• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

North Garden, VA

Walnut Creek Park

4.125(based on 50 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Walnut Creek Park reviews

Filter
14 0
lee76007
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 4.8 years 113 played 112 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Outstanding Variety

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 15, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course 100

-An 18-hole course with a top variety of holes to play, including elevation, open, wooded, bushes, water carry, tee gaps, creeks come into play, ravines, and roller greens. The course is located in a rural park in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The course is also very memorable.

-Amazing combinations of variety tee to basket: #15 wooded/bushes/upslope/ravine drop/roller green baskets, #2 elevated/woods/water/open/up slope, #16 elevated/ravine drop/bushes/woods/uphill/roller green, #6 wooded/open/uphill/roller green, and other combinations. No holes looked alike. Only #11 and #13 had only a level wooded hole, with short #11 an elevated basket hooked right from a narrow fairway, #13 a wider open wooded fairway that narrows on approach which starts to slope downward, with both baskets hooked behind trees. Both holes had separate appeal.

-There were several what I'll call X tee to basket fairways. Long to long crossing short to short fairway lines, very unique offering a different look on those holes. #4 both tees uphill in moderate trees, but separated by about 200 feet, basket separation about 150 feet. A short tee to long basket would be a 90-degree dogleg left.

-One of the top scenic courses I've played with a lake also in play or in the backdrop. The #5 open elevated downhill hole has the backdrop of the lake, with fairways 2 an elevated water carry teeing out of the woods to open baskets, and 3 open tees climbing uphill right back into the woods both in the foreground of the lake, and behind baskets #5. Offering a scenic view from elevated 5th tee.

-Two turf pads and two Chainstar baskets per hole, except #18 may have a third basket placement. Long to long offers a technical challenge for the most part. If you have played here before, #5 long tee is now located across the road, you're throwing across the road elevated. There are other long tee pad relocations, and some baskets as well.

-Tee signs looked recently new with hole number, distances for all four combo's, bright color graphics on map, and next tee indicator. Navigation is clockwise, only had to pull up Udisc from 8 basket to 9 tee, and 9 baskets to 10 tees because of network of trails and height of bushes.

-The bushes I've never seen the variety before, tried lens finder no connection, even web search for this review, no luck. There is thick of branches with small leaves and cluster together, height 4-7 feet not able to see the floor. But there a little more than 2 feet off of the ground with a clean floor that looks swept, just dirt. There in play from holes 9 thru 16 and look like a potential disc lost every hole. #15 starts up a ridge and then back down to a ravine with long basket hooked right and a roller green. Bushes and trees on both sides' narrow fairway, looks like disc loss from the tee because you lose sight of your disc. I bent down to the ground and found my disc about 70 feet away and had easy finds on two other holes. A unique variety of bushes.

-Beginner and Recreational players you'll have fun on the course short tees will be manageable. Intermediate and Advanced you'll enjoy a variety of bomber and technical holes playing longs and will pull a lot of discs from your bag.


Cons:

-On a Saturday morning below freezing temps with patches of snow the parking lot close to #1 was about packed and not with disc golfers, the other parking lot I passed was filling up as well. The park is popular for hiking, jogging, walking a dog, or laying out in the sun even on a cold morning. There are trails that cross fairways in the woods, and open fairways popular for laying out. I encountered all several times on a below freezing morning with another snowstorm moving in, delaying my game flow.

-On the X fairways on a busy day, need to make sure you're crossing a long fairway or short if you happen to catch up to a group. May not see other tee, hit by disc potential.

-The gray colored baskets can be hard to spot, I played long baskets, all except 18 across the water because I couldn't see it, perhaps because of the bright sun and backdrop of woods. There were a few short baskets that I missed seeing they were off from my fairway line, but I also wasn't playing them.

-Tee signs don't have par listed, it's a pet peeve of mine including my home course Munden Point. I like knowing the thoughts of the designer or local club in relation to par on those holes that border a par 3 or 4 because of distance. IMO some of the par's long tees to both baskets on DGCR are too generous for some players, I adjusted a few holes for my game. The long tees have no tee sign and can be hard to find in the woods.

-Lost disc potential is going to be high with the water carries, tree kisses that may take you deeper into the woods or creeks, and blind fairways. Those bushes if you keep your eyes off your disc may swallow your disc if there caught in the branches. I managed to walk up to my disc every time and a few times looking ground level and finding my disc under the bushes.

