• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Throwing Mid range MUCH further than drivers

numbernine

Birdie Member
Silver level trusted reviewer
So, I am a primarily a RHFH player, but I have been working on my BH pretty consistently for about 2 months now. When I play practice rounds, I throw both off of the tee.

for whatever reason, I can throw a buzz/mako 320-350 pretty much every time and make it go where I want to go, but my drivers are lucky to hit the 300 mark. Most of the time, they dive off to the left out of my hand, even when I over compensate and try to throw it ANNY.

FWIW, I can't use the power grip at all. I am using a modified fan grip. I just can't seem to get my hands to "feel right" when I am throwing with the power grip or the fork grip.

It feels like I am doing the same thing when I throw the drivers, but maybe I am not. Thoughts on where to start? I am doing the Pec thing, as the video describes. I've field worked it to death, but I feel like that at this point I need another perspective. ( and yes, videos would help. I need to get on that.)

Thanks and junk.

You may be throwing your drivers "nose up" and/or on a bit of a hyzer angle, both of which can make them head to the left. What drivers are you trying to throw?

I would work at the power grip, though. as getting a good clean snap is crucial. The modified fan grip may not have enough strength and the disc could also be slipping out early.

Now, one last question: are you sure you're throwing 325-350 with your mids? That's a long way...If so, you're doing alot of things correctly that should translate into 400ft or further with drivers.

If you could post a vid, some of the experts here could give you a really good critique.