Grand Prairie, TX

Turner Park

4.065(based on 85 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Turner Park reviews

Filter
4 0
papamullins
Experience: 15.3 years 27 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Beautiful park
-Elevation change - you don't get to see much of this in the D/FW area
-A few porta-potties (sp?)
-Benches at quite a few tees
-Mix of open and wooded shots, so you're not constantly getting beat on by TX sun
-Great signage
-Some challenging shots here. A few holes in particular will make you really work to hit those lines.
-Loved the metal bridges and stairs throughout the course. It's obvious a lot of time, $$$ and hard work has gone into Turner Park to make it enjoyable for anyone that comes through.

Cons:

-The only negative that immediately comes to mind is the slight confusion about some tee placements, which I detailed below. I will update this if I can think of any later on.

Other Thoughts:

If you're as blind as I am - this might help:
To get to hole 5: walk down the street from the basket @ 4 and cross the street entrance you came in to the park. There's a dirt path on the other side of the road that will lead you to the tee box.
To get to 7: Walk up the street a bit and around the wooded area to find the tee box, just beyond 6's basket.

Hole 18 is a monster when the basket is at the long pin!

Overall I really enjoyed this course. The park was in great shape - baskets and chains were sturdy, concrete boxes, some of the best signs I have seen. It's definitely one of my favorites in the D/FW area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
jbain2012
Experience: 14.9 years 10 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Course for all levels of play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 31, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course was actually pretty impressive. When you first get there it looks like you will just be playing a make shift course in an open field but it is actually a lot trickier and more fun than it looks. I like the up hills and low lying tree branches on most of the holes it was challenging for me because the course i play is always downhill and the trees are clear for higher shots.

Cons:

The creek running through the course is nasty kinda like sewage water so play it safe on those holes and lay it up in the grass.

Other Thoughts:

This is a very nice course that is a diamond in the rough anybody in the area should definitely hit up this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
rbsold
Experience: 14.2 years 55 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

New Favorite Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Absolutely enjoyed this course. I'm from Houston, so I never get to see these kind of rolling hills. It's a beautiful park with a nice stream going all the way through it that adds challenge to every hole. The trees create some low ceilings on a few holes that adds to the versatility of the course. It has long open holes, short finesse ones as well. Nice teepads and signs with all the information. The course has all types of shots mixed in, not very dominant towards one throwing style. Will deffinitely love to come back, I personally think the course is underrated on here.

Cons:

When I was there, there was quite a bit of trash, but I didnt really mind it, nor did I break out a garbage bag and go to work, so I cant fuss too much. Also there needs to be more signs pointing to the next teepad. a little confusing.

Other Thoughts:

If you're in DFW, you have to hit this course up, It's my favorite course right now(even though I've only played like 15-16 courses). Wish it was in North Houston.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
sandford
Experience: 14.3 years 31 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A Texas Beauty 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 23, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 5 - I enjoyed this course so much, one of the favorites I have played so far. I had this sense of hope that I could make my disc do something really cool as I stepped up to each tee - I think that was inspired by the course.
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 5 - Course design is fantastic. Located in a very large park, but mostly out of the way from other non-DG park goers. All the holes are well thought out with various tree, water, hill locations that force you to use a variety of shots.
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 3 - Signs at each tee are very descriptive to tell you how to play the hole, etc. Only thing missing were signs after each basket pointing to the location of the next tee pad.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 4.5 - Liked the large concrete tee pads which taper down to point in the direction of the target
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 5 - I love the use of elevation in this course, throwing up over hills to the other side, down valleys and back up and both uphill and downhill shots. Very few simple flat holes.
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 5 - This is a beautiful park, well kept and nice streams and landscaping
BASKETS (5% weight) - 5 - Baskets in great shape and well marked with flags to see from far away. Basket placements make for strategic putting - on edges of hills and near trees, etc. there are multiple pin placements that get rotated by the park also.
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 5 - Hole #12 with the s-curving stream running through is a keeper!
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - Great variety of short and long holes here.
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - I had to use every shot I know how to throw
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 5 - Well maintained park
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 5 - The tight holes are that way because the throwing lines are set up through large trees have to keep control of both horizontal and vertical control of the disc. Open holes provided some "whew" type thoughts of relief when you step up to the tee pad because the tighter ones make you think so much.
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 5 - Good challenge, but not to a point of discouragement.

Cons:

BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - There are plenty of benches in the park, but none at the tee pads. There is a trash can every few holes. Could use benches, so I'm listing this as a con. Also could have used a bathroom there.

