• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Sioux Falls, SD

Tuthill Park

Permanent course
3.75(based on 33 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Tuthill Park reviews

Filter
13 0
Pevio
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 190 played 120 reviews
3.50 star(s)

It's fantastic. Except for when it's lame. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Tuthill provides quality holes for beginners and pros and is fantastically well kept up. The tees are enormous and easy to find, there are trash and recycle bins everywhere, and nearly every tee has a bench or picnic table beside it. There are even crosswalks to help you across the road to holes 16 and 18. The two parking lots make it possible to start in multiple different spots or skip a few holes, and if you walk in (possibly from another DG park nearby), you can start on hole 15. Even after some rain, the course was in very good shape.

This course has a great variety of open and wooded shots. Holes 3-8 and 16-18 are the more technical ones and manage to have a good variety of right-to-left and left-to-right holes. Most can be attacked with multiple kinds of shots, where one line may be the more aggressive one. The open holes are usually pretty good, with some decent and varied distance, and a river to watch out for on a few holes. Hole 16 is a rare case of a super uphill shot with a low ceiling.

Most holes have two pin placements, and in most cases, they do a good job giving some extra variety without fundamentally changing the hole. Most players will probably be taking the same kind of tee shot regardless, but the angle may need to be slightly different.

I have to talk about hole 6. It plays down a literal sledding hill and slowly turns to the right toward the long pin. There are all kinds of shots available and all kinds of mistakes that can be made. It's pretty easy as far as par 5's go, but it is surprisingly easy to turn the disc over because you're throwing downhill, or overcorrect and have it hyzer out early. Both sides of the fairway are upslopes into the woods, so it punishes bad drives while still making it fairly easy to find your disc.

Cons:

Several holes are rather boring. Hole 1 is an underwhelming start to the course, and 2, 9, and 10 aren't much better. Most of the par 4's are on the easy side (3 and 11 come to mind) and should really be par 3's for professionals. Even hole 18, the tightest hole on the course, has an easy RHFH line, though a bad kick will instantly end your disc's career. Hole 9 has only one tree in the fairway, 11-14 are pretty open, and 2 and 5 aren't too bad, although those two both have some trouble to get into.

Even a few of the more wooded holes aren't that hard. While 7 and 8 are fun to play, they're both pretty short and rather easy if you know the right line. Hole 7 might be difficult to birdie with a RHBH unless you take a hyzer around the outside, which is not an ideal design.

While navigation is mostly good, the tee signs are rather lousy. They only show the distances to the pins, and without a tee sign on the map, there's no way to tell which pin is active. They also don't list par. There's also a long walk down a running trail to get to hole 17, which is the only spot on the course where having a cart may be difficult. On that note, there are some other trails in the area that could get in the way of the course. The tees are also slippery when wet.

Hole 6 has a short pin that needs to be taken out. It's still a decent hole but pales in comparison to the epic long pin.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun course, and while it certainly has a few dull holes, I think the pros outweigh the cons, and with the great maintenance that is put into this place, this should remain a good course for many years to come. I would like to see a few more holes in the woods and the open holes be a little longer, though. It would lessen the walk from 16 to 18 and give a little more variety. But it's still enjoyable, even if it will never be a destination course for top tournaments.

If I'm ever passing through again and want to play a course, this is going to be at the top of the list for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
4.00 star(s)

What hill? Tuthill. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tuthill Park is very nice and well kept, at least on the day I visited. The weather was great, and wind was calm. Perfect disc golf conditions.

I found the course to be far beyond adequate. The concrete tees are very large. More than once I began my run up at the back end and released my drive with enough room to take another step or two. The baskets are serving their purpose very well.

I enjoyed my round, and managed to stay close to par. The layout is not too tough to follow, and it has a couple of really nice holes. Par is 55, and the average player should have a chance to hit that mark. There are some that are wooded, but much of the course is fairly open. Elevation change is found in varying degrees, with a big downhill drive on hole 6. The Big Sioux River is lurking nearby on a few holes.

Cons:

Maybe a little bit ho-hum, but makes nice use of the park. Water could take a disc if it gets away from you on the wrong hole.

Printing a map might be helpful, but isn't a must.

Other Thoughts:

Tuthill Park is a good quality course. It is not one of my all time favorites, but has many favorable aspects. The park has some nice landscape features including nice mature trees, a bit of elevation change, and the river flowing around one corner.

I shot a 57, two shots over par. Made three birdies, all on the back nine. I got hole 10, and finished strong by making bird on 17 and 18. Unfortunately, I missed a number of putts as well, totaling 5 bogies on the day.

