Seattle, WA 
Lakewood King County Park Share
Uploaded By: Nic_Farley83 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 394ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Every City Public Park Course Designer Should Play This Course

1    3/29/2017   4/1/2017
Review By: Treeplant
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Best-designed public park course I've ever played in terms of creating challenging holes while minimizing the impact/interference of other park goers. You'll still need to wait in spots when the park is busy no doubt, but really a masterful job of utilizing the space without bringing the public into danger. Still need to be careful, but so much better than a lot of city courses in parks.

- Surprisingly good distanced holes that offers the chance to open up on a few drives. Nice mix of forehand and backhand shots.

- Really liked the concrete tee pads, interesting design and long enough for a good run up, plus they brushed them for traction.

- Not a lot of places to lose discs on this course, other than in the water. Pretty open understory in the wooded areas.

- Decent bit of elevation to the course, makes for some enjoyable tee offs.

- Chainbangers has a disc golf shop in the park there, as an out-of-town visitor it's great having a local resource like the owner of chainbangers to chat with. Found a couple of good used discs there and got some good info about the Seattle DG scene and what courses to check out.
Cons: - Hole signage is pretty much non-existent. Take a picture of the course map at the beginning of the round.

- Even with the course map, can still get a little confusing on the back half of the course.

- It was pretty busy when we were there early (2pm) on a weekday afternoon. Shop owner said it's almost a problem for playing how busy the park is getting with disc golfers at times.

- As good of a job as they've done designing the course, it still is a fairly well utilized public course and there are spots where you need to be careful because of the length.
Other Thoughts: - Not a lot of easy ace runs. Rec/Novice players might find this course a little too challenging for them. Nice challenge for an Intermediate player, however. Not a cake walk by any stretch.

- This course wasn't on our original list, we were just trying to find the Chainbangers shop, but we're sure glad we found it. Anyone designing a city course in a public park should check out how the course designer here has utilized space. Kudos!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Walk in the Park

5+    1/26/2015   1/28/2015
Review By: shawnc65
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great deal of thought has gone into the design of this course. It should be fun, interesting and challenging for all abilities. Few holes are outside a pro's distance. As an intermediate player there are half-a-dozen ace possibilities. The crew mixes the hole placements on a regular basis and usually keep the course toughness about the same from round to round...if they give you an easy shot with the placement on hole four, it's likely they've made #1 more difficult, etc. Through most of the year there is a minimum of underbrush so lost discs are a rarity. Nearly all tees have a place to sit and rest before your drive. There is plenty elevation change. Hole 20 is as picturesque from the tee as you could hope to find in the city.
Cons: There are often numerous park users outside of disc golfers and you might have to wait here and there for someone to clear a path that's a little close to a basket or fairway. While usually not too crowded there are often enough discers around to give a heads up when needed and the course has now been there long enough anyone from the area knows to keep their eyes open.
Other Thoughts: The high-end difficulty at this course is not among the leaders in the area it's a great course for beginners though a hole or two would benefit from alternate tees to help accommodate those. It is also a very good compliment to the always difficult Sea-Tac in close proximity. They would make a worthy day-trip. The ups and downs for holes 9 through 13 are physically challenging as well as mentally and help make this course excellent exercise.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/12/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: pnwooki
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good mix of long let'er rip tees and medium length tees
-most of the launch pad have benches and give a pretty clean view to the basket
-the elevation changes are fun and can be challenging
-pro-shop is well stocked and guy who is normally there knows his sh*t

Cons: -the back 10 can be kind of confusing if you're new to the course. there is a map in the pro shop for a buck or pdfs online but still or signs at the tees would be useful
-it can get kind of backed up since its the most player friendly course actually in seattle
Other Thoughts: -the course is in a public park and can get full of families on the weekends when its nice out
-its my closest course, i dig playing it and will be playing when ever i can

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SeaTac vs. Lakewood KC

1    9/14/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: I had one day in the Seattle-Tacoma area and used this website to narrow down two courses to play. I chose SeaTac and Lakewood King County (Lakewood KC) because there wasn't a course nearby that was obviously much better than these two, and they are less than 3 miles apart.

If you're looking for privacy, a wooded experience, or a disc golf challenge, show up with what you need, including the google course map from this website, and get ready to work hard for par at SeaTac.

