• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Quest for better form

Alyjos

Bogey Member
Hi DGCR,

I've been playing for almost two years now. I've been doing quite a bit of research/field work on developing a better backhand throw and would like to request a little feed-back.

Right now I can reach 400+ pretty comfortably backhanding a Distance driver. If conditions are good sometimes I can hit 430. My furthest throw has been 465 on flat ground (Big tailwind)

Drivers: 390-430
Fairways: 375-405
Mid-range: 320-370
Putter: 300-350

I would like some recommendations for taking me to the next levels of backhand.

The link is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DY0P4IFXaKU

Last edited by a moderator:
Your x-step is really fast and long and putting you into compromising positions/balance and planting into really staggered closed and wide stance almost doing the splits. I would recommend working from a standing delivery like a pitcher or batter and video yourself doing drills.

You need to get your femurs hanging/swiveling under your hips in a more narrow stance to get your shoulder to swing back and forth in pendulum. You are trying push off your rear leg with knee extension instead of plantar flexion and knee flexion. And you land too far behind your front leg, so your posture collapsing and jacking your right shoulder upward and your left shoulder falls, instead of your left shoulder being centered on the front foot to swing right shoulder in a pendulum/dingle arm.

Just realized this was your thread:
https://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/showthread.php?t=135899

attachment.php

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2020-03-01 at 11.01.43 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2020-03-01 at 11.01.43 PM.jpg
    68.2 KB · Views: 279
Hi Sidewinder,