Ingleside, TX 
Live Oak Park - Red Share
Uploaded By: harr0140   (Taken 1/2011)
Course Sign/Map



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Great Course!

1    10/31/2020   11/5/2020
Review By: xJediDadx
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All tees are clearly marked, signs missing on a few holes telling you where the basket is from the tee-box.
Tee pads are in great condition as are all of the baskets.
Lots of technical shots on several holes in this very wooded park.
Cons: Sticker burrs everywhere! Either wear long socks or pants.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course. Played it with a friend for my first time and that helped as I didn't know where all of the baskets were from the tee-boxes. Will definitely come back and play many more times. Hole 4 is probably the most difficult with a blind shot over a wooded area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 sweet course

1    3/27/2018   3/30/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kiosk Map at hole 1
Bathrooms at hole one (use at your own risk)
Cement Tee pads
Houck tee signs, at least for the ones that have not been torn up
Baskets are still in decent shape
Great use of the Live Oaks to make decent fairways
Decent flow, hole 9 and 18 are at the parking area.
Cons: Pretty flat, there is almost no elevation
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite type of course, holes I can reach and are technical for the most part.

Hole 1, nice little hyzer shot
Hole 2, longer shot with a tight fairway
Hole 3 turnover shot
Hole 4 this is a tough one, you can't see the basket from the tee, you have to walk about 1/2 way down the fairway. This is a 2 shot hole unless you really know the course and it is not too windy. You want to land in the larger open area where the opening splits to hole 5, then throw an easy up shot to save a 3.
Hole 5 is a tight ace run
Hole 6 is a not too long turnover shot, but you have the road to your left and long.
Hole 7 is another tight ace run
Hole 8 is a longer hyzer shot.
Hole 9 is mostly open but there is a clump of trees guarding the basket.
Hole 10 has an original tee or the new tee. The original tee now has a playground in the way, don't throw it. The new tee makes for a long turnover shot. with major brush on the right of the fairway.
Hole 11 is a sweet ace run, however miss the ace and your in the street.
Hole 12 is interesting, long hole down a dirt road. I had a hard time staying on the fairway and took a 5 here.
Hole 13 is the longest wide open hole over the edge of the pond.
Hole 14 is a long throw back on an open fairway to a green within the trees.
Hole 15 also throws from the open into the trees. This one is an overhand throwers dream.
Hole 16 short and tight, you have 3 different looks, the most open is the slight turnover shot.
Hole 17 is a longer shot that you need something that finishes to the right.
Hole 18 is an open turnover shot back to the parking lot.

in all, this course does make you throw several different shots. Very tempting to throw over the trees on many of the holes, however it get windy down here. The ground is too sandy for skip shots, they tend to stick where they hit. I figures that out pretty quick.

Would I play here again?

Yes I would, this is a fun course in an old growth Live Oak forest. I really enjoyed this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and Technical

1    10/28/2015   10/28/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 272  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is built in a beautiful park that is covered with smallish Live Oak trees. Very little underbrush in most of the maintained area of the park, but once you get outside of those mowed areas there is plenty of tall grass, brier, and other fun stuff to deal with.

Good concrete tee pads with very nice Houck tee signs. The signs have the hole number, distance and par, a next tee arrow, and a useful diagram of the hole itself. Discatcher baskets are in good shape.

This course places a premium on being able to hit tight lines from the tee. While many of the holes are on the shorter side (150' - 260'), you will be playing through a lot of oak trees. There is a good mix of holes requiring straight drives as well as right and left-finishing drives. You'll often be presented with a low-ceiling tee shot, though several holes offer an overhead route if you've got a big tomahawk or thumber. A roller would also work well for many of the holes. So there are choices for how to approach the holes.

Holes 13 and 14 are the exceptions, offering wide-open drives, but also the most length at 499' and 405' respectively.

Hole 4 is an absolutely blind drive over a grove of trees and into a reasonably sized landing area. You'll have to walk up and back a couple of times to figure out where to aim your drive. Or have your partner stand in the landing area and yell back at you. Worked for me...

Layout is easy to follow, with the basket of Hole 9 taking you right back to the parking area if you need to pick-up/drop-off something before the back nine. Be aware that the tee for Hole 10 is hidden away behind the tennis courts. Hole 18 finishes back at the parking lot as well.

Soil is pure sand, so even after a heavy storm there was no standing water to deal with.
Cons: Course don't get any flatter than this. No elevation to work with at all.

