Donovan

Member Info.
Recent Reviews
816 DGCR Number
Fort Worth, TX Location
Donovan Real Name
51 Age
33.2 Years Years Playing
RHBH Main Throwing Style
847 DGCR Player Rating
81698 PDGA Number
871 Player Rating
186 /
Total Reviews / Avg. Score
982 - 26 Voting Record
17 Fans
#80 Current Travel Tag:
5/02/2008 Joined On
5/31/2020 @ 04:34:12 PM Last Login

View Forum Posts Forum Posts Send a Private Message Send PM Add as Friend Add Friend Follow this Reviewer
Achievements:
            
Other Info/Notes:
Playing History:
I played some target "Frisbee" Golf in college, but really just got serious about playing Disc Golf around March of 2008. Courses are much better and the game has really evolved since the mid 80's. Using discs designed for this game has really made it much more fun. Plus, dare I say, baskets are so much better than the occasional park bench or road sign (man that damages a disc)!

Since 2008, I learned everything I could and sought out playing with players much better than I on a regular basis. That is my best advice to anyone new to the sport, go play and learn from better and different players. I have played over 230 courses and traveled to new locations helping photograph and logging in distances on many courses with no information. Doing that will teach you a lot. I have taken time to really listen to many course designers and learned much from their perspective and I love some of the stories that they tell. Here is another piece of advice: walk your home course(s) backward. Looks at the holes from basket to tee. It will allow you to see flight paths and options you may have not seen before.

I held the PDGA Record and the Guinness World Record for the Most Disc Golf Holes Played in 24 Hours in 2010. The record was 833 and I was able to be the first person to get over 1000 holes with 1002. I did this to help grow the sport and get it in the news. My story and a video can be seen from these threads: Dedicated Thread & Original Thread
By the way, the pictures of my feet are not for the faint at heart. I also then helped others break my record after that, because that is how we continue to grow the sport. Keep getting it in the news. I always want to bring a positive light to Disc Golf. I really do love our community

Course Rating:
I love playing at different courses. Every new course is an exciting adventure good or bad courses alike. I have found, the more courses you review, the better you get at seeing what you like and how to review them. I strongly suggest after about 50 courses, to go back and update your earlier reviews. You will notice just how much better you get at doing it. I really like the variety of styles, risk/reward, technical, elevation, short and long hole variation, heavily wooded, wide-open, guarded baskets, water, and anything else a course designer can come up with.

I like reading reviews that are not too long, but still, get me the info that tells me if I would want to play there. So I try to do this in my reviews with just a little humor in the title. I do believe the key factors that affect me the most when reviewing a course are the pros & cons, the equipment & conditions, the layout challenges & terrain, and most importantly, THE FUN FACTOR. If you don't enjoy the adventure, how can you possibly rate a course very high or tell others you should come play here? Anyway, that is how I see it.

DGCR:
This site is fantastic. I feel it is the best place to help you decide what courses to play, track your scores, your discs, and hear about upcoming events. I love how we all can share what we learn and feel about our experiences on a course. This gives people of all walks of life a chance to share their views and perspectives. You can absorb the info you want and discard what you don't. Either way, you get a variety of opinions, the more the merrier!

This is a great place to meet other players. Enjoy each other's successes and share our stories. Ok, let's face it, I love the forums for good ol' socializing, learning, and BS'ing! ;)