Other Thoughts:

Locals are great too. I met up with another DGCR guy and swapped tags, he brought his friend along.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Chained Evil
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.9 years 1095 played 232 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very challenging indeed! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 15, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is the best course that I have played on in terms of variety of shot, elevation, risk reward, and length, both short and long. Some tee boxes are elevated and some baskets are elevated so these are both a plus. Also there is the risk of missing a putt and having it roll off/down the hill so that is good as well. A lot of trees on this course. Also there is a stream that flows on the front 9, but not so deep that you couldn't get your disc if you lost it. You could use a variety of shots on this course. Hole #12 has a water threat on it. Hole #13 has some length and has a lot of trees between the tee box and the basket.
There are also several holes that have mandos.
Hole #18 is a beast. 800+ feet, 400 feet of which are up hill and there are several trees in your way before you get to the crest of the hill, by this time you still have at least 300+ feet to go to the basket that is guarded by trees.
Many holes are surrounded by trees which makes a clean shot that much more difficult but also that much more of a challenge. In my opinion there is something for every level of player on this course. Overall it is a great course.

Cons:

No bathrooms at this park. The porta potties needed empty/cleaned months ago. The transition from #4 to #5 was a little confusing, luckily I saw a local that pointed me in the right direction. People need to pick up their trash. For such a great course there was a lot of trash on the ground here, sad really.

Other Thoughts:

I would have given this course a 4.5 if there were some restrooms and the course was cleaner. I realize this is not the courses fault, but nevertheless it does knock this stellar course down a bit. There was a playground there for the family. The locals were very friendly, and let me play thru and directed me in the correct direction upon me asking. I also asked a local about some places to buy discs and he told me about 2 different places so that was a plus. I wouldn't say that a first timer couldn't navigate this course alone, but I could see where there might be sometimes where you might want a spotter. I played here on a weekday in the afternoon and it wasn't overly crowded but there was traffic. In the spring time when there was more rain, the water threat could be great on #12 especially and maybe #5, #10 and some others on the front 9. Also when the trees get leaves it will make this beauty play even tougher. I will play this course again, and travel 400 miles to do so on my vacation. Great course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
BlackStar
Experience: 43.9 years 7 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Recent improvement 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 3, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Most holes have multiple hole placements.
The designer is still active at the course. He recently added wood mulch at many of the holes and tees.
The course designer is moving the hole placement around every couple of weeks now. I love it.
Lots of elevation changes, both up and down.
Well kept by the city.

Cons:

Bits of trash everywhere.
No water fountains or real restrooms (2 porta potties)

Other Thoughts:

You all know me. I'm the one with the black lab caddy. Last year I took one plastic grocery bag with me each time I played to pick up trash until it was full. It never took so long that anyone had to wait for me or asked to play through. I was always able to fill it and after a few weeks the park was noticeably cleaner. If everyone would just pick up one or two holes of the little bits of trash every 4th or 5th round you played we could all keep it perfect. I will.
If you won't do that, at least carry your bottles/cans to the next trash can. They are all over the park.
It's a great park and it is just that much nicer if it's clean.
Thanks
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
gek76
Experience: 21.3 years 43 played 16 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Each hole was unique. Never felt like I was throwing the same hole over and over.
Loved the use of the hills. The layout really took advantage of the hills. Making you throw up hill, down hill or over hills.
Well marked mandatories. Most tree mandatories are spray painted with an arrow and Road/Out of Bounds where marked on Tee Signs.
Water hazards where fun but not intimidating. No giant pond to throw over but nice pretty creeks.
Great signs.
Excellent Concrete Tees.
Great baskets.

Cons:

Would be nice if there was a marker pointing to next tee. Luckily I hooked up with a local other wise I would have spent a few minutes trying to find the next tee.

Other Thoughts:

Was up in the area and decided to try out a new park. Though it took me longer to drive to the park then I anticipated, GPS routed me a really weird way, I wasn't disappointed with the course. Park was clean and well taken care of. It felt safe. Plenty of other disc golfers around yet didn't feel crowded. Started out playing alone but quickly hooked up with a local. If you see Steve with his black lab ask to play a round with him. He was friendly, knew the course well and helped me understand the layout of each hole. They have installed metal stairs in a couple of places on the path between holes. Watch your step on stairs, easy to misjudge the step size( seemed like each step was a different width ) and stumble. Park seemed dog friendly but you would want to keep them on a leash because of the park road that crosses the course. Except for the 2 sets of stairs you could easily push a stroller or cart around the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
clipnfly
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 60 played 57 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Turn and return 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 16, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a great DG course. I wikl come back to play again. Full review in other box...

Cons:

No real cons "cept no alt tee pads... but variety of lengths on this course makes it not as important... if many were way long I would loke some shorter choices...

