Hudson, OH 
Hudson Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #2
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Back 9 Saves the Day

2-4    11/2/2017   11/2/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hudson Springs is the "keystone" of the Hudson Park District. It boasts 240 acres of land that hosts several different activities. It's one of the wealthiest communities in the state of Ohio, and the parks are maintained extremely well.

Very nice equipment and amenities. The course boasts concrete tees, new colored tee signs, and Innova DISCatcher baskets. There are tons of trash cans and benches around the course as well.

Nice little kiosk that has an information board, disc lost and found, practice basket, benches, and a picnic table.

Front 9 loops right back to the kiosk so you have an option to play nine or 18.

For the most part, it's a relaxing round. Not a whole lot of challenge, but it's a good place to unwind.

Pretty easy to navigate, didn't have any issues during the round. There were a few signs on the blind holes that pointed towards the pin location.

The back 9 is more challenging and has some interesting lines and tougher shots.
Cons: The front 9 was a real drag. It was short and predictable, and provides almost zero challenge for advanced players. There are plenty of ace opportunities on the front side.

Feels like 18 was kind of crammed into the space. They could have condensed the front 9 into 6 holes and made it more enjoyable. Quality > Quantity!

Only one set of tees, no variation for different skill sets and abilities.

10, 11, and 18 play on a field that can get crowded. 18 plays too close to the playset in my opinion.

I was hoping that the lake would come into play at some point, but it didn't. I saw a temporary "Hole A" spray painted in the grass for a past tournament, but there was no basket. I'd like to see that hole become permanent. It's a short water carry, with the basket being on a peninsula.

Maintenance vehicles park pretty close to #9, so be careful on your drives.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts:

I think a 3.0 rating fits this course pretty well. It's close to being a 3.5, but the front 9 kind of killed things for me. I'd give the front a 2.0 the back a 4.0. Split that down the middle and you have a
rating of 3.0

Hudson Springs is an enjoyable place to throw if you want to relax a little bit. Not sure if I'd return, because I like to be challenged by courses. If you need a confidence boost, come here! If you need to practice for a major event, then I suggest finding a tougher course in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quintessential Park-Style

1    9/20/2016   6/14/2017
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hudson Springs is the perfect every day, after work, unwind round. The course doesn't take too much concentration to score a decent round, but there are still enough challenges that keep you from getting bored. Its design does a great job of meeting the aim of what I'm sure it was meant to be: a park-style course that accommodates different levels of players. While the course is mostly on the shorter end, there are still a couple holes over 400-500' that give big arms a chance to open up. In addition to the long, open holes, accuracy is tested with multiple wooded shots as well.

It's set in a pretty, well-maintained, and large park. The first several holes mostly consists of shorter, ace and birdie run holes that incorporate the elevation of the gently rolling hills in different ways and play through patches of trees. Hole 8 and on opens things up a little bit with some longer holes. Not that you're not already having fun, but 12 is where it really starts to get interesting and steps the course up a level. I really enjoyed the wooded holes from 12-16, which do a great job offering different looks through tight paths. No two of these feel the same, which nicely adds to the variety.

Hole 12 is one of the highlights for sure, which has a stream snaking through its fairway and you have to hit a specific landing zone. You also throw from a tight space, into the open, and back into the woods. I love holes like this that are diverse from tee to basket.

A couple of smaller details that add to the course: OB and mando's on a hole or two, streams that threaten on a few holes but aren't too scary, new and detailed tee signs, and many well-protected pin positions.
Cons: Not a huge problem, but one detractor for me is that a lot of the course plays close to other activity and rarely do you feel secluded during the round - something I look for while I'm playing new courses. The main road is near a couple of holes, and the park road is right next to a couple of others. I also had to play around two different sports teams that were training in the park. I did play in the afternoon on a week day right around when school lets out, so keep that in mind when timing your round.

There are a few times in the beginning when two/three baskets are in sight and it's not initially clear which one is for which hole.