Other Thoughts:

"Freestyle Disc Golfing" is how I decided to play my Course 100 at Walnut Creek Park which I decided to choose based on the variety of holes the course offered. Meaning if the long tee was elevated higher than shorts such as #16, I was playing it. I mostly played short tees to long baskets, on a few holes both tees and even both baskets. Keep it fun and casual. The course offered every element I enjoy in Disc Golf with the primary draw elevation. Every hole offered something different, and months later still memorable! I look forward to returning to give it a go long to longs and on a warm weekday morning. Kudos to the local club and park, #8 long basket was crushed a few days before I played by a tree and was replaced quickly within a few weeks.

My biggest personnel con was the amount of non-disc golfers crossing fairways, and there were several delays. The biggest scare was on #13 when a little girl came running from the woods into the fairway with her father chasing her as my disc sailed by. When I heard voices the rest of the way in, I had to pause to make sure I wasn't surprised by others. If its busy in the park and if a good flow or rhythm is important to your game, you could be interrupted.

My overall rating is anchored on a rock solid 5.0 from the 1st tee to the 18th basket. The time to play was 95 minutes taking pictures, and the delays.

The Closing Holes:

Part of my overall rating on any course is how far back from the 18th basket are the closing holes at least excellent. I like to see it at least from the 16th tee, but at Walnut Creek with the variety of holes starts at tee #12. #18 a scenic level open water carries from the long to long need to carry at least 400 feet or a double water carry to the short basket area of at least 260 feet, then crossing shorter distance to reach the long basket. Walnut Creek rivals all three of my 5.0 rated courses (Lake Marshall Lions and Lair, and Hawk Hollow) in closing out a round.

Featured Holes:

-No. 7 a Par 3 is one of the X fairways. From short-to-short downhill at 259 feet, long to long at 322 feet sloping down and across the hill left to right. Heavily wooded, canopy, and tight gaps for both fairways. Short tee with a creek on the left all the way to the short basket. The long basket is not seen from the short tee since its 90-degree fairway left, and maybe not from longs as well. Long tee straight to the long basket with 5 to 10-foot tree gaps about 225 feet down, and the creek within C2. Long basket was my most scenic basket played sits on a shelf across the creek surrounded by bushes and trees all within 10 feet of the basket, and a green roller into the creek. There's a foot bridge to cross the creek for a scenic ending to the hole.

-No. 12 Par 3 short tees to short basket 270 feet, Par 4 long tee to long basket at 435 feet is a tree lined hole to the short basket on a downward slope, but plenty of space. The short basket green was reddish dirt offering appeal, and surrounding guardian trees, go long or to the right down the hill you go into the bushes. Long tee to long basket is not seen from the tee, target your tee right center on the border of C1 for short basket, too long or short you won't see the basket to the right. To the right the fairway drops all the way to the basket about 180 feet and the gap narrows from 20 to 6 feet with bushes about 4 feet high and within 5 feet of basket. Scenic from the shelf, but an "oh boy" on the approach, and disc can roll into the bushes. Haven't seen a basket placement quite like it, and huge disc lost potential if gunning for it from the tee. My eagle approach ran about 5 feet into the bushes and finding my disc.

Signature Hole/My No. 1 Hole in Disc Golf:

No. 17 is freaking epic! From my research an elevated tee of about 85 feet to long basket, short tee seems to be about 5 feet higher than long tee which is to the right, so that's where I played from. I played both baskets, shorts maybe a height of 55 feet. Short distance tee 290 feet/480 feet Par 3, long tee adds another 30 feet. Its wide-open space all the way to long basket except for towering pine trees lined from left to right stopping in the middle of the fairway hiding the short basket which sits on a down slope. Right center fairway is a dirt road that's crested, to the right of it, a roller into the lake, to the left your fairway rolling right to left. From the tee there's a wave effect as you drop elevation, two waves. The open fairway narrows as you reach the long basket continuing with the right to left roller, approaching heavy woods on left as fairway narrows, and a pond prior to reaching long basket on the left, all of it outside C1. Just a scenic look from the tee, with the excitement of throwing from the tee. I threw to both baskets, a Star Leopard 3 to short on a fade thru the tree line disappearing past it, and found it parked behind basket. A Star Mamba with too much height that tombstone just short of the crest of the road on the way to long basket. I'll never forget the park job.