Other Thoughts:

This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ½ disc for a total of 10, ½ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat... even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Turner Park, Grand Prairie, TX

1. Yes. Good tee pads.
2. Yes. Good signage on posts. Main map on each tee sign to show transitions. Multiple pin locations shown.
3. Yes. Trash cans, benches, bridges over creeks. All well done.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park. Benches, BBQ grills, playground equipment, bathrooms, water fountain, etc.
5. Yes. Very well done. Flows well through park. Minimal cross over of other park users. Creek areas and hilly sections were well incorporated into hole designs.
6. Yes. Existing elevation and terrain is incorporated well into course layout.
7. Yes. Some longer, some shorter. A good mix is offered.
8. Yes/no. No tee options but there are alt. pin locations here.
9. Yes. I might pick 5 as a great example of this course... has it all... elevation, water, trees, protected basket. Not too long for amateurs.
10. Yes. I had big fun. A local could play here every week and it would always plan great. Could host a tourney well here, too.
11.
Rating = 9 yes, 1 no = 4.5 disc rating
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Don Juan
Experience: 17 years 44 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Best Course in Dallas! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 12, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautifully kept course. This place was made for people obsessed with disc golf.
1. Map of hole and of WHOLE course at every tee.
2. Multiple basket placements.
3. Large variety of shots.
4. No tiny shots.
5. One nearly 900 foot hole! #18
6. Very well designed.
7. New baskets, no useless 12 chain baskets.
There is a very thin creek that comes into play at about 4 holes. The creek is used amazingly, one of the coolest holes I've ever seen is hole #12.

Cons:

One of the only cons that I can think of is that you have to walk across driveways in order to get to the next hole twice. A little inconvenient, that's all. Aside from that, in my opinion, this would be a 5.0 course.

Other Thoughts:

Cool view of a giant American flag, if you turn around on hole #14. God Bless America! The course itself is not hard to find, look for the large sign that says Grand Prairie, then take a right, first hole is in the middle of the park near a playground.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
goodolrebel
Experience: 14.8 years 30 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course Great Walk 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 29, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

I love the elevation changes, all 18 holes have some sort of elevation change. You're either tossing Up, Down or Across a hill. Course has a nice flow to it. Good use of Mandos makes the course a challange. Easy to find right off I-30 and Belt Line Rd. I like the bridges crossing the creeks. The flags on top of the Baskets it gives you a target to throw to. I liked the Tee boxes having two signs showing you the lay out of the Course and the Hole

Cons:

Course could use some benchs Looks like it could get a little crowded on the weekend but it was 70 degrees on Saturday when we played. It could get real muddy after a good rain

Other Thoughts:

I really enjoyed playing Turner Park I will Definitely will be playing this course again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.1 years 1717 played 560 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Best course in DFW 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 30, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very good large tee pads
Good tee signs wtih map and distances to each pin.
2 practice baskets
very good mix of holes
2 very good par 5 holes
very good elevation for Texas
Very nice DGA baskets
multiple pin locations on most holes
Bridges across every creek and even stairs where needed.

Cons:

can be muddy in a few spots, but playable even if it is raining. (I have only played this course a few times dry)
The erosion around some of the tee pads leaves a huge drop off.

Oh, I HATE that walk up the hill from 13 to 14, it kills me every time.

Other Thoughts:

This is a GREAT course. I don't get to play it very often, but is one of my top 10 best courses (out of the 285 I have played)

This course REALLY uses the land to make a fun course to play.

some of the holes are very long for new players, but for someone like me who has been playing for a while, I really enjoy getting to drive twice on a few holes.

As a side note, the 1st time I ever played #18 long, I got a 3. Two rollers and a putt.

I first reviewed this course when it went in 7 years ago. The course has ONLY gotten better with all the add on's. For this reason, I have upgraded my rating to 5.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
userissteve
Experience: 13.9 years 20 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

What a course should look like! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 12, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very playable course - no 150' tunnels off the t-box - but plenty of challenge to find and stick to a line. Best course I've played so far when it's sprinkling/drizzling out because of the concrete t-boxes and lack of dusty back roads holes. Looks like the whole course stays mowed in that it's all appears to be part of the normal park maitenance.

Cons:

Seems a little wedged into the park with many fairways right next to each other and the other fairways being declared OB. Guessing that there would be problems on a weekend when the park is fully used - just guessing. Played it on a Friday a.m. Number 8 is still out - but the course appears to be well managed since it still has explainatory signs about 8 and what to do to substitute (split 18 with a temp tee).

