• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Running and physical fitness

hugheshilton

* Ace Member *
I live in Oregon where it rains most days during the winter. The general bad weather means that I don't get out as often in late fall/winter/early spring. Typically in previous years I have noticed a drop in my driving distance when I start playing more frequently in late spring/early summer. While I might be hitting 400+ in a field at the end of summer, the next spring I'm struggling to get past 350 again.

Last year I started running regularly to stay in shape, which I've never done much of before (biking yes but not running). I ran faithfully through the winter. I'm currently running faster and further than I ever have before in my life, and I've noticed a huge improvement in my driving abilities. I was hitting 400 in a field pretty much as soon as I started field practice this summer. Currently I'm hitting 420+ in the field and right around 400 on the course. I haven't changed anything about how I'm driving and I'm putting in less field practice than I did last summer, so I'm pretty much attributing it to my running and increased physical fitness level. It's also nice not to feel tired after a round on a big demanding course like Milo McIver or Blue Lake.

Anyway, all that is to say that if you want to improve your driving distance and you feel you have decent technique, maybe you should look into doing some running and improve your general physical fitness level. It's definitely paid off for me.

Most regular physical training will improve one's game, albeit not always in a directly attributable manner, like you claim. I don't doubt your results, however.

In my experience, it worked generally like this (as I'm certain it does for many others):