be extremely short... take a mid, putter, and water bottle...
The playground on 15/16 can come into play if non dg people are there....
There are back tees (natural) on SOME holes, and they are hard to find (try to find a JADGC (Joliet club) member to find them all)
I did mention traffic?
LOTS of mandos.... a few I agree with (the schule protecting the OBVIOUS line has been beat down) a few are just frustrating.

I should also mention POLICE....I have seen undercovers, and MORONS toting coolers getting tickets for alcohol.... it's a 45 min round... just wait to do your business..

Other Thoughts:

For my skill level (glorified rec) this course is a gem, a few holes to air it out with a driver, and the rest is the tech shots with mids that I need to perfect. As frustrating as the mando's can be, they add to the course, really, well accept for #5, maybe. Course Plays through an old growth park, lots of trees to smack a shot down, but NOT a lot of schule to lose a disc.

Noteworthy holes....
1. L>R shot, RHFH preffered cause of that darn diagonal tree that smacks down a RHBH
3. AWESOME tunnel shot, you'll get tree-nied into the creek more than you want to admit...
5.Mando, L>R... very easy to screw it up, basket is 50' to the R of mando tree
7.very short, L>R basket right by the entrance road, ob beyond, seems simple, until you go over/ob
9. ace run across the creek.... fun hole
10.ace run, with one thin guardian tree, over and right is a usually wet putt from the creek bed
11.slightly L>R, a rather long hole for the course, with a permanent limb on the ground (@25' from basket) to spoil your skip ace
18. A VERY TOUGH L>R hole, as it requires a tight L>R curve @40' off tee (with canopy) then you go for the basket.... I can't tell you how many times I have seen this hole destroy an otherwise good round...

I listed this under cons, but I'm trying not to hold it against the course itself, the traffic is HORRIBLE.... Lots of 1-2 disc rec players, that tend to play in LARGE groups (think 8+) with little to no courtesy... they even endanger eachother when they throw.... also, I believe/HOPE it's these people who are littering everywhere...

There's a really good Thai restaurant off 59 and Jefferson, and it's <10min from Channahon...

I'm giving this course a 4 because what it does, it does GOOD.... and it's SO CLOSE to other great courses
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
mykeg44
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 72 played 45 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Too short, but decent 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The strongest aspect of the course is the variety of shots it requires. A great place for new players to practice various technical shots without major consequences or much of a risk of losing discs.

While there is a little park once you get out of the woods around holes 11-12, there was nobody there, so it's pretty much a disc golf only area from what I could tell.

Baskets and concrete tees were all in very good shape.

The course was pretty clean thanks to garbage cans on most tees,

Cons:

Very short. About half of the holes were around 200 feet or less. Will probably not offer much of a challenge to experience players as almost all holes can be birdied pretty easily.

Very muddy. Holes 3-11 play through woods where there is almost no grass at all, so be prepared to get muddy.

A stream runs through the woods and at a couple crossings only some old wooden planks exist to cross on so there's definite wipe out potential for kids or people who don't have their balance right.

Most of the signs were really old and vandalized, making some of the pars and distances unreadable... definitely in need of some new ones.

Other Thoughts:

Overall it's not too bad of a course. Right off 55 so it's pretty accessible, and one of several good courses in the area, so there's potential for it to be part of a multi-course day for somebody who's trying to hit some or all of the area courses in a single day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Short but fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 23, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a wooded park with dense trees and a small creek. There are some small elevation changes, and they are used very well to add interest and some difficulty. The creek comes into play on several holes, and adds a little bit of a risk/reward decision on those holes without being large enough to keep you from retrieving your disc.

There is a great mix of straight, right, and left turning holes. The course didn't ever feel repetitive, and it was nice to have to use a variety of different shots. There was also a good mix of tight holes through dense trees, and more open holes with some scattered mature trees. Many of the holes have various different lines you can take that offer different looks at the basket with different levels of risk/reward.

There are short and long tees on many holes, which adds a nice level of extra challenge and some different looks from the longs. The short tees are all nice concrete pads with good tee signs. The course is easy to navigate for the most part, with only two spots that are at all confusing.

Cons:

The biggest con is the lack of real distance anywhere on this course. Most players won't need more than a midrange on any hole, and most are reachable with putters. There were just a few too many ace runs here, though at least the trees make you work for it.

The long tees were just mud spots with some small concrete markers. They didn't provide very good surfaces to tee from, and were often a little difficult to find at first. There were a couple spots on the course that were a little difficult to navigate the first time through, an easy problem to solve with a couple next tee markers.

The course was pretty crowded with groups of inexperienced players. Many seemed a little ignorant of good course etiquette, which meant that large groups were backing up a bunch of smaller groups behind them, and there were some single players throwing on people as they tried to play through.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a great beginner course, with pretty easy navigation and not too much length. There isn't much brush in the woods, so errant shots are pretty easy to find, and the difficulty is good without being discouraging. More experienced players will find some fun challenges here, especially to their short game, but won't find too much real difficulty to keep them coming back.

This is definitely a course worth playing if you're in the area, especially with some other fun courses around. Make a stop here, especially if you're looking for a quick, fun round on a pretty course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
TSchneidz2
Experience: 15 years 40 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

SHOREWOOD PARK 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 26, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a great beginner course and I personally love this course to begin using new discs as there are a few open holes to really see how the disc will fly. There quite a few short holes where you are almost upset you didnt get the ace. I also like that holes 3 thru 10 are tucked in a wooded area with a small creek while 11 thru 18 are pretty open. Nice variety on a small tucked away course.

Cons:

I've now played here maybe 9 or 10 times and every time the course has been pretty crowded with some very large groups.