While the front 9 is fun and designed well for what it is meant to be, it's very straight-forward. Great for beginners but not much to offer for more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I came here after playing Sunny Lake for the first time, so I joyfully accepted the style of round Hudson Springs offers. It's a fun, casual round that avoids becoming too boring or monotonous. Quintessential, above-average, park-style golf. I teetered between giving it a 3.0 and 3.5. The front 9 is fun, but too straight-forward to give it a higher rating. Still, definitely a fun round to play because it gives a nice variety through all 18 holes, and I can see players of many different levels enjoying certain aspects of this course. A classic in the area that compliments nearby Sunny Lake well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/15/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: stellar732
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I have always loved this course. It was the first one I ever played. And, I must say that the new layout plays better than the old one.
Cons: Although, I did say the layout plays better, the front nine is almost too easy now that some trees have been cut down.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course in a Beautiful Park

1    10/11/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hudson Springs was a very enjoyable course that played through one of the most beautiful and family friendly parks in northeast Ohio. This course is the definition of variety. The front nine, which I will call "The Family Nine", is mostly open with some obstacles. Most of the holes on the front are made for beginners, as most of them are around 210-300 feet, with one par four over 500 feet. The back nine turned this course from a 2.5 to 3.5. Most of the holes are wooded and long, which appeals to a good disc golfer who felt rather bored with the front nine. There were many unique touches throughout, adding a fun twist to the course. The park itself is stunning, especially during October when the leaves are bright oranges, reds, and yellows. There are many things to do in the park for non-disc golfers including a fishing lake, kayak and canoe rental, pavilions, an extremely nice playground, volleyball, and much more! The tee signs were great, and were in terrific shape. All of the tees were concrete, and were in perfect shape. Many of the tees were surrounded to unique items like boulders, rocks, and logs. Navigation was easy(Almost too easy, see cons). There were many signs pointing the way from hole to hole, and both nines looped back towards the info board and parking lot. There is a permanent restroom next to the parking lot. There are also many trashcans throughout the course, therefore the course was one if the cleanest I have played on. Hudson is one of the safest, friendliest cities in all of Ohio. You can tell the locals really care about the park and course, because it is extremely clean and beautiful.
Cons: The front nine can be boring for more advanced players, so advanced players might want to skip the front nine if they don't really care about reviewing the course. The front nine is really squeezed into the open space, so there are a few holes with fairways that almost overlap each other, which causes the possibility of injuries. While navigation was easy, many tees were extremely close to the previous basket. While there is a lot of variety, there are only two holes where water comes into play, and it's a shallow, mucky creek. It's a shame the course couldn't have at least a couple holes playing next to the lake. Some areas of the course get really crowded on the weekend, holes #1, #9, #10, #17, and #18 in particular. Parking is a struggle on the weekends as well.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed Hudson Spings. The variety throughout the course was awesome, and attracted both young begginers and older professionals. I think it would be awesome if somehow the island next to the #17 tee could be cleared and they could put the #16 basket on it, which would probably make it a 400 footer and the signature hole on the course. I really recommend you play this course and enjoy the beautiful park. If you have kids, this would be a great place to take them because of the seemingly endless amount of fun activities throughout the park. Ignore the previous reviews that say the tees, signs, and baskets were in bad shape. They are all pretty much new now, and in great shape. Happy discing!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 First time Hudson Review

1    9/27/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: Redwingsrox5
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Easy to navigate
- Variety of shot selection
- varies in difficulty on front nine compared to the back to offer something for different skill levels
- Nice baskets!
Cons: - Front 9 is very easy. I've only been playing 2 months and I carried a +1 through 9.
- Don't assume the basket you can see is the basket to throw at. A couple holes the baskets are tucked in.
- Beware of walkers/joggers on the back 9 as you'll throw past/into/around them.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a nice course to play on a Sunday. Wasn't too difficult and the back 9 made up for the easy front 9. It's worth a shot if you're in the area to play it at least once. Being that it was well maintained made the course more enjoyable to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, enjoyable to play

1    7/20/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: mbradbourne
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: *Easy to navigate, the layout makes sense, where the signs are in disrepair

*Good variety of shots, from wide open to technical lines.

*brand new baskets!

*Good tee boxes
Cons: *Pine trees can grab discs, so bring something to get them down with

*Signs needs some TLC in some cases

*Basket that is visible, it's always the basket you are shooting at... be sure and scope out the shot, based on the sign.


Other Thoughts: The front 9 is a great for beginners I think, Having been playing half a year I found the front to be a good test of my skills, and I was able to score some pars and practice some different shots. The back 9 , after the 11th hole, has some good challenges as you get in to the woods.
My favorite hole is 17, throwing from the elevation. If you are in the area, it's worth checking out for sure.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson Springs

5+    10/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads and decent signage on all holes

-Good variety of shot types needed

-Pretty easy to find and navigate for the most part

-Practice basket and restrooms at the main parking lot, which is revisited for a perfect loop between holes 9 and 10
Cons: - Baskets as of Oct. 2013 are in poor shape. All are rusted and can cause spit-outs. Still playable but definitely due for an upgrade, which I heard might be happening soon, but who knows.