Trouble Hole:

No. 8 Long tee to short basket 289 feet Par 3, long tee to long basket 346 feet Par 4. Short tee directly ahead from long. From the long tee a fairway lined with heavy woods small as 20-foot gaps, gently level downslope, until the short tee with a drop, and fairway slopes left to right into a creek and disc can roll. The fairway will have a rolling dogleg left to short basket with a hook left to basket outside C1 and can roll into creek. The hook continues to long basket up hill, and not so bad on a roller green. From the tee very scenic, with trouble written all over it both in score and lost disc potential. Took a tree kiss into the creek, before playing out of the creek decided to check out the long basket to see if playable at all, nope totally crushed under a large tree. Pitched out to short basket.











Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
DumfriesLizzie
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.7 years 111 played 102 reviews
3.50 star(s)

lovely, hilly, wooded, country course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

The chief thing this course has is a beautiful setting at a country lake (reservoir actually) with high elevation to take in all of the beauty of the place.

It's also quite varied with every hole somewhat or very different from what precedes it.

The hole signs are very good about placement of baskets and how you should shape your shot. They also include a small yellow arrow for the next hole. However, the course could use additional next-sign holes on trees to help you navigate to the next hole.

It's a remote course that does not appear to get busy, so you don't have people pushing and rushing you around the circuit. However, that can feel a bit isolated and lonesome.

It could be that the front nine got me warmed up to play the back nine, but I found the back nine more forgiving and distinctly more enjoyable. Definitely a different set of designers, and the fairways were a bit wider with floors distinctly cleared better.

I think there is no marked OB (other than the reservoir itself). The creek(s) seem(s) to be routinely marked as casual water, which is a blessing in the tight front 9. However, if you do go sailing deep into the rough, you would wish for an artificial OB line. No luck there!

Cons:

As noted already, the course could use next-hole signs on trees to help you navigate to the next hole. Or a disc-course route blaze, if that is more aesthetically acceptable.

It is also the case that it is a very hilly place so, if you are older or have mobility issues, this is a very challenging course for you to navigate. Especially on the front nine.

I played short-to-short, and I don't think that is a true beginner's layout. Even though I think all of the holes are 200 to 300 feet or thereabouts (to short and long baskets from the short tee). So if you are a true beginner, this is not your course. The elevation is too much, the rough is too rough, there is too much water to carry on a few holes, and the navigation is too frustrating.

Because the woods are so dense and shady, it is quite difficult to see the pin (as others have noted). Yellow poles have been added to the baskets, so that helps a bit. Still there were many times that I just walked up to find the basket before throwing. Do this to know where you are going and where the unseen (from the tee) trouble is. It will be easier when you play the course a second time (no doubt).

For the area of the course that is a high, open space above the lake (saddle dam no. 1?), things can get very confusing. So study the hole signs first to determine which basket is yours. It's not obvious from just looking. For example, I was throwing to the no. 5 short basket from the no. 3 short pad and to the no. 6 short basket from the no. 5 short pad.

It's a remote course where they're not a lot of people on the course or even in the park (on a weekday at least), so it can feel a bit isolated - which it is.

Definitely could use some wooden steps down the well-worn path from the no. 17 short tee to the open flat area (abutment/saddle dam no. 2?) that is just above the the sink where the baskets are (behind/below the dam).

Other Thoughts:

I think even if you are a young person, you cannot play this course very fast. Because of the navigation between holes: elevation and some longer connections. So count on being here 2.5-3 hours.

The drive from east of Charlottesville is more involved than perhaps it looks on a map. From the 64 west, you come down a decent-size state road (Rte. 631) with two or three lanes one way, and suddenly you are down to one lane each way with a lot of twisty curves. Will then need to drive a good deal slower to safely get down the road to the park. Locals may lose patience and may try to run you over...

I understand from the park managers that a fee is not charged *weekdays* between Memorial Day and Labor Day, so you can save some money during the warm months. Not sure what weekends look like in summer. I imagine a lot busier, which is a good and bad thing. No fee fall and winter.

Because of its beauty, I think it's a very interesting course. I certainly will play it again when I am in the area or as part of a day trip. But I also think it is somewhat overrated. I imagine that is because of the beautiful scenery. The course layout itself (considering how each hole is designed) is not as spectacular as I was expecting. It's a very good course (no question), but I would not call it exceptional.

This is my perspective from the short-to-short format. Courses are often designed primarily for the long throwers, so those of you playing long-to-long might be playing a more impressive layout than I am.