Other Thoughts:

Again...this is a great course for the beginner and a great course for a more advanced player to work on their mid-range game. Nice variety on a nice course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 394 played 276 reviews
2.50 star(s)

B- = Be too short to Be fun 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a superb beginners' course as is showcases what disc golf is all about and makes birdies conceivable for even first time players.

But, I review courses based on my tastes, so here is what I personally like and how this course stacks up:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B- (Pretty good use of trees to create relatively narrow fairways on half the holes. Problem is that the holes are too short for bad throws to be unrecoverable.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C- (Only hole #2 is not easily parkable. No thrill in parking any of the others.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A- (Great layout and great variety)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B (Other than hole 7 where you are by an industrial area, this course feels quite secluded from civilization and the park is relatively pretty. The holes are not secluded from each other at all.)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
jdunk03
Experience: 17.5 years 22 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

short and fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

fair for left and right handed. mando on hole 2 is challanging. lot of ace runs out here good course to learn on

Cons:

other then hole 2 not to challanging of a course,

Other Thoughts:

fun and can get a round done in 45 min. near the highway be a good trip hit 6 disc golf courses within 10 miles
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Trick
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice short course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice short course. Challenging without having any truly long holes. Heavily wooded, especially 3-6 and holes 9-10.

Cons:

Muddy! Most tees are cement, but mud surrounds them in springtime. Bring your mud shoes. Very few long holes.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a nice course to play when you don't have a lot of time, your working on your short game and tight shots, or you prefer not to play a long course. I learned on this course, which was great, but I no longer find it very challenging.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
ForehandMAN36
Experience: 21.9 years 192 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Home field 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 10, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Baskets in tip top shape
- Well marked tee signs w/ detailed map of each hole
- Concrete tees
- Course easy to navigate
- Most mandatory doglegs I've ever seen on a single course.
- Only one "wide open" shot
- Every hole factors in obstacles
- Wooded holes consist of tight/narrow fairways challenging you're abilty to throw on a line
- The open field holes work on you're abilty to hyzer/anhyzer
- Tiny creek comes into play on a few holes ( if you don't want muddy disc/shoes, don't throw in the creek.)
- Course stays in good shape whether it's the park district or volunteers making sure it does.

Cons:

The only thing I can think of is the construction buildings that are next to the course. If you accidently make an erratic throw, chances are you will lose that disc due to those areas having a large barbed wire fence.
Also make sure you are paying attention when driving there, the entrance is hard to see the first time you go and drive slow when turning that first corner ( it's next to a basket, although I have never had my car hit by a disc or hit a car myself)

UPDATE* Over the past year, sadly almost all the tee signs have been marked up. Either by players ace claims (which I can't stand by the way) or drawings of weed leaves, mushrooms, or other inappropriate material.
* Also lately if you go to play on a weekday past 3 it's packed with groups of 3 -10 playing. Really busy. I tried going on a Sunday morning at 10 and the parking lot was full. It use to never get this busy. So if you want to play a relaxed round here, go on a weekday morning.

Other Thoughts:

This is the course closet to my house, so I consider it my "home turf". I constantly play this course and it never takes a toll or gets boring. Anytime I get a new disc, this is the first place it gets used. I love it and highly suggest playing it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
krc1130
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 25 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A fun course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 19, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice course, requires a good amount of skill with some fairly tight shots. Challenging and not too long, with a good mix of wooded and open shots. Nice use of space, decent flow. Holes are fairly well marked.

Cons:

Some holes are a little too close to both the road and the parking lot. Was very crowded when we played on a Friday afternoon, and that hampered our play. The dried up creek that runs through the first few holes was EXTREMELY muddy, so you can run the risk of dirtying up your disc or shoes pretty bad. You run the risk of getting confused, especially on the later holes - we accidentally skipped a hole altogether.

Other Thoughts:

There is nothing extraordinary about this course, and there isn't anything too bad either. The entrance could be very easy to miss from 59, so I was glad to be with someone who had played there before. Shorewood is a fun little course that I'd be glad to play again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
4_Of_Spades
Experience: 16.1 years 36 played 28 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A Nice Little Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 14, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Works on hitting lines and accuracy to get to the hole.

Mostly dense woods with a few more open holes.

Signs were okay, tee pads and baskets were good as well.

Old school course. Very short and compact. Provides some interesting tight shots that you may not see on other courses in the area.

Located in a small, but nice park just for disc golf.

Cons:

Not many holes to really drive on, more of mid-range approach and putt shots.

Hard to find the first time. Just really keep an eye out for a small Shorewood park sign at the entrance to the place.

Road not too much of an issue as the people using it are disc golfers coming and going and driving slowly. Just be aware.

Other Thoughts:

The length of this course doesn't take away from the fun or playability of it. It is all about accuracy and rewards well put discs and punishes slightly miss placed throws (by like 1 stroke since it is so short). It is a fun course and is near by to some other good courses like Channahon, West Park, and Highland Park. I come by to play here once or twice every year.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Noah Karnes
Experience: 21.1 years 39 played 20 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short, Wooded, Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Well maintained and nice calm atmosphere. Course was well marked and had nice concrete tees. The course itself is mostly short with a good variety of left, right, and straight shots. Includes some doglegs and uses the creek on some shots.

Cons:

The baskets were pretty old so they weren't the best to putt on. Other than that I can't really think of much.

Other Thoughts:

Overall it was a fun, well maintained course. It wasn't too crowded, which is nice. We played Community Park right after this one and we were much more impressed with that one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 12
D1sasterouz
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun but short 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 23, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Great wooded course. Interesting doglegs with lots of challenges.

Cons:

Not very many long holes mostly short holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top