• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Introduction & Disc Selection Question

ElliottDenney

So I'm fairly new to DG (~2 months), but I am beyond addicted. I'm a 25yo med student, I've begun spending almost every free moment on the course or doing field work.

I'm wondering if I can get some help on the next disc that I should purchase (I've got a little more $$ left on an Amazon gift card that I got for my birthday). As of right now, I think that my bag (I would hardly call it that) is a bit of a cluster that I've accrued through packs, finds, and individual purchases. Here's what I have so far as well as my best distances:

Discraft Challenger, Pro-D, 171g: 250-ish
Innova Shark, DX moderately beat, 150g: 250-ish (don't really go for too much distance because it just turns over like crazy for me)
Innova Cobra, DX slightly beat, 169g: 280-300
Innova Roc3, Metal flake, 180g: 280-300
Innova TL, Star, 174g: 300-330
Innova Valkyrie, Champion, 175g: 300-330
Vibram Lace, X-Link Medium, 175g: 300-350
Discraft Avenger SS, Pro-D, 152g: Eh, I'm not sure. Don't throw it much.

My best shots with any of one of these discs is about 20ft further than what I have listed, but these shots are few and far between at this point. Current PR distance is around 385' on a slight decline with the Lace during field work.

My wife primarily uses the Shark and Avenger, so that is why I'm not really sure how far I can get either of these discs.

My thoughts right now are that I have a lot of heavy discs which may be hurting me a bit as far as getting the discs up to the proper speed. Maybe I should get a slightly lighter driver? Maybe a driver is the last thing I need? No idea. . . There very well could be some huge gaps that I don't even realize exist at this point.