It appears that most park visitors park in the lot at the marina. A disc golfer could do that too and play holes 4-18, then 1-3. Just for variety, if not always. Being uphill and somewhat crowded with trees, hole 4 is not a happy place to start the round. However, you get through the more physically-challenging holes early in your circuit (I think) and can enjoy the rest of the course more. I might try that next time. Will likely have a more favorable feeling as well since now I know where I am going.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Ledmelon
Experience: 6.2 years 22 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

challenging & fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very challenging course requiring lots of control shots, beautiful 3+ hrs in a peaceful forest and lake area,beat in well, lots of fun if you're up to the challenge

Cons:

Very challenging course requiring lots of control shots(lots of potential for losing discs , many shots are tight woods surrounded by lots of mtn laurel and undergrowth. Tees are uneven ground covered with carpet bi

Other Thoughts:

An absolutely beautiful spring day on this course,got there early on a Tues morning bout 78deg.had the course completely to myself .... Played all the longest tees and baskets . great choices for variety and challenge with 2 tees and 2 baskets on every hole, I came to be challenged,I was, played +10 over par and am stoked! No lost disks no shots in the deep woods, look forward to hitting this again and be challenged to beat my first time score, This course could be a very difficult/frustrating long day for beginners, This course made me use all my control/shape shots ,SO FUN
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mshelton
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.2 years 141 played 32 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beauty of a course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great scenery and really nice mix of holes and shots.
2 teepads and 2 baskets per hole that don't just add length but change the layout and nature of the hole
Well maintained
Great elevation and use of the lake on a 17 and 18, 2 is pretty cool also.

Cons:

If any it's that it could get played more to get more beat in, but more people on the course could be a con.

Other Thoughts:

Local club does a great job with the course and maintenance, one of the, if not the nicest course in VA.

There is a $4.50 per day use fee for noncounty residents but when you consider that this is a county park not state or federal then it's not bad at all, I'm sure they do not get a lot of outside funding.

Be sure and bring drinks and water in, if you're coming from 64 there are no store from the exit to the park, so no where to stop and get anything. Keep that in mind because you're going to need fluids here. The water fountain on the top level of the beach house doesn't really work, if the lower levels are open then you can fill up a water bottle in the restrooms.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
Pedals
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Why don't we have tournaments here?! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is now very well marked.
Requires a variety of shots.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Includes water hazards.
Lots of elevation.
Hole 17 is awesome!!!
Great scenery.
Very peaceful.

Cons:

Some of the steep trails are getting washed out.
Losing discs in the water hazards.
Pins can be difficult to spot.
Can be difficult for new players like myself but I certainly see the potential.

Other Thoughts:

Great course! Glad to be living within 10 miles of it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 15
schultzbk
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Tick infested swampland... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 28, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is easily accessible, plenty of parking, and has not been busy either time I've been there. Also, it is a workout, so if that is what you're after, this course won't disappoint. Holes #17 and #18 are decent.

Cons:

Here's the problem: There is a thin line between a "wooded" course and wandering around in the woods like a 12-year old with poison ivy, spider webs, and ticks. The vast majority of this course is the latter. There seems to be a lot of positive reviews and I frankly don't get it. Walnut Creek is weirdly laid out, it's difficult to find some holes, and there are a high proportion of clown holes (e.g., weird J-turns, blind drives). These problems are exacerbated by two baskets on most holes, rather than a single basket that is occasionally moved (like is done on good courses). That is a negative in my book. I drove to one basket only to find out it was for another hole.

Underbrush is out of control, with poison ivy and thorns. Also, the "water" hazards are really mosquito breeding swamps -- one errant disc and you're immediately in hell. The pictures on this website make it look a lot better than it really is. Plan to lose at least one disc on your first round.

Other Thoughts:

An hour after playing I found a deer tick on the back of my leg above the bug spray line. If you're going to play this course, douse yourself in bug spray and wear a hat.

I honestly have no idea why so many people have rated this course as high as they have. My guess is that there are few alternatives in the immediate area, so the locals have convinced themselves that this is what a disc course is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
jsemales
Experience: 20.1 years 91 played 39 reviews
5.00 star(s)

One of the best courses in VA 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 16, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a picturesque Disc Golf Course. It is everything you could possibly hope for in the setting. It is absolutely spectacular in the fall when the leaves are changing colors. It's a great mix of open and technical shots that will provide a challenge and element of fun for all levels of play. It's dog friendly so you can bring along a companion, and it's a great place to play with a group of friends. This course is easily one of my top 5 favorite courses ever played. I would play this again any day with any one.

