• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Lewisville, TX

Tom McCutcheon DGP

3.75(based on 15 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Tom McCutcheon DGP reviews

Filter
12 0
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.4 years 437 played 436 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Tale of two courses, but front and back 9 are both good

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 6, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Lots and lots of variety of hole shapes and obstacles
- Natural obstacles like the lake, dirt mounts, and elevation used well to challenge your tee shots
- Front nine plays around the lake with many tee shots near the water
- Back nine has many, many trees and is challenging despite the length
- Long, I mean REALLY long tee pads which I'm told John Houck himself argued for, these are the older pads I'm told, newer pads are normal length concrete pads
- A really good mix of challenging and easier par 3 holes keep it fun and interesting
- With the property given I'm not sure much can be done to make a better disc golf course, designer really threaded the needle, put the creativity hat on and made a really fun course
- Sandy ground and grass kills the skip shot which makes going for it places more worth it or less worth it depending on the hole. This is a factor for the risk/reward holes out there which is neat

Cons:

- Some of the old course has been eaten by the floods that happened a few years back, luckily new holes have been added but some of that nostalgia is lost forever
- There are some spots that look like navigation isn't intuitive like when you cross the street for example. Luckily I had locals, who are DGCR veterans as well to guide me so I didn't have to try to navigate the course at all
- There are a few danger spots where other park users can and will get in the way. Hole 18's fairway is a popular spot for people walking and is somewhat blind to them. In our group who were being careful we still threw on this hole not knowing a few people were walking up that area. In the summer time the holes by the lake get very crowded with picnics and other people I'm told so may have to skip them or the course may only be the 9 holes across the street?
- Only the one par 4 hole (an easier par 4 hole as well) limits the course from being part of the upper echelon of DFW courses

Other Thoughts:

I had a really good time at this park with new friends I met from here on DGCR. I really like the difference between the sandy/rocky front 9 by the beach and the super wooded section of the back nine which despite it's length is no easy feat for birdie or par at times. There are lots of options in DFW for great courses and although this is just behind places like Z-Boaz and Harry Meyers it still is a fun, and surprisingly challenging course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
nmartin
Experience: 10 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Play this course if you like hitting people 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 23, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well kept. Very visually appealing. Challenging shots all around.

Cons:

Depending on what time of the year you go, if the weather is nice expect about 10 people just walking around or even picnicking on the fairways. Some days it is literally impossible to play unless you want to slam a Destroyer into little Timmy's dome and get a lawsuit.

Other Thoughts:

Too crowded with campers, beach goers and picnickers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
RedbirdinTX
Experience: 18 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Big tee boxes, great for running up on the big shots.
Course maintenance is fine.
A couple risk/reward holes over the lake, but the course is not punishing.
Nice mix of lakeside, wooded and open field shots.
Baskets are good.
Great layout.

Cons:

Drainage is much improved but still has areas where it will stagnate.
Mosquitos are a problem most of the season.
Basket position doesn't move.
You can use a cart, but it is a bit difficult.
Hole 16's sign points you into 18's fairway,which is a blind throw off the box, use the path behind 15's basket to avoid getting hit.

Other Thoughts:

This course is intermediate in difficulty, but beginners can play on it. For being on a lake, there are only 4 holes you can lose your disc in the water. Our foursome tends to take around a hour and 40 minutes to play this course. Be careful with beer out here, cops will give you an open container ticket if they see you with a beer can. Use a cup, koozies don't cut it. Also, when you are parking your car, be aware that the west side parking does come with the risk of your car being hit by a disc. 14,15 and 18 have their out of bounds as the parking area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
LeftyPower
Experience: 35.3 years 33 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun Course with Risk and Reward shots 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 28, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Right on the lake
Nice very long XL tee pads
Nice risk/reward shots, especially the 2 holes enticing you to go over the lake to get to the basket in 1
Most of the course by the lake plays good after a rain with sandy soil
Lots of elevated greens framed with railroad ties
Good signage
Good next hole markers
Several tough to reach baskets

Cons:

One set of tees
Static basket locations
Mammoth sized mosquitoes on new woods holes with lots of standing water back there
Several of the holes are right on the lake road and you need to watch out you do not hit traffic when you arc your shot over the street

Other Thoughts:

This course was slightly redesigned within the last couple of years and I find I miss a few of the old holes on the lake side of the course although I did appreciate the new woods holes which are on the other side of the road as well. The new holes in the woods are short and mostly tight LHBH or RHFH shots which suited my leftyness for a couple of birdies. I did get attacked by a swarm of mosquitoes last time I was out there although their humongous size , twice the size of any mosquito I have ever seen....made them easier to swat...I am just glad I didn't let a single one get me but it did make me rush my play through here and not even consider using the benches by the tee pads. A couple of the other new holes are longer par 4s that play along roads and are more open, mostly enticing you to air it out over the road and bring it back in to get more distance. Nowhere near a scary as the lake but OB nonetheless. My favorite holes are still the original ones on the lake side that have the elevated greens and lake there that force you to choose your shot wisely and put some pressure on you not to go into the drink.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.1 years 299 played 209 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Probably more fun the second time around 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 22, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tom McCutcheon DGP is a really solid course that plays right next to Lake Lewisville. I thought the course had a really great mix of types of holes from big bomb holes over the lake to more wooded holes and everything in between. All of the holes felt fair in the fairways with no head scratching obstacles that creates a luck factor.

There is quite a bit of rolling hills and elevation change throughout the course especially near the lake. I caught myself being winded after one walk between courses, though I think that has a lot to do with me being woefully out of shape.

Hole 12 was the longest hole out on the course, and it was my favorite as it takes two really good shots to have a chance at a 3 and a few massive trees are in the optimal landing zone, so you have to have some skill to navigate it. I also really enjoyed hole 7 where you can risk it and throw a hyzer over the lake, or you can play it safe and snake through the trees along the shore.

Navigation was a hair tricky, but there were next tee signs after every hole, which I really appreciated. (though take a picture of the course map at the beginning, just in case) The concrete tees were giant and there were very detailed tee signs on every hole. The course uses a lot of land in the park, so I appreciate the fact that it starts and ends right next to each other.

Cons:

I think all courses play better the more times you play them. You are used to the holes, know what to throw etc. This course would be so much better on your second play. More than half of the holes have baskets that you cannot see from the tee, so you might have to do some running up in the fairways to see exactly where you are throwing to.

At the holes near the lake, the ground is loose sand, which makes traversing the holes difficult to walk in tennis shoes. I know I am really reaching for the cons.

A few of the holes played pretty close together, or some of the walks between holes walked right next to another hole's tee pad. Hole 6 to hole 7 and hole 15 to hole 16 are the two culprits that stick out in my mind.

Like I mentioned before, navigation is a bit tricky, but taking a map will be helpful.

Other Thoughts:

This was a fun course. I really enjoyed the variety of holes. I understand this to be one of the better courses in the DFW area, and I could definitely see that being the case.

This course is definitely worth the stop in. It seems to have completely recovered from being decimated by the storm a few years ago.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
Notorious21
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 105 played 48 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Tricky, but fair 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 16, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

- A good variety of distances and shot shapes off the tee
- Large teepads and great signage (navigable without a map)
- Cool breeze coming off the lake

Cons:

- Confusion between hole 15 and 18's baskets
- Fishing people on holes 3 and 7
- Run of three straight left-handed holes in the woods feels repetitive

Other Thoughts:

Most of the holes are held over from the old Lake Lewisville course, with a few substitutions. 1-7 are mostly the same, and 9-12 are new. Much more of a short, technical course than a big bomber, but it makes for a good experience for a variety of skill levels.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 326 played 245 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Excellent course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-- Excellent use of terrain, with both uphill and downhill shots.
-- Water in play, although less so than previously. No. 7 still has you basically throwing over the lake (I've lost a disc or two there), but No. 3 doesn't as much. You can take that RHFH left path over the edge of the water, but the more common path is the other way.
-- Fun factor is high as is the risk/reward factor. The intermediate player has a chance to make 2 on many holes, but 4 or worse comes into play if you make a bad shot.
-- Lots of shade.
-- Facilities (port-o-potty) on site.

Cons:

-- Roads. I've seen shots reach the road on as many as eight holes.
-- The redesign brought some very nice holes (especially 9-11 in the woods), but it added some long walks between holes.
-- Navigation. After 7, you have to go up the hill and cross the road to No. 8. After 8, follow the path to the left into the woods on a longish walk to get to No. 9. After No. 11, come out of the woods and go right (and toward the road) to get to No. 12.
-- No drinking water.
-- People oblivious to disc golf. Runners, walkers and people just enjoying the lake are present, so be aware.