Other Thoughts:

My new favorite course! It's just gorgeous! First time I'd played a course with those helpful flags on top of the pins.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
sheamous
Experience: 21.9 years 13 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Turner Park was a Leg Burner 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 30, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Elevation, mandos, shallow creeks (which I totally had to go in for a disc or two with no problem), immaculately kept fairways and greens, close to the highway for a quick round, and lots of variation between holes. I love the rolling hills on this course. Reminds me of courses in Austin. Nice tee boxes and baskets. Pretty easy to navigate. Two putting and approach baskets near hole #1.

Cons:

A lot of trees...and not tree alleys. They're everywhere. In the fall it's not too bad but leaf-on gets pretty limited on this course as small windows become nonexistent. Be prepared to smack some bark on this course, as a lot of the trees are low-lying and require many worm burner drives.
Not a good course for beginners, due to technicality. Ams and Pros will love the OBs and Mandos though.

Other Thoughts:

This may be the cleanest and best kept course in the DFW area. No trash and I saw park employees picking up trash from the course Saturday 4 times. Saturday minis look fun. One was running behind us and they never pressured us to go faster or get off the course. We appreciated that a lot. They also asked numerous times if we wanted to jump in the tournament. Maybe next time! :) Pros attend the Tuner Park Tune Up and it was pretty cool to watch those guys play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
gsw_03
Experience: 23.9 years 77 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Long Overdue 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 4, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great elevation changes. Mature trees provide plenty of shade on those hot summer days. Good mix of long and short, open and wooded holes. Very few holes that forgive an errant tee shot, considering the generous use of Mandos. Creeks that penalize but don't eat discs. Gas station across from 16 provides an opportunity for food and drinks.

Cons:

Slight predominance of lefty holes, though if you have a decent RHFH or turnover shot, this is not a problem. No permanent facilities. NO DRINKING WATER.

Other Thoughts:

Thought I had reviewed this course long ago, since I've been playing it as my home course since before concrete pads were poured... I'm glad I haven't though, as this course has improved steadily over the past year and my rating is significantly higher than it would've been. This is one of the best courses in the DFW. If you live within 30 minutes and don't play it often, you're doing yourself a disservice. If there were real bathrooms and water fountains, I would give it a 4.5 rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
mattj
Experience: 15.6 years 27 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Decidedly my favorite course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has what I want in a course. Dramatic elevation change, variation and complexity are abundant, and well thought out.
A wonderful variety of holes ( 3-4 of which I place in the top ten holes in DFW) that challenge players to use all their shot-making skills, and rewards success very consistently.
The majority of the holes provide a great deal of lattitude for approaches, for as we know, disc throws can follow unlimited different flight paths, and due to the consistently windy conditions there, this characteristic is HUGE!

Cons:

I disagree with the rating system of 5 being "perfect in every way". Sorry disc course review, but if a rating of 5 is impossible, then why have it.

Other Thoughts:

Try a roller on 16, but get a spotter.
This is a fun course, and an awesome test.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
AequitasVeritas
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.3 years 70 played 20 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Over the Hill and Through the Woods 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Extremely well maintained. Barely any trash at all.
-Baskets are in fantastic shape.
-Concrete Tee's. And I don't recall one that was too short!
-Great signage on each box.
-Uses the natural terrain extremely well.
-Had 3 500'+ holes.
-Will challenge even the best player to do well.

Cons:

-Can be a little difficult to navigate. For example, hole 4 to 5 is down the hill, down the road, and across the street.
-Private city property on the right side of hole 8. Easily lose a disc over the fence. Don't even try to go for it. Barbed wire + razor wire.

Other Thoughts:

I have been meaning to play this course for a while now. Finally got a chance to! Seems that there are mini's every Saturday at 10am, so plan accordingly as it seems that they have a pretty large turnout. The course is extremely challenging so bring your A game. If you have never played this course, I would recommend bringing someone who has played this course before or a map.

Great course, can't wait to learn my lines on it and play in some mini's!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
StPaulie
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.6 years 113 played 45 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Turner Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful park, well maintained and quiet. There are multiple basket locations on most of the holes. The baskets are in very good repair and marked with florescent pink/orange tape. Many had flags on poles. Tee pads appeared to be fairly new and in great shape, the same with the signs. The signs are some of the best I have seen. Each one includes information on the current hole with a map of the full course. There are trash cans at frequent intervals and the park was pretty clean.The designers have done a great job using the terrain available here. Good use of the hills providing challenge here, you will even have some blind shots. I loved the old mature trees you will have to play under around and maybe even over. There is a nice small steam that is used very well. The only exception to the small part is one section on hole #5. There is a rather deep pool under a tree that I managed to put my disc in. Be careful if you put your disc in here it is surprisingly deep. I was soaked after words. Felt good in the 102 degree heat though. There are plenty of well marked "mandos" to maneuver around. Nice mix of distance and accuracy shots required. There were very few people out the day I played but with the temperature of 102 at 6pm that was not a big surprise. The locals I did meet were very friendly and helpful, thanks guys for pointing out hole one to me.