Some of the holes are bordering on "poke and pray". There are a number of gaps through the trees, but nothing that I would call a defined fairway.

Several of the tee signs are missing, and the plexiglass front on others has been broken. I hate to see this kind of vandalism as these are really nice signs.
Other Thoughts: Not really an issue with the course design, but the ground is entirely covered in sand burs in many areas of the course. Your disc will land in sand burs, you'll set your bag down on sand burs, and you'll be standing in sand burs. So watch out...

This is the Texas Coast, so you'll be dealing with mosquitoes. Bring repellent and consider long pants/sleeves.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Superb for learning and playing the game

5+    10/16/2015   10/17/2015
Review By: C_Dub
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Excellent mix of birdie opportunities and more challenging holes. Right and left doglegs, tight shots, open fairways, blind shots, and fair OB makes this a really fun round of golf.

2. Red is pretty well maintained and has minimal trash. There should be no trash, but there are a few people out there that just have to drop their empty water bottles on the course. I will never understand them. Regular players do a phenomenal job of keeping the course clean. I would prefer the city mow the course more frequently, as playing it after it has been landscaped is a real joy, but overall, you can't complain about the condition of the course. Locals have placed net refuse bags near the tee pads for every hole, so picking up the odd water bottle and tossing it along the way is not a big deal and keeps the course looking nice.

3. The disc golf community at this course, and in Ingleside / Corpus in general is superb. South Texas is notorious for making scenes of any sort really mediocre and lame. Somebody forgot to tell the disc golfers. Players of all ages and skill levels get together here on a daily basis to throw. They are extremely welcoming to newcomers and people from out of town. Almost everybody is really laid back, despite the fact that some of these individuals have finely honed, killer skills. If you want it, you can get a real education here. If not, you can just throw with a group of really fun people who are passionate about the game. To that end, there is a vibrant mini schedule that has open and am cards every Thursday evening and Saturday morning. It is such a welcoming system that even players such as myself who haven't been playing for long can get together with 20-30 other players, hack it out, and have a great time.

4. Playing Red is worry free. You can usually find somebody to play with here, but it is totally un-crowded. A lot of people jump in on cards on the 10th hole and then wrap around to the front nine. A lot of other people just go throw by themselves and throw several discs just to get some practice in.

5. Tee boxes are concrete, and Discatchers are in great condition.

6. The flow of the Red course is very intuitive, even when there are no hole markers. Unfortunately, local kids have thrashed or removed a few of the hole markers. There is a map on hole 1, and most of the other holes have guides. Fortunately, the hole markers that have been removed are on holes where they really are not necessary.

Cons: You are in the coastal bend in south Texas, therefore, most of the year, you are going to have to deal with the following, not necessarily specific to this course, but to the geographical region in general.

1. Mosquitoes are legion. They are violent and territorial. Be prepared to use 25%+ DEET spray and still expect to get bit. That's the deal.

2. Heat + humidity here are like a sauna for many months out of the year. Again, you are on the third coast. If you flip a disc over hard enough on hole 10, it could end up in salt water, so yeah, you are going to sweat more than you ever have playing disc golf during summer and early fall. A Dri-Fit shirt is a quaint fashion accessory in many parts of the world. Here, they are a necessity.

3. Local foliage punishes errant shots. Spider trees which will hang your disc up beyond any known means of retrieving them will make you select your high lines carefully on holes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 14, 15, 16, and 17.

4. High Grass and killer thorns can wreck you if you don't get your shot correct on holes 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, 14, and 15. This is really a feature of the course, rather than a bug. You are forced to make clean shots. Otherwise you pay, but it's something you should know about.

Other Thoughts: This is a hole by hole breakdown of the Live Oak Red course.

1. Slight dogleg left. Favors a RHBH hyzer shot that parks in the sand around the basket for birdie.

2. A par hole for everyone except the most skilled players with booming arms and lots of luck. Open fairway off the tee to a low ceiling jail. Lesser arms go for a low drive that stays below the ceiling and finishes to the left beyond jail. Then open fairway to the basket. Long layup and putt.

3. Dogleg right with OB road surrounding the hole. Great RHFH / LHBH hole with a group of trees on the approach. Those without a RHBH can opt for a beat in driver and get it to flip into the almost constant headwind during the summer and fall and get it to turn right.