If you're looking to show up with only a pair of shoes and buy discs, snacks, drinks, a bag, and have a local give you some advice and a paper map, then get ready for a thoughtful course with decent variety in a typical city-park setting at Lakewood KC. This is also a good course to rack up the birdies.

SeaTac was hard to only play once. I wanted to play it again and knock some strokes off my score. Lakewood KC isn't that complicated, and I don't know that I'd do any better by trying again - it's basically all right there to figure out on the first go around.

Both courses are struggling a bit with upkeep. Lakewood KC seems to be struggling to hold onto 18 solid holes as they have other shareholders in the park impose their interests on them. SeaTac is just due for some new and better signage and more course wear.

SeaTac was relatively easy to navigate thanks to my smart phone and the Google course map available through this website (much better than the regular map). Without it, I think I'd still be turning circles in those woods. I still had to basket search some, because it is a forest. The landing jumbo jets keep you oriented though.

If you can't throw as you intend, you'll probably spend too much time at SeaTac in prickly bushes searching for your disc. My stroke difference on the two courses was about a dozen, and I can see from this website that it's not uncommon to need 20 or 30 more throws to play SeaTac compared to Lakewood KC.

Really, though, what I recommend is playing Lakewood KC first, fill up with all the things you need, start your day feeling good about your play, and then take on the SeaTac challenge.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great fun

2-4    5/18/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: jherber
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Had fun playing the course. played twice with different
people got to learn a lot about the course.
thanks a lot to Greg for telling me about the course.
will play it again some day
Cons: tried to play it by my self and got lost to where the next pad was. i know that they are working on it to make it bigger . a little more signage would work for newbes to this course while under construction
Other Thoughts: thanks Keith for such a fun course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good, All Around Course

5+    9/12/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed, constantly maintained, and optimum design for the park it's located in.

Good mix of very challenging holes and birdey chances with both very technical holes and wide open ones where you can unleash.

Pro shop on site (at least summers/weekends)
Cons: Not many. Experienced players may not find it a great challenge.

A number of walkers and students from the nearby high school and middle school to dodge on weekday afternoons.

From what I understand (I normally play on weekdays) it's crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and where I've been focusing on improving my game. I find it to be a good course for honing your game. Challenging without being so long or technical that it's a exercise in frustration.

The old #9 and 10 water holes across Hick's lake are now gone. New replacement holes under construction.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A city Oasis

1    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: djlofton
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has something for everyone. elevation changes were just enough to make your distance judgement a good degree of difficulty.
-Even though some holes have been changed to facilitate the construction, evident by the temporary tee pads on some holes, it didn't disrupt the round and the flow of the course was awesome.
-There are a lot of great turnover shots for a right hander, and for a lefty, it was a blast just to let loose.
-Althought the hours aren't posted, the plastic shop is pretty well maintained, and anyone can see that the chainbangers really love and care for this course and all it's components.
Cons: -a nice technical shot over a baseball field could be trouble-some if a game is being played.
- although the lake is small, it didn't really feel like a threat at all during play.
-no one could tell me when the shop opened.
Other Thoughts: over all, a nice distraction. Close enough to the airport, that I could get in a round after dropping off a person at the airport. The only issue I had was that I am a mediocre player at best, and I was able to shoot a -4 on my first trip around. I am used to heavily wooded area though, so maybe the wide open spaces were really just what the doctor ordered. Thank you Chainbangers for your awesome effort.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Easy for Pro's, fun for everyone else

1    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: s.z.hoyt
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great park, well maintained
-holes have great elevation changes
-Water holes are easy, but mental game
-Great use of the park.
Cons: -Some old pads from previous layout can confuse first timers
-Signage is lacking at each pad, hit and miss
-Goose Poo...eww
-Some holes are tight courters
Other Thoughts: Fun park for beginner to intermediate. Pros will be bored as there is no real long range shots or hard obstacles. Went super early in the morning and no one was there.

Had a good time and will be back

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lakewood Remodel-A Little Shorter-No Less Fun!