Peace brothers!
Favorite Courses (18)
Played Courses (263)
United States
Arizona
Flagstaff, AZ Thorpe Park
1 Course(s)
Arkansas
Hot Springs, AR Cedar Glades
1 Course(s)
California
Santa Cruz, CA DeLaveaga Park
1 Course(s)
Iowa
Council Bluffs, IA Treasure Cove DGC
1 Course(s)
Kansas
Kansas City, KS Rosedale Park - Down Under
1 Course(s)
Missouri
Kansas City, MO Water Works Park
1 Course(s)
Texas
Crowley, TX Bicentennial DGC
Granbury, TX Granbury City DGC
Haltom City, TX North Park
Huntsville, TX Shawshank
Grand Prairie, TX Turner Park
Tyler, TX U.T. Tyler
Fort Worth, TX Z-Boaz Park
12 Course(s)
Course Wish List (27)
United States
Oklahoma
Kingston, OK Cross Point
Lake Murray, OK Lake Murray Lodge
2 Course(s)
Texas
Cleburne, TX Amigo Park
Waxahachie, TX Brown-Singleton Park
Hillsboro, TX Cuesta Disc Golf Park
Frisco, TX Dash's Track
Manor, TX East Metro Park
Graham, TX Firemens Park
Pottsboro, TX Flowing Wells DGC
Greenville, TX Graham Park
Lindsay, TX Lindsay Park
Temple, TX Lion's Park
Gainesville, TX Moffett Park
Denison, TX Munson Park
Wylie, TX Oncor/Lavon Park
Commerce, TX Outdoor Adventure DGC
Burton, TX Snow Farm
Stephenville, TX Stephenville DGC
Fate, TX The Cedars
Lancaster, TX The Jaranator
25 Course(s)
United States
Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL Bowers Park 10/22/2019
1 Course(s)
Arizona
Tucson, AZ Santa Cruz River Park 4/8/2020
Quartzsite, AZ Sidewinder Circles 1/11/2020
Quartzsite, AZ Sidewinder DGC 1/10/2020
Flagstaff, AZ   Thorpe Park 11/29/2009
Quartzsite, AZ Tobin Brenard Area - Old Layout 1/6/2020
5 Course(s)
Arkansas
North Little Rock, AR   Burns Park - Blue 5/9/2011
North Little Rock, AR   Burns Park - Red 5/8/2011
Hot Springs, AR   Cedar Glades 5/10/2011
Searcy, AR   Industrial Park 5/12/2011
Springdale, AR   JCF DGC 6/19/2010
Cabot, AR   Kerr Station Park - Old Layout 5/13/2011
Little Rock (Mabelvale), AR   Morehart Park 5/3/2011
Fayetteville, AR   Northshore DGC 6/19/2010
8 Course(s)
California
Berkeley, CA Aquatic Park
Livingston, CA Arakelian Park DGC
Santa Cruz, CA DeLaveaga Park
Stockton, CA   Dorotha Mae Pitts Park 9/6/2011
Merced, CA Fahrens Park DGC
San Francisco, CA Golden Gate Park DGC 7/27/2014
Moraga, CA Moraga Commons Park
Stockton, CA   Oak Grove Regional Park 9/7/2011
8 Course(s)
Colorado
Denver, CO Globeville Landing
1 Course(s)
Georgia
Ringgold, GA Jack Mattox Recreation Complex 10/22/2019
1 Course(s)
Idaho
Coeur d'Alene, ID Bluegrass Park - Kiwanis DGC
1 Course(s)
Illinois
Galesburg, IL   Kiwanis Park DGC 6/24/2009
Lombard, IL Madison Meadow Park 5/27/2014
Monmouth, IL   Monmouth Park 6/30/2009
Moline, IL   Prospect Park 6/24/2009
4 Course(s)
Indiana
Fremont, IN Fremont Middle School 8/14/2019
1 Course(s)
Iowa
Albia, IA   Albia City Park 7/21/2009
Polk City, IA   Big Creek State Park 7/13/2009
Chariton, IA   Chariton DGC 7/21/2009
Fairfield, IA   Chautauqua City Park - Old Layout 7/5/2009
Burlington, IA   Dankwardt Park 6/30/2009
Oskaloosa, IA   Edmundson Park 7/12/2009
Des Moines, IA   Ewing Park 7/13/2009
Lamoni, IA   Graceland University 7/15/2009
Lamoni, IA   J&B Rolling Hills 7/20/2009
Shenandoah, IA   McComb Park 4/9/2010
Bettendorf, IA   Middle Park DGC 6/24/2009
LeMars, IA   Municipal Park 4/14/2010
Indianola, IA   Pickard Park 7/15/2009
Mount Pleasant (Oakland Mills), IA   Riverview DGC - Old Layout 6/30/2009