My favorite hole has to be 6, just because it is hard to resist the extra run you gain from an elevated tee. I also liked hole 4, as well as 18, since they both have a higher density of trees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Paul Reddick
Experience: 10.1 years 68 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Trip to SD 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This was one of a couple courses in the Sioux Falls area to choose from. We chose Tuthill and were not disappointed. The course:
-Great use of hills and woods combined with long grassy areas make this course fun and challenging.
-Awesome huge concrete tee boxes
-Very well mowed and maintained fairway with nicely mounted older baskets that caught well.

Cons:

-It's a public park so be careful for non golfers.
-Signage could be better. Its nice that hole and distance is noted though.

Other Thoughts:

This was a great course to throw on our trip to SD. There are actually 3 courses right by each other but if you only have time for 1 you will not be disappointed with Tuthill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
benny34
Experience: 18.2 years 55 played 15 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ Variety in length and open/wooded
+ Well maintained
+ Big teepads
+ Signature hole 6
+ Maps available at the BP on Cliff Avenue
+ Restrooms/picnic tables available in a couple of spots
+ Pretty scene tucked away from the city

Cons:

- A few holes in the back 9 got repetitive in the open
- Busy park and busy course
- A little more signage could go along ways here

Other Thoughts:

I had a good time at this course. The front 9 was great, the back 9 had some repetition back and forth in the open, but got back on track with the last 3 holes. I really liked the maps that were available at the gas station (I just happened to stop quickly). The park and course were both very busy while I was there. It was a week night and my group had to wait on the teepad multiple times. The course had good flow once you figured out where you were going.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
dg_eastbay
Experience: 10.3 years 26 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Wow! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Front 9!
A moderately hilly, nicely wooded course that makes great use of a local multi use park.
The back nine opens up near ball fields with ob in the back by a river. This nine really opens up and gives you big arms a chance to really throw.

Cons:

A few tboxs are quit a distance from the previous hole.
Make sure to grab a map...

Other Thoughts:

So far traveling the country playing dg, this is up at my 1st or 2nd favorite course played.
I will be back to play if ever life brings me to South Dakota again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
dickwolf
Experience: 28.1 years 50 played 21 reviews
3.50 star(s)

LOVE THIS COURSE! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 22, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

has a little bit of everything one could possibly ask for in a disc golf course, but my favorite thing are the HUGE tee pads. even the little holes have them. KILLER.
elevation changes, wide open, tight, bombs, technical, beauty. its all here.
lots of trash cans, very clean, well groomed, big, mature trees, nice trails.
i simply LOVE this course.

Cons:

signage is less than perfect, i like that they are red and easy to find, but give me par and proper distances.
the baskets are in decent shape for their age, but quite outdated. they are fine, but definitely should be updated. i will pitch in for a go fund me campaign to make it happen.

Other Thoughts:

its an hour from where i live, but it is worth an every other weekend drive to play here and the state park course nearby that is also very good.
this course is really fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Katana15
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Tuthill 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 30, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is my home course. I really enjoy playing Tuthill. It is not a really long course by any means. If you throw anything close to 400 ft, you probably wont need a driver other than about 3 holes. Everything else easily reachable with a midrange.

Large Tee boxes are a big plus. Gives you plenty of room for an approach.

The other big plus for this course is the variety it provides. You have technical shots, open shots, elevated shots, etc...

Cons:

Some of the tees need to be swept. They can get slick.

Baskets are a little rusty.

Grass is only cut when it gets super long. This means you do not get a skips very often which can subtract from you distance and limit your shot selection.

If they would get better, more detailed tee signs, it would really help the course.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, great course. It is the best in the area by a wide margin. I've played numerous courses in the area, and I have played numerous courses in other states as well. This course is still my favorite of all I have played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
thespeedokid
Experience: 9.7 years 110 played 34 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Extremely large concrete tee pads. Nice elevatian changes. Variety between tree holes and open holes. Hole distances are shown on post by tee pad.

Cons:

Long grass prevents skips. Lack of hole signs. It seems that hole distances are not accurate. Course is by a river. Baskets are really rusty and old. Highly trafficked makes for slow play. (Sioux falls needs more than one course). Poorly marked. Some holes are difficult to find. Some long distances between holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Cartograph
Experience: 10.2 years 89 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 22, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a nice sized full 18 hole course with plenty to keep you on your toes. the course starts out with a short open and easy first hole then moves quickly into some tight and dangerous holes where you have a good chance of losing your disc. So far i have not lost a disc here yet but it could still happen!
There is lots of vegetation and lots of neat holes with dual pin placement. It also has some elevation to deal with especially on hole 6 where it goes downhill a good distance. It also has some water hazards and big open fairways.
They also have a large map with basket placements and which holes are used for summer only and year round play. Next to the map they have definitions and pointers for new disc golfers as well.

