• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Hi All

I'm new to the sport and the forum. I was introduced to the sport here, in Japan, where I live and work. I'm originally a native of Baltimore where I'm sure there are considerably more places to play.

The Covid player influx mostly missed Japan but there does seems to be a handful of new players.

The sport has a relatively long history here and seems to have had some popularity in the 70s and 80s. There are a ton of problems here but the two major ones are availability of courses (my closest is an hour away), and the cost of disc golf related merchandise is insanely overpriced.

Concerning places to play, I'm currently trying to negotiate the addition of a 9 Hole course in an already established park in my town. Nothing is ever done simply in Japan so this is definitely a work in progress but I can't complain about it if I'm not willing to do something about it.

The problem of obtaining goods (especially discs) is by and large out of my power. If there are any industry people reading here, we really need your help.

Disc manufacturers in general have really let us players in Japan (and I'm assuming other Far East countries) down in terms of distribution and availability. Small shops try to assuage the cost of importing here... but we still end up paying at least twice as much on average for discs.

Using Japanese Amazon is out of the question... discs, baskets and anything else can be as much as 4, 5, 6x the manufacturer's retail price. Literally (don't get me started on post-Covid shipping prices to Japan).