• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Beating-in, base plastic, and putters and tacos

Rastnav

Double Eagle Member
Bronze level trusted reviewer
When a I started playing regularly about 2ish years ago, I mostly stayed away from base plastics. I had a few starter packs, but I never really much liked those discs anyway. As I bought discs, I mostly bought them in various premium plastics. My thought process might have been as simple as "premium must be better", but it at least was rationalized as "I don't want discs changing on me, it's hard enough to throw correctly without adapting to rapidly changing flight characteristics."

The only real exception to this was some baseline putters, mostly as putting putters.

Recently my throwing putters have been been changing in my bag as I haven't been quite satisfied with them as my form has improved. I've been going through discs that I've accumulated and just trying them out, which are often baseline, and I've really been liking throwing base plastic putters. I was kinda looking forward to getting something beat in to really flippy.

Just today I've now lost my 3rd baseline putter, with the rim of just part of the disc being noticeably bent down, right after a really nice solid tree hit. I guess that's not a full on taco, but I'm thinking that my results are going to be inconsistent if the disc is bent into a noticeably asymmetric shape.

Is this just par for the course with baseline plastic? Maybe it's more a tendency with putters in general, as their rims aren't wide, and thus not as stiff? I would think this would be an issue even with mids, as their rims aren't that different from putters.

I've never encountered this kind of thing with other plastics. Am I just getting unlucky?

What am I missing here?