Eddyville, IA   Sandy Dunes Disc Golf 7/10/2009
Sioux City, IA   Sertoma Park 4/11/2010
Council Bluffs, IA   Treasure Cove DGC 10/4/2008
Johnston, IA   Walnut Ridge 7/12/2009
Davenport, IA West Lake Park 3/30/2019
Ottumwa, IA   Wildwood Park 7/10/2009
20 Course(s)
Kansas
Olathe, KS   California Trail 3/25/2010
Lawrence, KS   Centennial Park 5/5/2010
Lawrence, KS   Clinton State Park - Hill-A-Rusa 5/7/2010
Lawrence, KS   Clinton State Park - Maxx's Mirage 5/8/2010
Topeka, KS   Crestview Park - West 5/11/2010
Atchison, KS   Jackson Park - 18 4/7/2010
Atchison, KS   Jackson Park - 9 4/7/2010
Ottawa, KS   Kanza Park 5/14/2010
Topeka, KS   Lake Shawnee 5/9/2010
Vassar, KS   Pomona Lake - Wolf Creek 5/14/2010
Vassar, KS   Pomona State Park 5/13/2010
Olathe, KS   Prairie Center Park 3/25/2010
Topeka, KS   Rice Park 5/11/2010
Lawrence, KS   Riverfront DGC 5/5/2010
Kansas City, KS   Rosedale Park - Down Under 5/10/2010
Kansas City, KS   Rosedale Park - Top 4/3/2010
Shawnee, KS   Shawnee Mission Park DGC 3/25/2010
Bonner Springs, KS   Wyandotte County Park 4/1/2010
18 Course(s)
Kentucky
Shelbyville, KY Ryan's Course 8/27/2019
1 Course(s)
Louisiana
Lafayette, LA   Acadiana Park - Ace Run 3/17/2011
Oil City, LA   Earl G. Williamson Park 6/24/2011
Shreveport, LA   Ford Park 6/24/2011
3 Course(s)
Maryland
McHenry, MD Wisp Deep Creek Ski Resort 8/26/2019
1 Course(s)
Minnesota
East Bethel, MN   Blue Ribbon Pines DGC 8/8/2015
Duluth, MN College of St. Scholastica 4/21/2016
Fort Snelling, MN Fort Snelling - Old Layout 4/22/2016
Duluth, MN Lincoln Park DGC 4/21/2016
Barnesville, MN   McGrath Park 5/23/2011
Duluth, MN Miller Creek 4/21/2016
Duluth, MN   Morgan Park 7/12/2011
Hibbing, MN   North Hibbing DG Park 7/6/2011
Warba, MN   Northern Lights Community 7/12/2011
Duluth, MN   University of Minnesota - Duluth DGC 7/10/2011
10 Course(s)
Mississippi
Meridian, MS Highland Park DGC 10/22/2019
1 Course(s)
Missouri
Ash Grove, MO   Ash Grove City Park 6/23/2010
Kansas City, MO   Blue Valley Park 4/4/2010
Kansas City, MO   Blue Valley Park - Short Course 4/4/2010
Smithville, MO   Camp Branch DGC 4/6/2010
Savannah, MO   Duncan Park 4/8/2010
Parkville, MO   English Landing Park 5/12/2010
Ozark, MO   Grubaugh Park 6/22/2010
Pleasant Hill, MO   Lake Shore DGC 5/9/2010
Lee's Summit, MO   Legacy Park 4/15/2010
Springfield, MO   McBride Park 6/21/2010
Nixa, MO   McCauley Park 6/21/2010
Republic, MO   Miller Park Lucky 13 6/22/2010
Maryville, MO   NW Missouri State University 4/8/2010
Springfield, MO   Oak Grove Park 6/20/2010
Gladstone, MO   Old Pike Country Club 4/15/2010
Kansas City, MO   Swope Park 4/3/2010
Springfield, MO   Tom Watkins DGC - Old Layout 6/23/2010
Kansas City, MO   Water Works Park 4/4/2010
Independence, MO   William Yates Sprint DGC 4/6/2010
19 Course(s)
Montana
1 Course(s)
Nebraska
Blair, NE   Black Elk-Neihardt Park 4/11/2010
Fremont, NE   Camp Calvin Crest 4/9/2010
Kearney, NE   Centennial Park 9/30/2008
Chapman, NE   Chapman Park 9/29/2008
Beatrice, NE   Chautauqua Park 10/1/2008
Kearney, NE   Cottonmill DGC 10/1/2008
Cozad, NE   Cozad Muny Park 10/1/2008
Kearney, NE   Fort Kearney State Rec. Area 9/30/2008
Holdrege, NE   Holdrege South Park 10/2/2008
McCook, NE   Kelley Park 10/3/2008
Hastings, NE   Lake Hastings 9/29/2008