-Holes 10 and 18 are pretty close to a often busy playground

-Hole 17 is really close to an often busy walking path

-Hole 1 is really close to the main parking lot, if the wind catches your disc wrong or if you just throw badly you could hit somebody's car

-Some uninspired holes - for instance, 10 and 11 are basically the same thing twice in a row, and 18 is just a wide open 675 footer.
Other Thoughts: I like the feel of this course: it can be a quick round if you want it to be, and it's good for what it is. It's like an old Corolla; worn in and by no means flashy, but reliable, and gets the job done. Maybe it has a hubcap missing, but that doesn't mean it doesn't work.

The front nine are generally really short, around 250' or less, and utilize moderate elevation. The back nine are longer and mostly wooded, with more technical lines available. My personal favorite is probably hole 4 - about 250 feet, but downhill and with trees directly in your path to the basket, forcing you to throw either a big hyzer, a big anhyzer, or a roller - any can be played with similar effectiveness. Huge arms only really get to stretch out on a few, like holes 8 and 18 - relatively open, and 500+ feet. Altogether, you're gonna have some straight shots, some big right-hand shots, some big left-hand shots, some tight windows, some ups and some downs and some trees. I wouldn't qualify any of it unfair, but it can be challenging at times.

As mentioned above, this is a multi-use park with a playground relatively nearby for a couple of holes - which is especially busy during the summer. It doesn't usually limit play, though, just a tad too close for comfort. The walking path near 17 can hold up play on busy days for a couple of minutes if you don't want to risk nailing somebody in the face.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hornet Radiator

1    7/12/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 529  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two 9-hole loops. Excellent blend of tech-light (primarily front nine), open bombing (part of back nine), and woodwork (newest holes on re-designed back nine).

Excellent long-n-wide concrete teepads, a major improvement.
Cons:
"Tee X too close to Basket Y" is something that applies to several holes.

Navigation is fairly straight forward, but note:
- most visible basket from tee-1 is basket-8 (basket-1 is left, hidden by tree)
- most visible tee from basket-1 is tee-3 (tee-2 is to left, near road)
- most visible basket from tee-10 is basket-18 (basket-10 to left, near treeline)

Some might find the highway noise distracting.
Other Thoughts:
Courses plays on the gently rolling land of a pretty public park that backs up to I80. Beginner/intermediate appropriate, while advanced players should have plenty of birdie opportunities. Minor elevation changes on most every hole. The front nine is on the lighter-technical side, with plenty of small trees, mini-forest, and elevation changes to force shot-shaping, although only #8, open until the end, has much length to it. The back nine is longer, with about half the holes open, as long as you don't go too far left too early. The newer holes, 13-17, are the best, with 13-16 twisting through large hardwoods, and favourite number-17 heading downslope, while turning right, and funneling towards the finish.

Very convenient for a traveller to play - close to the interstate, food/petrol options nearby, easy to navigate, low chance of disc loss, good variety, quick to play, pleasant surroundings - certainly worth a visit if passing by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson Springs

1    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Sbartlebaugh
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good signage on each hole and to next tee
-variety of holes (short, middle to long, open, tree alleys, hyzer/anhyzer, varied wind direction)
-not too muddy after recent rain
-concrete tee ads
Cons: -could use a few more longer holes
-narrow tee pads (fine by me)
- could use some elevation change. Makes good use of available elevation.
Other Thoughts: Best course I've played in northeast Ohio. Play the shorter front with beginners or for shots through the gaps or he longer back 9 with the trees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/29/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: trumpetman330
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very well groomed course
-Wide variety of holes
-Holes laid in woods are taken care of and manageable
-Each hole has an accurate and easy to read hole layout
-Practice tee before 1st hole
Cons: -Small teeboxes
-Inconsistancy between pars on holes and on scorecards
Other Thoughts: This course is my favorite due to the fact that it's well maintained and about 20 minutes from my house. The course is well worth an hour drive, but I wouldn't drive any longer than that. The woods section of the course is manageable and offers fun challenges. Many good holes to "grip it and rip it" juxtaposed nicely to challenging shots provided in the woods. Overall a great course and well worth the time to play 18!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.