• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Corvallis, OR

Willamette Park

Permanent course
3.555(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Willamette Park reviews

Filter
5 0
mthill
Experience: 19.1 years 25 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Solid as a rock 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Perfect intermediate player course
-Skillful ace runs
-Groomed and kept up well
-Very clean course flow. Hard to get lost here
-Won't lose your disc here unless it's a real bad shank

Cons:

-Often there is a 1-2 party queue at tee pad 1
-Couple shared fairways in the back 9 can be hazardous on a crowded day
-No real challenging/technical holes

Other Thoughts:

This course packs a lot of fun with minimal stress. Willamette is perfect for the intermediate player, as there are only 2 holes rocking 400+ pins here. While not a cakewalk by any means, it is definitely possible to slay this course if you are on your game that day. If you reside near Corvallis, Willamette is an excellent home course. If you do not live near Corvallis, traveling here to play Willamette and Adair is definitely worth a day trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
prettyboyfloyd
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 16 played 15 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Social Disc Golf... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Wonderful Layout
- Only one very short hole
- Few truly open fairways
- near downtown Corvallis

Cons:

- CROWDED
- Many holes have similar layouts
- Holes 13 - 17 bunched a bit tight, especially when crowded (which is a lot).
- no real elevation changes

Other Thoughts:

For me, the best thing about this course is that 90% of the holes require one *full* shot (usually a fairway driver), then depending on where you land, a setup/and or putt. Every whole has trees and shrubs that make it challenging enough. If these were all open fairways, it would get boring quick.

When school is in, this place is the most crowded around. Lots of kids who throw every third throw in the woods, so be prepared to wait around. I usually don't like drinking beer when I play, but I could see doing so playing with four guys on a crowded day. Like previous reviewers: go early morning or late afternoon (summer) if you want it more quaint.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
JQuist
Experience: 25.1 years 13 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

My Baby... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 30, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has it all, for the most part. Challenging/Friendly holes for both righties and lefties. Makes you have to throw different throws throughout (backhand, forearm, thumber, etc..). It's a good beginner course to really see your game evolve and your scores improve.

Cons:

When the weather is bad, it can get pretty gross and muddy. Every once in awhile a soccer game might be going on to the right of Hole 3. Frequent pedestrians running/biking/walking through the park come into play on occasion.

Other Thoughts:

Been playing here frequently since 2003 and I can't say enough good things about this course. If you haven't played it yet, I really recommend it! You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Discbear
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.5 years 1525 played 25 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Willamette Park Corvallis Oregon 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 16, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is the course by which I compare all others as it was the 1st I ever played, and because of this course I quickly became addicted. It is still a highly regarded course even though I have scores of other courses to compare it to. It is a beginner friendly course but challenging enough that pros will enjoy it,though they will routinely shoot under par after they learn the course. Fun challenges exist as trees come into play on every hole, but you never play dense forests where a disc has to be squeezed through a window sized hole where luck is the law of the throw. There are 7 holes that I think there is a reasonable chance of going ob, and over the years I have been ob on 10 of them. It's a nice park with lots of grass fairways and trees. It is hard to lose a disc there these days because most of the disc eating blackberry graveyards have been highly decimated, though if your persistent I'm sure there are numerous ways that you can still throw one away.

Cons:

It usually gets crowded on nice weekends and on warm evenings from April through October. They let the grass get knee high in May and June to protect some plant that flowers then. I still don't know what that is. If you have grass allergies you will have sneezing fits in June.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
Riderflydg
Experience: 14.1 years 6 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Crowd and crisscross Holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 9, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent challenge courses for RHBH and beginner like me.

Cons:

High traffic and crisscrossing holes in the afternoon. Go for early morning.

Other Thoughts:

Play It Again Sports store has a score card and course map, pick it up at 1422 NW 9th St.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
StimpiSteve
Experience: 165 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Snowing yellow leaves 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 19, 2005 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice park setting with beautiful giant trees. In the Autumn, when I played it, there was a slight breeze which dislodged so many dead leaves that it appeared to be snowing yellow. The holes were of a nice variety of shots and lengths. Challenging and fun with glimpses of the nearby river.

Cons:

Can't think of any cons.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
runnaman
Experience: 16.9 years 42 played 24 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Excellent course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 31, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Great variation in hole distances.
- Need for right handed shots and left handed, although it does seem to favor lefties a little more. That's fine though considering most courses favor righties.
- The baskets are in excellent condition as well as the teepads.

Cons:

- The biggest thing was that holes 13, 15, 16, and 17 pretty much share their fairways and it is difficult to get tee shots off while there is someone on the other tee because they're so close.