Cons:

Discs have a tendency to hide in the leaves. It's a lot of wooded shots with huge oak trees and tons of leaves on the ground. Watch your shots carefully.

Other Thoughts:

This was the first course I ever played, and I've used it as the basis of comparison for ever course I've played since. If you're within 2 hours of this course, it is a must play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Hector Chain
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 222 played 191 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 7, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is one of the rare courses that has two tee pads and two baskets on every hole. It's not easy to do, and I love it when it happens.

There is a really an impressive mix of moderate elevation changes, wooded holes, open holes, and even some water holes. Some of my favorites:

Hole 2 has a downhill water carry that is pretty easy from either tee unless you clip a tree.

Hole 17 is an empty-the-bag shot down a steep hill to baskets on a right-to-left slope. It was pretty tough to get the right range on my shots but a ton of fun trying.

Hole 18's long basket creates a beautiful hole (I didn't get to play the long baskets, unfortunately). You need to throw a straight RHBH hyzer to a landing area before negotiating the water carry to a basket just inside the woods on the other side. However, for huge arms, there is a 365-foot water carry to the basket. I could see this being a great tournament-ending hole where someone in Open or AM1 has to go for it to make up a stroke.

Even in wet conditions, the carpeted pads were grippy (they look like Astroturf). I liked that they were blue and green to differentiate the long and short pads. The tee signs are top notch, showing the distances and lines from all basket and tee combinations.

Cons:

Creekbeds come into play a little more than I'd like, and there is some backtracking on holes to cross over them. They were dry but muddy, and climbing down into them was a pain.

Navigation was sometimes not immediately obvious. In general go toward the long basket and look for a path and you'll find your way.

It's tough to create holes where all four combinations of tee and basket have reasonable lines, and on a few you have to throw a boring short shot to set up a reasonable next shot. This isn't so much a con as a counterpoint to the pro of having two tees and two baskets.

Other Thoughts:

This is the kind of park you could spend a lot of time at. The swimming area looks great and is the kind of place you'd tell yourself you'll hit after a summer round when in reality you'll end up going for a beer again. Still, I liked the vibe here a lot. I can't remember a single bad hole, and even in rainy conditions I had a great time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
ericfriesr
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Work out 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 4, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Elevation. Elevation. Elevation! I have never played a course this nice. It has rolling hills, tight woods, long shots, short shots, 4 total layouts to play, tunnel shots, water hazards. It requires you to use all discs and all sorts of throws. The tee signs were basic, however totally helpful. No reason you cannot find a tee or basket based on those signs.

Cons:

The elevation is one of the things of love the most about this course. That being said, there are several holes where you tee off and either go over a hill, down a hill and around a corner, or just big doglegs in the woods. I played for the first time today and was alone. I looked and looked on some holes for my drives. It thankfully isn't super thick woods with nasty thorns or anything, but difficult nevertheless. (looked for 20 min on I believe hole 12. Long basket is off to the right, down a hill, then straight back through a very narrow channel in the woods)

Also 17 Short to Long. I looked for 10 minutes to find my disc in the woods about 30 feet to the left of the pin. (No I didn't deuce).

Other Thoughts:

I have lived in Richmond for 5 years and have been playing disc golf for 2. Absolutely bummed out that it took me this long to come play it. Probably my favorite course that I have ever played. Navigation wasn't as hard as people on here made it seem. I took a screenshot of the map on here (thankfully I did it because my phone had no signal to look it up when there), but it wasn't bad. Only somewhat confusing spot was the field which encompasses holes 2,3,5,6.

Looking at the hole info on here and the suggested par, I was thinking I was going to have a long day ahead of me. I played Long to Long Long to Short, Short to Long and then was a bit too tired to walk this course again for Short to Short. but I shot under suggested par each time and I left A LOT of putts out there. My strength is off the tee, but I shouldn't deuce a par 4.

No joke, this is a hike and a half. I am a fit dude with good joints, but it was tiring. Not for the faint of heart.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
DavidNC
Experience: 15.3 years 57 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Awesome Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

I was passing through the area and decided to take a detour to play this course; and, am I glad I did. This course is a true GEM in the purest since of the word. As others have already mentioned, a well thought out course in a beautiful setting. This course employs every single shot type there is; if you have a weakness in your game, you will find it here. I only wish I had time for a second round.