Cons:

With a wooded area with a large down hill slope right next to the fairways and holes its easy to lose a disc if you over shoot or throw in the wrong direction.

Other Thoughts:

For being the city's only disc golf course this is a really good course not perfect but its really good and i have recommended it to friends of mine in the omaha metro area.
Will definetly be playing this course again in the future!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
markmcc
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 278 played 254 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Park Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a classic park course with tall mature trees and acre after acre of mowed grass.

Hole lengths vary from 200' to about 450', along with the monster 627' Hole 6. That was the signature hole for me, as the you drive down the park's sledding hill. You'll want to throw your entire bag here.

Probably the largest concrete teepads that I have encountered in over 100 courses. They were about 20' long and 8' wide.

Very basic 4"x4" sign posts at the tees.

Multiple parking areas that allow you to choose where to start. Restrooms both at the top and bottom of the course, along with ample trash cans.

Cons:

While there are plenty of trees and the course is listed as "Moderately Wooded", I was surprised that the trees didn't come into play more. While there were a couple of "technical" holes, most of the holes were relatively open. Even hitting a tree on your drive typically wouldn't deflect you into much trouble.

Long walk from Hole 16 to 17, but there is a good trail to follow.

More descriptive tee signs would be welcome, though most holes are pretty straightforward.

Other Thoughts:

A nicely designed and maintained course. I just didn't expect as many open holes, given the number of trees in the park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
MotoAce51
Experience: 15.1 years 6 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun and Open 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Clear, open, and mowed. I was on a trip and wanted to play disc golf. I bought a couple discs and came here. The course was well laid out, and open. Nothing was extremely challenging, but it was a lot of fun to play. Concrete tees were also a plus.

Cons:

The last couple tees were hard to locate. Some baskets were hard to find for a first timer. Tees should say what par the hole is.

Other Thoughts:

I will play here again. I loveit, and can't wait to have my full arsenal of discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
woodman
Experience: 12.2 years 8 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not as good as told 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice mowed fairways

Cons:

Signs need lots of work. Finding the start of the course was tough due to the crowds of people congregated at the top of the course. Large concrete pads but didn't like the smooth finish, slipped many times on the pads from wet shoes due to wet grass from high humidity. Other pads covered with lots of sand, almost fell due to how slick the sand made pads. Baskets hard to see, could use some "high vis" tape. River had flooded lower part of course a week prior to my visit and baskets (#10-14) were covered with flood grass and debris. The smell of flooded area was that of an "Out house"! Really difficult to navigate from 15-18. Hole 17 had a wedding party taking pictures in the middle of fairway. Couldn't even play the hole:(

Other Thoughts:

Even after all my bitching, I still had fun. Holes 1-3 pretty uneventfull. Hole 4 and 5 are nice and technical. Hole 6 is the signature hole and lots of fun, except for all the people hiking up the fairway. Holes 7 and 8 are short and sweet. Holes 9-14 were very wet (standing water) and smelled like shit from recent flooding. These holes are kinda boring and flat. The only good thing about these holes is that I found a Blizzard TeeBird near the river, score! As we played hole 15 (at 4:20 PM) there was a drug bust of three younger players caught smoking dope on the course, bummer! If I had not had a local to show me how to navigate from hole 15-18, I would have been lost (once again- needs more and better signs). East river players should come out to the Black Hills and play the AWESOME courses we have - {Pageant Hill in Custer and The Spearfish Canyon Course in Spearfish)!! Loved Hole 18!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
SvenM
Experience: 17.1 years 8 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best in Eastern SD 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 11, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good long shots. Fun downhill hole. Next to plenty of shopping and restaurants. Couple tricky shots.

Cons:

Quite a few of the holes are the same, flat straight shot.

Other Thoughts:

the last 3 holes are a little tricky to find, but help end the course on a good note after quite a few repetitive holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
banknwank
Experience: 11.2 years 14 played 14 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Better than courses ive playe in the past 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice/scenic park, mature trees, great variation of difficulty .
-well groomed
-huge teepads that dont leave you feeling cramped
-elevation change
-combination of distance
-tech woods, mild woods, wide open bombs....
-#6 down the sledding hill was da bomb!
-little hike in the woods between 16 &17 was pretty cool and 18 in the woods is a blast.
-The flow of the course is excellent with a gradual increase in difficulty and distance.

Cons:

didnt notice a practice/warm up basket around #1?

