Stevens Point, WI 
Standing Rocks Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #W2 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 450ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole W2 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Gorgeous land, tough golf

2-4    8/13/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: jeremyhilss
Played: 38  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Spectacular location, gorgeous scenery- located in the woods with tall trees providing beautiful landscapes and great shade, with beautiful hillsides and valleys galore. Variety of dirt and grassy fairways. Just straight up, disc golf eye candy.

Awesome landscaping - many greens and teepads are surrounded by nice rocks and large boulders. Awesome stairways are abundant around the course.

Signage - serviceable teesigns with hole shape, number, and length - just laminated paper though. Next tee signs are all over the place, and seem to be made with the same quality as traffic signs. Hard to get lost here.

Mach V's - in awesome shape, and each loop of the course has it's own color code - blue, silver, and red. The colored ones stand out and are very vibrant and pleasing to the eye. The silver ones are a bit harder to see, but have orange on the pole, so no real problems.

33 holes - that is a lot of golf. Plays mulitple ways, one of which is three seperate loops, two of which start and end right by the entrance. The east loop is a bit of a walk away though. The other is a combo, starting with mid, jumping to east, finishing east, finishing mid, then doing all of west. This layout flows very well.

Challenge and variety - 32 of 33 holes are completely wooded, and the lengths vary from 150 feet to nearly 500. You've gotta be hitting your line, and have good power at the same time to score well here. There are straight, left, and right holes.

Elevation - there are uphills, downhills, and valleys to throw over. The east loop seems to have the most, starting off with a bang, with a huge hyzer down a steep curving path into the valley. Best hole on the course IMO.

Great basket placements - many make putts a bit scarier with dropoffs behind, and placed on hillsides.

Teepads - they are rubber, but do not worry. They are huge, level, and grippy.

Multiple pin placements on many holes

Pay to play - I list this as a pro, because it is obvious that the money goes into the course. Just $4 a person per day.
Cons: Pay to play - I'll list as a con cause some people are cheap.

Killer rough - if you get off the fairway prepare for a miserable time on some holes, getting murdered by thorn bushes.

Not many benches or trash cans. There are some, but not a ton.

Could use a couple more open holes, maybe one water hole to balance it out a tad.

The "short tees" don't seem to be marked, more or less just worn out dirt spots? Can't say too much because I didn't play them or put much of an effort to find them though.
Other Thoughts: This is top tier disc golf here. It is one of the best tests of wooded disc golf skill in the state, with all the long narrow lanes, and different fairway shapes. In my top three personal most beautful locations I've ever played; even if you are just out there for a walk, the scenery is stunning. Absolutely fantastic golf, in the most pristine woods in WI. Absolutely should be considered a top destination course in the state and the region.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good wooded course

1    7/17/2017   7/21/2017
Review By: Dietrich Discing
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: So many awesome wooded holes that really test your accuracy. It feels like you are playing in the middle of a forest. Playing in such awesome scenery is great. Good mixture of short and long holes. There are some holes which are for sure "ace able", I hit the basket on two holes. This course is under rated in my opinion. The diversity of the shot you will have to throw is very good and fun.
Cons: Almost every hole is a tight wooded hole. There could be a few longer open holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course that tests many throws. One of the best courses in Wisconsin.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional Course

5+    7/1/2015   7/21/2017
Review By: jland969
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Had the opportunity to watch this course grow to it's current state
-Beautiful area
-Secluded
-Affordable
-Elevation factors frequently
-Rarely crowded (if it is start on a different segment)
-Clean and well maintained
-Park offers other recreation as well
Cons: -Always improving, so new areas often under development
-Bit of a drive from most places
-Very enforcing of rules (dogs and pay)
Other Thoughts: Check this one out. Amazing course that most people would enjoy, even if you are just walking it!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks

1    7/25/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: GetMeOutdoors
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 8/11/2015
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Variety and number of holes
Although not my personal preference, I will add that the difficulty level of the east course is a positive.
Cons: Poor location
Poor signage, especially for a first time player. Baskets are not painted and difficult to spot if they are even in view. Poor tee pads, many are uneven.

For the entry fee I would expect to see accurate signage, multiple tees, and concrete pads. I've been to many free courses with nicer amenities.
Other Thoughts: We played the central and Eastern holes. We could not find where the west course started.

