• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Throw Help

amyandpeteb

Background: I started playing about a year ago. I've played about 10 rounds but have practiced on the soccer field a lot. I throw about once a week.

Discs: I use mostly Champion Plastic discs from Inova. I picked them because of the durability. I've since learned that they might not be the right choice due to my newness to the hobby. The discs that I have are Champion: Leopard, Vulcan, Katana, Mamba and Roc3. I also have the Star Skeeter.

Problem: I can throw the mid-range discs okay. They go about 240' on a non-windy day. They stay flat and mostly go straight (as they are expected to) with the right to left motion on my RHBH throw. However, when I throw my Speed 13 / 10 discs. they just dive off to the left. If I throw with the wind or against the wind, they just dive to the left unless I throw with a real anhyzer.

Request: Can you look at my throw and see what I am doing wrong? I'm 6'5" so I should be able to throw well, but I just can't seem to get over 280' (on a good throw).

Link: http://youtu.be/Xz8zCJh8OWo

I have other videos I can upload if that would help.

Others will soon chime in who will be more helpful, but the most obvious thing is you're leaning way back on your release. You need to shift your weight to your front leg and lean forward. This should give you a flatter release and more distance before the disc fades out.

Also, start with slower discs. The fast discs are diving to the left because you aren't getting them up to speed before the release. That's why your mids go just as far as your drivers right now, so stick with mids and fairways until you develop your form more.
Pull in a straight line across the chest, not around your body.