Each hole has multiple tees & baskets; it is possible to play 72 different holes here. The "short" tee mats are the lighter color (green I believe, as I am color blind); the "long" tees are the dark (black) mats.

Cons:

None come to mind as Navigation, though a problem, has been remedied by the links on this site (see Below)

Other Thoughts:

Navigation can be difficult and some of the signage, especially that which is out in the open, has been weathered and hard to read. I cannot stress this enough, TAKE A COPY OF THE COURSE MAP WITH YOU! The map linked to on this site is perfect. Cell reception in the area can be spotty and you may not be able to download any course info while playing.

Also, if you are not in the best of physical condition, you may not wish to tackle this course without a partner to keep an eye on you. The course is very rugged. You will get a decent workout.

And, depending on the time of year, bug spray and/or sunscreen are a good idea. There are many holes in the woods; but the few in the open will allow the sun enough time to work on you. Also might be a good idea (and possibly a pleasurable one :p ), to have a friend perform a thorough tick check after playing. Who knows? Having that done could add to the great experience this course will have already provided. HA!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
swedishplastic
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Charlottesville's Best Disc Golf Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

For starters, if I were a disc born and thrown in Central Virginia, my last wishes would to be lost after being tossed in "The Tub" at the bottom of Hole 17 at Walnut Creek. This is certainly the finest local hole for any disc's final resting place. (And potentially resurrected by one of the local snorkelers if you use a Sharpie...)

Anyway, this course is hands-down the headiest in the Charlottesville area. With everything from fair wooded fairways to open fields with beautiful Blue Ridge Mountain views, the variety of Walnut Creek keeps disc life spicy, salty AND sweet. In an ideal world, be sure to time your round to be perched up at Hole 17 around sunset for surely one of the more picturesque "Top of the World" style holes ever.

Cons:

Yes the signage could be better, yes it could be free to play (it mostly is, depending on the time of year and how "attendant" the parking lot attendant is), and yes there could be free beers and snacks and live bands at every tee-box 24/7, but come on - don't be that guy. Just be happy to have 36 sets of dangling chains in such a beautiful area, 20 minutes south of Charlottesville.

Other Thoughts:

PRO-TIPS:

1.) Hole 1 can be tricky to find upon first visit. From the parking lot, go past the Disc Golf sign, through the open air pavilion, and down to the left towards the lake.
2.) Holes 2 and 17 are great spots to discretely celebrate not losing your disc in the water.
3.) Watch out for an old barbed wire fence that runs about 10 yards deep in the woods on the left side of the fairway for Holes 12 & 13. A lot of it has been pushed to the ground at this point, but still.
4.) Cell phone service is very limited.
5.) By joining the Blue Ridge Disc Golf Club ($20 annually), it gets you 50% off a season pass entrance to Walnut Creek. This essentially pays for the club membership itself, and is a great way to support the local throwers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
splatbaseball51
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 182 played 59 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Virginia deserves more like this 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Variety, Variety, Variety. You'll find big downhill bombs, uphill bombs, putter tosses, tunnel shots, doglegs, water hazards, everything and then some.

Not only are there variety on the course as a whole, every hole also has 2 tees and 2 permanent baskets. Yes, you heard right, 4 permanent "alternate" holes per hole. There is a seemingly endless combination of layouts you could play.

Inherent with this much variety, you'll be testing every aspect of your game. This isn't likely a place for beginners. It's more of a place for serious players to hone their skills with each shot. Unfortunately, it's a little too easy to be truly "championship" level. It would benefit greatly from a "Gold" layout.

Hole 17 is one of the best single holes I've ever played. I can't think of very many off hand that are more fun to throw on than "the Nut's" signature hole. It's a GIANT downhill bomb to the long position (which I recommend playing over the short). There is a creek at the bottom with a nicely manicured rock surrounding (OB). On the opposite side of the ridge near the top of the hill is a giant lake which I'm sure has claimed a lot of plastic.

Cons:

There are tee signs on most tee pads, but they seem to be pretty old and are in need of a professional update.

Navigation, especially with this many hole layouts involved, is a little confusing unless you're a regular. This was my first time playing and luckily had a local meet me to play. I would highly recommend playing with someone (It's the only course around and there will likely be someone there when you arrive).