Superior, NE   Lost Creek DGC 9/29/2008
Plattsmouth, NE   Oak Hollow DGC 10/4/2008
Ashland, NE   Ox Bow Trail DGC 4/9/2010
Oxford, NE   Oxford Park 10/2/2008
Lexington, NE   Plum Creek 10/1/2008
Alliance, NE Rolling Prairie
Lincoln, NE   Roper Park - West 10/1/2008
Lincoln, NE   Scott Whitcomb Memorial 10/1/2008
Omaha, NE   Seymour Smith Park 9/29/2008
Grand Island, NE   Stolley Park 9/29/2008
Kearney, NE   Sunrise Middle School DGC 10/2/2008
Marquette, NE Timberlake Ranch Camp 9/29/2008
Waverly, NE   Wayne Park 4/10/2010
24 Course(s)
New Mexico
Angel Fire, NM Angel Fire Resort 6/8/2019
Rio Rancho, NM Canyon Park 6/6/2019
2 Course(s)
New York
North Tonawanda, NY Payne Park 8/22/2019
1 Course(s)
North Dakota
Casselton, ND   Casselton DGC 5/22/2011
Horace, ND   Independence Park 5/22/2011
West Fargo, ND   Rendezvous Park - North 9 5/22/2011
West Fargo, ND   Rendezvous Park - South 9 5/22/2011
4 Course(s)
Ohio
Wauseon, OH Reighard Park 8/15/2019
1 Course(s)
Oklahoma
Ardmore, OK   Broadlawn Park 3/22/2009
Oklahoma City, OK   Dolese Youth Park - East 6/10/2010
Norman, OK   Griffin Park 6/9/2010
Norman, OK   N.E. Lions Park 6/9/2010
West Siloam Springs, OK Natural Falls State Park 4/10/2019
Oklahoma City, OK   Will Rogers Park 6/10/2010
6 Course(s)
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Schellsburg, PA Shawnee State Park 8/22/2019
1 Course(s)
South Dakota
Vermillion, SD   Barstow Park DGC 4/12/2010
Yankton, SD   Cottonwood Park DGC 4/12/2010
Yankton, SD   Fantle Memorial Park 4/12/2010
Yankton, SD   Gavins Point DGC 4/13/2010
Vermillion, SD   Prentis Park 4/12/2010
5 Course(s)
Tennessee
Gatlinburg, TN Mills Park DGC 10/16/2019
1 Course(s)
Texas
McKinney, TX   Alex Clark Memorial DGC 5/20/2009
Coppell, TX   Andrew Brown Park 8/22/2008
Fort Worth, TX   Arcadia Park #2 5/14/2008
Azle, TX Ash Creek DGC 4/19/2014
Garland, TX   Audubon Park 5/20/2010
Dallas, TX   B. B. Owen Park 10/13/2009
Grapevine, TX   Bear Creek 5/24/2008
Allen, TX   Bethany Lakes DGC 5/18/2010
Crowley, TX   Bicentennial DGC 9/15/2008
The Colony, TX   Bill Allen Memorial Park 5/20/2011
The Colony, TX   Bill Allen Memorial Park - Old Layout 10/5/2009
Bedford, TX Boys Ranch DGC 3/26/2016
Waco, TX   Brazos Park East - Old Layout 3/7/2009
Athens, TX   Cain Park 6/4/2010
Keene, TX Carver Park DGC 12/31/2014
Fort Worth, TX City Disc Park 3/7/2019
Vidor, TX   Copperhead DGC 4/11/2011
Duncanville, TX Crossroads of Life DGC 1/19/2014
Mesquite, TX   DeBusk Park 10/13/2009
Keene, TX Disc Golf @ Southwestern 12/31/2014
Fort Worth, TX Eagle Ranch Park 5/24/2008
Huntsville, TX   Eastham-Thomason Park 4/20/2011
Irving, TX Fritz Park 6/29/2015
Irving, TX   Fritz Park - Old Layout 12/15/2008
Corsicana, TX   Fullerton-Garrity DGC 4/21/2011
Fort Worth, TX Gateway Park - West 6/10/2017
Fort Worth, TX   Gateway Park - West - Old Layout 3/30/2009
Granbury, TX Granbury City DGC 9/27/2015
Carrollton, TX Greenbelt Park 2/28/2016
Carrollton, TX   Greenbelt Park - Old Layout 12/23/2008
Fort Worth, TX   Greenbriar Community Center 9/15/2008
Longview, TX   Guthrie Park DGC 4/3/2011
Bridgeport, TX Hardwood DGC 11/19/2015
Rockwall, TX Harry Myers 2.0 11/16/2019
Rockwall, TX   Harry Myers DGC - Old Layout 7/17/2008
Haslet, TX Haslet Community Park 4/18/2014
Haslet, TX   Haslet Community Park - Old Layout 6/10/2008