4. Complete blind drive over trees on all sides. Favors a RHBH hyzer bomb to get into the beach sand clearing, or the local route for those that don't have great arms, a thumber just slightly off to the left. If you hear a satisfying thud, you are in the clear. If you hear crashing trees, you are going to spend some time looking for your disc. It is strongly recommended that you have a spotter for the drive on this hole. Opens up to a large sand fairway, leading to a snaking dogleg left basket position surrounded by brush and spider trees on all sides. Good thing is that your errant putts will not go far since you are playing on beach sand. Bad thing is that if you stray a few feet from the fairway, you are going to be in jail.

5. Short birdie hole, all the way, but tricky if you come in contact with trees, which is no small feat. There are a couple of lines here (I have seen a spike hyzer on this hole a couple of times, but most of the time it ends in a disc hunt) - First is a laser anny putter through the trees. It's a slight dogleg right, so southpaw putters get it on here, as do RHFH technicians. The other line is a thumber, which most RH players use in tournament conditions on this hole. This is a high canopy thumber through a limited hole, and catching branches on the throw out, or sending the disc at the wrong angle and getting it caught up in the trees in the canopy can be very challenging. Thumber and skip RHFH runs available here.

6. Hard dogleg right makes this a natural for LHBH and RHFH throwers. Get around the corner defined by the asphalt road OB. Skips off the road are sketchy. You basically want to hug the trees that jut out without going long. There is also a thumber line going farther right than you would think that will park you directly under the basket. Typically there is a straight tailwind on this hole.

7. Low ceiling trees form a gate to this short hole. There are three common lines: spike hyzer RHBH, skip shot through the gate, and thumber without too much gas - all of which should give you the best possible ace run on the course. Sand covering the entire circle, so this should be a 2 or 3 no matter your skill level.

8. Long fairway with a gate of trees at the end and jail on both sides. Bombers go over the top on a hyzer line. Us mere humans go down the middle low and skip around the gate to go for par. There are enough hanging branches in the fairway that anything that heads out nose up ends up hitting wood at 50-100 feet out. Make that drive, and it's a par. End up in jail, and it's a 6.

9. Straight ahead basket with a slight fade to the right. OB road to the left. Best approached with a RHFH / LHBH skip off the asphalt, but usually dealt with through the trees on an RHBH and hoping for the best. One of the most challenging approach holes on the course due to the fact that no matter where you end up, you are usually stuck behind various trees going RHBH.

10. Big headwind, tricky trees, and horrendous brush to the right. Throw an understable disc on 10 to your peril. It could end up in Florida when it flips. Bombers hit a high hyzer and park just to the left of the last little outcropping of trees just 50 feet shallow of the basket on the right. Most of the rest of us end up smack in the middle of the fairway, and dealing with whatever trees we have in front of us. Layup shots are really interesting and varied on this hole. Basically anything to get either under the low ceiling trees or over them. Par is usually a good look on this hole.

11. Definite birdie hole, and the best ace run on the course. Very short, and amenable to laser putter shots and thumbers over the top. Don't go right due to atrocious brush / thorns / undergrowth.

12. I have seen birdies on this hole, but probably only a few with the 300+ card mates I have played this hole with. Narrow drive down a road with horrendous rough on both sides. Generally into a straight headwind. Better to be off to the right fringe than off to the left, which is an almost certain pitch out to get back to the road. Frequently long grass 75 feet short and going to the pin. Anyone who has played this course has lost a disc on this hole. Par is a victory.

13. The only hole on Red without a single tree, and yet, the most infrequent birdies. Long, booming drive with a pond that meets at a corner right where you want to be. Straight headwind at 10-25 mph almost all the time, and with the pond at just the wrong distance for losing discs if you accidentally get too much gas on it or throw something slightly understable. Impress your friends who have been watching you drive 250' by throwing a Mamba here on a slight hyzer, watching it flip up and go into low earth orbit. Actually, don't. Get in the vicinity of the basket, which is the only one not protected from wind at all, and get the plastic into the chains. Just don't float a putt in there, because it will spin off into the ether unless you hit chains.

14. Booming, tailwind, wide open drive. Killers get into the weeds to the right, but most am players should be good with aiming a glidey driver nice and flat, or hyzer flipping aiming to the left opening.

15. Long thumber to the left or hyzer spike to the right. Wind is usually blasting to the right here, with high canopy to both sides of the hole. Basket is protected by a variety of trees from all directions. Going up the gut is a possibility, but is a low ceiling and very jail-like unless you get extremely lucky.