Other Thoughts:

-- Still one of the best courses in DFW, especially after a rain.
-- Parking is along the main road that divides the course, so you're car could get hit by a disc. On the other hand, you come by your car during the round, a plus on hot summer days.
-- I've listed as many cons and pros on a 4-disc rating. That's because most of the cons are small problems that can mostly be addressed by planning ahead (drinking water and navigation) and decent play (staying out of the road).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
ivanhenson
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13 years 684 played 220 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Hard to follow but nice 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really good course
The lake is great.
Lots of variety
Not easy
Some short some far some trees
elevation changes a little water

Cons:

Very hard for me to follow
No distance markers any where
and sometimes very hard to find the next tee

Other Thoughts:

A few signs or even pain on tee box with distance would make this an excellent course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
topcide
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

nice course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 31, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Good Mix of shots

-Pretty location, plays along a lake with the water directly in play on a few.

-Friendly locals

-Uses topography well

- Challenging but not impossible

Cons:

-A few holes play literally right next to roads. This is just a recipe for disaster. Also, no mention if roads are OB ( no signs at tees)

-Few, If any trash cans. I saw a fair amount of litter cluttering the tree clumps

-No benches at all, good to have a stool here as I could see this course getting packed.

-Navigation is very difficult with no real next tee signs. there were some temporary ones though. Even finding the first hole was difficult,

-No practice basket

- No tee signs

-a few of the holes play pretty tight to one another. You gotta keep your eyes peeled.

Other Thoughts:

I am from out of town and in Texas for work and I really did enjoy playing this course and plan on hitting it again while I am here. I am not trying to trash this course, I thought it was a really good course and had a ton of fun playing it, but it does have some cons.

The course had some really cool holes and a huge variety of topography - The lake being in play on this course is a nice touch, you literally play a few holes on the beach with the lake completely in play. I would prob call the hole ( #5 i think) with the big hyzer line over the edge of the lake the signature hole on this course.

A lot of shots were needed, and there are not whole ton of easy birdies which i like as way too many courses are deuce or die these days it seems. with that said, there are many birdy-able holes if you execute well.

The actual holes themselves are well designed, and the park space is utilized well.

The navigation on this course was bad- i understand that not every course is going to have a perfect flow, but if it doesn't navigation signs really are a must and would have alleviated this issue completely. Also, with a course that has this many blind shots and tucked away baskets you really need tee signs as well. Had I not played with locals, I would have been really frustrated with finding my way around and finding the baskets on a few holes.

Personally, I think that breaking into the "4" disc rating is when you start to really get into upper echelon courses, and to get into that tier you need to have the small little fit and finish things in addition to good holes like benches, brooms, next tee signs, good tee signs., trash cans, ETC- just the little stuff that really makes a course pop. Like I said I am not trying to trash this course, it is really good and is definitely worth playing- but it does lack the little stuff that would be needed to put it over the top.

with all that said, go play this course. I am glad i did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Prost
Experience: 8 years 20 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good Mix 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good mix of holes (some near water, wooded holes, etc.); Great mix of long holes and short; Need to have a good mix of shots to excel; Great mix of open shots as well as narrow placement shots; Great tee pads; Very few holes have interference from park visitors directly; Great parking

Cons:

Very, very busy most days; If there is windy it swirls and is difficult to read at times; Some holes need additional signage to point out baskets or paths (recently updated course so this takes time); Beware the children playing in the woods who don't pay attention to flying discs; Can be very littered; Casual water is rough just after a rain

Other Thoughts:

The negatives are annoying, but not deal breakers. This is a great course to play that is very challenging. Worth the wait and there are places to pass slow playing groups if needed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
SeanR
Experience: 15 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 17, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Varied holes, water traps/dog legs/long fairways/ wooded areas/hills. I loved the raw feeling of the lakeside & the dense trees across the street. There was even city trucks out there doing some sort of maintenance on the course that day, good to see that upkeep is constant.

Cons:

A few areas make it rather easy to loose a disc. That aside, the baskets could really use some reflective tape along the pole, or something. one set of baskets, 9 & 18, are quite close to one another.. numbers could easily solve this.

Other Thoughts:

As clean and trimmed up as the course was (4/17/17) I could only imagine it getting very out of hand, just a tad scary. Also, we had noticed there wasn't any pictures for this course, so we took some and uploaded them!!! :D
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 5
34blast
Experience: 27.1 years 50 played 31 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Awesome Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 10, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lot's of variety
Lot's of Challenging holes
Lot's of shade
Nice trees and scenery

Cons:

There a a few places where it is easy to lose a disc in the lake or the brush

Other Thoughts:

Great all around course. They changed the course some in the last year. Some of the holes are different now with shorter tight woods shots and right hand turn shots. Lot's of shade and a beautiful course. This is probably my favorite course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
AVR_
Experience: 16 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Not a beginner course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 10, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Nice tee pads
- Fairly easy to navigate altho got some directions from a regular before our round. There is also a google earth map posted on a board near hole 1.
- Awesome views of the lake
- Some very challenging holes
- Baskets in good condition