Cons:

There is very little I can say as a con. It was a little hard finding hole #1, however the locals helped me out here. The is no Par marked on the holes but usually play everything as a 3 anyway. The heat in August is incredible so be prepared. I did not see the poison ivy others have talked about but I may have just missed it.

Other Thoughts:

All is all this is one of the better courses I have played. I suspect that when the temperatures subside there will be many more people enjoying the park. For the most part the disc golf is separate from the rest of the park. Hole #3 is the biggest exception.
This was a very fun course to play with many risk/reward decisions to make. I hope to coma back again the next time I am in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
jermlac
Experience: 13.9 years 15 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

great looking park but be prepared for a hike 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Mostly Wooded which provides great shade
- Hills and shallow creeks that really make this a scenic and seculded course, even though its in the city.
- Easy to get to since it's just off I30, and there is a nice gas station across the street for that drink you wish you would have brought.
- Each Tee has a sign with a map and a trash can attached.
- Park was very clean and well kept up with. I heard that Grand Prairie Parks just redid this course and they did a great job with the design and layout for the use of the land.
- Pins have florescent tape on them as well as marker flags to help you find them over the hill you are behind.

Cons:

- The park is very hilly and covers a lot of area. If you carry lots of discs, you may disc down for this course to save your back.
- None of the actual holes are labeled a Par yet. Make sure you bring the Par #'s off this site with you for scoring.
- There is poison ivy throughout the wooded area along the shallow creek. If you are allergic, watch where you reach for that disc.

Other Thoughts:

A friend of mine recommended this course and a beautiful place to get in a round on a Saturday afternoon. I have to agree. The course navigates well if you look at the Tee signs and has easy to find (red arrow) signs for out of bounds areas. Every time you come to a creek bed (dry or not) you find a nice foot bridge to cross and none of the creeks are more than ankle deep if you have to go in for a disc. I played this course on a 100 degree day and wish I would have brought more than my 2 bottles of water. We made it to 14 (back at the parking lot) and called it quits from there before it got dark.

P.S. If you loose your disc on the roof to the left of hole 2, there is a chain link fence at the back to give you a boost. Don't tell anyone I told you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
NDABRUSH
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.3 years 58 played 47 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beautiful park with some beauiful holes 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 13, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Clean park with well manicured grass and well defined fairways. Almost totally DG exclusive. Every Tee sign has a course map on it. I had never seen that. Hilly and wooded terrain. about 2/3 of the course is played under wooded canopy or through trees with elevation coming into play on most holes. There are still some young trees that in 3 yrs will possibly push this course into the heavily wooded category. Great use of terrain with hillsides which offer some tricky approach shots. So many unique holes at which I would just stare and finally say "Hell Yes". Heard running water twice which helped it feel extremely secluded for a city park. You throw from below hills with tree lined fairways. You also throw from the top of hills into a pocket of trees with a creek coming into play on some holes. Even hole 13(I think) that is close to Belt Line Rd., the hole is so cool that you must forgive it because this IS where you wanted this pad. Just a great.. great hole. Beautiful flora and a wide variety of trees. I can't stress enough how well the hills and trees were used in the design.

Cons:

No trash cans. Need lots of benches for this hilly leg burning hike. A couple of holes next to a road, but you ARE in a city park so no big deal. I can't think of many cons at this point. When I play it again, I might notice more.

Other Thoughts:

For a casual rec player like me, this was a scenic and challenging round. Sometimes when I play a course for a second time, I sometimes notice more flaws than the my 1st round. As of now, I love this course. Only time will tell if it will hold up as a 4 as I play more course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
grizzledizzle55
Experience: 20.1 years 14 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Quality 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 10, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Good elevation changes.
-Many technical holes.
-850ft final hole.
-Very well maintained
-Cement Tee boxes

Cons:

-A little tough to navigate the first time you play there
-Can get a little muddy at times
-A few holes on the front are a little crammed together

Other Thoughts:

I really like all of the elevation changes. Very enjoyable course. Really easy to find. We played there and it was empty. You need to be creative on this course. Not too hard of a course though, I would recommend this course to ppl of all skill sets. Be aggressive, there are some ace runs here. You can get into trouble, but it is not likely to lose a disk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top