DFrah

Member Info.
Recent Reviews
92997 DGCR Number
Grand Rapids, MI Location
Real Name
3.4 Years Years Playing
RHBH Main Throwing Style
824 DGCR Player Rating
71 /
Total Reviews / Avg. Score
650 - 51 Voting Record
4 Fans
6/13/2020 Joined On
10/21/2021 @ 07:34:55 PM Last Login

View Forum Posts Forum Posts Send a Private Message Send PM Add as Friend Add Friend Follow this Reviewer
Achievements:
      
Other Info/Notes:
Hey all! I'm a mediocre DG'er and long-winded reviewer. :) I'm currently based in Michigan, USA. I played a lot of "object golf" with family and friends growing up using an Ultimate Frisbee. I think my first real DG experience was the old Hickory Hills 24-hole setup in Traverse City, MI. Over the last few years I have slowly gotten into the sport more, and started really playing regularly in 2020.

Favorite Individual Holes (in no particular order):
Hole 26 @ Silver Creek Park - Manitowoc, WI
Hole 3 @ Kincaid Park - Anchorage, AK
Hole 11 @ Flip City - Shelby, MI

Aces:
Did you read the "mediocre" part??? :)
I do have one "Cubby Ace" to my name: 13 October 2021 - The Breakers, West Olive MI - Hole #9 220' - 3rd attempt - Innova Teebird

Review Philosophy:
What I love most about DGCR is the juxtaposition of objective course documentation and subjective review content. I look at DGCR reviews as partly informational, part art form. I enjoy reading good reviews almost as much as I enjoy playing the courses. I enjoy re-reading reviews after playing a course, now that I have experienced it for myself. I enjoy re-reading my own reviews after posting them. I believe that the best reviews on DGCR are filled in part with concrete info about the course, but they do more than just cover the fundamentals. They have flavor. They tell a story. They paint a picture of the course in my mind, and of the reviewer playing it. It's not just a rating but also a written flyby, or trailer for the course.