1    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1028  Reviewed: 976  Exp: 39.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Forced to reconfigure the course slightly due to the loss of some of the upper parking lot area, I think Keith Lionetti and the Chainbangerz Disc Golf Club created a fairly seemless transistion here. Granted, there are a couple of longer walkouts here but they're not ridiculous by any means. I feel the course still maintains a pretty good flow pattern. The first thing that springs to my mind here was the parking situation. Instead of parking in the upper lot, you now park in the lower lot near the bathrooms. I was unaware that this lot existed. There is not one but three brand new practice baskets here. I would have thought that one would have been adequate. I would have spent these extra funds on signage. The next item that jumps out at you are the wonderful extra long, grippy teepads and the great sprayed concrete benches at every hole. Nice touches both of these are for sure. The course redesign kept 13 of the orginal 18 including both of my personal favorites, the current # 18, a 400 ft. drive to a basket down in a lovely little valley and # 13, a short, maybe 150 ft. touch ACE run to a basket barely visible over the hill just before the ballfield. They've added two holes with short throws across the goose poo infested pond waters, # 1 and # 8. # 1 is probably less than 200 ft. with a couple of troublesome trees and bushes in the way. # 8 is a little longer, maybe 240 ft. slight hyser throw with a window to throw through. Even if you miss the window, it's fairly simple to just sail your disc into the trees/bushes here and avoid the pond water and it's plethora of hidden parasitic germs and microbes.
Cons: The current (summer 2011) lack of signs and I know that they are coming. Because the course is probably a few hundred feet shorter than before, it seems like more of a rec course to me now. I'm not sure if the advanced and higher player would find the challenge here. Aren't three brand new paractice baskets a touch overkill?

I'm not real keen on # 3. Many beginner/Rec type players are going to hyser their tee offs into the ugly thicket here. Maybe it will eventually get stomped down and won't be quite the problem.
Other Thoughts: Lakewood was one of the first courses I entered into my favorites and I'll leave it there after the new reconfiguration. I reckon that's probably the highest praise I can bestow upon both the design team and the course itself. I think this park is just one of the premier pieces of course land in the state with it's lovely rolling hills, green grass and mature trees. And the course continues to utilize those features to the maximum with it's over the water holes, ACE runs, tight wooded holes and the big air throws. There's something for most disc golfers here. This is one of the most versatile courses in the state and I have always enjoy it's challenges.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Chains for the Better! - Lakewood 2.0

5+    6/18/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 215  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Redesigned in 2011, Lakewood King County Park in Seattle plays through a moderately hilly and lightly wooded park with breathtaking views of the Olympics and Cascades. The installment of Lakewood 2.0 uses several of the preexisting holes with the addition of two new water holes, two tightly wooded holes, and one open hole with a guarded pin. The new layout plays easier than the previous layout due to length primarily, but creativity and thoughtful designing keeps this course interesting.

Pressured to relocate one third of the holes on the course due to the loss of land in the upper parking lot, Keith Lionetti had to completely redo the flow to the old layout in order to keep 18 holes. Starting now in the lower parking lot, Lakewood has also opened up Chainbangerz Pro Shop where they will sell some discs, merchandise, snacks, and drinks during the summer and fall. Three practice baskets were installed near the restrooms and gazebo as well, along with rock/cement benches and tee pads throughout the majority of the course. The flow, with the exception of a few walkouts, seems to work quite well considering the circumstances and the addition of the new holes are creative and at times challenging.

Favorite Hole/s:#9, #10, #14 (long), & #18
Cons:
Walkouts on holes #2 and #18 - Really can't avoid them as the designers did a tremendous job doing the best with what land they had.

Losing a disc in the water on holes #1, #4, #9 and #10 - Fortunately with Chainbangerz now on site, discs will get turned in to the shop for a small credit. Periodically there is a gentleman who goes scuba diving for lost discs and turns them in.

Installing tee signs/kiosk to help with navigation - currently being worked on through fundraising

Worst Hole/s: #13 (short)
Other Thoughts:
Keith and the Chainbangerz DG Club have worked diligently to install the course in time for The Calm Before the Battle (C Tier Dubs) and the Battle in Seattle (B Tier) that took place June 10-12, 2011. However, there is still some tweaking to do on the back nine and can't be finished until the city finalizes their plans to build around the course. Lakewood 2.0 has come a long way in a very short amount of time and I am blown away with its new appearance. This course is the perfect complement to its big brother course 9 miles south in SeaTac (near the airport).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.