Cons:

- Definitely not a course for a newer player
- It seemed every hole was a par 3 and quite a few are impossible to birdie
- Lots of rough terrain to walk. Dont bring a cart!
- Potential to lose discs fairly easily

Other Thoughts:

This course was a bad choice for me as its only the 2nd course I have played since recovering from a shoulder surgery on my throwing side. However once I get my power and form back I will be giving it another go. I couldnt imagine playin this course in the dead of summer tho with all the rough terrain to hike. It was only 75 degrees or so when I played and I was dead tired after 1 round. Overall tho it is a nice long challenging course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
AeroPurt
Experience: 15.9 years 59 played 29 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Well designed and challenging. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 28, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Baskets are in good shape.
- New layout includes new holes that add a more technical aspect to the course.
- Long tee pads in good shape.
- Course plays along Lake Lewisville which provides for some great scenery on the front nine.

Cons:

- There's a few holes where if you aren't careful you could end up in jail.
- Since they had to rearrange the course a bit, there can be a bit of confusion finding a couple tee pads (most notably the transition from 15 to 16. It's better to take the trail behind 15's basket than walking to the left around the trees or you may find yourself walking through 18's fairway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
22 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 388 played 318 reviews
4.00 star(s)

a new twist on an old classic 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 30, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-most of the old course is still intact, 13 original holes remain
-the new holes are a contrast and a challenge
-the new routing through the course works well and still starts and finishes in the main area
-new trails in the woods are already worn in pretty well
-mostly shorter holes but many technical shots
-lots of blind baskets and challenging pin positions
-informative tee signs for the new layout
-GREAT concrete tee pads, longer than you will need
-baskets are in good condition
-sandy soil drains quickly after a rain, doesn't get real muddy
-trash cans, porta-johns, and benches
-friendly locals, weekly minis, great tournament events

Cons:

-no alternate pins or tees
-most of the holes next to the road are still there, parked cars can be in the line of fire
-during the rain season, the fairway of hole 13 and the back road into the park can be completely flooded. if the lake level gets very high then most of the fairway on hole 3 can disappear


A new biking and walking trail has been built through the park and it goes directly through what used to be the fairways of holes 8, 9, 11, & 12. The new layout avoids the trail well but there are lots of pedestrians.

Other Thoughts:

The course at Lake Lewisville Park was in limbo for over a year after the 2015 rain storms severely damaged the park. Railroad ties were washed away and many areas were eroded including the ground around tee pad 7. After being redesigned by the swell fellows at Dynamic Discs Carrollton, the course reopened in Fall 2016 and it is in great shape.

The first seven holes are the same as the old layout with a few small changes. The new trail goes right through what used to be the first tee pad so the new tee is on what used to be hole 8's green. It's a pretty fun tee shot and still very similar to the old shot, just with a smaller window and lower ceiling. The basket on hole 3 has been moved slightly back to the right, on top of that small ridge. Hole 5 has a new tee pad but I'm not sure why, it is directly next to the old one. I'm assuming they were trying to take away the high hyzer. Hole 7 has a new tee pad, a little further back and away from the eroding hillside but it's still the same tee shot. The green on 7 also no longer has railroad ties.

From there you go across the road and hole 8 is old hole 16. Then go into the woods on the trail on the left of old 16's fairway. Holes 9-11 play through the woods and all of them are tighter tunnel shots that finish right. Walk out of the woods and then to the right to get to hole 12, which plays along the road at the back entrance. It's over 500' slightly downhill and the main obstacles are a large oak tree and the OB road. Follow on to holes 13 & 14, old holes 17 & 18. Hole 15 is essentially old hole 15 played backward. The tee is closer to the tree line than the road (avoiding the previous green) and plays toward old hole 14. As you reach the old tee the fairway cuts into the woods on the right where there is a small green with a couple of skinny trees to get past. A trail through the woods leads to hole 16 (old hole 10, from old 14 tee) then hole 17 is old hole 13 and hole 18 is old hole 14 (from old 10 tee).

The old layout was a classic, the best course on the north side of the metroplex along with Towne Lake. This new layout preserves as much as possible while adding a new dimension to the course. Three very wooded holes, a very long hole, and 15 backward replace 8 (the easiest old hole), 9 (the longest old hole), 11 (another of the longest old holes), and 12. I'd say it's a fair trade plus the routing works well. A very well done redesign; huge thanks to DD Carrollton.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top