Other Thoughts:

- There was a lot of leaves on the ground so I would be cautious about throwing orange, yellow, and light green discs. I know because that's pretty much all I throw.
- This is an excellent course that I would recommend anyone play. Beginners will most likely find a few of the holes to be really hard because of length, but it isn't too bad. Definitely a great course for Ams and Pros.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
discgolforegon
Experience: 27 years 25 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

First time... 2 thumbs up! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 9, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Great Baskets
- Good teepads
- Benches on a few holes
- Grassy fairways make for easy walking
- Finally a course that favors the turnover shot or sidearm
- Ample parking
- Informational with course maps
- Recylcing cans and trash ones too
- Didn't see to much litter (see cons for exceptions)

Cons:

- Dog poo, found a couple bags of poo left sitting in fairways
- Course signage is lacking bad! Some of the distances have to be off.
- Alot of the holes blend into each other, producing a kind of ok same shot here routine.
- Busy park during peak usage times
- Large amount of college "boys"

I understand that some of these can only be a problem if you let them get to you. See below for other thoughts.

Other Thoughts:

This was the first time that I have played Willamette, and I must say I had a great time. I felt that course had a decent flow, good grassy fairways, and hard pin settings. This is not an "Easy" course with most holes allowing you to toss a bomber. I think that with more time this course will be a 4 - 4.5 star course.
Just needs some more TLC, some benches, more trash cans, and less poo. :)

Will be back again, and as always big thanks goes out to anyone and everyone who helps make Oregon courses some of the best in the Nation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
bthoma1
Experience: 17.1 years 46 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

nice if your in the area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 11, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice course with great mixture of holes. RHBH want to bring their sidearm with them or adjust accordingly as there are a lot of anhyzer shots.
Good amount of trees keep the course somewhat challenging

Cons:

No real tee signs just a wooden pole with stuff carved on it.
trash all around, but not to blame the "hippies" as one review did. They just need garbage cans. There are only one or two throughout hole course.

Other Thoughts:

All in all a good course. Pretty easy to shoot under par if you know what your doing, but you can also have the occasional bad day and get frustrated.
Pick your shots well though and you will do alright.
I would play this course more but..
#1 it is to far from my house(45min +)
#2 not that challenging, I think the park closer to this is more challenging than this one. So I would go there before I go here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 2
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.4 years 437 played 434 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 31, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Excellent course with a great mix of hole distances from 200 to over 400 feet long. Navigation was pretty simple especially with all of the locals, we just followed the group in front of us. The fairways are open for the most part and disc searching is kept to a minimum. I love all of the green grass that is mowed and the fairways that have trees in clever spots guarding certain lines. Also lots of out of bounds makes for some challenging golf

Cons:

The majority of the holes look very similar so the course blends together in my mind because of this. Some of the fairways get close to each other and some of the other park users. Not a whole lot of cons really, just a solid but not fantastic course.

Other Thoughts:

There really are not many bad things to say about this place just the one mentioned, Another gem of a course in the Oregon park system, check this place out if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
Grateful Gringo
Experience: 17.1 years 35 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Home Sweet Home... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

*Well Maintained
*Great Local Discheads
*Lots of Birdie Opportunities but no gimmies
*Difficult to lose discs
*Baskets change location frequently
*Three locations for trash & recycling (Still not enough for some lazy unwelcome types... Grrrr!)
*Great for sidearm throwers like myself
*Beautiful Park
*Plenty of technical shots required
*Great for practicing all assets of your game, but not necessarily a memorable course

This is a great course to have in your backyard but it lacks the elevation changes inherent to many great courses. There are enough trees to keep you honest on most holes, but at the same time you get plenty of opportunities to rip off unobstructed shots as well.
*I would consider it perfectly challenging in that I'm not particularly good but have played a fair amount of disc golf and my best here is a 54 or even.

Cons:

*Too busy during popular hours with an overabundance of "fratboy" types for lack of a better term. Many inconsiderate fools that can be maddening at times.
*Unsafe layout with several portions that contain crisscrossing holes. This is not a terribly big deal until it gets really busy and people that appear to be both clueless and oblivious enter the equation.
*Many joggers, dog walkers, and other generic park visitors disrupt the game due to various paths that intersect with the course
*Stinging Nettles
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
Oregon Southpaw
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 4, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Gorgeous location.

Well thought-out and placed baskets.

VERY lefty friendly.

Ace opportunities abound but this course isn't just giving them to you.

FUN. No punishment involved. And usually not too much extended "search for disc" time.

Alternate pins keep things interesting.

Good players can make some very good scores.

Strong community of players, regular network is pretty welcoming and thoughtful.

Cons:

Crowded, but often with large group of serious golfers who are considerate.

It gets horrible in the Spring/Early Summer when the [enter collegiate cliche here] crowd comes out, drinks 30-packs and heeds absolutely no etiquette. Beware large groups with few very bags spread between them and beer.

Vandalism is rampant. Feces were rubbed on a basket and bench (since cleared). Lots of boozing and weed smoking, and worse is the litter even as there are recycling bins at two points!

They need to mow some underbrush, at least creating fairways.

