• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Nose down + Height?

Bro Montana

I've been playing for about 6 months now just about every day and I can throw low drives about 300-350. I've read to get more (or max) distance you need to get the disc up higher than the 10' - 15' or so that I'm getting. My only problem is that if I throw my disc nose down I cant get it to lift high enough to travel, so how do I get lift on my throws while keeping the nose facing down?

if youve only been playing for 6th months keep driving 10-15 feet high. that is something some people dream about doing consistently after 1-5 years (or more?) of playing. for "max D" where your holes allow the room to safely bomb shots, yes height should be added. if you are playing fairly tight and/or wooded courses, work on extending your 12' high drive another 20+ feet...if you have the capability of consistently throwing deeper (whether its for comp, other local courses, your home course, etc.) then jump on it. otherwise wait until you have played a little more and gotten truly more comfortable doing what you are doing - but better. i as well as other people cannot advise you on what to do without knowing what you are already up to.

can you describe/ask in anymore detail?

Well my distance now is fine for all wooded shots at my home course, but the first 4 are wide open and more distance is needed for birdie opportunities. However another course I play that is 15 minutes up the road is all wide open 700'+ holes (Goat Hill @ Center City Golf Course) which is the course I need this advice for.

Try keeping your wrist angles the same, but aiming higher with your shoulder.