• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Pro's and Con's of Backpack bags and Shoulder Bags

DiscGolfMaster

Par Member
I'm pretty new to the backpack disc golf bags, but right away I noticed some differences between carrying a backpack style bag and a shoulder bag.

I'll start with the Shoulder Bag:

Pro's

Lightweight.

You don't have to bend over at all to set it on the ground.

Easily accessible while walking.

Since you can pick your disc out before putting the bag down, you end up bending over less compared to a backpack bag that you have to set down before choosing a disc.

Plenty of storage, you can get some pretty big shoulder bags.

Easier to take it off and on, or at least quicker.

Generally pretty cheap.

Con's

Probably the biggest one, it hangs on your side so it throws off your overall balance a little bit.

If you have a lot of discs and tons of stuff you want to take with you, your shoulder bag will weigh on you heavily and could possible cause some long term damage to your shoulder(s). I've heard several pro's accuse this style bag of not being the best in the long term.

Sometimes you have to steady the bag since it's kind of swinging on your shoulder a bit.

Backpack

Pro's

Biggest one, Balance. There is a reason why hikers have stuck with backpacks for so many years. It's a tried and true way of safely carrying a large amount of weight around for long periods of time.

Comfortable

Storage is fantastic, and you don't feel guilty for carrying a few extras since it's easy to.

It can easily accommodate a fold up stool.

Both hands are completely free to do things like take score (or hold your spouses hand ;)) since you never feel the need to steady your bag.

Easy to do short putts with it on if you want.

Con's