This is not a course I would probably come back to, even though I live in the area, unless the fee is removed or reduced.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Land Built for Disc Golf

5+    7/22/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: brentwood_17
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is on land that is perfect for disc golf. With the expansions over time this course has grown to 33 holes. Have played this course in tournaments and casual rounds. Some holes have secondary placements but most do not. This course rewards accuracy plain and simple. Every hole has a "fair"way some wooded courses cannot boast that. Every shot requires you to hit your line and commit to the shot. This course has severe elevation changes. Most every hole has some form of change in elevation. Some holes are just a blast to throw. Multiple ace runs available if you hit your line. East loop is the easiest. Then mid and then West. West has a couple long holes that will test your shot making to get to the green with a putt for 3. Basket placement on some holes are just plain beautiful. Perched on the side of a hill with rocks laid into the hill circling the downhill side of the basket placement. Big amazing color coded map explaining the loops of the couse. Many signs showing you were the next hole was or even explaining the crossover opportunity after mid 6 to cross over to east 1. I muttered many times this land is "Built for disc golf".
Cons: Rubber Mats on the teepad. Yes in the perfect world cement would be at every tee location but sometimes not allowed by the parks dept or just impractical other times. That being said I had no problem on any of the holes I played with the mats. One outhouse at the beginning of the West loop during normal rounds. If you get a chance to play a tournament they open up the Chalet with flushing toilets.
Other Thoughts: No bomber holes depending on your game you can claim as a pro or a con. Don't get me wrong you need distance but controlled distance is way more important. You will hit multiple trees in a round so you will have to bring your salvage shots, I found myself pulling out forehand rollers and many back to the basket backhand attempts just to clear the foliage where your disc might land. Even with vegetation in full bloom when we played we never had to look for more than 25 seconds for a disc. Great course and more than happy to give $4 per golfer to the course fund.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Did not live up to the hype

1    6/30/2015   6/30/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 126  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2015
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Easy to get to. GPS takes you right where you need to go and if it doesnt then the signage in the park is great for getting you to the course.
- The course have a lot of signage. From the giant course map at the start, to the next hole markers. Very well done and easy to get thru.
- Flow is pretty natural and easy to follow.
- Has a good bit of distance as well as its fair share of short technical holes.
- Has 3 different loops that you can play so you can play anywhere from a half hour to 2 hours and land right back at the start, no problem.
- Has some good elevation change for WI, so its quite fun to throw up and down and next to the hills.
- The long tunnel shots were a lot of fun to play. Tight and long with enough room to get the full flight of the disc out. I really enjoyed these holes and wish that there were more out there since they were nice and fair.
- Has a lot of potential, but needs a quite a bit of work.
Cons: - With a course rated as high as this is and with it being so highly talked about here in WI I expected much better things from it.
- TEEPADS. I had no clue that they were going to be rubber teepads, and if I would have taken a minute to look it up I wouldnt have played the course, but man are they bad. I played on a dry day but that didnt matter at all. All of the teepads were slick, I think I slipped on a good third of them. Majority of them need to have a broom next to the teepad because all of the sand and debris on them made them really unsafe to throw off of. WIth it being pay to play I would think that, that would be something that could easily be done.
- TEEPADS. Pretty much the front of every teepad has been washed away thru time so the front 6 inches of it dipped down. Very unsafe to throw off of. I will say that they are at least pretty long and wide so you can accommodate, but for the times you forget to, you are going to be hurting.
- This style of course, IMO, if not a fun style to play. Id say 80% of the holes out there are what I consider to be all luck. It takes skill to get off the tee and hit your gap, but when you get closer to the basket it takes almost 100% luck to get to the hole. Not a lot of fun to play. Better pin postions or a more manicured green area would solve this problem but majority of the holes were not that fun to play.
- It seems like on a lot of the holes out there that they were originally designed very well. But then somewhere along the way they decided to try to make the course longer so they just took their already complete holes, with the fairways being cut and manicured for the OG position, and moved the pins back further without any more manicuring.
- The short holes out here leave a lot to be desired. A lot of them have a few clear paths to take but none of these paths will lead to the holes. It seems like they were trying to design them so that you kinda had to either lay up or risk going for it and try to get lucky and make it through some pretty impossible gaps. I dont mind that but almost forcing the player to land 40 short and hti a putt on a 180' hole is kinda off to me.
- I didnt know that to get to one of the loops of the course that you played half way thru one and corssed over to it. No clue it was there so it would have been nice to know that so you can seemlessly play all the holes.
- I could see parking here being an issue during tournamnet time. There is a parking lot which is 100% fine for everyday use but I could see this being an issue for tournament time.
Other Thoughts: I really wanted to like this course but I just did not enjoy my time there. I had the intention of playing all 33 holes but I was so frustrated with the course that I just did 2 of the loops and called it there. THere is so much potential out there and its sad to see that it doesnt live up to what it could be. id love to see a redesign here with some real teepads. Id think that with pay to play here that it could easily be done but until something different happens to this course I will never be going back.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Maybe the best course in Wisconsin.

