• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

New Player, tell me everything

Mr.Bigg

Bogey Member
Alright here's a bio:
number of times played: 5 or 6

I just started playing, I got an innova starter pack.
DX Leopard, Shark and Aviar
I promptly lost the leopard up a tall spruce tree and bought a DX valk.

I had much better success with the DX valk, I am throwing it about 250-300, semi-consistent.

I really didn't like the shark, and wanted to get some new discs anyways, so I ordered:

DX ROC
DX Dragon (just for water shots, I saw some friends put their discs in the bottom of a pond)
Pro Wraith

I don't remember the wieghts right now. I bought the Roc to replace my shark, the wraith was something I hope to kinda grow into and get more distance than my valk.

Things I've noticed about my game:

1. I am starting to turn over the valk, but adjusting my throw seems to help and actually is getting me farther.
2. I am terrible at judging the fade on mid range shots, if I play the fade I end up not fading, if I don't play the fade I end up 50 feet to the left of the basket.
3. I know how to throw an ultimate disc hammer or forehand, but disc golf discs seem to travel very differently.

So, what do I need to buy, what do I need to do, what color underwear should I wear?

GreenMeanie said:
I know one thing when new is not to go on a buying spree.
Learn the disk you have before trying others.

Yeah I am not trying to go out and throw 8 different discs in a round right away, I am just getting a bunch of discs to figure out what I want to start with and what I want to store for later.

The wraith is out of your league for the time being.

Progression of discs usually looks like this (at least from my experiences):

Leopard -> Gazelle -> TeeBird -> Eagle -> Valkarie -> Orc/Beast -> Wraith/Teerex