16. Very short slight dogleg right. Great for RHFH / LHBH skip shots through the tight fairway. One of the best birdie possibilities on the course.

17. Similar to hole 8. Very interesting line options. Slight S with trees to the right and a tree gate off the tee. Ample options for skip shots through the trees, overstable shots to the open part of the fairway, or hyzer bombs for killer arms to park.

18. Dogleg right. RHFH / LHBH friendly with a couple of trees between the tee pad and the basket. Easy par / birdie with nice RHFH distance.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course.

1    7/31/2015   8/1/2015
Review By: Zander
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty easy but sometimes (like on hole 4) it can be tricky. Amazing shots, great park, very clean and easy to navigate!
Cons: Very hot and bugs. The fairways have some sand so bring a towel to wipe off your disc. A little to easy at some points.
Other Thoughts: Very good course, recommend it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse course

1    6/7/2015   6/20/2015
Review By: luchalibrarian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I loved the mix of technical and wide open shots. Lots of shade. Hole 4 is extremely tough for a beginner. Hole 13 was my favorite with a huge fairway and the obstacle of the pond (only an obstacle if you're still learning control like I am).
Cons: Lots of sand and sticker burrs, but remember this is a course in coastal Texas. It would be impossible to not have sand. Be prepared for it. Also, bring bug spray and sunscreen. Tons of mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: I felt like this course had everything a beginner could want. I felt like I'd learned a lot after playing and will definitely be going back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Shady acres

2-4    8/8/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: Richie T
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very shady in the heat of the day. When extremely hot, shade is a life saver. Concrete tee box is great. Course marked very well.
Cons: Loose sand on fairways makes it difficult to walk, especially for folks with physical disabilities. Thorns in the and around the trees are terrible, but! All the more reason to learn how to stay out of the trees.
Other Thoughts: Playground could use some improvements and maybe modern equipment.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to play on

1    7/24/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: madcow
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: beautiful, relatively clean, fun, great for average players, bathrooms, trash cans, lizards, sand, good mix of shots
Cons: none really cept no unique holes, no elevation change, wish there woudla been a water fountain.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play if you are in the area. Very well put together. Excellent signage, easy to navigate, beautiful trees.... really is a great course. Glad i was able to hit it up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    1/1/2012   1/2/2012
Review By: Le4385
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing course, one of the most fun that ive played. A couple wide open holes and lots of technical holes. Nice concrete tees, signs, and discatcher baskets. Easy to find, and with the help of the map, not too hard to navigate for my first time. Since im used to rocky ground, the nice sandy turf was easier on the discs. Park amenities like bathrooms, a playscape, benches, and lots of trash cans make a very well put together park. Beginners and pros would have fun here.
Cons: I cant think of many cons. Lots of beer cans around, i tried my best to clean up a little. If you happen to throw way off the fairway like a did once, the thorns will scratch you up pretty bad. I also wish there was a little more water to play around.
Other Thoughts: Most other reviews say that this course is extremely woody and hard tonavigate. I disagree. I'm used to playing in Austin where there are way more trees than this course. Im still a beginner and i didnt find it too difficult. I loved this course and would recommend it to anybody. We played at the same time that a tournament was going on so it took a while to play. The locals seemed accomidating and i can tell they are super proud of this course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Warm Up Course For the Gold

5+    11/29/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 12/10/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes here. Good for beginners and pros alike. I have heard it said the oldest is still the best, That is not necessarily true here. Still, this course is a challenge enough to hold it's own as a course separate and apart from the Gold course. If you come out to play both, this one serves as a good warm-up. Otherwise this one has it's own set of challenges and quirks.
Cons: I can think of few, except when it comes to the pars on holes 4 & 13. There is no way a beginner can get either of these holes in 3. Par 4 would be a stretch for hole 4. Hole 13 can be gotten in 4 because it is open and no obstacles. But with hole 4 having 2 doglegs to deal with, I feel only intermediates or Pros could match a Par 3 on these holes, and with that, those throws on 4 would have to be "dead-on' precision strikes. These are the only Cons I can think of here for now.
Other Thoughts: Nice course and good warm-up for the gold course. These people in Ingleside are proud of these two courses, I am sure. I like them both. They have brought me many hours of playing pleasure while I have been visiting down here and I am looking forward to quite a few more. Scored my first ace ever on hole 16. Toughest hole to play on the course, but then again, place a shot right and who knows?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.