2-4    8/26/2014   11/16/2014
Review By: Vince W
Played: 92  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2015
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Has variety of elevations and woodsy holes. A lot wildlife in the area. Great basket and tee placements. Has a scorecard with a map of whole course. Uses elevation perfectly on almost every hole. Never really crowded because you can start the course in two different spots.
Cons: Some holes may have a lot of weeds in late summer. Can get muddy easily if course is wet. Hard to find place without GPS. Not many cons because it's just a beautiful course.
Other Thoughts: I personally think this is the best course in Central Wisconsin. Does cost 4 dollars but it is definitely worth it. I have seen deer here every time I have gone here. Beautiful course all year. A lot of wildlife to observe too. Different colored baskets on parts of the course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks - Middle & East

1    8/31/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: CaptainMo
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: > Nice rolling terrain and woodsy scenery.
> Really nice "greens" and basket placements. It felt like someone planned and cared about the course.
> Clearly marked hole maps and directions made getting around really easy on the first time through.
> Most of the holes felt really natural; that is, they clearly demanded one or two specific shots/flight paths.
Cons: > No benches or trash cans.
> Not many long holes. All but 1 or 2 were between 200' and 300'.
Other Thoughts: Really cool course. I'd definitely play it again when I'm in the area. Didn't have time to play the west loop this time. I really liked how a majority of the holes felt like some thought had gone into their design.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Example

5+    9/1/2012   3/24/2013
Review By: in4d
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Best Course available in Central Wisconsin.
Great Variations from long to short holes
Hilly ups and down with cliffs that make some holes very challenging and technical.
With 36 holes its a full day of enjoyment and absolutely worth the $4
Well maintained and beautiful course in a breathtaking hillside setting
Great pads for tee off
Always enjoyable people to talk to, great community of disc golfers play at SR
Mutliple Pin placements that get moved around periodically to change things up and keep it interesting year round.
Largest variety of angles, hyzers, anhyzer, gaps, straight fairways, uphill, downhill, over valleys to pins on top of hills, GREAT fun for experienced players!
Cons: Not many places to sit down and take a breather after walking up and down hills.
Could have better tee signs that are more accurate.
Would be nice to have a Full 36, maybe in the future.
Other Thoughts: If your deciding whether or not to check SR out.. don't think twice, its a course you will never regret checking out at least once.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone!

1    8/25/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large county park that has a lot of land to work with. It is a multi-use park with biking/hiking trails and whatnot, but there didn't seem to be many chances for interference. There are three separate loops here; they can be played independently of each other if desired.
- Lots of wooded areas here, which provides a fantastic variety of shots and lines. There are RHBH annys and flicks, like a sharp one on #E2 and #E11, and some gentler ones on #E6 and #M1. Abundance of hyzers of course, like some sharp ones on #W12 and #M7, and more subtle curves on #M2 and #E3. Also a ton of straight shots, of varying difficulty. Also a good amount of holes that offer a few different lines to the basket. #E7 is a tricky hyzer or a RHFH flex shot, and #M4 and #W9 offer a left or right curve to get around a copse of trees.
- A good majority of these wooded holes are on the shorter side, but demand creative shots to reach the basket. This allows for a lot of birdie chances, BUT, there is definitely the chance to bogey these same holes with a poor shot. It is definitely fun... if the shots are clean.
- Other holes are much longer, with straighter lines to the baskets. These rely on nasty rough/jail off the fairways to punish errant shots. With some tight gaps in the fairway, and some spots approaching tunnel status, it does not take much to throw an errant shot. These are very tough from start to finish. #W1, #W2, and #M8 fit this bill; easily par 4's. #W6 is another par 4; an uphill shot that finishes hard right into a clearing in the woods.
- One of the best features of the terrain at this park is the constant hilliness, which is used extensively. Lots of subtle ups and downs, and slopes left to right, as well as some more extreme examples. Keeps everything fresh and exciting. Some standouts include a steep downhill shot on #E1, a nasty rollaway potential on #E8, an uphill shot on #W6, a nasty valley on #E12, etc. etc. Lots of elevation changes!
- Some tricky basket placements here and there to add more difficulty, plenty behind trees, on a slope, next to a giant rock, next to a big dropoff, and so on. Hitting the lines is crucial to stay out of trouble, shaping the shot to land exactly where you want it goes a very long way to gather the birdies as well.
- Rubber pads are in good shape, as well as the baskets. Navigational signs really help to get around, especially between the various loops. Map definitely helps the first time through, as you switch the east loop after six on the main loop.
Cons: - The one thing missing at this course is any water; the main punishment for any errant shot is recovering from the woods or the rough. Not a big con, there just isn't any water present.
- There are a lot of short holes here, with 1/3 being under 230'. Might be a little bit of a let down for power players, but there are definitely longer ones to balance it out.
Other Thoughts: - Well, not much more to say. This course delivers! Lots of short, tricky, and interesting birdie opportunities; some tough longer holes to test any level of player, and lots in between. Shooting left, right, up, down, around and through the woods while avoiding jail, rough, and rollaways from start to finish will keep you on your toes. Lots of fun while still providing a challenge.
- With the option to mix and match between the different loops, this course is perfect for nearly anyone. Advanced players will love the west loop, beginners might want to stay away to keep the scores low.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.