Other Thoughts:

The 8 courses I have played around denver pale in comparison. Its just way greener here, the oak trees are way better than elms and the deep woods is just woodsier. thumbs up to Sioux Falls and Tuthill. #6 down the sledding hill would have to be the "signature hole" on this course with a steep decent and defined line/channel down the vally/fairway. bring somthing stable for this toss! If you hit a line matching the decline of the hill you will probobly turn it over and end up in the woods on the right. (i did) #18 in the woods is a close 2nd place in my book. heavily wooded but not overgrown .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
MikeK
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.1 years 332 played 130 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great place, for beginners 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This nicely manicured course is very beginner friendly which obviously appeals to the amateur-dominated crowd that posts reviews here. The concrete tee pads are very big. Hole 6 is the obvious signature hole and the best on the course. The rough isn't really rough and it's not likely you'll lose any plastic out there.

Cons:

Tuthill gets really boring for a stretch. Holes 9-14 are flat and relatively treeless. You might need to pack a couple cans of Red Bull to stay awake during these boring holes. In fact after reading the glowing reviews of this course I kept expecting the next hole to be challenging or interesting and except for hole 6, that just didn't happen.

Other Thoughts:

A great place to bring your friends to introduce them to the sport of disc golf, but for those looking for a challenging course it's not going to live up to its nearly 4-disc rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Cavanator
Experience: 13.9 years 43 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

In Addition... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 2, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Challenging yet fair course with a great variety of shots and terrain in a nice setting. Congrats to Sioux Falls for having such an awesome course!

Cons:

Tee signs STILL need to be updated.
Difficult to navigate for first-timers or visitors.
A course map posted online in a printable format would be awesome.

Other Thoughts:

A couple of hints for first-timers. After hole #15, cross the road to your right to get to the tee for #16. From the #16 basket, follow the trail into the woods to get to the tee for #17. From the basket on #17, head across the street again to get to the tee for #18.

With a little TLC and some upgrades to the signs, this could be a 4.5 course easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
KillaKPaz
Experience: 12.1 years 31 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Very Impressed! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great variety of shots
Huge concrete tee pads
Great signage
Well maintained
Plenty of garbage cans
Alternate pin locations

Cons:

Some potential to lose discs.

Other Thoughts:

Apparently the pro thing to do on this course is park at the bottom of the hill, and start on hole 9, that way you can finish with 6's massive downhill shot and a couple of easy birds. Overall, one of my absolute favorite courses. Definitely worth a trip to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
adazm
Experience: 33 played 32 reviews
4.00 star(s)

def worthwhile! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

started off a little boring and flat, but turned out to be fairly extraordinary.
following the locals lead, we began on like hole 6 at the lower level parking lot. the holes by the creek are pretty boring and flat. fine, just nothing worth writing about.
there is a creek that didnt come even remotely into play for us, but apparently a great deal of people lose their discs in there.
once the course bumped across the street into the hills and trees, things got very interesting! elevation change was sublime.
there was a 300 foot hole that was only moderately downhill, but it just SLAYED all 3 of us in an impressive manner.
whats more, the top of the world shot was literally one of my all time favorite. there was maybe an 80+ foot fairway, very steep, and the basket was 525 feet down to the right. is rare for top of the world shots to have a "fairway" in my experience, which is maybe why i dont usually like them.
the locals were all very helpful, especially in pointing out how to locate hole 15-16.

Cons:

4-5 holes that were fairly flat and open were less inspiring.
was also fairly crowded, considering we were playing around 8pm, but that strikes me as a tribute to how much fun it is!

Other Thoughts:

4th of 9 courses on week long road trip. clearly, the upper midwest has some fantastic dg courses!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Tned10
Experience: 16.5 years 5 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Best in South Dakota 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 10, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

#1 Exercise that is enjoyable
- Quality baskets
- LARGE quality cement tee-pads
- They use mulch (makes it look professional and keeps it dry)
- Scenic holes
- Course layout
- Big Sioux River
- Other things going on in the park make playing more interesting

Cons:

- 16-18 are tiring w/ a long walk back to the top
- Sometimes gets congested

Other Thoughts:

You can't not like this course if you are a true disc golfer. Other things going on in the park such as hot-air balloons make it the place to be in itself during the summer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
GDisc
Experience: 16.2 years 61 played 34 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 29, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice course in the inner-city of Sioux Falls. It provides distance & technicallity that are somewhat unique for the area....Most of the Tee Pads are marked with Distance and Location....

Cons:

This course is a bit hard to navigate for a new-comer and the over-all flow is not the best. Hole 18 is hard to find, but once there, is a fun hole! The signage is significantly off on some of the holes and most signs could use some over-haul.

Other Thoughts:

This course provides a very unique challenge of length, technicality & pin location that will keep you challenged....This one is one of the better courses of the greater area ( I'd also recommend Big Sioux Rec. Area of Brandon & Larson Park of Brookings.....All located near the I-29 & I-90 Crossings)... It does provide an ideal challenge (given the surrounding area)...If you are near the Sioux Falls area, it is worth a stop....
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top