That's what I value about DGCR vs. other sources of disc golf information like UDisc. A UDisc rating (I'm not calling it a review) is very utilitarian. It gives someone who doesn't care about that art form, a quick thumbs up or thumbs down whether or not to play the course. And there's nothing wrong with that! Some people only want a quick rating to make a snap decision whether or not to play a course (UDisc). Others like watching the trailer first and planning the visit out (DGCR). I obviously belong to the latter group. :)
Favorite Courses (18)
Played Courses (86)
United States
Alaska
Anchorage, AK Kincaid Park DGC
1 Course(s)
Michigan
Calumet, MI Calumet Lake DGC
Lowell, MI Fallasburg Park
Grand Rapids, MI Garfield Park
Grandville, MI Heritage Park
Grand Rapids, MI Johnson Park
Muskegon, MI McGraft Park
Negaunee, MI Old Town DGC
Georgetown Township, MI Rush Creek Park
Saugatuck, MI Shore Acres Park
Grand Marais, MI Superior Pines
West Olive, MI The Breakers
Greenville, MI Tower Park DGC
14 Course(s)
Wisconsin
Reedsville, WI Rollin Ridge
Manitowoc, WI Silver Creek Park
Montello, WI Wilderness DGC
3 Course(s)
Course Wish List (4)
United States
Idaho
Sandpoint, ID Caliber DGC
1 Course(s)
Massachusetts
Leicester, MA Maple Hill DGC
1 Course(s)
Michigan
Charlevoix, MI Mt. McSauba DGC
1 Course(s)
Canada
Alberta
Canmore, AB Canmore Nordic Centre
1 Course(s)
United States
Alaska
Girdwood, AK   Girdwood DGC 8/28/2021
Anchorage, AK   Kincaid Park DGC 9/1/2021
Chugiak, AK   Peters Creek DGC 8/22/2021
Seward, AK   Seward Middle School DGC 8/30/2021
4 Course(s)
Michigan
Ishpeming, MI Al Quaal Recreation Area DGC 10/7/2021
Allegan, MI   Allegan Jaycee Park 8/15/2021
Lake Ann, MI   Almira Township Park 5/9/2021
Ionia, MI   Bertha Brock County Park 8/13/2021
Muskegon, MI   Boom Park 9/27/2020
Fremont, MI   Branstrom Park DGC 5/31/2021
Byron Center, MI   Brewer Park 7/1/2020
Caledonia, MI   Caledonia High School DGC 6/5/2021
Calumet, MI Calumet Lake DGC 9/28/2021
Grand Rapids, MI Calvin College 6/19/2020
Allendale, MI   Campus View DGC 7/19/2020
Grand Rapids, MI   Cascade Township Park 7/17/2020
Grand Rapids, MI   Cornerstone University 11/14/2020
Rockford, MI   Courtland Township DGC 8/2/2020
Grawn, MI   Deuces Wild DGC 5/9/2021
Dorr, MI   Dorr Township Park 7/31/2020
Marquette, MI Eagle Rock Disc Golf 10/7/2021
Lowell, MI   Fallasburg Park 6/19/2020
Shelby, MI   Flip City Disc Golf Park 8/7/2020
Freeport, MI   Freeport Park 7/30/2021
Grand Rapids, MI   Garfield Park 7/17/2020
Grand Rapids, MI   Grace Christian University 11/12/2020
Belmont, MI   Grand Rapids Rotary North 7/24/2020
Interlochen, MI   Green Lake DiscGolfPark 5/10/2021
Montague, MI   Henderson Lake Nature Center 11/3/2020
Grandville, MI   Heritage Park 6/13/2020
Traverse City, MI Hickory Hills 11/20/2020
Traverse City, MI   Hickory Hills - South 5/11/2021
Grand Rapids, MI   Highland Park 7/5/2020
Newberry, MI Hilltop Meadows 9/30/2021
Holton, MI   Holton DGC 5/31/2021
Hudsonville, MI   Hughes Park 7/14/2020
Ionia, MI   Ionia State Rec. Area 8/1/2021
Kentwood, MI   Jaycee Park 6/28/2020
Grand Rapids, MI   Johnson Park 6/26/2020
Copper Harbor, MI Keweenaw Mountain Lodge 9/28/2021
Spring Lake, MI   LakeShore Disc Golf Complex 9/21/2020
Wyoming, MI   Lamar Park 6/26/2020
Grand Haven, MI   Lighthouse Christian Ministries 9/11/2020
Muskegon, MI   McGraft Park 9/25/2020
Houghton, MI Michigan Tech DGC 9/30/2021
Ironwood, MI Mt. Zion DGC 9/27/2021
North Muskegon, MI   Mullally Park 9/27/2020
Ironwood, MI Norrie Park DGC 9/27/2021
Grand Rapids (Kentwood), MI   Old Farm Park 6/30/2020
Negaunee, MI Old Town DGC 10/2/2021
Overisel, MI   Orc Hall 9/14/2020
Holland, MI   Paw Paw Park 6/13/2020
Laingsburg, MI   Pine Hills Golf Course - North 6/13/2021
Silver City, MI   Porcupine Mountain DGC 8/30/2020
Marquette, MI Powder Mill DGC 10/3/2020
Pullman, MI   Pullman DGC 8/15/2021
Manistee, MI   Red Szymarek Park 10/16/2020
Grand Rapids, MI   Riverside Park 7/2/2020
Jenison, MI   Rosewood Park DGC 7/1/2020
Norton Shores, MI   Ross Park 9/21/2020
Georgetown Township, MI   Rush Creek Park 7/28/2020
Dorr, MI   Salem Township Park 7/31/2020
Gwinn, MI   Sawyer DGC 10/7/2021
Saugatuck, MI   Shore Acres Park 9/14/2020
Harvey, MI Silver Creek DGC 8/25/2020
Belding, MI   Smash Park DGC 11/8/2020
Muskegon, MI   Smith-Ryerson DGC 9/25/2020
Gowen, MI   Spencer Township Park 8/2/2020
Grand Marais, MI   Superior Pines 8/22/2020
West Olive, MI   The Breakers 6/13/2020
North Muskegon, MI   The Rocket 3 DGC 9/27/2020
Iron River, MI The Tailings 9/29/2021
Lake Linden, MI Torch Lake DGC 9/29/2021
Greenville, MI   Tower Park DGC 11/8/2020
Mackinac Island, MI   Turtle Park 8/19/2020
DeWitt Township, MI   Valley Farms Park 6/13/2021
Hudsonville, MI   Wellspring DGC 6/13/2020
Whitehall, MI   Whitehall Township DGC 11/3/2020
Holland, MI   Winstrom Preserve 6/24/2020
Zeeland, MI   Zeeland Christian School 7/28/2020
76 Course(s)
Wisconsin
Baileys Harbor, WI   Baileys Harbor DGC 9/24/2021
Menasha, WI   O'Hauser Park 9/26/2021
Reedsville, WI   Rollin Ridge 9/23/2021
Manitowoc, WI   Silver Creek Park 9/24/2021
Montello, WI   Wilderness DGC 9/25/2021
Green Lake, WI   Zobel Park 9/25/2021
6 Course(s)