The tee pads are carpet/turf type. These aren't the worst, but they aren't the best either. I'd love to see some concrete pads out here, but the logistics of pouring it would be a formidable obstacle to say the least.

Some holes have some nice "natural" benches, but I'd love to see some more seating. I imagine waiting to throw happens often as this is a highly trafficked course, along with the hiking involved.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the most well rounded courses in Virginia and among the best as well. The landscape is perfect for golf. This course only needs some tee/amenities upgrades to be truly spectacular.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
SMontgomery
Experience: 13.7 years 49 played 15 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Worth the Drive-From Anywhere 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 13, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Walnut Creek is a phenomenal course. The layout and variety of shots are amazing. This is one of the few courses that had me pulling out every disc in my bag. I will often times use only two or three discs thoughout an entire round. Not at WC...I was using putters mids fairways distance and utility discs. Bring the lot...you're going to use them all.

The teepads are great and I played after a rain and didnt slip once on a pad. Being turf covered and not concrete you could wear any kind of athletic shoe and feel comfortable.

Cons:

The tee signs!!!!!! Some were good many were not. There was one on hole three that was only broken bits and not one word can be made out.

Also a course map would be great. Some of the holes on the front can get confussing with you see multiple baskets in the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

I would drive for hours to play this course. It is in my top 5 in the country. It is a nice peaceful hike that uses the terrain and foliage to create a very challenging and competitve course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
HannibalRex
Experience: 16.1 years 22 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of my favs around 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very nice course, great layout, many options between alternate pins and pads. Good distance and some nice short ones. Technical throughout, but playable for pro to rookie. Beautiful trails along the lake, and beautiful views.

Cons:

Signs could use a little work, pads are probably going to need attention before long. All in all I can't say much negative about this course. There's a few spots where it can be difficult to find the next pad if you're new to the park, but print a guide and you'll be fine.

Other Thoughts:

Coast-to-coast this is in my top 10. It's peacful, fun, nice mix of up and down, short and long, tight and technical, with some nice open distance thrown in. Depending on the time of year some of the foliage is a little thick, but I've never had too much problem. Never too busy, not littered and messed up, very nice place. If you go during the summer season you have to pay the park entrance fee, I think $3 or $3.50, but totally worth it. #17 is my fav, very long, and from way up the hill, it's pretty cool, just make sure you don't use an over stable disc and break hard right toward the lake - yes, I shot a disc into the water like a meteor from there...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
YoBerger
Experience: 14.5 years 59 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

First time playing, will return 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 23, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really liked the combinations of tees and holes. Some beautiful views and well layed out to take advantage of lake, fields, and woods.

Cons:

Some of the signs are damaged and unreadable.

Other Thoughts:

Played this after heavy rains, but not too muddy. Brought my 10 yr old son along and we were able to play together off the same tees and then white baskets for him and blues for me. Worked out well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
sidewinder22
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.9 years 304 played 198 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The Walnut Firecracker! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Dual color coded boxed astroturf tees and dual color coded baskets on just about every hole provide multiple playing options. Phenomenal use of the available elevation and terrain and dam. Challenges include white and blue level par 3s and 4s with every variety of elevation changes, lengths, water, hardwoods and line shaping. Fun factor here is also great. Two loops of 9 holes back to parking lot is very much appreciated on a course with this much hiking elevation and distance. Navigation and signage is pretty good now, kiosk in parking lot with sign describing how to get to hole 1. Well maintained and very little underbrush. Bathrooms, water fountain, pavilion, beach, swimming, fishing, mountain biking, hiking, beautiful views overlooking the lake.

Cons:

Very minor things. No Gold level layout. Short basket on hole 10 is right in the path of the long basket. A few holes play a little too close to the next hole. Could use signs on both tees and numbers on baskets but it's really not hard to figure out. Decent chance to lose a disc in water. High slope = roll aways. Hiking trail near a few holes, other people around the park, but doesn't seem to interfere with holes much. Could use some benches. Biting flies in summer, found tick on leg after round.

Not really a con, $3/day to play in the summer, well worth it. Might be too hard for rank beginners and people that aren't physically able to hike the elevation.

