• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

North Potomac, MD

Westleigh Rec. Club DGC

Permanent course
1.255(based on 4 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Westleigh Rec. Club DGC reviews

Filter
12 0
swatso
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 757 played 414 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Off-Season Ace-Run 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 29, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

A couple holes with severe elevation drops and large nearby tree branches for which to account.

Cons:

Single basket / single natural (pick a spot near the big oval tree-attached number) tee.

Somewhat errant throws could bring private property into play.

Slightly errant (heck, even accurate) throws could bring other club amenities into play.

Broad/main walking path the fairway for abour 1/3rd of the holes.

The water-flue crossing from basket-6 to tee-7.

A couple holes that are so short they're practically long putts.

Other Thoughts:

I, and a score of geese, who had taken over the swimming pool, had the facility to ourselves on a 40-degree, sunny, January mid-week afternoon. Good thing, too, as every hole will bring a play area, a walking path, or a home's property line into play.

Bag it, if you must.
Ace/bird if local and off-season.
Otherwise, no - just, no.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
Monocacy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 24 years 501 played 76 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Winter Fun, Summer Danger

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 23, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This hilly, park-style course is a quick, fun spin at a neighborhood pool (but see cons). A solo round can be played in 15 minutes or so with a putter from the short tees/baskets. The longer tees/baskets add a bit more distance and challenge (as of February 2023).

This site packs a remarkable number of hills into its small footprint. Five of the nine holes have significant elevation in play. Mature trees require some degree of line shaping on most holes. The course is well balanced between left- and right-turning holes.

Baskets are level and catch well. New tee signs include distances and a map showing each tee and basket location (as of February 2023).

Cons:

Blatant safety hazards on every hole. I cannot imagine playing this course from Memorial Day to Labor Day when the outdoor pool is open and children are swarming about. Even in the spring and fall tennis players, tennis spectators, dog walkers, and people minding their own business in their back yard are at risk on several holes.

This is a short course, but (as of February 2023) new long tees and/or baskets add some distance. Most of the short holes play around 200' or less, although a couple of the uphill holes are challenging for my noodle arm to reach with a putter.

Tees are now boxed-in fine gravel (as of February 2023). New tees are a bit uneven but a definite improvement over the previous natural tees.

Some risk of disc loss in the rough surrounding the drainage culvert (holes 3, 5, and 7).

Other Thoughts:

It is difficult to assign a score to this course. I hate to encourage anyone to play here when safety dictates otherwise, but with no one is around this is a lovely little course.

Plus, this course makes me nostalgic. When I was a kid we had a 9-hole object Frisbee golf course at my neighborhood pool. Playing that course launched a lifelong enchantment with flying discs, and I hope that Westleigh does the same for a new generation of children.

But for goodness sakes, please do NOT play here when there are piles of children in Speedos or tennis garb wandering across the fairways, oblivious to the Flying Discs of Utter Destruction headed their way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
sidewinder22
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.9 years 304 played 198 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Wesley Crusher of Disc Golf Courses 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Private course with 9 short fun beginner holes playing over some decent elevation changes and varying tightness of woods/obstacles.

Mach II baskets, and large tee signs.

Other on-site amenities include the pool, volleyball court, tennis courts, walking path, and restrooms.

Cons:

Potential safety issues on every hole. The course has got to be basically unplayable in the summer with any people there.

Hole 1 plays over the volleyball court. Hole 2 has a rather high likely-hood of discs going into the tennis courts or griplocked into the pool. Hole 3 plays over the walking path, over hole 8 and really close to Tee 4. Holes 3, 4, and 5 either cross each other or play really close to each other and the walking path. Hole 6 plays right behind people's backyard fences. Hole 7 plays right next to the tennis courts but this is the safest designed hole. Hole 8 crosses back over hole 3 and down the walking path. Hole 9 has a high probability of discs going into the pool or over the neighbors fence.

The tee signs for hole 1 and 4 had been blown off their tree. The natural tees were not great or marked except for the sign.

Other Thoughts:

I don't like that I have to mention all this negative stuff about a course when I actually had an enjoyable time having the whole course to myself winding down after work. While it's nice to see a new course installed, especially one that's most likely for the purposes of camp and club kids and beginners, this is one I'm not sure should have been because of all the potential safety issues. Just because you can, doesn't mean you should.

For the purposes of DGCR this course should only be of any interest to the most extremist course baggers and only attempted to be played in the off season. The gate to the parking lot was open when I played, but nobody was there to pay or any sign to leave payment somewhere, so I assume in the off season the course is free. It also appears that someone has modified the course page so it no longer mentions the course is only open to club members and guests.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
Crooow
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 37.1 years 249 played 52 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Typical club course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

New DGA baskets (double chain) with large numbers on top facing the tee. Tee areas marked by large circle signs with tee number - signs either on trees or on ground. Nice little park with some obstacles and some lines to shape. Good use of available elevation. No chance of disc loss unless you throw it into a fenced-in area (which is easy to avoid).

Cons:

No tee pads - tee area only roughly indicated. No distances on the tee signs just the hole #. No map but navigation was pretty simple. Very short - most holes are about 200 feet long with #9 being under 100 feet. Throwing near fenced areas and backyards on some holes; other holes go through club area which could be unplayable during other activities. A couple of holes play along a public walking path (saw several Imperial dog walkers). Definitely not worth paying to play. Some fairways overlap.

Other Thoughts:

I know I probably shouldn't have played this course as this website claimed that only members and guests can play and the fee for that is not friendly. I went on a December Thursday at 1 PM just to see what this course is and the parking lot was empty and the clubhouse was closed. I decided to walk the course to get a feel for it and found it to be short and also to extend into the nearby neighborhood (although maybe Westleigh owns that walking path and the surrounding land). It's an okay course for a club - good for kids and maybe some funding event. All holes were outside the fenced-in areas so I decided I would play a quick round. I met several people walking dogs who were friendly and had wondered what these silver things were in the grassy areas.

Hole #1 plays from near the entrance along a flat area to the left with the basket at the top of a dropoff. #2 tee is to the right and plays down a hill to a basket near the tennis courts. #3 tee is up the hillside and plays out to a basket beside the walking path. Then you backtrack up the path and throw to #4 which is uphill along the walking path. #5's tee is across the walking path to a basket behind some houses on the near side of the creek. #6 plays along the near side of the creek behind the houses. Then you walk a path across the creek and #7 plays in the opposite direction on that side of the creek with the tennis courts as your right hand boundary. #8 plays up the walking path heading toward the parking lot. #9 is just a short filler to get you back to the parking lot. Ta da and you're done. I spent 5 minutes scouting the course and less than 20 minutes playing it. Nobody accosted me but I was uncomfortable knowing that I probably was trespassing (even though there were no signs and people were using the walking path). Also basket #4 seems to be in someone's yard.

No reason to return except maybe to play in a charity event. But good for the club members especially their kids.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top