Other Thoughts:

Pretty much my home course now. I try to get in at least 100 holes a week. As mentioned below, go early in the morning and be amazed at the solitude. Worst time is generally around 2:30-6:30. In the summer, late games can be delicious...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 7
Rayfillet
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 7, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Diverse play from dense forest to open fields. Lots of difficult shots that require distance and shooting gaps.

Other Thoughts:

This course is for the intermediate to pro players. It is a well groomed course however if you stray off the fairway you may lose your disc in some holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
jgros079
Experience: 16.8 years 36 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

willamette park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 25, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course offers a little for everyone, from the pros on down. It's not too difficult, but is by no means a cake walk. Most of the holes average in the mid 300's, and pins are changed on holes frequently which helps keep the course regulars on their toes. It's a nice mix of open fairway holes and wooded ones, which require more technical shots.

Cons:

This course is a lefty backhanders dream...tends to get annoying if you're not left handed, or shoot righty forehand. Also, the course can get extremely busy, especially on nicer days and on the weekends. If you go during these times, keep an eye out for discs flying your way, and be prepared to wait a bit to throw.

Other Thoughts:

A good course to play if you're looking for something to do one afternoon. It is rarely used in the mornings or early afternoon, and if you can handle shooting a round in colder/rainy weather, the entire course will be yours.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
handsoffmt
Experience: 31.1 years 519 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Better than Adair 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Nice, open course with a good range of hole lengths (250-400+ feet). Good variety of Hyzer and anhyzer holes. I like a course where a birdie is possible on most holes, and all but one (for me) is reachable on the drive. I hear rumours of people birdying 3, but have not seen it for my own eyes.

Cons:

Can get crowded, especially on the few sunny days when school is in session. Only thing missing are some technical woodsy shots.

Other Thoughts:

I like this course much better than Adair. Adair has too many boring, long holes that are hard to birdy or bogey, and easy to par.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Adair's Little Sister Course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

It's a nice setting for a course, lovely big ole park. The course plays through open areas and more wooded technical parts of the park. Nice kiosk at start with course information. Teepads are made up of 10 large concrete blocks, they work just fine.One hole even had these concrete blocks under the bench for the players waiting to tee off. Nice informative signs. Pretty easy to navigate.

Cons:

Unlike Adair, where I felt each hole has it's own unique quality, here I felt the holes kind of blended together in my mind. It's hard for me to distinctly remember any one particular hole. You lefties who are constantly complaining about courses being biased in favor of righty back handed throwers would love this course. I believe the ratio is something like 12 to 1 in holes with a slight anhyser favor to them. Many have mentioned how crowded this park can get. I played on a cold drizzly day and almost had the park to myself.

Other Thoughts:

This course has a couple of design features that set's it aside from most all other courses. Some people would probably call them cons, I found them to be more quirky if anything, maybe adding to the character of Willamette.

First, many of the fairways run very close together, up and back like golf course fairways. Course detractors would scream safety issues and whatnot. I think I might like the fact that as I'm walking up one fairway, I can see the group ahead of me teeing off or playing their second shot. They can "Four", I'll duck if needed.

The second strange design features holes 14, 15, 16 and 17. They are once again side by side but the issue here is, they don't seem to be in order. So 17 fairway is between 14 and 16. Or something like that? Whatever, I think it works. It's like the Green Monster at Fenway Park in Boston. It's kinda weird but it's part of what makes that ballpark unique. Same with this odd hole design here. It just adds to the Willamette mystique.

I think Willamette often times suffers from the unfair comparison to Adair. I say come play Willamette first, you'll enjoy it. Then go treat yourself to the Adair experience. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
OR_Crayfish
Experience: 30.2 years 70 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Excellent when not crowded 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 10, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

This is a fantastic course. Scenic, challanging and some areas near the Willamette River with Bald Eagles swooping around. We live about 1500ft from the course. We love it. Great opportunities for all type of shots. Trend is lots of forehand drives but easily reachable with nice turnover backhands. Im an int player (for OR) at 920 rating. I usually shoot around 56 with some occasional under par rounds. This is not the hardest course in OR by any means but it can test many aspects of your game.

Cons:

In the title. This is the Hot Spot for the OSU college scene. I dont blame them, its beautiful. However it can get wild out there with discs flying everywhere and tons of litter. Pack in Pack out dangit. Just watch your topknot and its a great time. Its also a dog off leash area (which is cool) but that means dogs everywhere and tons O' Pooh to dodge !!! Get there early AM and its empty and wonderful

Other Thoughts:

Local disc folks in the area work very hard to keep this course in nice shape. Some fun Alt pin placements with a brand new one (as of 5/8/08) on hole 5. Enjoy!!! I prefer Adair Village and if you only have time for one round in the area go there!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 10
kevin
Experience: 67 played 61 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Hidden hideaway 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Course laid out in a field of trees, earning a challanged rating.

Cons:

Usually open at the tee, making it easy to drive down the field but, you could still run into trees down the lane.

Other Thoughts:

First come first serve. Popular course in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top