Other Thoughts:

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains near Charlottesville, Walnut Creek is one of the most B-E-A-utiful courses I've played and it might be the best blue or advanced level course I've ever played. This course should be rated much higher than it is. The previous low rated reviews can be ignored since the major navigational and signage issues have been addressed by the local club for the most part, I only had to refer to the map to figure out which baskets were on hole 5 vs 6, and after hole 12 you backtrack instead of following the path to 16. Hole 2 sports a sign about the legend of Stud Muffin's review on here, lol.

Hole 2 reminds me of Deer Lakes signature hole 15 over the pond. Hole 3 is open bomb sloping uphill to a basket slightly tucked into the woods. Hole 5 is a par 4 with elevated tee across the street and the basket on a downslope and the lake behind it, reminds me of Moraine's signature hole 15 with the Lake in the backdrop. Hole 6 is then a monster par 4 back uphill. The next 7 holes takes you through a gauntlet of heavily lined wooded fairways and ravines. Hole 13 is a flat par 4 bomber hole with a little trouble right off the tee, then mostly open middle section and then the basket tucked 100' back through some hardwoods. Holes 14 and 15 test your U-turn skillz in the opposite directions.

Then comes the crescendo of perhaps the greatest 3 finishing holes. Hole 16 has an elevated tee with slight hyzer wooded fairway and ravine to the basket on a very fast sloping green. Hole 17 is probably the signature hole here, it's one of the most unique and memorable holes I've played as it drops almost 100' vertically with ob water to the right of the dam and ob mini waterfall left of the basket and fast right to left slope to the basket. What a hole, but hold the phone, there's still number 18! Hole 18 features a drive to a peninsula green to the short basket or landing area to the long basket, if shooting to the long basket you then have a water carry to a fast sloping island green.

So with all that said, I'm tempted to throw a 5 Disc Rating at Walnut Creek. It's one of the easiest 4.5's I've given. I put Walnut Creek in a similar category to Moraine, Deer Lakes and Nockamixon, but the main difference is that those have gold level layouts and Walnut Creek is only a white and blue level course so it's a little shorter, but also a little more fun. It would be nice if there was another high quality course in the area to make this more of a destination, but at any rate I still highly recommend anyone play this course, it's Virginia's finest public course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
jeffm22458
Experience: 25 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very well thought out course 2 tees and 2 baskets extremely beautiful park.water elevation and a dam shot. Everything you could dream of in one course. Also very nicely kept.

Cons:

Didnt see any!

Other Thoughts:

Everyone said it would be hard to navigate, but after finding hole one,(looked on map by parking lot) it was extremely easy to follow. Once you find the long basket to each hole you arnt far away from the next 2 holes. Dont let other reviews stop you from coming here. Well worth a many hour drive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
chillumz
Experience: 10.7 years 5 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great, but confusing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 25, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pretty good variety

Elevation changes make shots interesting

Some open, some wooded

Very pretty park with a pavilion and little beach

Cons:

The course was really fun to play and I enjoyed the moderately challenging holes, but the layout is just plain confusing at times. The markings are not very clear between holes and the hole maps at each tee are very basic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 12
rar6nm
Experience: 12.4 years 13 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Play with a local 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 20, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

= Wide variety of shots. Good use of elevation change, woods, open. Perfect mix of it all

= Signs and tee pads are new to me (usually play at Bryan park), so it was a wonderful surprise.

= Beautiful scenery, very easy to enjoy the park itself, even if you're having a bad round

Cons:

= The layout. Every hole has at least one blind shot (usually the drive). This adds to the difficulty and destroys fun factor if playing alone. I advise never going unless you have plenty of experience with the course or are playing with locals.

There are also multiple baskets for every hole. This doesn't seem like a con till you get to the main field that has 4 holes on it and you're not sure which one to aim for. This course would benefit greatly if they just went to a single basket with two tee pads

= Not much of a con here, but I wish the tee pad on the monster hole from the long tees (not sure which one) was a little bit longer. Can't get much of a run up which limits my power

Other Thoughts:

Final thoughts, a good place to play only if you're familiar with the layout.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
blackmamba5490
Experience: 12.2 years 51 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Very rewarding 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 5, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

great elevation change
multiple tees/pads
BEAUTIFUL scenery
challenging course!
nice tee pads for both tees
Heck of a workout
17th hole is INCREDIBLE

Cons:

A tad hard to navigate w/0 a map

Other Thoughts:

Took a 2 hour road trip to play this place and it was worth it. Really enjoyed this course and hole 17 was the most amazing hole iv ever played!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top