Flower Mound, TX Heritage Park DGC 2/27/2019
Princeton, TX Jack Culverhouse DGC 5/20/2011
Carrollton, TX   Jimmy Porter Park 8/24/2009
Justin, TX Justin DGC 9/15/2017
Beaumont, TX   Klein Park DGC 4/11/2011
Kountze, TX   Kountze DGC 4/13/2011
Lewisville, TX   Lake Lewisville Park - Old Layout 8/18/2008
Lewisville, TX   Lenard L. Woods Park 9/21/2008
Cedar Hill, TX   Lester Lorch Park - Beaver DGC 9/17/2008
Cedar Hill, TX   Lester Lorch Park - Coyote DGC 9/17/2008
Tyler, TX   Lindsey Park - Blue Course 6/10/2010
Tyler, TX   Lindsey Park - Gold Course 6/5/2010
Tyler, TX   Lindsey Park - Red Course 6/6/2010
Houston, TX   MacGregor Park 8/31/2011
Houston, TX   Mason Park 8/27/2011
Little Elm, TX McCord Park 5/18/2014
Conroe, TX   McDade Park - Old Layout 8/25/2011
Decatur, TX Melba Doyle DGC 11/19/2015
Grand Prairie, TX Mountain Creek 10/5/2009
Cedar Hill, TX Mt. Lebanon Baptist Encampment 2/20/2016
Denton, TX   North Lake Park 10/26/2008
Haltom City, TX   North Park 5/19/2008
Mesquite, TX   Paschall Park 10/13/2009
Granbury, TX Pecan DGC 1/31/2016
Port Arthur, TX   Pleasure Island: Berry's Treasure 4/12/2011
Cedar Hill, TX   Plummer DGC 8/9/2014
Mesquite, TX   Porter Park DGC 10/13/2009
Dallas, TX Roger W. Lytle DGC 1/23/2016
White Settlement, TX Saddle Hills DGC 5/1/2018
White Settlement, TX   Saddle Hills DGC - Old Layout 2/19/2010
White Settlement, TX Saddle Hills DGC - Old Layout 2
White Settlement, TX Saddle Hills DGC - Old Layout 3 6/13/2015
Plano, TX   Shawnee Park 10/11/2009
Huntsville, TX   Shawshank 4/18/2011
Kennedale, TX   Sonora Park 6/26/2011
Rowlett, TX   Springfield Park 5/19/2010
Springtown, TX Springtown West Park 4/19/2014
Fort Worth, TX TCC Northwest Campus 2/8/2015
Arlington, TX   TCC Southeast Campus 5/20/2010
Fort Worth, TX Texas Wesleyan University 2/3/2015
Fate, TX The Cedars 5/26/2016
Tyler, TX   The Roc DGC 6/4/2010
Lewisville, TX Tom McCutcheon DGP 8/4/2017
North Richland Hills, TX   Tommy and Sue Brown Park 5/24/2008
McKinney, TX   Towne Lake DGC 2/22/2009
Mount Vernon, TX Trey Texas Ranch - Texas Twist 5/1/2016
Mount Vernon, TX Trey Texas Ranch - Trey Deuce 5/1/2016
Trophy Club, TX Trophy Club Park 5/19/2011
Grand Prairie, TX   Turner Park 10/5/2009
Tyler, TX   U.T. Tyler 4/11/2011
Richardson, TX   UT Dallas Alumni DGC 5/17/2010
Van, TX   Van City DGC 6/23/2011
Arlington, TX   Veteran's Park 7/9/2008
Irving, TX   W.O. Harrington 12/15/2008
Weatherford, TX   Weatherford DGC 10/12/2008
Flower Mound, TX Wellington of Flower Mound 7/27/2014
Austin (Wells Branch), TX   Wells Branch Park - Old Layout 11/9/2010
Waco, TX   William Cameron Park 3/7/2009
Saginaw, TX   Willow Creek Park 5/19/2008
Sheppard AFB, TX Wind Creek Park DGC 11/19/2015
Waco, TX   Woodway Park 10/11/2009
Fort Worth, TX   Z-Boaz Park 7/18/2008
101 Course(s)
Washington
Lynden, WA   Lynden DGC 9/12/2011
1 Course(s)
West Virginia
Roanoke, WV Stonewall Jackson Resort 8/26/2019
1 Course(s)
Wisconsin
Superior, WI   Central Park 6/27/2011
1 Course(s)
Wyoming
Sheridan, WY Sheltered Acres DGC 7/3/2019
1 Course(s)
Canada
British Columbia
Vancouver, BC Jericho Hill
Langley, BC   Langley Passive Park 9/13/2011
Coquitlam, BC Mundy Park
Vancouver, BC Quilchena DGC
Burnaby, BC Robert Burnaby Park
West Vancouver, BC Rockridge DGC
7 Course(s)
Ontario
Niagara Falls, ON Firemen's Park DGC 8/22/2019
1 Course(s)