• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Hamstring Pull

kitjv

While practicing my driving technique, I pulled my left hamstring muscle. As a newbie, I am sure that my driving technique is far from smooth & fluid. My suspicion is that the hamstring was pulled while rotating my hips.

Here is where you guys might be able to help me. I am practicing my driving on the grass at a local park. It's seems that as my hips rotate & my weight transfers from my back leg (left) to the front leg (during a backhand throw), my left foot doesn't pivot easily on the grass surface as it might on a cement tee pad. If so, I can see how that can twist the hamstring muscle.

If anyone has experienced this situation, I would appreciate your input how it might avoid this in the future. Thank you so much.

Your left leg doesn't really rotate, your foot should come off the ground as you shift your weight forward.

Can't help you with form but you use your hamstring when throwing, jump-putting, etc.

I have learned that I need to warm up and stretch my hamstrings before every round. Good luck!

While practicing my driving technique, I pulled my left hamstring muscle. As a newbie, I am sure that my driving technique is far from smooth & fluid. My suspicion is that the hamstring was pulled while rotating my hips.

Here is where you guys might be able to help me. I am practicing my driving on the grass at a local park. It's seems that as my hips rotate & my weight transfers from my back leg (left) to the front leg (during a backhand throw), my left foot doesn't pivot easily on the grass surface as it might on a cement tee pad. If so, I can see how that can twist the hamstring muscle.

If anyone has experienced this situation, I would appreciate your input how it might avoid this in the future. Thank you so much.